Re: TATT enforces TSTT mobile upgrade

Postby manager » April 15th, 2012, 5:56 pm

doesn't need to be quad band, just dual band 850/1900

Postby skylinechild » April 15th, 2012, 7:15 pm

manager wrote:doesn't need to be quad band, just dual band 850/1900

yea but then if you buy a dual band phone you'll be shooting yourself in the foot.

if you plan on traveling you'll have to pray and hope the other carrier uses the same frequencies that your phone uses- in order to roam - or to even use one of their SIM card .

manager

Postby manager » April 15th, 2012, 7:52 pm

skylinechild wrote:

yea but then if you buy a dual band phone you'll be shooting yourself in the foot.

if you plan on traveling you'll have to pray and hope the other carrier uses the same frequencies that your phone uses- in order to roam - or to even use one of their SIM card .

Correct. But was just letting the masses know dual band 850/1900 phones will work fine with Bmobile.

That aside, 850/1900 is the band used in the Americas, Europe is 900/1800 territory.

Postby skylinechild » April 15th, 2012, 11:26 pm

manager wrote:
skylinechild wrote:

Correct. But was just letting the masses know dual band 850/1900 phones will work fine with Bmobile.

That aside, 850/1900 is the band used in the Americas, Europe is 900/1800 territory.

what about the bands used in other Caribbean countries???
also if your phone is dual band and you take it to another country that uses those same frequencies and you buy a SIM there's no guarantee that it will work - you'll STILL need to unlock your phone to use another carrier SIM if you find roaming fees too high...which it is....and since everybody these days cruising a cepep phone....i foresee unlocking dual band phones will soon become popular...

personally i wont advise anyone to buy a dual band phone go instead for a tri band phone....or if you can afford it a quad band phone...or even a penta band phone.
were going to get 3G very very soon :D :D

Postby janfar » April 15th, 2012, 11:55 pm

coral FTW...

Can't afford quad band= cant afford travelling= me safe

Postby SR » April 16th, 2012, 8:36 am

bmobile call failure and edge dropoff like wow this morning

Postby redmanjp » April 16th, 2012, 10:19 am

SR wrote:bmobile call failure and edge dropoff like wow this morning

bmobile ha no current :mrgreen:

Postby hydroep » April 27th, 2012, 11:28 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:i am sure it will be a set of blu phones they gonna upgrade ppl too....lol...

...at least for the first tier. They're offering me a choice of either a Blu T200 or T300 for my trusty Nokia 1100.

I'd prefer to keep the old gal for sentimental reasons than to trade down to one of those oui...:lol:

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 28th, 2012, 2:10 am

hydroep wrote:
*$kїđž!™ wrote:i am sure it will be a set of blu phones they gonna upgrade ppl too....lol...

...at least for the first tier. They're offering me a choice of either a Blu T200 or T300 for my trusty Nokia 1100.

I'd prefer to keep the old gal for sentimental reasons than to trade down to one of those oui...:lol:

yeah bro ..they cant trade your nokia for a blu.....thats madness.....

dragaholic

Postby dragaholic » May 4th, 2012, 7:39 pm

so theres no nokia upgrade?

Prototype-Tuner

Postby Prototype-Tuner » May 4th, 2012, 11:39 pm

Stephon. wrote:They still have non tri/quad band phones in circulation? :?

This

Dutty_S

Postby Dutty_S » May 5th, 2012, 12:06 am

Post paid customers getting the samsung mini (android).

Went in today to trade the ole nokia 1100 (prepaid), said they out of stock on the Blu, then asked if we pick a better phone than the Blu and pay the difference, girl said no chance.

Keeping the Nokia (sentimental reasons)....fleck dat, if it was a next Nokia, (or a phone I know would last as long as we had the 1100 - dat fone was reliable dread), then yeh !

Will buy a better fone when the time comes yes....

Dutty_S

Postby Dutty_S » May 5th, 2012, 12:12 am

And if TSTT giving up that radio frequency, what is the situation for Digicel, arent they also using it?

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » May 5th, 2012, 5:45 am

Dutty_S wrote:And if TSTT giving up that radio frequency, what is the situation for Digicel, arent they also using it?

The people at TATT gave TSTT the 1800MHz band to operate in when Bmobile first launched, TATT gave Digicel the 1900MHz. TATT then asked TSTT not to use this frequency a few years ago, which would have cost them many millions of dollars. TSTT would have had to operate 850, 1800 and 1900. Not sure if TATT knows what they're doing, they take too long to plan and standardize.
In the next few months both companies would be using the same frequencies.

Postby hydroep » May 5th, 2012, 6:46 am

Link: TATT enforces TSTT mobile upgrade

Questioned about the seemingly sudden need for TSTT to relinquish one of its mobile phone frequencies, TATT’s chief executive officer (CEO), Cris Seecharan, told Newsday the handover was actually mandated since 2005.

“The International Telecommunications Union, ITU, has recommended that the Americas region use the 850/1900 MHz spectrum for mobile phone services. When TATT was established in 2004, TSTT was using 850/1800 MHz, so around 2005, we informed the company it would have to migrate from 1800MHz to 1900 MHz in order for us to have a level playing field for incoming telecom providers,” Seecharan explained. At that time, Digicel and Laqtel were preparing to enter the market, which Digicel alone did successfully as Laqtel did not get off the ground.

TATT’s CEO said TSTT was given at least five years to complete this significant migration of customers from one frequency to another. However when the deadline approached last year (2011), Seecharan said the company requested more time, which TATT agreed to.

“We also gave TSTT additional MHz in the 1900 MHz range to facilitate the transition, so I find it curious that the company’s press release fails to mention how long in coming this switch-over has really been.

“The important thing however, is that effective May 31, 2012 all mobile phone service providers will operate on the same dual band frequency — 850/1900 MHz,” Seecharan said.

sean

Postby sean » May 26th, 2012, 4:33 pm

is any one having problems receiving text messages?? I can make/ receive calls, send text messages but I can't receive text messages..

Postby hydroep » May 26th, 2012, 4:50 pm

No problems here.