A real issue or nitpicking? Kamla's P.A.

Re: A real issue or nitpicking? Kamla's P.A.

Postby Habit7 » March 13th, 2012, 12:00 pm

Remember when this was a talking point?

Postby nervewrecker » March 13th, 2012, 12:03 pm

Habit7 wrote:Image

Remember when this was a talking point?

thank god that never came to be, all now we woulda be president-less. And I doubt he could handle stress in his state all nao.

Postby Hook » March 13th, 2012, 1:23 pm

nervewrecker wrote:...thank god that never came to be...

not yet...different person, same khaki pants :roll:

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Kam ... 51983.html
Kamla: Executive presidency on Partnership agenda
By Juhel Browne

Story Created: Mar 9, 2012 at 9:29 PM ECT

Story Updated: Mar 9, 2012 at 9:29 PM ECT

An executive presidency for Trinidad and Tobago is not off the table for the People’s Partnership government.
Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar made the disclosure that legislation is soon to be drafted for fixed terms for prime ministers and fixed dates for the local and general elections.
She described the question of an executive presidency as one that will involve changes to the Constitution.
“It is not something we will want to jump into without having discussions with those on the other side (the Opposition),” she said.
Persad-Bissessar did so while speaking to reporters yesterday at the Royal Torarica Hotel in Paramaribo, during the lunch break of the 23rd Intersessional meeting of the conference of Caricom heads of government.
The Prime Minister said research was being conducted by the Office of the Prime Minister with respect to some specific promises the People’s Partnership made during the 2010 general election campaign—two-term limits (for prime ministers), right of recall and fixed election dates.
“And that research work has now gone on to the office of the Attorney General for us to begin initial consultations,” Persad-Bissessar said.
The Prime Minister spoke on the matter in response to questions from the Express about her discussions with Jamaica Prime Minister Portia Simpson-Miller on Wednesday night on the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ).
Persad-Bissessar said it is one of several issues concerning constitutional reform which are being discussed by the Caricom heads.
Former prime minister Patrick Manning was pursuing a proposal for an executive presidency while he was in office.
“Mr Manning had proposed that a person be elected by Members of Parliament, which is really how the president is elected now. So you’d be using the same process but giving greater powers. We were of the view and I am of that view that should we go the route of an executive president that person should be elected one-man-one-vote. Let the nation decide,” Persad-Bissessar said.
As for the CCJ replacing the Privy Council as Trinidad and Tobago’s final court of appeal, the Prime Minister said she sees no connection between that and Caricom’s anti-crime and security agenda.
“Indeed that was one of the ... arguments against the CCJ initially,” Persad-Bissessar said.
“Is it then the region wants to have the CCJ and not the Privy Council because we want to hang people? That’s a different issue. Yes, we want to execute the death penalty but in accordance with law.”
The Jamaican Prime Minister said she urged Persad-Bissessar to have Trinidad and Tobago cut ties with the Privy Council during their 90-minute bilateral meeting on Wednesday night.
“I believe the fact that the CCJ, its headquarters is in Trinidad and Tobago, then Trinidad and Tobago should review their stand on the CCJ,” Simpson-Miler said.
Persad-Bissessar said as Trinidad and Tobago is celebrating 50 years of independence this year, it is an opportune time for this country and the rest of Caricom to examine such issues of independence.

Postby sMASH » March 13th, 2012, 1:44 pm

i used to tell every body, 10 years ago, that unc and pnm was the same ting... fry roti or bake, essentially the same, the difference is really your upbringing.

i really thought that this time around, the defectors, COP, would be able to put some restraint over the foolishness of the unc, and prevent too much negative publicity.
but no. COP hardly doing any ting, and unc running amok.

Postby Monk BANzai » March 13th, 2012, 2:01 pm

5onDfloor wrote:There is an obvious question here that everyone seems to be dodging!!!

Should Kamla Bissessar resign for lieing to the populace about her sister employment?

previous PM's have done it and naught came of it.... but you do have a point.... if the allegations are true, at least the UNC should, within their own ranks deal with the PM which would then trickle to the OPM...

happened in Jamaica why not here?

Postby Habit7 » March 13th, 2012, 2:04 pm

sMASH wrote:i used to tell every body, 10 years ago, that unc and pnm was the same ting... fry roti or bake, essentially the same, the difference is really your upbringing.

PNM and UNC is not the same. PNM cut its own path for corruption, UNC just trying to follow it.

Postby Monk BANzai » March 13th, 2012, 2:07 pm

Habit7 wrote:
sMASH wrote:i used to tell every body, 10 years ago, that unc and pnm was the same ting... fry roti or bake, essentially the same, the difference is really your upbringing.

PNM and UNC is not the same. PNM cut its own path for corruption, UNC just trying to follow it.

fighting words there...almost a dangerous as a crashed Red Evo..

OKAY OKAY I'LL STOP NAO!!!

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » March 13th, 2012, 2:07 pm

When campaign yourself into office on the premise not to behave like the predecessor you ought to be held accountable.. rememeber their mantra pre May 24th 2010 'Transparency, accountability,anti-nepotism etc' you have to be held to different standards, after all you promised change................

Postby Monk BANzai » March 13th, 2012, 2:10 pm

5onDfloor wrote:When campaign yourself into office on the premise not to behave like the predecessor you ought to be held accountable.. rememeber their mantra pre May 24th 2010 'Transparency, accountability,anti-nepotism etc' you have to be held to different standards, after all you promised change................

Teef is teef...

really a good read.....

Postby MG Man » March 13th, 2012, 2:10 pm

that book is depressing

Postby crazybalhead » March 13th, 2012, 2:11 pm

Habit7 wrote:

CLAP CLAP CLAP!!!!

Postby Monk BANzai » March 13th, 2012, 2:14 pm

MG Man wrote:that book is depressing

why? cuz the PP "pigs" have just discovered how to walk on its hind legs? PNM did the same ...learn to walk on its Hind Legs off the PREVIOUS incarnation of the UNC....

Postby MG Man » March 13th, 2012, 2:16 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:

why? cuz the PP "pigs" have just discovered how to walk on its hind legs? PNM did the same ...learn to walk on its Hind Legs off the PREVIOUS incarnation of the UNC....

no the book depressing because of what they did to Boxer :(

Postby tr1ad » March 13th, 2012, 2:17 pm

ah fine the resident govt mouthpiece eh sayin boo

Postby Dizzy28 » March 13th, 2012, 2:17 pm

Made us do it in Form 2. Almost as depressing as Black Midas.

Postby Habit7 » March 13th, 2012, 2:38 pm

eliteauto wrote:The figures were contained in a note prepared for Cabinet obtained by the Sunday Express.
Newton, described as travel assistant to the Prime Minister, was given a per diem equivalent to a public servant.
In London, from the period October 19 to 21 and again on November 3-5, she was allowed accommodation of £350 a day.
Her per diem was £145 a day totalling $9,422.00.
In Dubai from October 21-23 she was given a accommodation valued at US$278 a day, which totalled US$834 (TT$5,362.62).
Her per diem was US$155 a day which totalled $1,993.30.
In Perth, Australia, for the period October 24 to 30, no accommodation expenses were incurred as the delegation was accommodated by the Australian Government.
Her per diem was US$155 a day which totalled $6,976.55
In Hong Kong from October 31 to November 4, an allowance of $23,089.52 was paid for accommodation with a per diem of US$155 a day which totalled $3,986.60.
On Friday, it was revealed that Newton incurred expenditure of $233,600 as a member of Persad-Bissessar’s delegation to India from January 4 to 16.

Last September, Persad-Bissessar, in an exclusive interview with the Sunday Express said Newton was not employed or paid by the government.
She said then: “I do give her some of my own money because she has to live.”

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/I-N ... 14755.html

5onDfloor wrote:There is an obvious question here that everyone seems to be dodging!!!

Should Kamla Bissessar resign for lieing to the populace about her sister employment?

Postby MG Man » March 13th, 2012, 2:40 pm

and here I thought I was big pimpin when one past job gave me ah US$25.00 per diem :(

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 13th, 2012, 2:47 pm

All animals are created equal, but some animals are more equal than others.

Postby Habit7 » March 13th, 2012, 2:48 pm

I guess we now understand the excessive need to be abroad by the PM, how else can she pay her sister but by daily travel allowances, along with free room & board and transport, locally and internationally.

Its not different than telling the ppl you are giving 10% of your salary and 5% of the ministers' salary to Children's Life Fund, then make it legal for ministers to get vehicle perks on top of that use the ministry vehicle personally, I would choose the latter.

Postby MG Man » March 13th, 2012, 3:12 pm

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » March 13th, 2012, 3:15 pm

HAHA!

Postby bluesteel29 » March 13th, 2012, 3:38 pm

fourk reeez

Postby eliteauto » March 13th, 2012, 3:50 pm

when the UNC was in opposition they were happy to have a MP's concubine reporting scandal after scandal about the then Gov't, did they think the media would revert after elections and not highlight their indiscretions? The main thrust of their campaign was new politics/transparency/accountability, this Gov't will be the most harshly scrutinized one ever, because the last election showed how fed up the electorate is with "business as usual"

Postby MG Man » March 13th, 2012, 4:16 pm

^^^u really think they care?
They gonna enjoy the ride till their term is done and then rock back

djaggs

Postby djaggs » March 13th, 2012, 5:14 pm

I find all yuh too hard on the PM, I hear dey cut ah deal and now India going to be importing beef from Trinidad.

Anyway....dat money cudda be used more successfully elsewhere....she cudda open ah temple in Biche.

Postby toyolink » March 13th, 2012, 6:51 pm

Regardless of your political bias one must acknowledge that the present gov't has had and continue to have mis-steps in their journey.
What I applaud is the fact that the population is more unguard than ever before and are holding the administration to serious account.
I believe that we all (after the none-sense we were subjected to under the previous administration) have taken a stand and if one thing positive exist it has to be that under this administration people are willing to speak out.
The responsibility of the gov't is to listen and fix their short comings urgently.
It also would be ideal if there surfaces a viable alternative since the PNM cannot assume to fall in this classification (at least not at this time).

Postby sMASH » March 13th, 2012, 7:15 pm

i was telling every body in the early 2000's that i did not like how the political landscape was. because of polarization according to the dominant races, but the attitude and observed philosophies were the same. i was setting my self up to fly out and away from tt .. vs naipaul style.

one election, the one before cop was a party, i actually defaced the ballot cause i did not trust neither party.

with the showing up of cop, i changed my views, and invested my self more into the country.
but lo and behold, cop has the philosophy i agree with, but they like the EMA, they not standing up against nobody. so the incumbents continue with their 'business as usual'.

Postby pioneer » March 13th, 2012, 7:23 pm

Hi all, 1995 called they want their feeding frenzy back.

Postby nervewrecker » March 13th, 2012, 7:47 pm

Hook wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:...thank god that never came to be...

not yet...different person, same khaki pants :roll:

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Kam ... 51983.html
Kamla: Executive presidency on Partnership agenda
By Juhel Browne

Story Created: Mar 9, 2012 at 9:29 PM ECT

Story Updated: Mar 9, 2012 at 9:29 PM ECT

An executive presidency for Trinidad and Tobago is not off the table for the People’s Partnership government.
Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar made the disclosure that legislation is soon to be drafted for fixed terms for prime ministers and fixed dates for the local and general elections.
She described the question of an executive presidency as one that will involve changes to the Constitution.
“It is not something we will want to jump into without having discussions with those on the other side (the Opposition),” she said.
Persad-Bissessar did so while speaking to reporters yesterday at the Royal Torarica Hotel in Paramaribo, during the lunch break of the 23rd Intersessional meeting of the conference of Caricom heads of government.
The Prime Minister said research was being conducted by the Office of the Prime Minister with respect to some specific promises the People’s Partnership made during the 2010 general election campaign—two-term limits (for prime ministers), right of recall and fixed election dates.
“And that research work has now gone on to the office of the Attorney General for us to begin initial consultations,” Persad-Bissessar said.
The Prime Minister spoke on the matter in response to questions from the Express about her discussions with Jamaica Prime Minister Portia Simpson-Miller on Wednesday night on the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ).
Persad-Bissessar said it is one of several issues concerning constitutional reform which are being discussed by the Caricom heads.
Former prime minister Patrick Manning was pursuing a proposal for an executive presidency while he was in office.
“Mr Manning had proposed that a person be elected by Members of Parliament, which is really how the president is elected now. So you’d be using the same process but giving greater powers. We were of the view and I am of that view that should we go the route of an executive president that person should be elected one-man-one-vote. Let the nation decide,” Persad-Bissessar said.
As for the CCJ replacing the Privy Council as Trinidad and Tobago’s final court of appeal, the Prime Minister said she sees no connection between that and Caricom’s anti-crime and security agenda.
“Indeed that was one of the ... arguments against the CCJ initially,” Persad-Bissessar said.
“Is it then the region wants to have the CCJ and not the Privy Council because we want to hang people? That’s a different issue. Yes, we want to execute the death penalty but in accordance with law.”
The Jamaican Prime Minister said she urged Persad-Bissessar to have Trinidad and Tobago cut ties with the Privy Council during their 90-minute bilateral meeting on Wednesday night.
“I believe the fact that the CCJ, its headquarters is in Trinidad and Tobago, then Trinidad and Tobago should review their stand on the CCJ,” Simpson-Miler said.
Persad-Bissessar said as Trinidad and Tobago is celebrating 50 years of independence this year, it is an opportune time for this country and the rest of Caricom to examine such issues of independence.

You left out the rest of my post lol. Leff she, she goin & join pathos just now. She & panday racing to see who going to meet him. Then Uncle Abu will take over & make roast pork illegal :lol:

Postby toyolink » March 13th, 2012, 7:50 pm

The population must make the elected officials work.
In order to get results no one must fear what the other may think or percieve.
The fact of the matter is that once a citizen uses good facts and judgement in what they determine,the individual must speak or demonstrate there expectations in any other approp. fashion.
The unfortunates who are trapped in the tribalism are generally doomed to a "fish-bowl" type of existence which in itself is a kind of mental hell.The funny thing about this observation is that individuals in this category feel as if they were abused and they don't know by whom.