Has anyone been charged for using a cell phone while driving

Re: Has anyone been charged for using a cell phone while dri

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 17th, 2011, 12:04 am

see ppl drivin like real idiots......when I overtake them safely, and look at them....they on their cellphone......

trini again.........

rikosher

Postby rikosher » April 7th, 2012, 12:32 am

how much is this ticket, i got 1 thursday, but d officer didnt put the amount on the ticket, so i hve no idea how much it is or wat i shud do...ah wud hve to end up in court i guess...and i wasnt holding a convo on my phn, i simply ansd to tell the person i wud call dem back cus it hve police on d road :D
but he see meh...lol

Postby Stephon. » April 7th, 2012, 6:33 am

Friend of mine got a ticket for simply having his cell phone in his hand :lol:

trinishaggy

Postby trinishaggy » April 7th, 2012, 6:42 am

I got charged... $1000.00 ticket..

On the side street next to Josephs in Chaguanas!!

Postby Stephon. » April 7th, 2012, 6:43 am

This is great news!

Postby Rooki3 » April 7th, 2012, 6:51 am

Stephon. wrote:Friend of mine got a ticket for simply having his cell phone in his hand :lol:

yes, they do this, happened to me last month

Postby X2 » April 7th, 2012, 7:46 am

I still dont see the reason that law enforcement should be exempt from the law ?

They carry radios so where is the need for cell phones ?

Traffic wardens should also be charged for directing traffic while using cell phones.

Postby Stephon. » April 7th, 2012, 7:49 am

They should be charged for directing traffic. They cause more traffic than a 90 car smashup on the highway at an intersection.

Duplicolor

Postby Duplicolor » April 7th, 2012, 9:11 am

X2 wrote:I still dont see the reason that law enforcement should be exempt from the law ?

Traffic wardens should also be charged for directing traffic while using cell phones.

Next time you see a TW doing this, please PM me the date,location and a name, if not a description, thanks

Duplicolor

Postby Duplicolor » April 7th, 2012, 9:23 am

Stephon. wrote:Friend of mine got a ticket for simply having his cell phone in his hand :lol:

the law states :

"No person shall drive or have charge of a motor vehicle on any road while holding or using a hand- held mobile device." Mobile device means a mobile telephone or other device which performs interactive communication function by transmitting and receiving data. This additional prohibition is possibly meant to include any further variations of cellphones in the future that might not strictly be deemed "mobile" telephones.

Breach of this regulation renders a person liable to a fine of $1,000 or three months imprisonment. In addition there is now a prohibition against any person viewing or sending text messages while driving. The specific regulation states: "No person shall use a wireless communication device to view, send or compose an electronic message while driving or having charge of a vehicle." A "wireless communication device" means a device used to transfer information over a distance without the use of electrical conductors or wires. A cellphone transmitting text messages is obviously such a device. The penalty for this breach is also a fine of $1,000 or three months imprisonment.

Exemptions

The law however specifically exempts use of mobile telephone on the road once it is in "hands-free mode". It also does not apply when the vehicle is off the road/parked and not in motion and not impeding traffic. It will thus still apply if the vehicle is stopped and off the road but is in motion. In other words turn off the engine.
Last edited by Duplicolor on April 7th, 2012, 9:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby j.o.e » April 7th, 2012, 9:27 am

X2 wrote:I still dont see the reason that law enforcement should be exempt from the law ?

I get what you're saying but the law refers to "wireless communication devices" which covers cellphones and walkie talkies etc...and penalises drives for use of such. Fogot the other part but it coves texters too. Hence you can be ticketed for holding the phone bcus u may be texting

Postby BrotherHood » April 7th, 2012, 12:45 pm

Duplicolor wrote:It also does not apply when the vehicle is off the road/parked and not in motion and not impeding traffic. It will thus still apply if the vehicle is stopped and off the road but is in motion. In other words turn off the engine.

So in other words, parked is when the engine is switched off?

Also, how can be car be stopped and off the road but is in motion?

The law is such a funny thing at times.

Postby X2 » April 7th, 2012, 6:41 pm

I am all in favour of the law... it's the right thing to do. Driving a car and texting is just about the worst thing you can do... but the law is full of holes.

'mobile device'... so someone can get charged for using a pez dispenser ?

'holding a phone' ... 'MAY be texting'... whatever the wording used, the law allows for quite a bit of assumption... if it is difficult enough for the population to trust the judgement of many police.. and are then expected to hand over the power of ticketing with probable cause... muhahahah !!

As for the request to PMing a location when seeing another public servant wasting hard earned tax dollars yapping and/or texting.... my sincere answer is... I already have a job...the people responsible for the wardens should get off their arses and start doing theirs. On the other hand... I often do have time to send a PM from my mobile device...sitting in my car.... in traffic...watching a traffic warden try to direct one last panel van into the middle of the intersection before cussing the driver for following his/her instruction.

My engine will be turned off of course...automatically... it's a dual drive hybrid. :D

Postby UML » April 7th, 2012, 7:09 pm

Orlando Nagessar was one of the first ppl to be charged :lol:

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » April 8th, 2012, 7:16 pm

I just put my phone on loudspeaker if Im driving.

Just do it in a way so no one on the outside sees, plus it takes less than a second to do.

crysys

Postby crysys » April 9th, 2012, 10:52 am

Got warned never ticketed. :wink:

Postby redmanjp » June 4th, 2012, 6:32 pm

A manager in my office say she get ah ticket from a police not in uniform claiming to be 'Environmental Police' :? and plenty ppl get ticket- not sure where

gooner

Postby gooner » June 4th, 2012, 9:25 pm

I didn't even know it was against the law :shocked!:

My job involves being on the road and talking nearly every second of the day on the phone :cry:

Postby S_2NR » June 4th, 2012, 9:49 pm

gooner wrote:I didn't even know it was against the law :shocked!:

My job involves being on the road and talking nearly every second of the day on the phone :cry:

:?

just use a headset

Postby r3iXmann » June 4th, 2012, 9:52 pm

S_2NR wrote:
gooner wrote:I didn't even know it was against the law :shocked!:

:?

just use a headset

nah. easier to fight down the arresting officer and bawl "OHGOAR OFFISAH! IS WUK AH WUKKIN! I EH TALKIN TO NO GYUL! ALLYUH LIKE TUH FITE DONG POOR PEE PULL EH!"

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » June 4th, 2012, 9:56 pm

i haz been charged at the beginning of the yr. 1 was on my fone and also not wearin my seatbelt @ the time. was @ golconda roundabout n the popo said, ok, which 1 yuh want me write out the ticket for... i obliged n said "seatbelt" :D