The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

IslandShack

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby IslandShack » February 27th, 2012, 11:35 am

nismoid wrote:it went into download mode a couple times (before the odin flash) but now it wont.
I tried to use the one click unbrick but i an having probs installing it to my desktop

You tried the things mentioned here?
http://androidforums.com/captivate-all- ... -help.html

nismoid

Postby nismoid » February 27th, 2012, 4:12 pm

Ok guys good news, I fixed it this morning, after about 20 attempts to get it into download mode by using different combinations i finally got it and flashed the stock rom

S_2NR wrote:Wait..is the phone booting at all? Boot loop? Or is it just dead with no sign of life?

IslandShack wrote:
nismoid wrote:it went into download mode a couple times (before the odin flash) but now it wont.
I tried to use the one click unbrick but i an having probs installing it to my desktop

You tried the things mentioned here?
<a class="vglnk" title="Link added by VigLink" target="_blank" rel="nofollow" href="http://androidforums.com/captivate-all-things-root/167600-captivate-stuck-boot-loop-please-help.html">http://androidforums.com/captivate-all-things-root/167600-captivate-stuck-boot-loop-please-help.html</a>

tried all that but finally got it, thanks
achillies wrote:

What files exactly did you flash with Odin?

i installed clockwork mod/ cyanogen mod and thats when all the bacchanal started, but solved now, thanks

S_2NR wrote:Wait..is the phone booting at all? Boot loop? Or is it just dead with no sign of life?

yeah it went into bootloop but solved now thanks

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » February 28th, 2012, 12:50 am

anybody check out the new htc one x....would be a great fone wen it is released...

azeem

Postby azeem » February 29th, 2012, 6:51 pm

i need some advice, i want to get a galaxy tab, but the galaxy tab 2 comin out in march. the specs lookin the same except it heavier by a few grams and comes with ice cream sandwich.

won't i be able to get android 4.0 on the first galaxy tab?

Postby Trini Hookah » February 29th, 2012, 7:04 pm

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » March 1st, 2012, 3:01 pm

Anyone flashed any ics roms on their gs2?

Postby M_2NR » March 1st, 2012, 3:01 pm

WOW! i just did CM9 Alpha2 on my Touchpad.... :faint:
Brb

Postby stev » March 1st, 2012, 3:10 pm

^^^hahahah

Postby sharkman121 » March 1st, 2012, 3:14 pm

achillies

Postby achillies » March 1st, 2012, 5:20 pm

Jonathan_337 wrote:Anyone flashed any ics roms on their gs2?

Been using XXLPH for the past couple weeks. I think it's still the latest available beta leak.

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » March 1st, 2012, 5:48 pm

achillies wrote:
Jonathan_337 wrote:Anyone flashed any ics roms on their gs2?

Been using XXLPH for the past couple weeks. I think it's still the latest available beta leak.

A friend of mine flashed an ICS leak on his Iconia A500 and, compared to honeycomb on it, the thing is DAMN smooth and more stable than expected for a leak so I'm now feeling tempted to flash mine.

How's the leak running? Any bugs, fc's, broken radios etc? And is the FM radio and camera working as well? And performance/battery improvements?

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » March 1st, 2012, 5:49 pm

M_2NR wrote:WOW! i just did CM9 Alpha2 on my Touchpad.... :faint:
Brb

LMAO

achillies

Postby achillies » March 1st, 2012, 8:59 pm

Well it's pretty stable, battery life for me can be very inconsistent. Sometimes I can get 2 days, other times I barely make a day. To be honest I just flashed and started using so I don't really know why the battery is erratic and I won't try to investigate until a stable version is released.

The Gmail app force closes sometimes for me, and unfortunately chrome beta doesn't work consistently, it has random freezes, other than that the ROM is pretty stable, 300 hours uptime so no random reboots or anything.

The radio app works and all phone functions are stable, I make and receive a lot of phone calls, the camera app works well also, no problems there for me, I have about 50 apps installed and they all work so far, won't reinstall everything until I get a stable version, data works, WiFi can be a bit slow (not sure if that's the ROM or my router dying slowly) or ICS not working well with DDWRT, I do think it's a combination of all, so keep an eye out for that if you decide to flash.

The user experience is a bit different, lists do not scroll freely as in gingerbread, some believe it's due to Hardware Acceleration, the lockscreen and the "call answer/reject" screen has changed, it's patterned after the Galaxy Note/Nexus, you slide your finger outside of a cirle that expands once you touch the screen, personally, I like it.

Hmmm, that's it for now yess, I cyah remember anything else right now and I'm watching an episode of Big Bang Theory that I have never seen before......

Oh, you can do a No Wipe upgrade from a gingerbread ROM and if you are lucky, all will work well, I used it like that for a day then I decided to wipe. Also, if you decide to flash, be sure to do a Nandroid backup, just in case you want to go backwards, it seems its not a straight flash back to gingerbread using Odin, you have to restore your Nandroid then proceed from there, I am not going to go back to gingerbread so I haven't concerned myself too much with the proven method, but you should familiarize yourself if you think you may want to go back to gingerbread.

If you have any specific questions, just ask, if you have an app that you want to test compatibility, I'll do it

Postby stev » March 2nd, 2012, 11:16 am

hey guys, just saw on Google+ that there is an android phone that can transform into a tablet...then into a laptop. anyone has details about it?

achillies

Postby achillies » March 2nd, 2012, 11:31 am

stev wrote:hey guys, just saw on Google+ that there is an android phone that can transform into a tablet...then into a laptop. anyone has details about it?

That's probably the ASUS Padfone you are talking about. Search it on YouTube to see some demonstrations, it's a really cool concept.

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » March 2nd, 2012, 11:39 am

achillies wrote:Well it's pretty stable, battery life for me can be very inconsistent. Sometimes I can get 2 days, other times I barely make a day. To be honest I just flashed and started using so I don't really know why the battery is erratic and I won't try to investigate until a stable version is released.

The Gmail app force closes sometimes for me, and unfortunately chrome beta doesn't work consistently, it has random freezes, other than that the ROM is pretty stable, 300 hours uptime so no random reboots or anything.

The radio app works and all phone functions are stable, I make and receive a lot of phone calls, the camera app works well also, no problems there for me, I have about 50 apps installed and they all work so far, won't reinstall everything until I get a stable version, data works, WiFi can be a bit slow (not sure if that's the ROM or my router dying slowly) or ICS not working well with DDWRT, I do think it's a combination of all, so keep an eye out for that if you decide to flash.

The user experience is a bit different, lists do not scroll freely as in gingerbread, some believe it's due to Hardware Acceleration, the lockscreen and the "call answer/reject" screen has changed, it's patterned after the Galaxy Note/Nexus, you slide your finger outside of a cirle that expands once you touch the screen, personally, I like it.

Hmmm, that's it for now yess, I cyah remember anything else right now and I'm watching an episode of Big Bang Theory that I have never seen before......

Oh, you can do a No Wipe upgrade from a gingerbread ROM and if you are lucky, all will work well, I used it like that for a day then I decided to wipe. Also, if you decide to flash, be sure to do a Nandroid backup, just in case you want to go backwards, it seems its not a straight flash back to gingerbread using Odin, you have to restore your Nandroid then proceed from there, I am not going to go back to gingerbread so I haven't concerned myself too much with the proven method, but you should familiarize yourself if you think you may want to go back to gingerbread.

If you have any specific questions, just ask, if you have an app that you want to test compatibility, I'll do it

Thanks a lot for the review man..I have 2 spare batteries that I walk around with so the inconsistency shouldn't be that much of issue LOL But from your review everything seems fairly stable for a daily driver so I think I'll give it a flash this weekend..I rather a wipe..It just feels better..I'll let you know how it goes..I always thought that GingerBread wasn't as..polished..as it should be, like an iOS device..ICS seems to have that polished, finished, smooth feel? And how's the multitasking? Like with GB, if you switch to another app and then switch back, sometimes you don't get back at where you left off...Is it the same or have they fixed that?

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » March 2nd, 2012, 11:39 am

stev wrote:hey guys, just saw on Google+ that there is an android phone that can transform into a tablet...then into a laptop. anyone has details about it?

http://www.asus.com/Mobile/PadFone/

^ Think it's that

achillies

Postby achillies » March 2nd, 2012, 3:15 pm

Jonathan_337 wrote:Thanks a lot for the review man..I have 2 spare batteries that I walk around with so the inconsistency shouldn't be that much of issue LOL But from your review everything seems fairly stable for a daily driver so I think I'll give it a flash this weekend..I rather a wipe..It just feels better..I'll let you know how it goes..I always thought that GingerBread wasn't as..polished..as it should be, like an iOS device..ICS seems to have that polished, finished, smooth feel? And how's the multitasking? Like with GB, if you switch to another app and then switch back, sometimes you don't get back at where you left off...Is it the same or have they fixed that?

Well I haven't had any issues with the multitasking, once you hold down your home button, you get a list of all running apps with a mini screenshot of exactly where you left the app, so thus far, I haven't experienced a situation where I went back to an app and it lost it's "state"

The few times I have experienced this in gingerbread though, I have always attributed it to either the way the app was written or I must have subconsciously used the "back" button and closed the app, is there any specific app that you see this happening with?

Postby M_2NR » March 2nd, 2012, 7:05 pm

ok so playing a bit with ICS... lots of things weird... i missing the old gb. but its a cool change. It kind of reminds me of my xp to vista/7/aero experience.

Postby S_2NR » March 5th, 2012, 11:13 pm

Selling my nexus s.

http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=425532

The infatuation has worn off..
Missing Blackberry and BBM and that epic keyboard :cry:

Postby Trini Hookah » March 5th, 2012, 11:19 pm

^ I know what you mean. Got back a Torch for other purposes and the Android is only used for whatsapp, the novelty has worn off alot for me :(

Postby S_2NR » March 5th, 2012, 11:22 pm

Whatsapp is available for Blackberry u know ^

Postby Trini Hookah » March 5th, 2012, 11:30 pm

Yeah I know :lol: separate contacts that's why.

But I think if I check out some more apps the novelty might come back. Speaking about that, my hotmail app works like crap atm :S

CBharath

Postby CBharath » March 6th, 2012, 4:31 pm

http://iboostapp.com/faq.html , is there an android equivalent for this ?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » March 6th, 2012, 6:21 pm

Google Play replaces Android Market, new source for apps, books, movies and music

The Android Market has morphed significantly since its inception, which now allows users to purchase books, music and rent movies, all from within a hub that was originally designed for just apps. To recognize this fundamental shift -- and emphasize the availability of content for sale -- Google is launching a new platform known as Google Play. The move hints at a strategy shift from just Android to the cloud as a whole, and establishes an umbrella brand for the diverse content sold by Google. For example, its Books, Music and Videos apps will now become Play Books, Play Music and Play Movies, while the Android Market itself will take on the moniker of Play Store. Users of Android 2.2 (and above) should notice the software update within the next few days, although other than the new name, initial changes should be minimal. We're also to be on the lookout for a new "Play" tab within the top toolbar of Google's website. To mark the occasion, the company has announced a promotional "Seven Days to Play" sale, which will tease would-be shoppers with discounted apps, books, movies and music throughout the week.

Engadget

Postby M_2NR » March 6th, 2012, 6:43 pm

wait nuh... swisha gone iOS and ulyuh gone back BB? :wtf:

Postby Trini Hookah » March 6th, 2012, 7:40 pm

M_2NR wrote:wait nuh... swisha gone iOS and ulyuh gone back BB? :wtf:

Basically :lol:

BB OS 7 wukkin good bai

Postby S_2NR » March 6th, 2012, 9:04 pm

i really not feeling like selling my phone but all i use it for is calls, txt, email, whatsapp and the occasional tapatalk. have rel games on it but dont play them anymore.
the novelty wore off :|

BB would be more efficient for me based on my needs.

Postby r3iXmann » March 7th, 2012, 9:44 am

Trini Hookah wrote:

Basically :lol:

BB OS 7 wukkin good bai

oxymoron of the century :lol:

Postby Trini Hookah » March 7th, 2012, 9:48 am

Ogoar...so far.

It transitions pretty much smoothly, so I can't really complain as yet.