Homeless family, anyone interested in helping?

civicchic

Homeless family, anyone interested in helping?

Postby civicchic » April 17th, 2012, 10:03 pm

Hey tuners, read this article in the newsday last Friday, I would like to help out in some way, just posting in case anyone else is interested in doing same.

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,158443.html

Family of 12 homeless
BY RALPH BANWARIE Friday, April 13 2012

Eight children are among a family of 12 who are now homeless after fire gutted their home in Sangre Grande yesterday morning.

The Beepath family’s home at Clarke Trace, Plum Road, Manzanilla valued at $250,000, burnt to the ground.

They lost everything and are without any clothes except for what they had on when the fire broke out.

Sylvia Beepath, 55, told Newsday at about 10.30 am, she was washing and hanging out clothes in a room when she smelled something burning.

Beepath said she stopped washing and went to her son Shastri’s room which was on fire. She ran out of the house screaming, calling her neighbours for assistance.

The neighbours using a bucket brigade and a hose tried to put out the fire but the flames raged on and made it impossible for them to remove any household items or personal belongings. By the time Sangre Grande fire officers arrived the house was engulfed in flames and they were only able to prevent the fire from spreading to the nearby houses.

The fire officers had a problem in that the water pressure was low and they had to make two trips to refill the fire truck’s water tanks.

Beepath said the fire spread rapidly and thick smoke prevented them from removing appliances and furniture from the house.

“It happen so quick, I am still in shock. My husband died and left me in the house with the children, but no one is gainfully employed. All we do to sustain our living is making garden and doing odds and end jobs, when it becomes available. How are we to begin building a home again, my husband work and build, but we are all out of work,” Beepath lamented.

“Look at us we remain only with the clothes we had on before the fire, you see the children some only have on their pants, that is all we are left with,” said the weeping mother.

School reopens on Monday but all of the children’s uniforms and textbooks have been destroyed.

Among the affected children are a six-month-old baby boy, Amir, 14, Ravi, 12, Brandon, 12, Vishan, eight, Rani, five, and Kavita, three. Newsday was unable to identify the eighth child.

“Thank God nothing happened to the baby or the other children, but they are all in shock to see the place they called home is now ashes with only a few standing walls,” Beepath said.

The family have no place to stay and neighbours have volunteered to accommodate them temporarily. Some of the children were taken to stay with relatives, but Beepath said they wanted to be with their parents.

Councillor Ben Soodeen visited the family and is seeking assistance for the Beepath family.

An appeal has been made to the relevant agencies and the public.

“We really need your help, please assist us,” Meena Beepath, one of the family members, appealed. Anyone who wants to help the family can call at 322 -0856.

Fire officers are yet to determine the cause of the fire and are expected to return to the scene today. Police officers from Manzanilla Police Station visited the scene and are continuing inquries.

Re: Homeless family, anyone interested in helping?

Postby DFC » April 17th, 2012, 10:31 pm

1cry.

This is so sad.
I'm gonna call tmw.

Come on tuners, lets help.

200sx

Postby 200sx » April 17th, 2012, 11:11 pm

Interested in helping out! This is a real sad thing!

Call me 730-0629 Rossi if we tuners r raising sum funds or donating food/clothing!

Peanut Punch

Postby Peanut Punch » April 18th, 2012, 5:29 am

some ppl feel guilty about life insurance & stuff, but when u have 8 kids this definitely comes in handy.... home insurance would've been too costly since no one was working...
it is very sad, I hope they get all the help they can...

civicchic

Postby civicchic » April 18th, 2012, 6:18 am

If anyone is interested in donating whatever, food, clothing, school supplies, furniture and can't make it to go pm me we'll make some arrangements.
It's nice to see some people showing concern, the way things are going people must think that this country is only made up of monsters who beat up old ladies and babies. Seen any good news today?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » April 18th, 2012, 6:53 am

Yes I'm an insensitive jackarse, but why the hell make so much children

Postby S_2NR » April 18th, 2012, 7:08 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:Yes I'm an insensitive jackarse, but why the hell make so much children

Birth control too expensive apparantly.

Back2Studio

Postby Back2Studio » April 18th, 2012, 7:13 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:Yes I'm an insensitive jackarse, but why the hell make so much children

Good to know u're an insensitive jackarse ....now donate something.

Postby TRAE » April 18th, 2012, 10:46 am

what allyuh wanna do---- pitch in and make a tuner donation?

Postby 1UZFE » April 18th, 2012, 11:16 am

^^ Sounds good...
Who will collecting? civichic??

civicchic

Postby civicchic » April 18th, 2012, 11:33 am

Well I was planning to drop off my stuff so yea, pm me if you have stuff to send we'll organize collection.

Postby RBphoto » April 18th, 2012, 3:55 pm

civicchic,
When you make your drop off, it would be helpful if you make a list of the children clothing sizes and shoe sizes so appropriate donations can be made. Also, make a list of anything that they might really need ASAP... I would guess they need a stove, some buckets for washing, large containers for water and probably matresses? Get the book list and size of uniforms needed as well. We don't know their specific situation, and this info can let us be more useful to them.

B2S, you organizing a care package?

Postby Dizzy28 » April 18th, 2012, 3:58 pm

CD,

My wife's workplace called yesterday and this is the list of items the Mother gave -

Shoes for the children as follows:

• Amir age 14: 9.5 adult (black)
• Ravi age 12: 10.5 adult (black)
• Brandon age 12: 10.5 children size (black)
• Vishan age 8: 10 children size
• Rani age 5: 5 children size (white)
• Kavita age 3: 3 children size (white)
• six month old child...5 or 6 in baby size

• Lunch Kits / Bags for the Kids of Ages 8, 5, 3

• Book Bags for all the kids

Stationery:
• Copy Books
• Note Books
• Pens
• Pencils
• Erasers
• Rulers
• Sharpeners

• Socks

If we can get the above in order very soon, they can start the kids at school from Wednesday. They spoke to the school already and got the uniforms.

The 6 month old is a boy

• KLIM 1+
• Feeding Cup
• Size 3 medium teddies
• Going out clothes…wearing size 2

Other Items include:

• Bed Sheets
• Towels
• Toilet Paper
• Toothpaste

• Big Cooking Pots
• Bowls
• Basins
• Spoons
• Plates
• Knives
• Fans
• Blender
• Any other item for the kitchen

Postby TRAE » April 18th, 2012, 4:10 pm

when and where will these donations be made though

civicchic

Postby civicchic » April 18th, 2012, 6:49 pm

Dizzy28, thanks for the list, that will be most helpful.

CD, I simply posted to make others aware of the situation, I have offered to pick up some of the stuff to drop it off but that is just a favour for anyone who can't make it. My donations are based on common sense, what are basic necessities that any family needs. Anyone interested can call the number and get more particular details. The time you took to post all that you could have made the call and got the info. Will you be making a donation? :)

The time and place for collection of the items I'll have to confirm later on this week for those who wish to send their donations with me.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 18th, 2012, 9:16 pm

no mention was made of the father in the article.......

Postby sharkman121 » April 18th, 2012, 9:35 pm

i have a lot of clothes and shoes to give away, where can i drop it?

civicchic

Postby civicchic » April 18th, 2012, 9:36 pm

Yes, the father was mentioned. The lady said he died and left her the house with the children.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 18th, 2012, 9:47 pm

civicchic wrote:Yes, the father was mentioned. The lady said he died and left her the house with the children.

yeah sorry didnt see it the first time...

I commend u guys on trying to help this situation......

civicchic

Postby civicchic » April 19th, 2012, 8:39 pm

Can those of you who are donating please pm me your location so I can work out the pick up or drop off arrangements please.

Postby pioneer » April 19th, 2012, 9:19 pm

How about, no.

civicchic

Postby civicchic » April 19th, 2012, 9:35 pm

How abt you donate something ;)

Postby pioneer » April 19th, 2012, 9:38 pm

How about you show us a pic of yourself, or you can send it via pm :wink:

civicchic

Postby civicchic » April 19th, 2012, 9:40 pm

How abt you find another thread to stalk?

Postby Cjruckus » April 19th, 2012, 9:50 pm

civicchic wrote:How abt you find another thread to stalk?

how about you listen to the guy and run some effin pics.

Postby pioneer » April 19th, 2012, 9:51 pm

Well with such attitude I wish you luck in your donation collection goals for 2012.

btw you need a letter from the commissioner of police authorizing you to solicit any kind of donations from the public, which you should also post a copy of on this forum.

Again, best of luck to you.

Postby Cjruckus » April 19th, 2012, 9:53 pm

effin pics please....

sorry forgot my manners.

Postby Cjruckus » April 19th, 2012, 9:57 pm

i got this cool as firetruck microfridge to give away

wont do it until i see some pics

civicchic

Postby civicchic » April 19th, 2012, 10:07 pm

Thanks much. This is not a job or a hobby for me I just thought a family who lost everything will need something and I'm not begging anyone to give, people have volunteered. If no one had offered I'd have just given what I could afford.

Funny how when you try to do something good there's always someone fighting you down. Thanks for your wishes sir, we do what we can.

Postby pioneer » April 19th, 2012, 10:10 pm

Nobody fighting you down, jus awarin the unaware about the legal requirements to solicit donations/funds in Trinidad & Tobago.

But keep up your ignorance, tell the magistrate you weren't aware.