Australian Beasts......

Re: Australian Beasts......

Postby rfari » February 26th, 2012, 11:16 pm

Saw the interior of one huh? How tht happen?

Postby Team Loco » February 26th, 2012, 11:22 pm

I was surprised no one posted them earlier. They've been on the road like 2 weeks now

Postby Habit7 » February 26th, 2012, 11:41 pm

I saw it from the outside, I'm a police credit union member, I so whenever I go there I glance at how gov't money is wasted in keeping the A/C running with the engine on, to some officer's new fridge being loaded unto a police truck for personal delivery.

redras

Postby redras » February 27th, 2012, 2:29 am

Seems pretty standard as to what is currently being used.

Postby Monk BANzai » February 27th, 2012, 3:28 am

today saw one run down a (MAN SHUTYO MOUF!!) by chincity lights......sheit moves....i mean...reminds me of the days when Ish and Que "tung" brought in these...

as in all police vehicles they will end up in VMCOTT carpark...but wow....nice return of Holden to the market....

Postby bushwakka » February 27th, 2012, 7:44 am

firetruck local dealerships

civic minded

Australian Beasts......

Postby civic minded » February 27th, 2012, 8:08 am

I really don't understand the rationalization of these decision makers, so parts for these vehicles, local mechanics competence on these are not taken into consideration? I swear these decisions are made by a group of monkeys. I mean the decision to lease a light aircraft, lease costing 10 time more than the actual cost to this???!! They need to fire the decision makers in the Police service

Postby Trini Hookah » February 27th, 2012, 8:13 am

civic minded wrote:I really don't understand the rationalization of these decision makers, so parts for these vehicles, local mechanics competence on these are not taken into consideration? I swear these decisions are made by a group of monkeys. I mean the decision to lease a light aircraft, lease costing 10 time more than the actual cost to this???!! They need to fire the decision makers in the Police service

Apparently re-training isn't an option if feasible?

Postby Habit7 » February 27th, 2012, 8:37 am

Sure not like your uncle's old Commodore
civic minded wrote:I really don't understand the rationalization of these decision makers, so parts for these vehicles, local mechanics competence on these are not taken into consideration? I swear these decisions are made by a group of monkeys. I mean the decision to lease a light aircraft, lease costing 10 time more than the actual cost to this???!! They need to fire the decision makers in the Police service

But they are just simple american cars, any Chevy mechanic can tinker with it, most of the parts can come from Miami, as opposed to Japan

civic minded

Australian Beasts......

Postby civic minded » February 27th, 2012, 9:12 am

Yes but all those things have to factor into the cost. Won't it be easier to buy cars that the mechanics in vemmcot are familiar with? Like the restocking the current fleet of Mazda 6 ??

Postby Habit7 » February 27th, 2012, 9:51 am

The Mazda 6 are not purpose built police cars, they were just given to the police after the Summit was over and who's true purpose was to chauffeur VIPs. We once had purpose built Opel Astras but they never keep bringing them in. In fact they sold some used ones to the public.

Postby Trini Hookah » February 27th, 2012, 10:02 am

Not sure why, but the Camry's were my favourite in the Police colours although that was a couple years back.

:oops:

Postby rollingstock » February 27th, 2012, 2:08 pm

These vehicles have a longer service interval, and i mean longer.
They've actually been out a while, took one through it's paces since around xmas last year.

Nice vehicles, purpose built too for policing.

Expect to see a lot in the Central division, a lot was issued there due to the 21st Century Policing Initiative.

Postby nervewrecker » February 27th, 2012, 2:10 pm

I hope is not couva, heard there is the most corrupt station.

Postby crazybalhead » February 27th, 2012, 2:14 pm

They was driving and flamsing about in one in cunupieh last week.

Postby Trini Hookah » February 27th, 2012, 2:21 pm

Saw a 2nd one today PCU 6XXX

Postby RBphoto » February 27th, 2012, 3:24 pm

bushwakka wrote:firetruck local dealerships

^^^THIS!!

civic minded

Postby civic minded » February 27th, 2012, 3:39 pm

i think we may be the only country that has so many variants of police vehicles. I personally think the Ford Taurus ( the set that came to trinidad years ago) was a good police vehicle, Install a roll bar on them and teach the cops to do pit manoeuvres rather than chasing down the bandits and spray the car.

Postby sMASH » February 27th, 2012, 3:53 pm

after seeing this i wanted one meh self (dunno how i woulda get one though)....

(pay attention @ 1:53 and 5:55)

civic minded

Postby civic minded » February 27th, 2012, 7:32 pm

which company is contracted to bring in the holdens for the police?

Postby Trini Hookah » February 27th, 2012, 7:41 pm

That Taurus is bulky and certainly outdated although it was a good ride in it's time (we owned one and it was long as fck). Bringing that back would be pointless.

Unless you mean the 2012 Taurus :wink:

Postby rfari » February 27th, 2012, 8:00 pm

ohh dear :evil: :evil: :evil:

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » February 27th, 2012, 8:03 pm

1 crashed already

civic minded

Postby civic minded » February 27th, 2012, 8:23 pm

vrampersad14 wrote:That Taurus is bulky and certainly outdated although it was a good ride in it's time (we owned one and it was long as fck). Bringing that back would be pointless.

:roll: give me strength lord

Postby rfari » February 27th, 2012, 8:33 pm

Zeriam wrote:1 crashed already

u on sh'it or is serious thing? wehrer tht happen?

Postby Trini Hookah » February 27th, 2012, 8:39 pm

civic minded wrote:
vrampersad14 wrote:That Taurus is bulky and certainly outdated although it was a good ride in it's time (we owned one and it was long as fck). Bringing that back would be pointless.

:roll: give me strength lord

Coming from the man that never thought re-training mechanics to be a possibility, carry on.

Postby nervewrecker » February 27th, 2012, 10:41 pm

how long before:

anyways, on another note:

looks good in my book.

Postby gt4tified » February 28th, 2012, 12:00 am

civic minded wrote:which company is contracted to bring in the holdens for the police?

VMCOTT, and it would make sense since they seemed to have stopped fixin those that already on the road, so they might as well just be the contracting agency for the TTPS and done.

Victory_Specification

Postby Victory_Specification » February 28th, 2012, 1:58 am

Habit7 wrote:They look like they have a lot of muscle. Also saw the interior of one some weeks ago, very cushy.

They really need more purpose built police cars, these VIP Summit vehicles with sirens cant take a good beating.

LADA, perhaps?

dohcum

Postby dohcum » February 28th, 2012, 11:10 am

THIS IS NO JOKE..... I TAUGHT THIS TREAD SAID AUSTRALIAN BREAST..... GOT EXCITED