How fit are you?...3 simple tests.

Postby shogun » February 2nd, 2012, 6:44 am

Ask 10 experts for their definition of fitness, and you’ll hear 10 different answers. That’s because how you define the word depends on the type of performance you expect. Some athletes need to develop a particular type of fitness over all others—powerlifters at one extreme, marathoners at another—but most of us are at our best when we achieve balanced fitness. In other words, we’re good at everything a healthy, active man needs to be able to do.

On these points the experts agree: You need core stability. You need lower-body strength and power to run, jump, and lift heavy objects off the ground. You need torso strength to lift your own body weight in repeated challenges. And you need enough endurance to run a mile without stopping for defibrillation.

Fitness Test #1: Core Stability

THE SCORECARD

Below average: You can’t hold a basic plank 60 seconds
Average: You go 60 seconds
Above average: You can hold a plank 60 seconds with your feet elevated on a bench
Men's Health Fit: You can hold a plank with your arms extended for 60 seconds

Fitness Test #2: Pushups

THE SCORECARD
Below average: Fewer than 15 pushups
Average: 16 to 29 pushups
Above average: 30 to 44 pushups
Men's Health Fit: 45+ pushups

Fitness Test #3: Chinups

THE SCORECARD
Below average: Fewer than 3 chinups
Average: 3 to 7 chinups
Above average: 8 to 10 chinups
Men's Health Fit: More than 10 chinups

suffocate69

Re: How fit are you?...3 simple tests.

Postby suffocate69 » February 2nd, 2012, 7:14 am

Plank 60 seconds + is Easy
45 Pushups - too easy
10+ chin ups - failed :( maxed out at 8

devrat

Postby devrat » February 2nd, 2012, 7:18 am

I get tired just clicking on this ched :oops:

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 2nd, 2012, 7:48 am

that's the wrong way of doing "chinups" or "pullups" your hand is supposed to be facing forward not to you..you would learn that in any military training...reason being...if you have to jump a wall you hand will not be facing you.

but all those exercises is small thing though

Postby Dizzy28 » February 2nd, 2012, 8:08 am

Even at my fittest (was significantly leaner and stronger than now) I struggled to do 10 chin ups.

Postby r3iXmann » February 2nd, 2012, 8:11 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:that's the wrong way of doing "chinups" or "pullups" your hand is supposed to be facing forward not to you..you would learn that in any military training...reason being...if you have to jump a wall you hand will not be facing you.

but all those exercises is small thing though

there's no 'right' or 'wrong' way

the different types target different muscles/muscle groups

Postby Sinister_Audio » February 2nd, 2012, 8:21 am

failest test evr!

test is entirely on body weight

test1 2mins
test2 60 pushups (proper)
test3 18 proper pullups.....

i'll go buy my cape now :?

Postby crazybalhead » February 2nd, 2012, 8:25 am

Geez. Unfit.

Postby dougla_boy » February 2nd, 2012, 8:29 am

test #1......easy
test #2......did 2 and cudnt reach up for the 3rd
test #3......still on test 2

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » February 2nd, 2012, 8:36 am

i fail on all 3

neals

Postby neals » February 2nd, 2012, 8:38 am

beyond easy, and fitness is based on ur strength using your body weight- you cud be benching 200lb and cant make 20 pushups.

Postby Sinister_Audio » February 2nd, 2012, 8:51 am

^ jeeze...ur so smart :?

Postby foss » February 2nd, 2012, 8:52 am

devrat wrote:I get tired just clicking on this ched :oops:

ENT !!! :shock:

jmccomie

Postby jmccomie » February 2nd, 2012, 8:54 am

Test = Fail

Postby TRAE » February 2nd, 2012, 9:21 am

i pass all stueps... and i does feel level lazy jed... i need to start working out

Postby toyolink » February 2nd, 2012, 9:28 am

This kinda thread rell depressing!

Chipz

Postby Chipz » February 2nd, 2012, 9:33 am

Not sure for Test 1, but for Tests 2 & 3 most times when working out, I don't check how much I do, because my trainer will time me for approx 1-2mins & I need to push my self till failure

Postby stev » February 2nd, 2012, 9:36 am

1 & 2 easy. yuh see d third one....dat fack me up. lol

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » February 2nd, 2012, 9:58 am

aye look....i jus lift weights. man who doin all dem tests is featherweights.

Postby sharkman121 » February 2nd, 2012, 10:06 am

toyolink wrote:This kinda thread rell depressing!

ent :lol:

noobie

Postby noobie » February 2nd, 2012, 11:44 am

utter.

fail.

:(

Postby AllTrac » February 2nd, 2012, 11:52 am

just so you guys know, trinituner.com is a 95% male dominated site, so trying to put dong a brag here wont get you laid, even if it scores you a date, when she actually sees you.....well some of you knows how that goes.

Postby tr1ad » February 2nd, 2012, 11:55 am

1 supligen an dem exercises gettin mash up mash up fine fine like chilli bibi

Postby toyolink » February 2nd, 2012, 1:25 pm

Anybody know 3 simple test for brain fitness?

jusme

Postby jusme » February 2nd, 2012, 1:27 pm

Test 1 - Purposely stopped after 60 secs
Test 2 - Maxed out at 28 an ah half
Test 3 - Cant do that here in the office but i'm pretty sure i not crossing 3

geodude

Postby geodude » February 2nd, 2012, 3:23 pm

my measure my fitness by the time i take to recover from a marathon weekend of binge drinking and not eating, usually 1-2 days, if i take longer then when i eventually recover, i take steps to improve my health like eating properly and on time for a month and engaging in more physical activities,

jehusaunders

Postby jehusaunders » February 2nd, 2012, 7:55 pm

70 seconds. 24 pushups. 8 chin ups.

Postby Mark! » February 2nd, 2012, 7:56 pm

did it in my mind/memory

where is my trophy?

Postby pioneer » February 2nd, 2012, 8:19 pm

i can't get up

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » February 2nd, 2012, 9:12 pm

1st attempt, ouch that first one aggravated the herniated disc in my upper back!!

1st attempt, ouch that second one aggravated the torn cartilage in my right wrist

i didn't make it the 3rd one