Windows 7 recovery disk

allblacks

Windows 7 recovery disk

Postby allblacks » January 7th, 2012, 6:16 pm

My laptop would not boot up.Black screen of death.Windows 7 came preinstalled so I got no disks and did not make one. Does anyone know where I can download a recovery disk? Thanks

Re: Windows 7 recovery disk

Postby skylinechild » January 7th, 2012, 7:00 pm

what brand laptop u got..?
HP....DELL.......?
i got the original re installation discs for both of them...windows 7 ultimate 32 & 64bit.

pm me and i could help you out.....

Postby ruffneck_12 » January 7th, 2012, 7:09 pm

http://www.ubuntu.com/download

Free OS, I use it to boot up when Windows going haywire

You can load it from a CD or Flash drive and actually RUN it without installing it

------

describe d problem more doh,,, when you power on, what you seeing?

Postby S_2NR » January 7th, 2012, 7:34 pm

torrent

Postby Greypatch » January 7th, 2012, 7:50 pm

well done fellas

Postby ruffneck_12 » January 7th, 2012, 8:01 pm

Postby S_2NR » January 7th, 2012, 8:53 pm

i have windows 7 ultimate 32 and 64 bit
comes with unlocker that makes it an original copy that came with the laptop (OEM).

PM me. ill burn u a copy for a small fee :)

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » January 7th, 2012, 9:56 pm

S_2NR wrote:i have windows 7 ultimate 32 and 64 bit
comes with unlocker that makes it an original copy that came with the laptop (OEM).

Windows Loader?

Postby S_2NR » January 7th, 2012, 10:11 pm

Scoobert Bauce wrote:

Windows Loader?

yup

allblacks

Postby allblacks » January 7th, 2012, 10:16 pm

Great Thanks for the help.

rmrunner

Postby rmrunner » January 7th, 2012, 10:36 pm

If windows was pre installed, that means there is a part of the hard drive partitioned with the OS(HDD RECOVERY). Depending on the brand you will know the combination to press on the keyboard in order to boot.

Example: if using a Toshiba : Press 0 & Power Key combination (HDD Recovery)
DELL : Ctrl + F11 ( press combination as computer is turned on
HP : Press F10 as computer is turned on
Google for other brands!

allblacks

Postby allblacks » January 7th, 2012, 11:16 pm

rmrunner wrote:If windows was pre installed, that means there is a part of the hard drive partitioned with the OS(HDD RECOVERY). Depending on the brand you will know the combination to press on the keyboard in order to boot.

Example: if using a Toshiba : Press 0 & Power Key combination (HDD Recovery)
DELL : Ctrl + F11 ( press combination as computer is turned on
HP : Press F10 as computer is turned on
Google for other brands!

I have a toshiba. I'm getting a
"check cable connection PXE-MOF Exiting intel PXE ROM
No bootable device-insert boot disk and press any key"
message...

rmrunner

Postby rmrunner » January 8th, 2012, 9:29 am

I also have a toshiba and this combination worked for me when i did a recovery without disc. this error can be either a BIOS error(this is it is booting from LAN or something else messed up) or a hard drive problem. You sure u holding down the "0" key and pressing power? The BIOS is simple enable/disable functions, but if you dont know about it, i recommend you do not interfere, and carry by a Technican OR you can try to get a recovery CD from someone or an Original Disc and just boot from the drive. I believe F12 is boot options( choose CD Drive) and F2 is BIOS setup.

You may find more help trough the toshiba laptop forums on the net.

allblacks

Postby allblacks » January 8th, 2012, 10:08 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:http://www.ubuntu.com/download

Free OS, I use it to boot up when Windows going haywire

You can load it from a CD or Flash drive and actually RUN it without installing it

------

describe d problem more doh,,, when you power on, what you seeing?

ruffneck_12, Excellent os.I have downloaded and am running it off a flashdrive.Great features and user-friendly.Thanks man,I am now running it side by side......now only if i could get that recovery disk....... :)

rmrunner I have rebooted several times using the 'sequence' but to no avail.....but the new OS is working

Thanks again to all

rmrunner

Postby rmrunner » January 8th, 2012, 11:08 am

hmmm..ok....well you in a gear. if you still want to check if the bios setting is ok i maybe able to help....i will check the settings on mine and you can correspond them to yours..will check it in a bit

allblacks

Postby allblacks » January 8th, 2012, 11:12 am

rmrunner wrote:hmmm..ok....well you in a gear. if you still want to check if the bios setting is ok i maybe able to help....i will check the settings on mine and you can correspond them to yours..will check it in a bit

cool.Thanks...i could try that as well...

rmrunner

Postby rmrunner » January 8th, 2012, 11:43 am

This Info Might not be exact to what you have but should be similar cause it is from a Toshiba.

As u press the power, keep your hand on F2.

This will enter you into the BIOS SETUP.
Use the arrows <-- & --> on the keyboard to move between Tabs.

Main Tab : This info is standard.

Advanced Tab: Check, SATA CONTROLLER MODE is set to COMPATIBLE( press F9 to change)

Display Tab: Leave as is

Security Tab: Leave as is

Boot Tab: (MUST BE IN THIS ORDER)(IF not in this order look at the directions on screen to move up or down)

HDD/SSD1 Hitachi ( Yours should be similar, this is the hard drive)
CD/DVD
FDD
LAN

Exit Tab: Exit Save Changes : Yes

After this the computer will restart,(If you made changes), check to see if the PC will start on its own,if not try the combination.

If this doesn't work, then you definitely need the Recovery Disc or Original Disc

allblacks

Postby allblacks » January 8th, 2012, 12:22 pm

Thanks rmrunner,didn't work ,I guess I need those discs..... :(

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » January 8th, 2012, 4:04 pm

S_2NR wrote:
Scoobert Bauce wrote:

Windows Loader?

yup

yeah dat is best out right now

Postby skylinechild » January 8th, 2012, 4:54 pm

Scoobert Bauce wrote:
S_2NR wrote:
Scoobert Bauce wrote:

Windows Loader?

yup

yeah dat is best out right now

OR you could just use the original discs.....SLIC 2.1 FTW....lol
SLIC 2.0 was balls and 1.0 was soooooo easy to circumvent...:lol:

i use my discs with other brands of pcs and then use the loader to modify the SLIC tables......!!!

Op i'll reinstall the OS for you FOR FREE but i will NOT give you a copy of the disc.
call it my good deed for the year...:lol: