WTK: Buying my first car

napster16

WTK: Buying my first car

Postby napster16 » April 17th, 2012, 11:28 pm

So, I wanna buy my own car hopefully by September and would like to know what there really is to it... What allyuh have to say baii ?

Re: WTK: Buying my first car

Postby Rory Phoulorie » April 17th, 2012, 11:37 pm

napster16 wrote:...would like to know what there really is to it...

1) Determine whether new car or used car is to be bought
2) Investigate prices of cars of interest
3) Save money or get money from Daddy/Mommy/Sugar Daddy/Sugar Mommy in the amount required to purchase car or make down payment to financial institution (including the amount for insurance coverage)
4) Make payment for preferred car to dealer/seller or down payment to financial institution. Ensure receipt is collected for payment. Ensure that there are no claims against the vehicle if a used one is being purchased.
5) Obtain insurance coverage for car
6) Transfer ownership of used vehicle to you on SAME DAY of payment
7) Like yourself and your new car
8) Come on 2NR and make a thread about it. Have the mature 2NRS congratulate you on your purchase no matter what it is. Have the hater 2NRS beyotch and criticise it.

napster16

Postby napster16 » April 17th, 2012, 11:41 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:

3) Save money or get money from Daddy/Mommy/Sugar Daddy/Sugar Mommy in the amount required to purchase car or make down payment to financial institution (including the amount for insurance coverage)
4) Make payment for preferred car to dealer/seller or down payment to financial institution. Ensure receipt is collected for payment. Ensure that there are no claims against the vehicle if a used one is being purchased.
8) Come on 2NR and make a thread about it. Have the mature 2NRS congratulate you on your purchase no matter what it is. Have the hater 2NRS beyotch and criticise it.

lmao @ #8... I liking those Ck4 Lancers, CB3, wont mind an A33 or B-13 or 14....

Postby DFC » April 17th, 2012, 11:49 pm

hoss, buy a car thats easy to maintain.

make sure, the car have up to date inspection.

don't buy any euro vehicle.

get a steering lock.

and carry a straightner and/or/both mechanic to check out the car before you buy.

walk with receipt book, if you see a car and loves it, make a $500 downpayment.

( i got this really good deal once....told the guy i'll come back tmw with the money to purchase the vehicle. That same evening, some douche, came to check the car, he walked with cash, and made the down payment on it, and i lost out.)

Walk with a few grimy looking fellas for intimidation and protection.

Postby Mark! » April 17th, 2012, 11:55 pm

New or used?

Postby Trini Hookah » April 18th, 2012, 12:14 am

Can't agree any more with Rory than with #6!

napster16

Postby napster16 » April 18th, 2012, 12:46 am

Mark! wrote:New or used?

Used boy! I'm only 18... now joining this game.... And I don't like to ask the parents for anything a while now... Kinda like to prove I could do things on my own...you feel me?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 18th, 2012, 4:01 am

what rory said and lmao at number 8..but OP wat is ur budget and what exactly you looking for in your first ride?

Postby nervewrecker » April 18th, 2012, 4:10 am

You want my car and I will buy a Wagon to fit more music in?

Postby cinco » April 18th, 2012, 8:02 am

napster16 wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:

lmao @ #8... I liking those Ck4 Lancers, CB3, wont mind an A33 or B-13 or 14....

dont buy cb3 or b13 they are old as hell already
the ck4 and b14 is a good starter car the a33 is expensive to maintain

Postby RBphoto » April 18th, 2012, 8:30 am

Also look at:
1) Fuel... some cars are made for premium gasoline only (like a facking Tiida)
2) How does the car fit you. Enough storage space, ride height/ headroom, back seat leg room, center consle armrest etc... It has to be comfortable for you to drive and that is a personal decision (Like a facking Tiida... unfortunately)
3) Your mechanic. Find a mech you trust and only let him work on your car. Consult him before you buy it, take him with you to check it out and keep that relationship good. He will let you know if he can maintain it and source parts for you. Some guys get euro parts like people get b14 parts... so if.. and only if.. your mech is able, consider the euro route as well. I use outlaw engineering (Jhonny) for my two nissans. Remember, you are trusting someone with your life when they serivice your vehicle.
4) Don't skimp on insurance. Insure your windscreen and try to go full comprehensive for as long as possible. Might cost a lot seeing that you are 18, but will be worth it if you get in an accident... being inexperienced as you are at driving.
5) DO NOT LEND ANYONE YOUR CAR OR LET ANYONE DRIVE YOUR CAR. That is a recipie for disaster.... especially youngins like yourself. It is OK to lose a friend over this. If it gets bounce it will be you and ou alone to ketch, cause insurance might get complicated.... especially if the other person is under 25.
6) Do not take out your battery to jump start any partner car. Tell them to buy a new battery.
7) Get a TTAA card. It only costs $150.00 a year and will save your arse from having to pay over $700.00 in wrecking fees if you crash or broken down. TCM is ballz.
8) Do not do bush modifications like removing the bonnet heat guard, using plain water in radiator, removing thermostat etc. Just don't
9) put in hard pong if yo want, but make sure it is hidden well and installed properly.
10) doh make habit of giving people drop
11) DO NOT BULL IN THE CAR!!!! GET A ROOM>>> IT WILL GET BOUNCE...THIS IS NOT A MYTH.. IS DEVIL THING!!!!
Anyway, just some friendly advice from a older head who has seen these stressments.. Good luck and congrats on your new car.

Cheers
CD

Postby stev » April 18th, 2012, 8:44 am

bulling in d car myth confirmed...3 times

napster16

Postby napster16 » April 18th, 2012, 9:12 am

WTF! see why I ask.... where all dis come from? o_O I have sum thinking to do here....

napster16

Postby napster16 » April 18th, 2012, 9:18 am

dont buy cb3 or b13 they are old as hell already
the ck4 and b14 is a good starter car the a33 is expensive to maintain

What about Tercel?

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » April 18th, 2012, 9:18 am

check for imperfections like
-the space between the door and fender,
-how the light lining up,
-if the steering wheel might have been changed,
-look for the foreign used paint on parts in the engine bay,
-check for filler,
-proper wiring,
-rust on flooring, under spare,
- do a diagnostic test,
-check lights on dash and
-don't be fooled by hard pong, rims and shiny paint.

Postby dougla_boy » April 18th, 2012, 9:23 am

crossdrilled wrote:Also look at:
1) Fuel... some cars are made for premium gasoline only (like a facking Tiida)
2) How does the car fit you. Enough storage space, ride height/ headroom, back seat leg room, center consle armrest etc... It has to be comfortable for you to drive and that is a personal decision (Like a facking Tiida... unfortunately)
3) Your mechanic. Find a mech you trust and only let him work on your car. Consult him before you buy it, take him with you to check it out and keep that relationship good. He will let you know if he can maintain it and source parts for you. Some guys get euro parts like people get b14 parts... so if.. and only if.. your mech is able, consider the euro route as well. I use outlaw engineering (Jhonny) for my two nissans. Remember, you are trusting someone with your life when they serivice your vehicle.
4) Don't skimp on insurance. Insure your windscreen and try to go full comprehensive for as long as possible. Might cost a lot seeing that you are 18, but will be worth it if you get in an accident... being inexperienced as you are at driving.
5) DO NOT LEND ANYONE YOUR CAR OR LET ANYONE DRIVE YOUR CAR. That is a recipie for disaster.... especially youngins like yourself. It is OK to lose a friend over this. If it gets bounce it will be you and ou alone to ketch, cause insurance might get complicated.... especially if the other person is under 25.
6) Do not take out your battery to jump start any partner car. Tell them to buy a new battery.
7) Get a TTAA card. It only costs $150.00 a year and will save your arse from having to pay over $700.00 in wrecking fees if you crash or broken down. TCM is ballz.
8) Do not do bush modifications like removing the bonnet heat guard, using plain water in radiator, removing thermostat etc. Just don't
9) put in hard pong if yo want, but make sure it is hidden well and installed properly.
10) doh make habit of giving people drop
11) DO NOT BULL IN THE CAR!!!! GET A ROOM>>> IT WILL GET BOUNCE...THIS IS NOT A MYTH.. IS DEVIL THING!!!!
Anyway, just some friendly advice from a older head who has seen these stressments.. Good luck and congrats on your new car.

Cheers
CD

every rule have a loophole.....in this case doh bull inna no car.....UNLESS u have leather or leather like seats......just a simply bowl of water and lime juice to get the stink/break stains/devil ting

Postby Trini Hookah » April 18th, 2012, 9:49 am

crossdrilled wrote:7) Get a TTAA card. It only costs $150.00 a year and will save your arse from having to pay over $700.00 in wrecking fees if you crash or broken down. TCM is ballz.

Good stuff here, will look into it myself.

Was once a passenger in a run-off and driver paid something like $400 just to pull the car a couple feet on the road :|

Postby RBphoto » April 18th, 2012, 10:23 am

With TTAA, you pay 20 dollars for every call out. They keep a record of every incident just to make sure you are not abusing the service. You may or may not get a drop for yoursel personally with the wrecker. The time I needed TCm to get the passenger shuttle for the person involved in the accident with my car, they were unavalible for that.... so level TTAA. I had to use them three times so far.

Here is their AD on the trinidad yellow pages:

http://s2.tntyp.com/Trinidad/Trinidad-a ... NS/profile

Good points Uncle Sam.. but I think is bess this youngin get a mech to go with him.. he might not know what to look for... even I would carry my mech.

Dougla_boy.... you go strong dude... I am not religious or superstitious, but everytime I do something in my car, some shite happen (Sorry Back2Studio...TMI). Besides, getting a room much safer and private for both parties involved.

Postby nervewrecker » April 18th, 2012, 10:30 am

crossdrilled wrote:Good points Uncle Sam.. but I think is bess this youngin get a mech to go with him.. he might not know what to look for... even I would carry my mech.

He gona be 'rolling with his mech' :?: :lol:

Anyways, get a competent mech who knows his arse from his elbow.
I know someone who carry mech, fren, cousin, daddy, mommy, boyfren, boyfren fren & iirc the pet parrot to check out a vehicle. All of the above say its a good buy, cant see nuffin wrong. When van reach home a 15 second walk around quick inspection revealed that bonnet and fender not lined up properly on the right side and the 2 front tyres are 2 different sizes :lol:

WRT the bullin in car, there is a thread concering it, is only if you bull a blight poocee you blight the car.

Nasrallah

Postby Nasrallah » April 18th, 2012, 10:36 am

If its a used car get a mechanic to inspect underneath the car.

I know a couple people who found out when they went for an alignment, that they've been driving around in two halves.

Postby RBphoto » April 18th, 2012, 10:43 am

nervewrecker wrote:is only if you bull a blight poocee you blight the car.

I dissaprove you casting aspersions on my past associations poocee gatos? Fack you.

Postby nervewrecker » April 18th, 2012, 12:15 pm

Nasrallah wrote:If its a used car get a mechanic to inspect underneath the car.

I know a couple people who found out when they went for an alignment, that they've been driving around in two halves.

Those are the unfortuante ones who got conned. I know a dude coasting with 2 half of a hilux, real pretty looking van and selling it at blinged down ufo price too. Some unlucky mofo gonna get caught.
same village there is a dude that bought a totaled CRV from the states, fabricate a set of ratch to fix it up, bribe in LO, get it on the road and calling big $$$ for it.

crossdrilled wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:is only if you bull a blight poocee you blight the car.

I dissaprove you casting aspersions on my past associations poocee gatos? Fack you.

Pics of said poocee? The tuner tun tun experts will verify if it is blight or not. heck, we even have a few tun tun's posting here

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 18th, 2012, 12:23 pm

Buy a B14. I actually serious about this. No thats a lie buy a Civic.

According to recent survey. Honda is the number 1 most reliable used vehicle.

Postby RBphoto » April 18th, 2012, 1:38 pm

Men not dropping the price of their B14/ EG civic for nutting meng... dem ting holding value in this market. Only in Trinidad Hilux does sell for more used than new.

E-TECH

Postby E-TECH » April 18th, 2012, 5:25 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:Can't agree any more with Rory than with #6!

x10.

My policy is if it can't transfer the same day I'm paying 4 it (unless it's a weekend or holiday of course),then I aint buying it. My only exception 2 that rule is if I know the seller personally & even then, I still make sure the transfer takes place within the stipulated 7 days after purchase.

And to add to that, try your best to buy your vehicle from d registered owner. Don't fall for no, "It in meh padner name so transfer is no worries." stories.

Postby Sky » April 18th, 2012, 6:33 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Buy a B14. I actually serious about this. No thats a lie buy a Civic.

According to recent survey. Honda is the number 1 most reliable used vehicle.

If a civic, buy a vti with the blacktop engine and make sure it was changed at least once.

E-TECH

Postby E-TECH » April 18th, 2012, 7:51 pm

I think a CIVIC is good choice.

Postby nervewrecker » April 18th, 2012, 7:52 pm

where you does get parts for civic?

Postby Team Loco » April 18th, 2012, 8:16 pm

One very very important thing to look at. A real tell tale of the past history of the car. If its one that has airbags, turn on the ignition and make sure the airbag light comes on. When you start, the airbag light will turn off. If the vehicle has airbags and you turn the ignition on and no airbag light turns on, the person most like would have removed the blown airbags, replaced it with new covers that say "srs system" and would have had the airbag light removed from the dash. So you gonna pay x amt of $$$ for a vehicle you think has airbags.

Be smart, take all the stupid advice here

konartis

Postby konartis » April 18th, 2012, 8:30 pm

you knw i bull in my car last week and since then it get hit twice(minor)...hmmm....anyways...remember car is money, take time to look around and find a good car for the money you want to invest, dont go for the looks alone, carry it to a mechanic, let him take the time to check it properly so that you get your moneys worth, play with the transmission, make sure it changes well, check the mounts, joints, steering...things that in experienced buyers might not check...make sure A/C is working properly check for oil leak in the engine and inquire when last fluids were changed, ask questions and take someone with experience...good luck! oh and yea...b14/b13 are easy cars to maintain!