cinco wrote:so when u call in and make a posting in a newspaper classified someone has an issue with your ad/product where is your recourse?
thats exactly what 2nr is
redmanjp wrote:cinco wrote:so when u call in and make a posting in a newspaper classified someone has an issue with your ad/product where is your recourse?
If it is that u can call the newspaper in question about the ad, then u should at least be able to PM a mod or Duane himself?that way u don't slander their name because it's a pm and not a public post- and perhaps maybe a 5 star rating system could be used to big up power-sellers, those who don't get many stars can't complain because no actual complaint/ accusation was made, how about that?
Of course if fraud or any illegal activity was proven or the police/consumer affairs alert 2nr i would expect that they would remove such an ad- no business would want to be associated with a fraudster
btw OP were u conned recently? then send Duane a PM and see what he say?
I posted it twice in this thread alreadyredmanjp wrote:cinco wrote:so when u call in and make a posting in a newspaper classified someone has an issue with your ad/product where is your recourse?
If it is that u can call the newspaper in question about the ad, then u should at least be able to PM a mod or Duane himself?that way u don't slander their name because it's a pm and not a public post- and perhaps maybe a 5 star rating system could be used to big up power-sellers, those who don't get many stars can't complain because no actual complaint/ accusation was made, how about that?
Of course if fraud or any illegal activity was proven or the police/consumer affairs alert 2nr i would expect that they would remove such an ad- no business would want to be associated with a fraudster
crazychinee wrote:I Dont see why users aren't allowed to post good/bad comments about powersellers. They should be moderated, but posts along the lines of
"Good service, fast delivery" , or
"Product wasnt delivered as advertised, never able to get incontact with the guy, always some mamaguy"
should be allowed.
It's the same way good comments are allowed for certain powersellers, bad ones should be as well.
What you're bascially saying is that, if a user has a bad experience, he needs to contact Consumer affairs WHILE the powerseller continuously delivers a bad service to the members of the site, the same ones that make you money btw.
Solution: Create a facebook group, and post all alya want about bad powersellers.But careful, ask raptor, real wannabegangsterbhais on the facebook.
RapToR wrote:crazychinee wrote:I Dont see why users aren't allowed to post good/bad comments about powersellers. They should be moderated, but posts along the lines of
"Product wasnt delivered as advertised, never able to get incontact with the guy, always some mamaguy"
should be allowed.
It's the same way good comments are allowed for certain powersellers, bad ones should be as well.
What you're bascially saying is that, if a user has a bad experience, he needs to contact Consumer affairs WHILE the powerseller continuously delivers a bad service to the members of the site, the same ones that make you money btw.
Solution: Create a facebook group, and post all alya want about bad powersellers.But careful, ask raptor, real wannabegangsterbhais on the facebook.
there is or was a Facebook group for it
will check for link later
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I posted it twice in this thread alreadyredmanjp wrote:cinco wrote:so when u call in and make a posting in a newspaper classified someone has an issue with your ad/product where is your recourse?
THERE IS RECOURSE! Call the Consumer Affairs Division of the Ministry of Legal Affairs! They are equipped to handle such complaints. They can call on the police and fraud squad to act and investigate.
PM'ing me wont help, I cannot investigate and I cannot prove that you are right and the seller is wrong or vice versa. I have no such jurisdiction.
Star ratings are an option however there is always the possibility that users can create multiple accounts to rate up themselves or others who they favourite OR a competitor can get friends or register multiple accounts to give another powerseller a low rating thus bringing down their average.
but who faces the legal implications of slandering the business with claims of false advertising?crazychinee wrote:I Dont see why users aren't allowed to post good/bad comments about powersellers. They should be moderated, but posts along the lines of
should be allowed.
But how is that different from a business on a corner who you've reported to consumer affairs?crazychinee wrote:What you're bascially saying is that, if a user has a bad experience, he needs to contact Consumer affairs WHILE the powerseller continuously delivers a bad service
agreed, make us money to keep the site running for everyone to use for free, yes.crazychinee wrote:to the members of the site, the same ones that make you money btw.
that is a possible solution. The legal implications would lie with facebook and not trinituner, though I am sure a few complaints to facebook from those who feel they have been slandered and facebook would have that group removed.crazychinee wrote:Solution: Create a facebook group, and post all alya want about bad powersellers.But careful, ask raptor, real wannabegangsterbhais on the facebook.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ even though the same guidelines should be common sense and used by anyone when shopping anywhere, the list is a good idea - a user populated list would be even better.
Post some suggestions herebut who faces the legal implications of slandering the business with claims of false advertising?crazychinee wrote:I Dont see why users aren't allowed to post good/bad comments about powersellers. They should be moderated, but posts along the lines of
should be allowed.
It's the same way good comments are allowed for certain powersellers, bad ones should be as well.But how is that different from a business on a corner who you've reported to consumer affairs?crazychinee wrote:What you're bascially saying is that, if a user has a bad experience, he needs to contact Consumer affairs WHILE the powerseller continuously delivers a bad serviceagreed, make us money to keep the site running for everyone to use for free, yes.crazychinee wrote:to the members of the site, the same ones that make you money btw.that is a possible solution. The legal implications would lie with facebook and not trinituner, though I am sure a few complaints to facebook from those who feel they have been slandered and facebook would have that group removed.crazychinee wrote:Solution: Create a facebook group, and post all alya want about bad powersellers.But careful, ask raptor, real wannabegangsterbhais on the facebook.
Trini Hookah wrote:And what's to stop other users and/or Powersellers to create alternate accounts on FB to bash sales?
Works almost the same there as it does here in that instance.
We've sent emails to facebook for usernames that infringe on our copyright and facebook dealt with it within 24hrs to remove the content in our favour. It is in their ToS and rules. The same way we don't allow libellous or slanderous statements to be posted on trinituner.com.crazychinee wrote:If a powerseller decides that what a user has posted on facebook is libelous, doesn't it then become the problem of the poster really? I'm sure facebook has a disclaimer somewhere, and what powerseller will send a letter to facebook? But anyway...
LOL nocrazychinee wrote:Then posters may be a little bit more careful on how they post.
Remember...the powerseller has to prove 1st off that the statement was false, for it to be considered libelous.
Hook wrote:There are user forums where all users are ranked according to a "thanks" system (as opposed to post count) which rates the quality of their posts, be it tech information, customer satisfaction or entertaining posts in the off-topic forums (which keeps the WOFB posts down considerably since it weighs the number of your posts to the number of thanks).
It's not totally foolproof, as users friends could inflate their ratings for them, but it helps. Maybe we should implement it here.
cinco wrote:buy from raptor /thread
you created the topic and saying move along?mediahouse wrote:Its a phpbb forum only so much they can do with it peeps.. move along nothing will be done here
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:you created the topic and saying move along?mediahouse wrote:Its a phpbb forum only so much they can do with it peeps.. move along nothing will be done here
tr1ad wrote:Raptor, did my silk come in?
i need to walk on something in the interim