Re: Cement Price Goes Up

Postby *$kїđž!™ » January 4th, 2012, 7:25 pm

where r they located?

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 4th, 2012, 7:31 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:where r they located?

lee office is at 2nd Floor, Real Value Complex, Mount Lambert, iirc.

altec

Postby altec » January 4th, 2012, 7:47 pm

turbosingh wrote:Cement prices go up
By Kim Boodram
Story Created: Dec 30, 2011 at 10:51 PM ECT
Story Updated: Dec 30, 2011 at 10:51 PM ECT
AN increase in the price of cement by Trinidad Cement Ltd (TCL) from tomorrow can be considered "negligible", president of the Trinidad and Tobago Contractors' Association Mervyn Chin has said.
TCL in a statement yesterday announced "marginal" adjustments of eight and seven per cent in the prices of its Premium Plus cement in Trinidad and Tobago respectively, as well as a 12 per cent increase in the price of its Portland brand.
This takes the retail price of Premium from around $48 per bag to about $52, while the Portland brand, which also retails for $48, will now be sold for closer to $54 a bag.
Chin said the TTCA was notified in November of the impending changes, which go into effect on January 1.
"I wouldn't say it's any big thing," Chin said in a telephone interview yesterday.
"These changes will translate, roughly, let's say in a two-bedroom house that costs around $400,000, to an additional $1,500."
Chin said increases, however negligible, will be inherited by the customer and that these changes are usually felt by people in lower income brackets.
"But I don't think that John Public will take it too hard," he added.
TCL general manager Satnarine Bachew said yesterday the new prices will be the company's first increase in four years.
The last increase of 6.5 per cent was made in 2008 and in 2009, the company reduced prices by five per cent.
Bachew said the company is now faced with escalating operation costs, including that of labour, the increasing price of electricity and natural gas, and costs directly related to the depreciation of foreign exchange.
The company can no longer absorb these costs, Bachew said.

The man raise cement (one product) price by an average of 9% and compare that to the multitude of things that has to be purchased to built a house. talk bout spindoctering

doe study the 9% cause it is really .375% I mus be dotish

Postby pioneer » January 4th, 2012, 7:49 pm

prices drop worldwide but skyrocket in trinidad...and noone finds that odd

meanwhile our prime minister and her band of drunken men gone india...to do what?

how many times does she need to go india to "promote" trinidad?

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 5th, 2012, 8:12 am

pioneer wrote:prices drop worldwide but skyrocket in trinidad...and noone finds that odd

meanwhile our prime minister and her band of drunken men gone india...to do what?

a 50-person contingent, no less.

de fawke i seein here.

Postby Dizzy28 » January 5th, 2012, 8:23 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:
pioneer wrote:prices drop worldwide but skyrocket in trinidad...and noone finds that odd

de fawke i seein here.

Contingent much larger than 50 son

Carnage117

Postby Carnage117 » January 5th, 2012, 7:44 pm

Cement prices go up
By Kim Boodram
Story Created: Dec 30, 2011 at 10:51 PM ECT
Story Updated: Dec 30, 2011 at 10:51 PM ECT
AN increase in the price of cement by Trinidad Cement Ltd (TCL) from tomorrow can be considered "negligible", president of the Trinidad and Tobago Contractors' Association Mervyn Chin has said.
TCL in a statement yesterday announced "marginal" adjustments of eight and seven per cent in the prices of its Premium Plus cement in Trinidad and Tobago respectively, as well as a 12 per cent increase in the price of its Portland brand.
This takes the retail price of Premium from around $48 per bag to about $52, while the Portland brand, which also retails for $48, will now be sold for closer to $54 a bag.
Chin said the TTCA was notified in November of the impending changes, which go into effect on January 1.
"I wouldn't say it's any big thing," Chin said in a telephone interview yesterday.
"These changes will translate, roughly, let's say in a two-bedroom house that costs around $400,000, to an additional $1,500."
Chin said increases, however negligible, will be inherited by the customer and that these changes are usually felt by people in lower income brackets.
"But I don't think that John Public will take it too hard," he added.
TCL general manager Satnarine Bachew said yesterday the new prices will be the company's first increase in four years.
The last increase of 6.5 per cent was made in 2008 and in 2009, the company reduced prices by five per cent.
Bachew said the company is now faced with escalating operation costs, including that of labour, the increasing price of electricity and natural gas, and costs directly related to the depreciation of foreign exchange.
The company can no longer absorb these costs, Bachew said.

Didn't Natural gas prices settle at a few cents lower last week? Also, last time there was an increase in electricity in T&TEC was 2009. How can it be ever increasing when it was the last rate increase to present? Plus it was made public of the impact by the RIC. Something on that aspect not adding up. Correct me if i'm wrong fellow tuners...

Postby pioneer » January 5th, 2012, 7:48 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:

de fawke i seein here.

Contingent much larger than 50 son

add security detail...administrative staff...media...ass-kissers...

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 7th, 2012, 2:50 am

whats the average price for a bag of cement now,,,What price do u guys pay?

Postby turbosingh » February 7th, 2012, 6:29 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:whats the average price for a bag of cement now,,,What price do u guys pay?

I aint sure but i know Kiss cake gone up! :lol: :lol:

Postby rfari » February 7th, 2012, 5:06 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:whats the average price for a bag of cement now,,,What price do u guys pay?

skids i not too sure of the prices off hand but in the dailies there are full page adverts for desai hardware. think about 40sumthing dollars. think

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » February 7th, 2012, 5:25 pm

I'm paying $43.46 plus VAT, i.e. just under $50 a bag.

Postby brams112 » February 7th, 2012, 7:29 pm

the people who selling cement cheap are the ones who bought a lot of cement before the price raised,so there will be hard cement,the price raised by 3dollars plus vat anyway so those who are selling under 50 dollars are dumping it,cemex came in last year and was stored in la brea,tcl got wind of it and made a big thing of it at a few hardwares letting the hardwares know they were not doing a good thing and a big bunch of crap,,,,also they bought the same dumping laws against cma,which in turn made cma raise their price close to tcl,thing is now cma is making more money,their product is good,same as harricrete,, tcl licks them years ago too,oh and tcl pumping money in other countries and we have to pay here,,,,,,,,,

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 13th, 2012, 3:24 am

silent_riot wrote:I'm paying $43.46 plus VAT, i.e. just under $50 a bag.

Where r u gettin this price?.....the cheapest price i am gettin is $50 exact per bag...

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 13th, 2012, 3:34 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:
silent_riot wrote:I'm paying $43.46 plus VAT, i.e. just under $50 a bag.

Where r u gettin this price?.....the cheapest price i am gettin is $50 exact per bag...

If my math is right, $43.46+vat (15%= 6.51)= $49.97 (v.I)

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 13th, 2012, 3:44 am

seen kurpal...it kinda late nah and i didnt work out the maths....lol.....

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 5th, 2012, 1:54 am

how much are u guys paying for cement now?

On the day the strike sarted I needed 10 bags......got price quotes of $57 and $65 respectively....

When i went to the place that quoted me $57.....they said price raise to $60.....WTF....in a matter of minutes..!!

really interested to know what the price is today!!......

madman.devin

Postby madman.devin » March 5th, 2012, 2:24 am

Currently we sell Cement for $55.00, The reason for the increase is that we have to buy it from the warehouse instead of TCL Directly and pay a warehouse stocking fee, by this week we were promised things would be back to normal.

BTW we're based in Rio so I doubt allyuh want to make that kinda distance for a few dollars, Check us out -
https://www.facebook.com/pages/B-Ramkis ... 1926555012

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » March 5th, 2012, 2:58 am

^ Yuh does sell wood dey?

*remembers Lalls hardware commercial with Sprangalang*

madman.devin

Postby madman.devin » March 5th, 2012, 3:04 am

lol yea all sizes of wood, you need any ? I could send it up with laparkan.

Postby Damien » March 5th, 2012, 8:38 am

Blame the management in tcl they aint want to settle negotiations lol

ravi_kyle

Postby ravi_kyle » March 5th, 2012, 9:36 am

WTF Chaguanas General Hardware says $95.00 per bag...WTMC wrong with theses people...The f....in cement should remain in they f....in han and F...kin dry these MC Hardware....

Postby Damien » March 5th, 2012, 11:50 am

$95 wdmc

Postby Dizzy28 » March 5th, 2012, 11:53 am

If you could help it..put a hold on your project till cement price normalize. No sense letting hardwares eat ah food off the strike.

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » March 5th, 2012, 11:54 am

Greypatch wrote:
Country_Bookie wrote:Any ah allyuh ever own a business?
Allyuh have any idea how hard it is to maintain the same price for the one product you manufacture over a number of years when all the other overhead costs increasing? TCL is in a bad position right now; they can't pay their debts, they making losses and the union as usual wants more money than the company can afford to pay. What allyuh expect them to do? Maintain the same price until they go out of business?

if you find yourself in a bad position and you are the sole provider, you do NOT deserve to be in business

:!: :!: :!:

Postby Damien » March 5th, 2012, 1:31 pm

they tried to be the sole provider in the Caribbean thats why they are in this state

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 5th, 2012, 6:59 pm

Damien wrote:$95 wdmc

:shock: :shock:

badandy

Postby badandy » March 6th, 2012, 5:16 pm

yep!!!!!!!!

badandy

Postby badandy » March 6th, 2012, 5:24 pm

ravi_kyle wrote:WTF Chaguanas General Hardware says $95.00 per bag...WTMC wrong with theses people...The f....in cement should remain in they f....in han and F...kin dry these MC Hardware....

last week in the morning it was $75 then by evening it was $95...
people rel digging out people eye..

that`s why i don't envy a next man money...

d owner always come back for it....lol...[d circle of life]
u rel good sean :x