Ticket for Tint

Randolph Inshan

Ticket for Tint

Postby Randolph Inshan » April 27th, 2012, 9:56 pm

Goodnight,
I need some advise on a ticket i got today at Rivulet Road Roundabout. At about 4 p.m there was a roadblock and I was stopped for having 50% tint on my front windshield of my Ford Ranger. I told the police officer I was willing to remove the tint but he instead gave me a $ 2000 ticket. However, my last name was spelt incorrectly, Maharajh instead of Maharaj and in the vehicle description the officer wrote silver ford hilux. Should i challenge this ticket in court based on these mistakes or just pay the fixed penalty ?
Thanks for the advice.

Re: Ticket for Tint

Postby nemisis » April 27th, 2012, 10:00 pm

challenge must be accepted`

Postby nervewrecker » April 27th, 2012, 10:05 pm

nemisis wrote:challenge must be accepted`

agreed, then handle it:

Postby Bizzare » April 27th, 2012, 10:06 pm

Randolph Inshan wrote:However, my last name was spelt incorrectly, Maharajh instead of Maharaj and in the vehicle description the officer wrote silver ford hilux. Should i challenge this ticket in court based on these mistakes or just pay the fixed penalty ?

Yes, your Brahmin status has been insulted.

Randolph Inshan

Postby Randolph Inshan » April 27th, 2012, 10:08 pm

lol@ Bizzare, but will this stand up in court, in terms of arguing my identity ?

Postby Trini Hookah » April 27th, 2012, 10:16 pm

Not only identity, the identification of vehicle as well.

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » April 27th, 2012, 10:47 pm

yunno, if yuh hadn't tint d whole windscreen and jes put the lil 6-9" strip n wear ah shades for the uncovered ress, yuh wudda bee fyne! but yes, yuh shud wyn in court!

ADONI

Postby ADONI » April 27th, 2012, 11:06 pm

Is ah good thing I finish early down there today yes!
Challenge it to show how stupid the officer is man!
Concerning d shades next thing the man does wear glasses & require ah tested shades. That is $$$
I want 2 tint my front windscreen as well cause the sun does be real hot & plus my interior Tan and 20% on d windows now does be like nun. Anybody could see meh digging for gold in traffic...

Postby black start » April 27th, 2012, 11:12 pm

As I have said before, RS is probably the only officer in the force that could boast some proficiency in the English language.

Postby pioneer » April 27th, 2012, 11:51 pm

These tickets can be amended.

Ticket for Tint

Postby rfari » April 27th, 2012, 11:54 pm

OP f*q dem. I wouldn't even show up in court

Postby Mark! » April 28th, 2012, 12:51 am

Ford Hilux... seriously?

and yuh name is Randolph Inshan Maharaj? Thats one heck of a name there pal

Postby BrotherHood » April 28th, 2012, 1:03 am

OP, you done win dey. Officer indentify your vehicld incorrectly and spell your name incorrectly. magistrate will throw this one out and scold the dotish occifer.

Postby tr1ad » April 28th, 2012, 1:35 am

pioneer wrote:These tickets can be amended.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 28th, 2012, 1:38 am

roflmfao at ocifer,ford hilux??

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 28th, 2012, 1:59 am

BrotherHood wrote:OP, you done win dey. Officer indentify your vehicld incorrectly and spell your name incorrectly. magistrate will throw this one out and scold the dotish occifer.

sounds just about right......PM stock.....he would advise u and also seek a lil advice from a lawyer....

OP i am sure you got a good laugh when u say the mistakes....

Remember the qualifications to become an officer is real questionable...some ah these guys cant write properly at all......sad to say......

Peanut Punch

Postby Peanut Punch » April 28th, 2012, 3:50 am

that's a good one :lol: ... don't they copy info from ur license & insurance cert.?? that 's ridiculous but the error is in ur favor lol

Postby hustla_ambition101 » April 28th, 2012, 6:58 am

He get the number plate correct, didn't he?

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 28th, 2012, 8:37 am

pay your ticket.
If you contest it, the magistrate will rape you with a 3-4K fine.

GReddy23

Postby GReddy23 » April 28th, 2012, 11:56 am

once your name or dp # is incorrect on a ticket, then its considered void
you don't have to pay anything, you can verify this with an police officer

fyi 50% tint is legal even if its whole front
the officer must be ignorant or may not like you and your ride

Postby cinco » April 28th, 2012, 12:07 pm

GReddy23 wrote:once your name or dp # is incorrect on a ticket, then its considered void

dis fella correk he must be ah occifer :roll: :roll:

Postby pioneer » April 28th, 2012, 12:08 pm

GReddy23 wrote:once your name or dp # is incorrect on a ticket, then its considered void

That magistrate can instruct the police to verify the information...hence...

Postby cinco » April 28th, 2012, 12:10 pm

That magistrate can instruct the police to verify the information...hence...

whole windscreen tint legal dan doh beat up
dah is ah open n shut case he go win easy

Postby bushwakka » April 28th, 2012, 12:11 pm

tr1ad wrote:

more info plz? in the past.....haven't they always thrown out cases like that?
they made an amendment to allow amendments?

Postby pioneer » April 28th, 2012, 12:15 pm

Yes the magistrate by his/her discretion request amendments be made to the charge within a 6 months time period.

If you don't wanna pay it, grab yourself an attorney but you gonna end up paying more than $2,000 anyhow.

And it's not a criminal offence, you can just pay the fine or see what mood the magistrate in, if he/she in a bad mood you can get nailed to the cross in fines for wasting court time.

Postby sharkman121 » April 28th, 2012, 12:19 pm

this post is split in two, for and against. Can someone pls clarify. As someone said earlier, cases have been thrown out because of wrong spelling. However if pioneer is right and they can be amended, will they be amended in the courtroom right there?

Postby pioneer » April 28th, 2012, 12:20 pm

Obviously not, the magistrate will give them time to verify the information and adjourn the matter.

If they can't verify by the said date then it would be thrown out.

GReddy23

Postby GReddy23 » April 28th, 2012, 12:24 pm

so what happens if you don't show up ? Maharajh gonna get charge ...?

Postby pioneer » April 28th, 2012, 12:36 pm

Seeing they most likely have his address, vehicle number, make (not model) and color...they can easily verify that information.

So don't show, you'll jus be held in contempt and summoned to court.

Postby rollingstock » April 28th, 2012, 1:05 pm

Stop giving wrong advice. Everything on a fixed penalty notice can be amended, even the offence.

Dismissal over a name hahahahahaha, the police can write 'de black short k00lee driving a van', once he can identify the person named as such in court.

btw the ticket doesn't have provisions for make and colour of vehicle just registration number, officers write that to refresh their memory later if the matter is contested.

Any grade of tint on the entire front windscreen is unlawful.

My advice contest it then come tell us how that worked out for you.