Re: 2011 Hunting season suspended during SOE

Postby rollingstock » January 3rd, 2012, 3:54 pm

^ yep iguana eggs, could just taste that curry

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 3rd, 2012, 5:21 pm

yups they're eggs...have it in some salt water at the bottom of the freezer...waiting to get ah curry down..

Postby rfari » January 3rd, 2012, 6:01 pm

today self buy a iguana for a 100. it just have to cutup and season and curry down tomorrow

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 3rd, 2012, 9:47 pm

ah really hear them fellas selling iguana cheap,something wrong or wa...

ray_S.T.R.A_man

Postby ray_S.T.R.A_man » January 4th, 2012, 3:45 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:first catch for the year..would deal with it sunday :D
curry he tail

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 4th, 2012, 9:31 am

I heard some men talking about preserving the tail....it makes a good whip to beat somebody,once preserved right,any1 knows about this?

Postby Dizzy28 » January 4th, 2012, 9:52 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I heard some men talking about preserving the tail....it makes a good whip to beat somebody,once preserved right,any1 knows about this?

Yuh gyul giving yuh trouble ah wha?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 4th, 2012, 12:19 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I heard some men talking about preserving the tail....it makes a good whip to beat somebody,once preserved right,any1 knows about this?

Yuh gyul giving yuh trouble ah wha?

:lol: :lol: nah nah,just found it very interesting..but the tail already stiff already so maybe it would really work to preserve it...

Postby *$kїđž!™ » January 15th, 2012, 1:33 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/For ... 61003.html

For the love of his dog
Man survives days lost in Moruga forest...

By Richard Charan richard.charan@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Jan 14, 2012 at 10:56 PM ECT
Story Updated: Jan 14, 2012 at 10:56 PM ECT
Last Tuesday afternoon, hunters crossed paths in the Moruga forest with a mud-covered man carrying a dog in a backpack—and nothing else.
An unusual encounter since no one walked the deep forest alone and without a gun or cutlass or provisions, unless he was a fool or a fugitive, or wanted a gut full of trap-gun lead.
The explanation given by the man for his jungle appearance surprised his finders.
Here was Troy Allahar—suspected dead by some; the subject of a misdirected search by others.
He and his dog, Shantel, had been lost in a forest maze for three days and two nights.
They survived without food or warmth or shelter, while walking in circles at times in an expanse of virgin forest in Trinidad's southeast quadrant.
Troy would later learn that out of earshot, and sight, there were more than 40 men searching jungle trails and logging and oilfield roads, looking first for man and dog, then, as days passed, for the smell of Allahar's decomposing body.
How Allahar, 33 years old and a seasoned bushman, got lost and kept his head on to make it out is a lesson for the adventurous.
The Sunday Express spoke with Allahar last Wednesday at his Manohar Trace, Barrackpore, home, where he lives with his mentally challenged brother.
With tattooed face and neck, lean muscles honed by hard work and not gym work, he showed the scars and bruises from his time away from civilisation.
Two Fridays ago, Allahar, his cousins and a friend decided to go hunting for agouti in the Cats Hills forest. It would be the first hunt of the season, which opened late as a result of the State of Emergency, Allahar said.
The plan: drive into the forest using a road linking Moruga to Rio Claro, and spend the weekend in a forest camp a 45-minute walk from the nearest road, in an area where the old men call Boomerang.
Allahar took hunting dog Shantel.
The group had little success on the hunt and on Sunday packed up and moved out of camp, following a trail back to the road.
It was then, Allahar said, that his dog darted off the trail, barking after an agouti.
"So I ran after my dog, and came off the main track. I don't know how long I chased the dog. It could be miles. But when I stopped and called out to my cousins, there was no response. They were gone. That was about half past 12. I realised right away I was lost.
"So I called Shantel back to me, followed a track that was marked (on trees) by a little tape, keeping on that track, thinking I was on my way out; not knowing that this track just taking me deeper, deeper in the forest."
He said he kept moving forward, under a tree canopy so complete that no direct sunlight could penetrate, expecting a road or a beaten track to take him out.
Night fell. Allahar assessed his situation. His hunting cousins had the gear, the food and the water.
His cellphone was useless because there was no reception in the area. And the phone was ruined anyway—by the rain.
All Allahar had was his backpack with a change of clothes, and a cigarette lighter.
The lighter proved to be of no use to him. He said he broke it while trying to light "a little leaf fire" that evening.
It would have done little good: it rained steadily that evening.
Allahar found a camp, little more than a carat leaf-covered lean-to, but containing a knapsack with dry clothing.
By then, Allahar had walked so far that he heard nothing of his cousins and friends honking horns and beating iron to attract his attention. So he curled up and waited for daylight.
He said: "Monday morning, I watch how the sun rise. I know where was east. It was my map. I knew if I found a main river, it would lead me out."
What happened instead was that Allahar moved deeper into the forest, slowly moving southwest of where he first became lost.
"I was supposed to go in the opposite direction," he said with a grin.
"Didn't eat anything that first day or night. But real hungry. Find a river and some (fresh water) conch. Break that open. Eat it raw. That was three o'clock in the evening. Water was no problem. Just had to look for clear running water washing down from the hills with all the rain."
Allahar, a woodworker/joiner, said while he moved, he met several rain-swollen rivers, but never considered leaving Shantel behind.
"I put her in my backpack. Swam across. I cross some hills that I had to pull myself up on. I tie my dog to my belt and pulled her up behind me."
Allahar said he would find evidence of a seismic survey for hydrocarbon deposits in the forest, with blast holes and bits of debris.
"So I followed this. And it took me in circles. I started wondering about my situation then. I asking myself about the stories the old people used to tell. About being in the forest and this presence that gets on you, making you deaf. I started thinking maybe this was happening to me. Maybe that is why I can't hear if people were calling for me. But I couldn't frustrate myself."
It rained all of Monday night.
"I lie down on a jersey, beaten by that rain. I had no light. I had to get heat. But my warmth was her (Shantel) I hug her and her body heat keep me warm."
At daybreak Tuesday, Allahar began moving again. By noon, he was exhausted, baffled that all the walking had not led him to a road. Unknown to him then, he had moved more than 20 miles, towards the Moruga link of Edward Trace.
"Then I heard what sound like an engine. I know it was an oil rig starting up. It had to be miles away, but I tell myself I had to go to that sound." So over hills and valleys he walked, until he reached a clearing and a sign: "This Way to Access".
Minutes later, he was seeing oilfield equipment—but no people. It would be another three hours before he came upon the hunters. That was around 2.30 p.m.
"I told them what happened. They tell me I have real belly to survive. And gave me two bananas and a cellphone to call my friend."
At the Moruga Police Station later that day, Allahar's ordeal was extended. He was told he had to go to the Rio Claro Police Station, where his brother had reported him missing.
The police had detained a cousin, a member of the hunting party, just in case the "lost hunter" story was bogus and Allahar had been killed. So as news spread of his discovery and the search was called off, he was picked up by family, given a meal of roti, and taken to Rio Claro so that his relative could be released.
"They told me everybody thought I was dead. Police were calling the DMO (district medical officer). They said the army was coming with helicopter to search. But if I didn't have belly, I wouldn't survive. You have to be in the forest in the dark to know. But I made up my mind. If I have to stay another day, more days, I was ready to keep moving."
Almost everyone at Manohar Trace has since visited Allahar to hear the story of how Shantel lost "Lobo" (Allahar's nickname) in the bush.
But he has no hard feelings for his dog.
"I couldn't leave her behind. I had to go after her. She already put us in this situation so it was two of us who had to come out together. This dog was born the night of my birthday two years ago, so she was always close."
The Rio Claro police said four other hunters lost their way in the Moruga forest last week.
All made it out.

Postby rfari » January 15th, 2012, 1:49 am

He said: "Monday morning, I watch how the sun rise. I know where was east. It was my map. I knew if I found a main river, it would lead me out."
What happened instead was that Allahar moved deeper into the forest, slowly moving southwest of where he first became lost.

he knew exactly what to do but he chose otherwise. i looked at enuff bear grylls episodes to know that you follow a river downstream; it leads to civilisation. glad that he made it out alive. it goes to show that hunters aren't blood thirsty, life sucking sub-humans. the dude took care of his dog even after all the trouble it led him into. and a must -have is a WAAS-enabled GPS with some rechargeable batteries. never leave home without tht sh'it

Postby UML » January 15th, 2012, 10:16 am

anyone here doesn't eat wild meat?

I have decided to stop eating it...less demand...less wildlife killed.....more for future generations to see, learn and enjoy

i enjoy seeing the macaws,woodpecker and squirrel living freely by me.

would really like to see more ppl take the stance of not eating wild meat

TriP

Postby TriP » January 15th, 2012, 10:38 am

i am glad he an his dog found his way out the bush..cos sumtimes the forest does all look the same..next time i hope he carry in his knapsack.. sum packs of Crix ,small biscuits ,small pack of Rice,small metal cup,lighter-matches,knife-cutlass,bottle of water..juss in case of.. he get lost again..!!

Postby UML » January 15th, 2012, 10:41 am

Sharks' future in peril
By Kimberly Castillo

Story Created: Jan 11, 2012 at 11:59 PM ECT

Story Updated: Jan 11, 2012 at 11:59 PM ECT

SHARK fin soup is a common fixture on the menus of all, if not the majority of Chinese restaurants in Trinidad and Tobago, from the well established take-away or dine-in eateries, to the hole-in-the wall joints. Just one bowl of shark fin soup seems pretty harmless but marine conservationists the world over argue that it represents the collapse of shark populations. A bowl of shark fin soup will cost you between $30 - $55 , but the price which our oceans and marine ecosystems pay is incalculable. To satisfy the demand for this exotic Chinese appetiser an average of 75 million sharks a year are mutilated in a process known as "finning".

Shark fins are far more commercially valuable than shark meat. Fins can rake in as much as $US300 a pound, shark fins also take up less space on board a vessel when compared to heavy shark carcasses which weigh hundreds of pounds. For this reason, when sharks are caught by one of the many thousands of hooks on longlines and hauled up on deck, their fins are sliced off while the shark is still alive, then the rest of the shark is thrown back into the ocean. Without its fins to help navigate, steer and lift, the shark dies a slow and agonising death from starvation or drowning. It can take up to a week for a shark to die. Finning is so inhumane and wasteful that the practice should be banned immediately, said Gary Aboud of the non-governmental organisation Fishermen and Friends of the Sea.

For those among us who associate finning solely with Asian countries, think again. Trinidad and Tobago ranks 19th among 87 countries for largest exports of shark fins to Hong Kong, according to a March 2010 report by marine conservation organisation Oceana, titled 'The International Trade of Shark Fins: endangering shark populations worldwide.' Back in 2008, this country exported 103,104 kgs of shark fins to Hong Kong - the world's largest single market for this product. Ironically, four years earlier in November 2004, at the annual meeting of the International Commission for the Conservation of Atlantic Tunas (ICCAT), T&T was one of the co-sponsors of a shark proposal to ban the practice of shark finning, yet to this day, Trinidad and Tobago has no policy on shark finning. Up to 50 Asian longline vessels operate in our waters said Aboud. Among their spoils? Shark fins, which are then hung out to dry.

This country's links with finning goes back many years. In 1999, a report by the Ministry of Agriculture, Land and Marine Resources titled Sharks: overview of the fisheries in T&T stated that the sharks which were caught in our waters were primarily incidental catch or 'by-catch' of the artisinal fishery and industrial longline fishery. But the report also suggested that finning was done at sea. It stated that shark fins represented 19 per cent of landings in 1993, while 23 tonnes of shark fins were recorded in 1992. The document went on to conclude that there had been unsubstantiated reports of large quantities of shark fins landed with very few carcasses. The report noted there was no management regime for shark in T&T and warned that the shark stocks were vulnerable to unrestrained exploitation.

That grim assessment was

made more than a decade ago, today, unregulated shark fishing has led to a decline in the number of sharks in the waters off T&T. In March of this year, visting New Zealand marine conservationist and head of the Earthrace Conservation Organisation Pete Bethune said there was no longer a stable supply of shark in our waters and blamed the scores of Taiwanese fishing vessels operating in local waters for this country's depleted fisheries. With no scientific data collection mechanisms in place, it is difficult to estimate how many sharks still roam our waters. When famed ocean explorer Jacques Cousteau visited these islands in the 1950's, he estimated that our waters teemed with 35 species of shark, today, just a small fraction of species remain in our waters, said Aboud.

"If a man catches a shark in Maracas Bay today, he is a hero, but 25 years ago fishermen caught up to 5 - 6 sharks a day," he said. These ancient species are especially vulnerable to exploitation- they take many years to grow to maturity and have very low reproductive rates. For this reason, their populations are slow to recover once overfished, he explained.

Our marine ecosystem is a delicate web of life which is dependent upon apex predators such as sharks to maintain its careful balance. With less and less sharks in our oceans, they will be a proliferation of other species that will do more harm than good.

In the race to save the world's sharks, some countries have banned the practice of shark finning, these include Chile, Palau, the Maldives, Honduras and the Bahamas. Restaurants in Hawaii have been banned from serving shark fins. And as recently as October, Toronto councillors voted overwhelmingly to ban the possesion, sale and consumption of shark fin soups and other products within the city limits, effective September 1, 2012.

It's going to take more than rhetoric to protect the hammerhead, mako and migratory blacktip shark that roam our tropical waters, what is needed is immediate action, said Aboud. Unless major advances are made to stamp out the practice of finning in our waters and deal with issues such as overharvesting and unsustainable fishing methods, then, said Aboud, the survival of our waters' top predators - the shark, will continue to be at risk.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/featured ... 52358.html

i never had shark fin soup....i dont think i ever will.

shark and bake will be a thing of the past soon.

btw it have anything negative T&T doh ever be ranked in :cry:

Postby rfari » January 15th, 2012, 11:00 am

UML wrote:anyone here doesn't eat wild meat?

I have decided to stop eating it...less demand...less wildlife killed.....more for future generations to see, learn and enjoy

u used to eat that stuff????

edit:
Up to 50 Asian longline vessels operate in our waters said Aboud. Among their spoils? Shark fins, which are then hung out to dry.

this is interesting...

Postby UML » January 15th, 2012, 11:25 am

UML wrote:if you feel the issue of tilapia farming is one of religion where muslims wouldnt eat local tilapia fed on pig faeces and hindus on cow faeces....and affects profitability..............why not rare something that would encourage sustainability in our country which ppl like eating and in the same time protect and sustain our environment.....raring of wildhogs, deer, agouti, lappe, etc. I saw a local documentary of ppl raring these animals and some even being released into the wild.

Postby UML » January 15th, 2012, 11:27 am

rfari wrote:
UML wrote:anyone here doesn't eat wild meat?

u used to eat that stuff????

edit:
Up to 50 Asian longline vessels operate in our waters said Aboud. Among their spoils? Shark fins, which are then hung out to dry.

this is interesting...

no i was just making the point how nice it is to look outside and see them in their natural environment and more importantly not driving them into extinction

Postby nervewrecker » February 28th, 2012, 8:41 pm

hunting season still open?

Postby rfari » February 29th, 2012, 11:21 am

Not sure nah. Up to last week saw a business selling all kinda wild meat

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 1st, 2012, 3:03 pm

today is the last day..

Postby nervewrecker » March 1st, 2012, 4:47 pm

or, ok. I saw a pic of a girl with an iguana & was wondering if the season closed. I was feeling sorry for the animal.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 1st, 2012, 5:28 pm

nervewrecker wrote:or, ok. I saw a pic of a girl with an iguana & was wondering if the season closed. I was feeling sorry for the animal.

Postby nervewrecker » March 1st, 2012, 5:35 pm

like yuh want de pic?

Postby rfari » March 1st, 2012, 6:36 pm

She bess?

Postby nervewrecker » March 1st, 2012, 6:41 pm

watch de iguana....

:cry:

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 1st, 2012, 10:51 pm

but,am,that iguana looking pregnant eh...like u take d pic or wa,lmao...ah swear if she was not holding the head,it woda escape very easily...he is holding it by its tail,which is wrong..granny saying in she mind..ah boy curry guana this wknd with dhal n rice yes....

Postby hustla_ambition101 » March 1st, 2012, 11:17 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Image

watch de iguana....

:cry:

nice box :|

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » March 2nd, 2012, 6:14 pm

eeeeeeet fat ...

oh an she holdin dat guana head....

Postby rfari » March 2nd, 2012, 6:44 pm

nanny phat and she have more balls than 1/2 the fellas on 2nr i sure

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 2nd, 2012, 11:25 pm

so the season open,going n get meh permit friday and is the bush for it saturday...who inside???

Postby rfari » October 2nd, 2012, 11:31 pm

Boom! That time of year again.
How long you staying in the bush? I could make tht turn with you orwha? I have one more year before recommendation for a hunting rifle so I want to get some hunts in before ppl start asking me hard questions and I end up getting brace