7%

Total votes: 87

Paullct

Re: Should we have a $500 TTD bill?

Postby Paullct » December 21st, 2011, 12:27 pm

BrotherHood wrote:
Paullct wrote:
BrotherHood wrote:Not a bad idea. I'm neither here or there on this.

so where yuh dey?

check my location brah!

ohhhhhhh! ah see ya dey now ;)

Postby ronsin1 » December 21st, 2011, 12:40 pm

I think it is time to go cashless

link

Postby link » December 21st, 2011, 2:44 pm

SR wrote:
link wrote:
SR wrote:why????

there is linx and credit card

just to amuse myself this morning as it seems you still lost in the 70's with ttasa
while everyone else has moved on

yuh real toting, boi....it only take ah 'bold red' & ah :shock: tuh chook yuh jepnes'
careful u geh 'skuli-usis' fuh 2012

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » December 21st, 2011, 3:48 pm

Why? Feel is Zimbabwe owa? 50 dollar bills aint a bad idea though

but on the other hand, Grocery workers would be carrying around only one bill on payday lol

Paullct

Postby Paullct » December 21st, 2011, 5:36 pm

Scoobert Bauce wrote:Why? Feel is Zimbabwe owa? 50 dollar bills aint a bad idea though

but on the other hand, Grocery workers would be carrying around only one bill on payday lol

ouchh

suffocate69

Postby suffocate69 » December 21st, 2011, 5:55 pm

yea it's about damn time......$100 too small, men buying doubles with that normal normal.

I just collect some cash from ppl for an ole years night party. Now meh wallet can't close.......big steups.

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » December 21st, 2011, 5:56 pm

suffocate69 wrote:yea it's about damn time......$100 too small, men buying doubles with that normal normal.

I just collect some cash from ppl for an ole years night party. Now meh wallet can't close.......big steups.

where are you....right now?

Paullct

Postby Paullct » December 21st, 2011, 11:26 pm

Soundwave wrote:
suffocate69 wrote:yea it's about damn time......$100 too small, men buying doubles with that normal normal.

where are you....right now?

homeboy

Postby homeboy » December 21st, 2011, 11:36 pm

Knowing the majority of "business" people in trinidad and the way they take care of their costumers.

"ah tauwsand dallar, is only ah handrad for it, me nah have change yuh better go in d bank and come back eh, me nah sell enough for d day yet"

Postby BrotherHood » December 22nd, 2011, 2:44 am

Scoobert Bauce wrote:but on the other hand, Grocery workers would be carrying around only one bill on payday lol

I ah grocery worker bai, d phoq dan.

casper

Postby casper » December 22nd, 2011, 10:10 am

Habit7 wrote:We don't need a $500 or $1000 bill, I don't know where some of you guys getting your facts from but inflation is down in T&T and our "floating" dollar is still pegged at almost stable US dollar.

Having a $500 or $1000 bill would encourage counterfeit bills as the effort to make those bills will be further cheaper compared to its value (e.g. it will cost $40 to make a counterfeit $100 while it will cost $60 to make a counterfeit $1000). Even in the US where there exists $1000 they are hardly in circulation.

I like the idea of $50 bills as it would allow me to lessen the 20's I tend to walk around with.

not only that but having a $500 and $1000 bill will actually encourage inflation to go up as it has in all those other countries with those kinda ridiculous figures on their dollar notes...take mexico, and jamaica for example..just to name 2....they paying $20,000 for a jeans and a shirt to go to work...why??? cuz the high figured currency exists for a reason...

why u think America and other 1st world countries only go up to $100?? America had at a time $10,000 and $100,000 notes but they were mainly used within the government...high dollar notes aren't to be used just cuz a man feeling lazy to count a couple hundreds...it is introduced in the system in countries that have very high inflation that prices are so high that a regualr $100 note will be equivalent to what a $10 note is right now...

dont pray for a $500 and $1000 bill people...cuz if your wishes come true then expect alot more with it...

Postby K74T » December 22nd, 2011, 11:14 am

$50 bills would be nice

neals

Postby neals » December 22nd, 2011, 12:12 pm

casper wrote:
Habit7 wrote:We don't need a $500 or $1000 bill, I don't know where some of you guys getting your facts from but inflation is down in T&T and our "floating" dollar is still pegged at almost stable US dollar.

Having a $500 or $1000 bill would encourage counterfeit bills as the effort to make those bills will be further cheaper compared to its value (e.g. it will cost $40 to make a counterfeit $100 while it will cost $60 to make a counterfeit $1000). Even in the US where there exists $1000 they are hardly in circulation.

I like the idea of $50 bills as it would allow me to lessen the 20's I tend to walk around with.

not only that but having a $500 and $1000 bill will actually encourage inflation to go up as it has in all those other countries with those kinda ridiculous figures on their dollar notes...take mexico, and jamaica for example..just to name 2....they paying $20,000 for a jeans and a shirt to go to work...why??? cuz the high figured currency exists for a reason...

why u think America and other 1st world countries only go up to $100?? America had at a time $10,000 and $100,000 notes but they were mainly used within the government...high dollar notes aren't to be used just cuz a man feeling lazy to count a couple hundreds...it is introduced in the system in countries that have very high inflation that prices are so high that a regualr $100 note will be equivalent to what a $10 note is right now...

dont pray for a $500 and $1000 bill people...cuz if your wishes come true then expect alot more with it...

this!!

suffocate69

Postby suffocate69 » December 22nd, 2011, 1:41 pm

neals wrote:
casper wrote:

this!!

Point understood, but there's no denying we've had ridiculous inflation in the last decade or so.

I personally think there is a need for $500 (nothing more!). It's less than a $100us bill which is used all over.

A $500 bill will make cash transactions significantly faster and reduce wallet bulk.

Yodins

Postby Yodins » December 22nd, 2011, 1:46 pm

suffocate69 wrote:Point understood, but there's no denying we've had ridiculous inflation in the last decade or so.

I personally think there is a need for $500 (nothing more!). It's less than a $100us bill which is used all over.

A $500 bill will make cash transactions significantly faster and reduce wallet bulk.

i think we should have a $500 note as well. It will ease we up with reguards to making high quantity purchases (weed, drugs) and it will make it easier for the bandits to rob us of.

casper

Postby casper » December 22nd, 2011, 2:22 pm

suffocate69 wrote:
neals wrote:
casper wrote:

this!!

Point understood, but there's no denying we've had ridiculous inflation in the last decade or so.

^^^what u think cheques, credit cards and LINX cards are for?? to add bulk to ur wallet???

u guys still watching this thing really one sided...i repeat...higher currency figures are ONLY to be introduced as a necessity...NOT a convenience...most shopping being done with purchases over $3,500 - $5,000 and upwards are done via LINX, or cheques or CC....am i wrong? therefore all of ya'll points with carrying around 50 $100 bills etc etc is invalid..do YOU walk arnd with more than 40 $100 bills just so jus so??? i assume u'll only do this with big purchases IF for some reason u have NO LINK, NO CC, NO cheque book...

even so...how often do u make purchases of $5000 and up??? im sure not extremely often to validate your point of the country needing a $500 note...now if things were different in T&T and inflation was so high that u paying $2,000 for a loaf of bread THEN i'd understand...but we're not in that state...so therefor a $500 is a mere convenience rather than a necessity

suffocate69

Postby suffocate69 » December 22nd, 2011, 3:42 pm

casper wrote:
suffocate69 wrote:
neals wrote:
casper wrote:

this!!

^^^what u think cheques, credit cards and LINX cards are for?? to add bulk to ur wallet???

u guys still watching this thing really one sided...i repeat...higher currency figures are ONLY to be introduced as a necessity...NOT a convenience...most shopping being done with purchases over $3,500 - $5,000 and upwards are done via LINX, or cheques or CC....am i wrong? therefore all of ya'll points with carrying around 50 $100 bills etc etc is invalid..do YOU walk arnd with more than 40 $100 bills just so jus so??? i assume u'll only do this with big purchases IF for some reason u have NO LINK, NO CC, NO cheque book...

even so...how often do u make purchases of $5000 and up??? im sure not extremely often to validate your point of the country needing a $500 note...now if things were different in T&T and inflation was so high that u paying $2,000 for a loaf of bread THEN i'd understand...but we're not in that state...so therefor a $500 is a mere convenience rather than a necessity

Clearly you are not involved in business. Everything you say is true in in theory, howver it does not reflect out local reality. I routinely see my parents have ten thousand+ cash on them from everyday transactions. And trust me it's not just them, there are tens of thousands of people who have to deal with these sums of cash everyday.

Your example is flawed, if a loaf of bread costs $2000 we'd need to start an entire new line of currency like Zimbabwe. We haven't reached that point yet and I hope we never do.

Since 1954 we had a TT $100 note. A $100 back then is probably worth a couple thousand when adjusted for inflation.

Yes many people have and use Linx/credit cards, but at least half or more pay with cash. Hell many contractors pay their weekly employees in cash as well.

I don't disagree that it's not a necessity, but you have to admit it is slowly becoming necessary.

I think you're missing the point on why paper currency was introduced in the first place. It was because of convenience as carrying around that amount of coins was too laborious.

It's common sense that a $500 note would make tonnes of transactions quicker and faster. Wallets were not designed to fit more 30+ notes, that should be your first hint that something is wrong.

Just look at how worthless a $1 has become, almost a nuisance to deal with it now.

lostallos101

Postby lostallos101 » December 22nd, 2011, 3:54 pm

that makes sense and I agree....business handle alot of money and $500 or even the $1000 would make sense in their work....we not saying it has the be heavily circulated but it would be good to atleast have the option to use it if necessary

casper

Postby casper » December 22nd, 2011, 5:30 pm

suffocate69 wrote:I think you're missing the point on why paper currency was introduced in the first place. It was because of convenience as carrying around that amount of coins was too laborious.

It's common sense that a $500 note would make tonnes of transactions quicker and faster. Wallets were not designed to fit more 30+ notes, that should be your first hint that something is wrong..

ummm...what??? u DO know that money i.e coins and dollar notes came about when the bartering system failed and people had to find another means to exchange things with stuff they needed or wanted to get right???...how long u go trade a man hundreds of eggs for his cow???..suppose d man wanted to trade his cow for somn else and he doh want no eggs anymore...but d only thing u want is his cows..but he dun lock off ur whole egg scene...what happening to u and ur eggs now?? d man move on to trading cows for chickens now...

things were then given a value and then money/currency became the new means of trade....u trade a certain amt of money for the man's cow now...its a trade still but in these times it's called a sale... higher value "paper notes" didnt come about just because carrying coins became a burden...it came about for the same reason i tryna explain to u that a $500 note will come about for...cuz of inflation and the NEED to....when prices of things began to rise then coins alone became insufficient...thus higher valued paper notes...

people must remember that an inflation is not when the price of alcohol or milk alone rises eh...its when the prices of ALL things raise to the point of u losing ur real purchasing power...if u can substitute milk and buy juice instead cuz the price of milk raise but juice still affordable then that is NOT an inflation...it just means that the price of milk raise...thats it

I routinely see my parents have ten thousand+ cash on them from everyday transactions. And trust me it's not just them, there are tens of thousands of people who have to deal with these sums of cash everyday.

u telling me "clearly i am not invloved in business" when u basing ur assumptions on what u see from ur mum and dad and not ur personal experience??? ok then...i'm not involved in business but look at my acct...i'm a power seller... :lol: rrrrrrightt...i'm sorry but ur points are based on assumptions and not facts,...and yes i agree some business owners have tens of thousand of $$$ on a regular basis but on the flip side, it's not ONE customer alone come and made a $10,000 purchase now is it??? its hundreds or maybe thousands of clients purchases that add up and add up...majority of them may have spent $2,000 at most(being realistic)...i'm talkin about a regular small business here...not a huge multi million dollar firm...cuz in those huge firms clients, most of the times dont pay with cash..they pay with cheques or other means of more portable money...

ur basing the need of a $500 bill on the laziness of a business man to have to count up his day's sales at the end of the day...THAT is not a necessity but a convenience for having a $500 bill partner...

Postby S_2NR » December 22nd, 2011, 6:26 pm

guyana here we come

Postby Chimera » December 22nd, 2011, 6:27 pm

casper is kix yes

hundreds or thousands of customers equalling $10,000 in sales :lol: :lol: :lol:

suffocate try not to make yourself a target by posting how cash on hand your parents have at the end of the day. Trinituner has it's fair share of bandits. You would realize only a few powersellers/business ppl here replied to this thread.

casper

Postby casper » December 22nd, 2011, 6:32 pm

Apparently u can't read good ABA

and yes i agree some business owners have tens of thousand of $$$ on a regular basis but on the flip side, it's not ONE customer alone come and made a $10,000 purchase now is it??? its hundreds or maybe thousands of clients purchases that add up and add up

Read again And try to understand this time

Postby Chimera » December 22nd, 2011, 6:35 pm

casper wrote:Apparently u can't read good ABA

and yes i agree some business owners have tens of thousand of $$$ on a regular basis but on the flip side, it's not ONE customer alone come and made a $10,000 purchase now is it??? its hundreds or maybe thousands of clients purchases that add up and add up

I don't see what I missed.

You said hundreds or thousands of clients purchases add up to maybe $10,000 right? and one customer won't come buy $10,000 in merchandise?

Please tell me what I missed oh great one.

Postby S_2NR » December 22nd, 2011, 6:42 pm

i really starting to think casper workin for websource now :lol:

casper

Postby casper » December 22nd, 2011, 9:30 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
casper wrote:Apparently u can't read good ABA

I don't see what I missed.

You said hundreds or thousands of clients purchases add up to maybe $10,000 right? and one customer won't come buy $10,000 in merchandise?

Please tell me what I missed oh great one.

D man call me "great one" yes ahahaha :lol: ah feel special :)

Postby Chimera » December 22nd, 2011, 11:38 pm

answer the question

or you realize how dotish you are so you laughing it off?

Postby Mark! » December 23rd, 2011, 12:18 am

forget $50 bills

How about a $20 bill you can tear into 4 pieces and each single piece worth $5. 8-)

Easy solution to 'meem ha no change dey bigman'

Postby Habit7 » December 23rd, 2011, 12:38 am

One also has to study the amount of times $1...$20...$100 slips out of you pocket or if you pull out the wrong note to pay and they gladly receive it.

Now think of that happen with your $500 and see if you still want one.

casper

Postby casper » December 23rd, 2011, 4:50 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:answer the question

or you realize how dotish you are so you laughing it off?

How mature...because u bitchinn on d skybox tread u tryin ur utmost best to troll me hahahah...ppl like u phoqin sad weee...anyways enjoy ur day pal...good luck to u and urs for 2012 :)

Postby noshownogo » December 23rd, 2011, 7:35 am

Financial Consultant/Analyst Casper :faint: