hush alluh asses i sure mudboi and Crazy making much more,

Mudboy

Re: offshore ppl ........your views.

Postby Mudboy » April 5th, 2012, 2:27 pm

nemesis wrote:
geodude wrote:was after 2 years,
and i always thought that MWD and Mud dudes get more

Out of curiosity, what do you do in which country/company?
I assume since you talking salary the job info is no problem.

And there are many divisions of the oilfield that make more money than MWD and Mud Eng.

Them fellas that does make ting to make small hole to big hole.....that's magic....and they rake in the bhuks....

geodude

Postby geodude » April 5th, 2012, 2:59 pm

wha bout them fellas that does drive them robots under de sea and thing dan?
then man be fancy like wow

trinivampire

Postby trinivampire » April 5th, 2012, 8:44 pm

read this entire thread, nice info. but have a quick question seeing that it have very experience ppl here

I did my diploma at utt in petroleum eng, currently doing the degree(BASc) part time,
Does it make sense continuing in petroleum or would I be more marketable specializing in something else?

Considering switching to (year 1 common to all disciples, have to specialize in yr 2):
Utilities Engineering- Mechanical or Process Engineering

Also, I have a 8-4 job dealing with petrophysical data, but no real industry experience. Looking for a new job, but what is a nice position to aspire to?
eg heard petrotrin has a 1 year refinery operator training program, is this a good opportunity?

[Dumb question-What exactly do technicians and by extension engineers do on a rig? > they in a control room making sure everything run smooth and doing reports etc right? or is it more manual labour based?]

I sent out a lot of resumes, but not response, if anyone has any inside info as to who hiring let me know

Thanks

Postby Sky » April 5th, 2012, 10:12 pm

geodude wrote:
redman2k8 wrote:WTK:

For someone to risk their personal life for money... What's the range of the salary for offshore workers?

dude u full ah sheit, so stfu

its not about risking your life for money,
i suppose u drive to work daily, dude u must be crazy, you mean you proberly waste 2 hrs of your life per day going from point a to point b in a country where statically an accident occurs every 15 mins, so since you risk your life everyday for money i wonder how how u earn?
And to answer you question typically an indiviaual with a degree employed with a service company with 2 years experience earnes approx 6k US but this is not the rule salaries vary greatly with global location, expertise and indiviaul abilities.

Tuesday morning I was home sick.
They called me out.
Had to drive to Camden (From Arouca, right there)
Got to da choppa, went out.
Handled the scene on Tuesday, went to bed about 2am yesterday morning.
4:30 am they woke me up, shizz went down again. I dealt with it and by 6am i had to get ready to get to da choppa again. Got back to Camden with plans to drive from there to Galeota, then back home later that day. Driving while tired no mc. And while I hate flying and helicopters I read your post while out there and the perspective made the flight much better.
I don't make close to that much though.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » April 5th, 2012, 10:24 pm

geodude/Mudboy : You're right. Those specialized services like ROV and turbine/reamer personnel make rediculous money for what it is I think. I'm looking at turbine operators here at 1000-1200 USD/day and he just has to make sure they put the correct one in the hole and don't exceed it's flow rate. :)
But the same way you might think it's wrong, other people right here that were in university with you guys might be thinking the same. It's all what you get into and what you're willing to do I guess.

Trinivampire : Petrophysics is a GREAT field to get into if you're good at it. You'll make a lot of money when you get very good at it. Actually you need to be the absolute best of many people. Up to you if you change your field but I will tell you if you go the safe way don't complain later if any of your classmates take the risk and end up with a better job. Many many people do that. Have a problem with the money their friends make offshore, but wouldn't do it themselves.
If you want to be able to go any which way, go with the Mechanical Eng.

Sky : Hard luck, but it happens to many. It's not forever though. It's a sacrifice with a purpose.

Oh, and geodude you still eh say what you does do on the rig! And where.

Postby Rooki3 » April 6th, 2012, 1:43 am

^^ i think he did a few pages bak

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » April 6th, 2012, 7:29 am

geodude wrote:wha bout them fellas that does drive them robots under de sea and thing dan?
then man be fancy like wow

Geo why don't you look into that?....ROV pilots and crew really love their job.....

rookie

offshore ppl ........your views.

Postby rookie » April 6th, 2012, 9:44 am

Saw this yesterday went out for a couple hours came back to work
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1333719803.093890.jpg

Postby Gladiator » April 6th, 2012, 11:18 am

^^ what is that?

Postby Sky » April 6th, 2012, 12:28 pm

nemesis wrote:
Sky : Hard luck, but it happens to many. It's not forever though. It's a sacrifice with a purpose.

I'm in IT, there is no purpose :lol:

The thing is, while in Galeota I walk in my boss office and said I wanna go now, I had enough.
He was like "NOW?!?!"
I say yea, now!!
He ask where I'll be the next day and let me go.
I was thinkin is 4:15 ( I work till 4:30 usually) and it wasn't a big deal.
After a long drive of gatorate and chain smoking to stay awake, I got home and it was 5pm.
When I left work I made a call so I checked my logs, cuz Galeota - Arouca's a 90 min spirited drive. I actually left at 3:15. I was so tired, I saw the time wrong on my watch.
Now I owe him an apology :lol:

nemesis

Postby nemesis » April 6th, 2012, 3:08 pm

Yeah well, not too sure about IT pay structure. That real off about the time though. Shouldn't be driving like that.

rookie

Postby rookie » April 7th, 2012, 5:20 am

@ Gladiator its a chopper beneath the chopper I was traveling on @ 3200ft

rookie

Postby rookie » April 7th, 2012, 5:29 am

Flying from offshore to heliport
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1333790964.349157.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1333790930.486818.jpg

rookie

Postby rookie » April 7th, 2012, 5:32 am

West jaya drilling immortelle for Bp right now
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1333791030.148178.jpg

rookie

Postby rookie » April 7th, 2012, 5:38 am

Just random pics over the years for all u guys who aspiring to get out there go back read my last post it's not all about the money it's if u can be at one with yourself an handle isolation cause 1 week on 1 week off can turn into 21 days when ur relief didn't come an he enjoying himself for Easter an u here on this iron lol but at triple time Offcourse
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1333791523.476530.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1333791477.363788.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1333791433.780351.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1333791389.859183.jpg

rookie

Postby rookie » April 7th, 2012, 5:56 am

Sorry guys a few better ones
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1333792592.697694.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1333792562.741615.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1333792542.054578.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1333792516.001574.jpg

Postby Rooki3 » April 7th, 2012, 6:52 am

wow, nice, what do you do rookie?

Postby janfar » April 7th, 2012, 7:16 am

Rooki3... its obvious he's an offshore photographer... duh...

rookie

Postby rookie » April 7th, 2012, 7:30 am

No not a offshore photographer lmao jus a instrument tech that like taking pics and has a Nikon ready
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1333798199.870190.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1333798177.758883.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1333798155.442126.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1333798018.894974.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1333797982.352480.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1333797861.152700.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1333797828.040210.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1333797805.052032.jpg

Mitsubishi Maniac

Postby Mitsubishi Maniac » April 7th, 2012, 7:35 am

Aye allyuh line meh up wid ah lil wuk nah bhai

rookie

Postby rookie » April 7th, 2012, 7:52 am

Just a few more shots
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1333799577.734513.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1333799542.899140.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1333799498.956298.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1333799468.861822.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1333799453.701973.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1333799435.420318.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1333799393.388570.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1333799248.320993.jpg

Postby Rooki3 » April 7th, 2012, 8:21 am

looks like a big adventure

Postby 16 cycles » April 7th, 2012, 11:38 am

you need to have a mentality to work offshore....it not for the weak minded...

Postby zoom rader » April 7th, 2012, 1:04 pm

Rooki3 wrote:wow, nice, what do you do rookie?

Rookie, What Instruments you all use all there? and what type/types of Fire & Gas system they use?

rookie

Postby rookie » April 7th, 2012, 1:33 pm

Fire and gas Detronics and process nuflo rosemout etc

nemesis

Postby nemesis » April 7th, 2012, 4:15 pm

Cool pics.
Anyone been on the West Jaya yet? Apparantly might end up there sometimes if I decide to come back Trini. What's it like? Looks like a SS rig. Never done one of those in Trini. Will be interesting to see how the normal trini crews handle the floaters.
Should be fine though. trini's rule.

Postby nervewrecker » April 7th, 2012, 4:48 pm

rookie wrote:Just random pics over the years for all u guys who aspiring to get out there go back read my last post it's not all about the money it's if u can be at one with yourself an handle isolation cause 1 week on 1 week off can turn into 21 days when ur relief didn't come an he enjoying himself for Easter an u here on this iron lol but at triple time Offcourse

I usually play dumb and dress scrappy so nobody will bother me & you guys have it as a job. :shock:
Damn I into the wrong stuff yes, I need to go get my diplomas & get offshore asap. Keep me there whole month if you could.

13''strong

Postby 13''strong » April 7th, 2012, 4:59 pm

Good day tuners hey just asking favours as usual if anyone comes across any ads or know where needs/wants roustabout or roughnecks or mechanical engineers please keep me in my mind if it helps i have my BOSIET liscene and i'm currently a member of T&T Auxiliary Fire Service ...thanks ps: is there a course for crane operation ???

TEMPO

Postby TEMPO » April 7th, 2012, 5:02 pm

rookie wrote:No not a offshore photographer lmao jus a instrument tech that like taking pics and has a Nikon ready

rookie how dem pics lookin like d scorpion so...