National Strike updates/ watch/ News

Re: National Strike updates/ watch/ News

Postby RBphoto » February 15th, 2012, 3:19 pm

I fullup at peaks normal during lunchtime. Plenty people filling up approved containers as well though.

Postby toyolink » February 15th, 2012, 4:22 pm

I have for a very long time held the position that renumeration conditions should be based on an agreed formula for determination/benchmarking of same on an anual basis.
Obviously a bench-marking system would result in some good adjustments and some not so good and would certainly not accomodate inefficent use of financial resources by management.
What must become a thing of the pass is this 3 year dance and retro figuring we continue to be subjected to.
All this nonesense causes every citizen to suffer the consequences of loss of productivity and slow down of economic activity with associated bitterness. This stuff really gets terrible when we can least afford it.
NOBODY WINS!

Postby wagonrunner » February 15th, 2012, 4:37 pm

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:they should run out of diesel for carnival and have no fuel for the trucks or generators!

i couldnt care one fart!

I'm scaring myself. I'm actually liking this scenario. :rofl:

villain

Postby villain » February 15th, 2012, 5:08 pm

NXTREME wrote:everyone know the company drowning in debt and loans that they have to pay off, so obviously they cant suffice any sort of lavish pay increase. so why call a strike, what is the expected benefit?

btw, im sure most of the employees not willing to chance their salaries for any strike period, man have mortgage, car installment an chirren tuh mine dann.

if the company in so much debt...how come it have 2 million to give to pan and not the workers ...who are owed that money.....profit sharing is a LEGALLY binding agreement...that the company does not honor...when the company,for eg,makes 2 billion in profit...10% of anything after that is supposed to go to the workers...10%!!!!! the company still gets the other 90%...nxtreme bawling the company in debt...how come it have money to give everybody else but where it supposed to go....whether you believe (in all your ignorance) why the workers shouldnt get this or that, at the end of the day it is a legally binding document....management will gladly go to court,even though they will lose....the matter will take 5 to 7 years to come to a conclusion(and the company can invest and make money off of that money owed)...by that time people dead,fired,change jobs etc....a strike will produce immediate response...cause if they owed the workers half a mill. , when the the plants shut down,it will cost petrotrin 5 times as much,daily....

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » February 15th, 2012, 5:12 pm

my tank was on 3/4...went to drop wife to work in san juan/santa cruz...pass by the unipet by uncle beddoes....empty...so i duck in and full up one time..jus in case.. never kno oui

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 15th, 2012, 8:18 pm

Charlieville gas station was closed at 230 pm ...gas finish.....

ray_S.T.R.A_man

Postby ray_S.T.R.A_man » February 15th, 2012, 8:45 pm

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:they should run out of diesel for carnival and have no fuel for the trucks or generators!

i couldnt care one fart!

clicks like

Postby De Dragon » February 15th, 2012, 9:32 pm

I was in the gas station today and the few cars ahead of me were putting like 20-40 dollars gas! :?

Postby wagonrunner » February 15th, 2012, 9:34 pm

De Dragon wrote:I was in the gas station today and the few cars ahead of me were putting like 20-40 dollars gas! :?

Oh THE HORROR!!!!
perhaps they put enough to go where they were going. not every car does high mileage every day.

Postby De Dragon » February 15th, 2012, 9:36 pm

De Dragon wrote:I was in the gas station today and the few cars ahead of me were putting like 20-40 dollars gas! :?

Oh THE HORROR!!!!
perhaps they put enough to go where they were going. not every car does high mileage every day.

No,they were just topping off their tanks

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 15th, 2012, 9:40 pm

cant imagine spending 10 - 15 minutes lining up to put 20 dollars gas.....

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 15th, 2012, 9:50 pm

outta gas......but diesel running as normal.....

Postby pioneer » February 15th, 2012, 9:53 pm

They should fire all those workers. Unions need to be disbanded.

Postby De Dragon » February 16th, 2012, 12:01 am

pioneer wrote:They should fire all those workers. Unions need to be disbanded.

A little extreme, I think that unions need to be brought into the modern world. All this sheit about "comrade" and "struggle" and "revoultion" was fine in the old colonial days.

Postby hydroep » February 16th, 2012, 7:11 am

TV6 news is reporting this morning that the Regiment is taking up position in Petrotrin to distribute fuel if necessary.

Negotiations to continue this evening.

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » February 16th, 2012, 7:19 am

Unions are the backbone of unfairness and dishonesty in some establishments.

I really wish there is NO gas or DIESEL for carnival................. lets do this trinidad

eyeballz

Postby eyeballz » February 16th, 2012, 7:44 am

lmao... ignorance to the highest... I hope that your statement is just picong. i know companies that have no union and men get injured doing their jobs and can't work again, and all they get was a bandage and money to reach the hospital. most of the benefits afforded to workers EVERYWHERE is because unions fought and things kinda became a standard.

A company's goal is to produce profit and increase shareholder's wealth, not look after the workers needs. No unions means we turn sweet T&T into chinese sweat shops.

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » February 16th, 2012, 7:55 am

A little extreme, I think that unions need to be brought into the modern world. All this sheit about "comrade" and "struggle" and "revoultion" was fine in the old colonial days.

some workers willing to come out, esp the sole bread winners, but the fact that in the past workers have been attacked, property vandalized etc. most are pretty much afraid, unless the company provides adequate security. and apparently some workers are more critical that others as i have been told.

whats even more interesting, top level management has not given any word what so ever officially. :|

Postby pugboy » February 16th, 2012, 8:04 am

salaries printed in papers today, rather high

Postby Redman » February 16th, 2012, 8:07 am

eyeballz wrote:

lmao... ignorance to the highest... I hope that your statement is just picong. i know companies that have no union and men get injured doing their jobs and can't work again, and all they get was a bandage and money to reach the hospital. most of the benefits afforded to workers EVERYWHERE is because unions fought and things kinda became a standard.

A company's goal is to produce profit and increase shareholder's wealth, not look after the workers needs. No unions means we turn sweet T&T into chinese sweat shops.

Well there are two POV on this -It is an abuse of the system when OWTU shuts down the works to inspect trucks,when the trucks were already recently passed.
Drivers are making 30,000+ a month as a result of the overtime they make-when they deliberately drive slow and lahay around to kill time.When the company tries to run a shift system the union fights it.

So its not to say that the workers are innocent in all of this-they too are culpable.

I say give them the 75% based on production increases,-Give more productive workers-I will give you 75% if you give me 50% increase in output.

Allow the Co to optimize its operations-dont fight it.
Look at Detroits history.

Later

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » February 16th, 2012, 8:24 am

fuh real 75% based on performance yes. and if yuh doh perform 0%. everybody wanna milk d cow but wen the cow run dry whats left to milk, real pakaskas mentality yes, man talking bout profit sharing and agreements, :lol: this strike is wayyyyyy past profit sharing an agreements bullsheit.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » February 16th, 2012, 8:26 am

^^Yuh talk sense there.

A culture of non-productivity wants to be re-imbursed even more?

eyeballz

Postby eyeballz » February 16th, 2012, 8:28 am

Redman wrote:
eyeballz wrote:

Well there are two POV on this -It is an abuse of the system when OWTU shuts down the works to inspect trucks,when the trucks were already recently passed.
Drivers are making 30,000+ a month as a result of the overtime they make-when they deliberately drive slow and lahay around to kill time.When the company tries to run a shift system the union fights it.

So its not to say that the workers are innocent in all of this-they too are culpable.

I say give them the 75% based on production increases,-Give more productive workers-I will give you 75% if you give me 50% increase in output.

Allow the Co to optimize its operations-dont fight it.
Look at Detroits history.

Later

30,000+???? Petrotrin drivers? IF that ever happened, I'm certain it's an anomaly. Drivers do not work for that, they don't work for anything close to that. The drivers who work for the most are the ones driving around management and their wives etc.

Postby Redman » February 16th, 2012, 8:34 am

[/quote]

30,000+???? Petrotrin drivers? IF that ever happened, I'm certain it's an anomaly. Drivers do not work for that, they don't work for anything close to that. The drivers who work for the most are the ones driving around management and their wives etc.[/quote]

NP Drivers-the guys on the RTWs-Sorry I was not clear.
2 sources confirmed-1 from the OWTU and 1 from NP.I was as skeptical as you

I dont have a problem with anybody earning 30,000-IF ITS HONESTLY EARNED.

later

Postby Dave » February 16th, 2012, 8:37 am

Unions do serve a good but there are some instances where they are really over the top.
Always observe what these union leaders are driving. Truely not reflective of people "on a struggle"

Morvant station was empty at 7:30 this morning.

Postby SR » February 16th, 2012, 8:41 am

labourer base salary is $8500 plus cola at present

how do you justify a 75% increase on this.............

5% is already probably too much

whats the jd of the labourer

Postby pioneer » February 16th, 2012, 8:50 am

I think laborer salary starts at $11,000...

Postby SR » February 16th, 2012, 8:52 am

thast the proposed for 2012

info is based on article in today's guardian business page

Postby pioneer » February 16th, 2012, 8:52 am

I LOL@ these unions threatening "90 days of war"

They should be arrested and charged for threatening to destabilize the country. In the modern world that threat won't be taken lightly.

Postby Dizzy28 » February 16th, 2012, 8:55 am

According to 2010 figures from MoE Petrotin has 1601 employees in Marketing and Refining. This excludes the Admin, HR, ICT, Corp Comm which is shared by all the other aspects of Petrotrin. Much larger refineries (like 5-8 times Petrotrin's capacity) worldwide operate with just about a few hundred more employees.