The | US Embassy | Thread

ruffrider27

Re: The | US Embassy | Thread

Postby ruffrider27 » March 9th, 2012, 5:57 am

Thinking applying for my visa ,any recent updates ,2ners who were refused or got tru,seeing my sis travel back and forth make me want to travel with her.
Have my own registered business a year now ,have all documents,bank statements,bills, wholesale purchase receipts , repairs done,deed of the place is in my fathers name ,have a copy,well the usual have a family,one daughter ,common law relationship do i stand a chance ?

real good info here
Frequently Asked Questions

http://trinidad.usembassy.gov/other_questions.html

Postby AllTrac » March 9th, 2012, 7:02 am

all those things you posted doesnt matter. Sorry, but it has been proven here and all media time and time again, those things dont matter, the mood they woke up that morning is the ONLY thing that matters.

Xplode

Postby Xplode » March 9th, 2012, 9:33 am

ruffrider27 wrote:Thinking applying for my visa ,any recent updates ,2ners who were refused or got tru,seeing my sis travel back and forth make me want to travel with her.
Have my own registered business a year now ,have all documents,bank statements,bills, wholesale purchase receipts , repairs done,deed of the place is in my fathers name ,have a copy,well the usual have a family,one daughter ,common law relationship do i stand a chance ?

real good info here
Frequently Asked Questions

http://trinidad.usembassy.gov/other_questions.html

my friend just try and see ,a lot people these days are getting true easy.

Postby crazybalhead » March 9th, 2012, 9:44 am

Just an update from my end, made an appointment on line for whole family, left small man home. If you are under two, don't need to be present.

Looked at calender and got a convenient date.

Firstly, everyone, and I mean everyone there was extremely polite. From the security straight to the TT Post people. Walked in with a coke can and the security guard said, "You can put the empty can right there, theres a bin by the table."

This is a FAR cry from the Canadian embassy, where they treat you like animals. Wife an I went in, and within 30 Mins get names called. The lady asked what we do for a living, why we visiting. Where's baby? (home with his grandma) and Bam, Visa approved. All three passports in the mail next day.

In retrospect, denying the guy from my company a Visa may have been an excellent judgement call on their part.

We hired a guy to replace that one, same position, same pay, and HE got through, albeit for a short time, so he's going on training next week.

Good stuff.

Last thing, the guy at the booth on the end is real kicks. That day he was calling out his booth by place names, "Booth B as in Barcelona!" etc. And the ladies at TT Post said you should have heard him for halloween, real jokes.

Xplode

Postby Xplode » March 9th, 2012, 4:10 pm

it have a place that does the online application process for you for $1xx ,can't rember the exact figure ,right around Marli Street,just in case you don't have internet and a printer home.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » March 9th, 2012, 7:11 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Just an update from my end, made an appointment on line for whole family, left small man home. If you are under two, don't need to be present.

Looked at calender and got a convenient date.

Firstly, everyone, and I mean everyone there was extremely polite. From the security straight to the TT Post people. Walked in with a coke can and the security guard said, "You can put the empty can right there, theres a bin by the table."

This is a FAR cry from the Canadian embassy, where they treat you like animals. Wife an I went in, and within 30 Mins get names called. The lady asked what we do for a living, why we visiting. Where's baby? (home with his grandma) and Bam, Visa approved. All three passports in the mail next day.

In retrospect, denying the guy from my company a Visa may have been an excellent judgement call on their part.

We hired a guy to replace that one, same position, same pay, and HE got through, albeit for a short time, so he's going on training next week.

Good stuff.

Last thing, the guy at the booth on the end is real kicks. That day he was calling out his booth by place names, "Booth B as in Barcelona!" etc. And the ladies at TT Post said you should have heard him for halloween, real jokes.

The skinny whiteman?

Got my 10 years with no problems. He just asked what I did for a living, and why I am traveling. Then told me I was approved and to have a nice day....Took all of a minute.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » March 9th, 2012, 7:39 pm

Might try again soon yes.

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » March 10th, 2012, 3:17 am

Well i tried it went online filled out the application form ,went TTpost paid $882 TTD, must walk with cash and your valid passport,went back to the office printed the (DS-160) form and the appointment confirmation '2' pages for a date on the 3rd week of this month,wish me luck 2ners.

Postby equipped2ripp » March 10th, 2012, 3:23 am

^ doh worry yuhself nah man, you would get 10 years.

Xplode

Postby Xplode » March 10th, 2012, 9:45 am

ruffrider27 wrote:Well i tried it went online filled out the application form ,went TTpost paid $882 TTD, must walk with cash and your valid passport,went back to the office printed the (DS-160) form and the appointment confirmation '2' pages for a date on the 3rd week of this month,wish me luck 2ners.

equipped2ripp wrote:^ doh worry yuhself nah man, you would get 10 years.

you will get 10 years ruff,keep faith. :D

Postby equipped2ripp » March 10th, 2012, 3:05 pm

everybody I know who got through in recent times getting 10 years... long time people used to get 2, 3, 4 and 5 years, but apparently is 10 across the board... anybody knew anyone who got less than 10 in recent times?

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » March 11th, 2012, 3:06 am

equipped2ripp wrote:everybody I know who got through in recent times getting 10 years... long time people used to get 2, 3, 4 and 5 years, but apparently is 10 across the board... anybody knew anyone who got less than 10 in recent times?

god mother got 10 yrs recently.

Postby ronsin1 » March 11th, 2012, 8:25 pm

ruffrider27 wrote:
equipped2ripp wrote:everybody I know who got through in recent times getting 10 years... long time people used to get 2, 3, 4 and 5 years, but apparently is 10 across the board... anybody knew anyone who got less than 10 in recent times?

god mother got 10 yrs recently.

Last year one of my Co-workers got a 5 years

sexyicon

Postby sexyicon » March 13th, 2012, 4:41 pm

haven't re-applied for mine yet but someone i know got a 3 month visa recently too(from another country though)

Xplode

Postby Xplode » March 13th, 2012, 4:44 pm

old co-worker got 10 yrs 2 week ago.

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » March 15th, 2012, 4:45 am

A friend wife applied today and got 19 yrs ,she said the guy din't even ask for documents, under 2 mins interview.

Postby Stephon. » March 15th, 2012, 9:21 am

ruffrider27 wrote:A friend wife applied today and got 19 yrs ,she said the guy din't even ask for documents, under 2 mins interview.

Oh my.

sexyicon

Postby sexyicon » March 15th, 2012, 1:16 pm

Has anyone applied with immediate family living abroad? Sister mother etc? Would be interested as to what type of questions they ask..heading there in a couple months

Postby Gem_in_i » March 15th, 2012, 4:07 pm

19? :-/

Anyone know of anyone who won the Green Card Lottery?

sexyicon

Postby sexyicon » March 15th, 2012, 4:17 pm

77 people from trinidad one not sure who though lol

sexyicon

Postby sexyicon » March 20th, 2012, 8:44 pm

AllTrac wrote:i think it has alot to do with your age and also how much time you used your last visa.
If you under 25 and its your first time, u have a high chance of getting turned down.
Back in the day I got a 10 years, used it a couple times in the earlier and then the last 3 years of it, i didnt use it.
Went to renew and got a one year. They didnt check anything, they just saw that I traveled to England couple years ago they asked me about my purpose there and thats it, i got the one year. I traveled twice to the US in that one year. Went to renew again, carried all my docs, they didnt check anything, all my jobs was contract jobs, they just looked at my travel history, asked me about England again and i got a 5 years, i have 2 years left on it, Ive been trying to use it every year since.

hey sorry to pick your brain
but when you went to the embassy how did they see you went to england a couple times ? did you show it to them or did they ask you to see your passport for previous travel history ?

Postby equipped2ripp » March 20th, 2012, 8:49 pm

sexyicon wrote:
AllTrac wrote:i think it has alot to do with your age and also how much time you used your last visa.
If you under 25 and its your first time, u have a high chance of getting turned down.
Back in the day I got a 10 years, used it a couple times in the earlier and then the last 3 years of it, i didnt use it.
Went to renew and got a one year. They didnt check anything, they just saw that I traveled to England couple years ago they asked me about my purpose there and thats it, i got the one year. I traveled twice to the US in that one year. Went to renew again, carried all my docs, they didnt check anything, all my jobs was contract jobs, they just looked at my travel history, asked me about England again and i got a 5 years, i have 2 years left on it, Ive been trying to use it every year since.

hey sorry to pick your brain
but when you went to the embassy how did they see you went to england a couple times ? did you show it to them or did they ask you to see your passport for previous travel history ?

notsureifsrs

Postby janfar » April 3rd, 2012, 1:52 am

US visa fees set to increase

TRINIDADIANS applying for non-immigrant visas to the United States (US) will have to pay more for the appointment, as of April 13, as the US enforces a worldwide increase in the fee, as the demand for visas increases.

Last week, the US State Department posted the notification of the increased fees for the processing of visas, stated that although most categories of non immigrant visa processing fees will increase, the fee for E-visas (treaty-traders and treaty-investors) and K visas (for fiancé(e)s of US citizens) will decrease."

Alexander McLaren, Public Affairs Officer at the US Embassy in Port of Spain , said yesterday the Bureau of Consular Affairs is required by law to recover the cost of processing non immigrant visas through the collection of visa application fees.

"Certain categories of non immigrant visas cost more to process than other categories of non immigrant visas. The new fees reflect the costs of each visa service. Items that impact the cost of visa processing includes an increase in the number of visas processed or new regulations requiring additional security screening. Also included are costs of major department initiatives, particularly those relating to meeting the increased demand for non immigrant visas ".

He said the increase is based on US law, and requires that the Consular Offices recover the cost of processing non immigrant visas through visa application fees.

The US Department of State said "For a number of reasons, the current fees no longer cover the actual cost of processing non immigrant visas. The non immigrant visa fee increase will support the addition and expansion of overseas facilities, as well as additional staffing required to meet increased visa demand" said McLaren.

—Source: US Embassy, Port of Spain

Increase structure Nonimmigrant Visa Processing Fees Type of Visa Previous Fee New Fee Tourist, Business, Transit, Crew Member, Student, Exchange Visitor, and Journalist visas US$140 US$160 Petition-Based visas (H, L, O, P, Q, and R) US$150 US$190 Treaty Investor and Trader visas (E) US$390 US$270 Fiancé(e) visas (K) US$350 US$240 Border Crossing Cards (age 15 and older) US$140 US$160 Border Crossing Cards (under age 15) US$14 US$15 Because of a reallocation of costs associated with immigrant visas, all categories of immigrant visa processing fees will decrease. Immigrant Visa Processing Fees Type of Visa Previous Fee New Fee Previous Fee New Fee Immediate Relative and Family Preference Applications US$330 US$230 Employment-Based Applications US$720 US$405 Other Immigrant Visa Applications US$305 US$220 Diversity Visa Program Fee US$440 US$330 Determining Returning Resident Status US$380 US$275

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/US_ ... 66355.html

Postby hydroep » April 3rd, 2012, 7:04 am

Obama say: If allyuh could afford to travel allyuh could damn well pay ah $20 (US) extra for a visa...:lol:

Postby zoom rader » April 3rd, 2012, 9:38 am

They should raise it to $5000tt , dumb trinis will still pay

SRASC

Postby SRASC » April 3rd, 2012, 9:40 am

Lovely... (sigh)

Charge even more & then deny.

Postby Stephon. » April 3rd, 2012, 9:42 am

zoom rader wrote:They should raise it to $5000tt , dumb trinis will still pay

Do you make it your mission to look like a complete ass in every thread or does it just accidentally happen when you post? Just wondering.

Xplode

Postby Xplode » April 10th, 2012, 5:03 pm

heard they was on TV6 Morning Edition ,so what the dead line to get machine readable passports some of my employees are asking, if the old passport is valid they will blank you visas?

Postby sharkman121 » April 10th, 2012, 5:06 pm

Stephon. wrote:
zoom rader wrote:They should raise it to $5000tt , dumb trinis will still pay

Do you make it your mission to look like a complete ass in every thread or does it just accidentally happen when you post? Just wondering.

:lol: :lol: :lol: found my new sig

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » April 11th, 2012, 6:22 am

Xplode wrote:heard they was on TV6 Morning Edition ,so what the dead line to get machine readable passports some of my employees are asking, if the old passport is valid they will blank you visas?

On the web site in Q & A ,you don't need a machine readable passport,but they said you might encounter some delay at point of entry with the old valid passports,they should apply for the new ones,don't know if you have the old valid passport if you can apply for a new one,its relay confusing.
Last edited by ruffrider27 on November 5th, 2013, 6:04 am, edited 1 time in total.