WTK . what you think..?

13''strong

WTK . what you think..?

Postby 13''strong » February 13th, 2012, 1:58 pm

Tuners share your views on this topic....what do you say about these job vacancies that these companies are putting in the newspapers ...you as the applicant apply especially when you know you meet all the requirements that they desire ....and yet here you are still waiting on a call....i wanna know if someone else understands my POV .??

Re: WTK . what you think..?

Postby Bizzare » February 13th, 2012, 1:59 pm

Are you of the belief that you're the only one who met all of the requirements??

Postby crazybalhead » February 13th, 2012, 2:09 pm

13", do you think a list of requirements is all that is necessary fro a call back?

Postby 1UZFE » February 13th, 2012, 2:13 pm

Some companies must post openings in the public. But as we all know they done have they people, but it is policy to publicly post openings.

13''strong

Postby 13''strong » February 13th, 2012, 2:13 pm

the topic is not based on me alone ......@bizzare thats the point i'm trying to prove why waste people's time ....@crazybaldhead what do you mean ..?

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » February 13th, 2012, 2:14 pm

Bizzare wrote:Are you of the belief that you're the only one who met all of the requirements??

[/thread]

moving right along..

Lucian-2nr

Postby Lucian-2nr » February 13th, 2012, 2:16 pm

13''strong wrote:the topic is not based on me alone ......@bizzare thats the point i'm trying to prove why waste people's time ....@crazybaldhead what do you mean ..?

huh?

that sounds retarded....

13''strong

Postby 13''strong » February 13th, 2012, 2:20 pm

@lucian do you even undertstand what i'm trying to say ..??

Lucian-2nr

Postby Lucian-2nr » February 13th, 2012, 2:23 pm

13''strong wrote:@lucian do you even undertstand what i'm trying to say ..??

Do you?

Bizzare wrote:Are you of the belief that you're the only one who met all of the requirements??

^This

If you understand what Bizzare said then whats your complaint?

If the company receives 50 applicants and goes through that list... then short lists to the top 10 applicants. Guess what? No call? You didn't make the cut, so why waste money to call you just to say... im sorry you don't make it.

What if 100 people apply and 1 is selected, are they suppose to call the 99?

Seriously?

Postby crazybalhead » February 13th, 2012, 2:28 pm

13", if you cannot understand that it is not a waste of time to try, I c an't help you.

13''strong

Postby 13''strong » February 13th, 2012, 2:29 pm

kk so what determines the 5 out of the 50 they choose ... like i said earlier you meet all the requirements the desire...?? so what will seperate you from the other 5 ....!!!!

Lucian-2nr

Postby Lucian-2nr » February 13th, 2012, 2:32 pm

^ Go back to school, you missed some stuff.. important stuff.

Postby 1UZFE » February 13th, 2012, 2:32 pm

13''strong wrote:kk so what determines the 5 out of the 50 they choose ... like i said earlier you meet all the requirements the desire...?? so what will seperate you from the other 5 ....!!!!

Oh !!! Fak !!!
Is who yuh know..... Favouritism... Persons already selected before the ad was made...

Lucian-2nr

Postby Lucian-2nr » February 13th, 2012, 2:35 pm

^ thats not always the case.....

"the blind leading the blind"

13''strong

Postby 13''strong » February 13th, 2012, 2:37 pm

@crazybaldhead i understand wat you saying.......giving up is not a option for me ...@lucian fadda relax cuz seems you still don't understand my point ..but thanx anyway..

starlinejobs

Postby starlinejobs » February 13th, 2012, 2:37 pm

13''strong wrote:kk so what determines the 5 out of the 50 they choose ... like i said earlier you meet all the requirements the desire...?? so what will seperate you from the other 5 ....!!!!

I think that'll fall in my garden..

It depends so many factors, even something as simple as the format of your resume can be a determinant.

Postby Hook » February 13th, 2012, 2:40 pm

Many many things, which can include presentation, ability to follow instructions (eg. if they ask for a resume and u send a CV, you disqualify yourself), even which envelope they open first.
As much as we would all appreciate it, employers don't owe you or anybody the courtesy of a rejection letter.

It's not about wasting YOUR time, it's about not wasting theirs.

Postby BrotherHood » February 13th, 2012, 2:42 pm

If I say what I really want to say to the OP, I might get ban. Clearly you lack basic understanding and generalisation. :out:

starlinejobs

Postby starlinejobs » February 13th, 2012, 2:44 pm

We literally go through 100's of brown envelopes a week and a few days ago someone sent a green envelope. That was the first one that was looked at out of the batch..

OP Just letting you what happens on the other side

Postby 1UZFE » February 13th, 2012, 2:46 pm

padna it seems like yuh get blank on a prospective job that u really wanted. My advice to u, is that continue studying and keep yuh head up. Believe me without the right connects job hunting is hell...

Postby Bizzare » February 13th, 2012, 2:47 pm

Hook wrote:

Many many things, which can include presentation, ability to follow instructions (eg. if they ask for a resume and u send a CV, you disqualify yourself), even which envelope they open first.

In the entry level I don't think professionalism to that extent would be a factor though. I've seen managers etc use a well presented resume to make calculations on while the guy who sent his resume in an old ttpost envelope gets called in. :(
When all applicants have basically met the requirements, gender, level of sexiness, race, personality during interview, etc can sometimes be the deciding factors for who gets chosen for what position.
Remember is human being interviewing you/ reading your CV.

P.S. Life is unfair.

Postby BrotherHood » February 13th, 2012, 2:50 pm

If I say what I really want to say to the OP, I might get ban. Clearly you lack basic understanding and generalisation. :out:

Postby Hook » February 13th, 2012, 2:50 pm

starlinejobs wrote:We literally go through 100's of brown envelopes a week and a few days ago someone sent a green envelope. That was the first one that was looked at out of the batch..

OP Just letting you what happens on the other side

:lol: hadda stand out to get noticed yo!

watch and see how yuh mailbag gonna look like a rainbow now eh :lol:

Postby crazybalhead » February 13th, 2012, 2:53 pm

ENT!!!???

Postby Dizzy28 » February 13th, 2012, 2:59 pm

Bizzare wrote:
Hook wrote:

In the entry level I don't think professionalism to that extent would be a factor though. I've seen managers etc use a well presented resume to make calculations on while the guy who sent his resume in an old ttpost envelope gets called in. :(
When all applicants have basically met the requirements, gender, level of sexiness, race, personality during interview, etc can sometimes be the deciding factors for who gets chosen for what position.
Remember is human being interviewing you/ reading your CV.

P.S. Life is unfair.

rofl!!!
Would explain why it took me so long to get a job though.

Postby rfari » February 13th, 2012, 3:13 pm

OP. Good advice here. You may also need to refine ur CV. Depending on ur level of education and ur field, an employer may not be interested in ur secondary school grades or ur hobbies (listening to music, reading, blah blah). 2cents

13''strong

Postby 13''strong » February 13th, 2012, 5:47 pm

i'm not giving up...thanx for the advice both positive and negative ..

Postby hustla_ambition101 » February 13th, 2012, 7:22 pm

rfari wrote:OP. Good advice here. You may also need to refine ur CV. Depending on ur level of education and ur field, an employer may not be interested in ur secondary school grades or ur hobbies (listening to music, reading, blah blah). 2cents

actually most of the interviews I've been to they asked me about hobbies, employers don't want a bookworm drone, they want a well rounded individual who can not only work but also be sociable

Postby AllTrac » February 13th, 2012, 7:27 pm

how allyuh so hard on de man, job hunting is never easy, especially if you broke, it can be stressful and depressing. Give him some advise or whatever help you can offer nah, ollur not nice.

Anyway, redo your cv, have it hand delivered if possible and dont put all your eggs in one basket.

Postby rfari » February 13th, 2012, 9:05 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
rfari wrote:OP. Good advice here. You may also need to refine ur CV. Depending on ur level of education and ur field, an employer may not be interested in ur secondary school grades or ur hobbies (listening to music, reading, blah blah). 2cents

actually most of the interviews I've been to they asked me about hobbies, employers don't want a bookworm drone, they want a well rounded individual who can not only work but also be sociable

Yup true. Its not the same all round. For my last job, the interview process was in 3 phases. First was to do a design and recommendation based on case study, second was in front a panel and it was more along the typical interview lines and the last step was with HR only. OP just keep at it hoss.