Photographers/Photo take-outers - Issue Image Rights

web_phantom

Photographers/Photo take-outers - Issue Image Rights

Postby web_phantom » June 3rd, 2012, 7:55 pm

The EMA has launch this photo competition " Aripo Savannah Revealed" but i am reading in the rules :

"12. The EMA will reserve the right to use selected images for educational, public awareness and promotional purposes only. Copyright in all images submitted for this competition remains with the EMA. Submitting an entry constitutes the right of the EMA to an irrevocable, royalty-free, worldwide right and license to use in whole or in part, in perpetuity, in any and all media without limitation, except where prohibited."

I have some thoughts on this but from the more experienced members here, what are the implications?

What are your views about copyright issues and ownership in his instance?

Competition details can be scene at http://www.ema.co.tt

Re: Photographers/Photo take-outers - Issue Image Rights

Postby MG Man » June 3rd, 2012, 7:57 pm

up to u to agree to the terms

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » June 3rd, 2012, 8:46 pm

Put simply... Whatever pic you submit to the competition, you agree to let them use the picture anyway they want for educational and scientific purposes... And even if u don't agree on how they use it you can't tell them anything cuz you giving up the copyrigt to them.

From those terms they put down, that only covers what they can do with ur picture. There's nothing stated there that says u can't sell the picture yourself to other third party groups or for your own commercial use. Sometimes they go that far in some photo competitions, but in this instance they only covered their own usage.

Bottom line - you submiitting the pic is like you saying "allyuh gonahead and do what you want with it, I can't tell you what to do and what not to do because its now yours to use as you wish."

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » June 3rd, 2012, 9:23 pm

Spec work :|