*** The OFFICIAL Soca Warriors Football Thread***

Re: T&T vs Guyana 11/11/11 A MUST win game for T&T

Postby BrotherHood » November 12th, 2011, 11:52 pm

Scoobert Bauce wrote:In my opinion, the reason why we continue to falter so badly is because we reward mediocrity to often. Why would you give a bunch of players who came last in their group a million dollars? lol. and Latapy only got like 15 minutes in the whole thing and had more shots on goal than the team for the whole 3 matches. Sad sad state.

You said it there man. We reward sheit and our standards are to low. I still mad about that 2006 WC and why Russell Latapy, one of the best and most experienced we had who was certain to retire after the WC, almost did not play at his only and surely his last WC.

Postby Greypatch » November 13th, 2011, 9:45 am

GL to guyana in the rest of their campain

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 13th, 2011, 9:50 am

Greypatch wrote:GL to guyana in the rest of their campain

dont think they gonna get far but yeah its good to wish them well........

they beat the warriors......OMG....

Postby hydroep » November 13th, 2011, 10:22 am

LOL...they're still running the ad on the radio for Tuesday's match...'support the warriors on the road to Brazil...'...:lol:

$ 100 for uncovered, $ 200 for covered stands. They may have to pay people to come to that match oui.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 13th, 2011, 10:56 am

so if we beat them comprehensively.......we stiilll out???

Postby hydroep » November 13th, 2011, 1:08 pm

^It's all over for T&T. We could score 100 goals and it wouldn't matter.

FIFA have already updated their table for Round 3 and Guyana sit proudly among Mexico, Costa Rica and El Salvador in Group B.

Postby toyolink » November 13th, 2011, 1:14 pm

I agree with the need to get our disappointment and anger off our chest,however,is there also a responsibility on all of us to be willingly to face the fact that our team is a product of our environment inclusive of acceptance of unsatisfactory performance stds.
Hell!..just look around at how everything around us seem to be governed and controlled by a level of "ADHOCISM" and talk (no one is immune to this malady).
----LET US GET DOWN TO SERIOUS WORK---and change our fortunes or else suffer the results of our failures.
Everything begins with me and when I am OK ---the collective OK I's can become an OK US.

sparky

Postby sparky » November 13th, 2011, 6:27 pm

trini coach beat foreign coach plain and simple,our plays are world class just as all the other disciplines of sport in our country.

mediahouse

Postby mediahouse » November 13th, 2011, 7:19 pm

Trinidad football is sheit talk dun.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » November 13th, 2011, 7:24 pm

Ent...don't see the need for all this discussion. Forget Trinidad and support BRAZIL! :D

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » November 13th, 2011, 8:46 pm

sparky wrote:trini coach beat foreign coach plain and simple,our plays are world class just as all the other disciplines of sport in our country.

I agree because Russell Latatpy was one of our greatest coaches and valiantly-wait

Postby Dizzy28 » November 14th, 2011, 8:10 am

Scoobert Bauce wrote:
sparky wrote:trini coach beat foreign coach plain and simple,our plays are world class just as all the other disciplines of sport in our country.

I agree because Russell Latatpy was one of our greatest coaches and valiantly-wait

How pray tell was Latapy one of our greatest coaches? He was one of our greatest players up there with Steve Davids, Gally Cummings and Yorke but he has no real accomplishments as a coach.

Postby Greypatch » November 14th, 2011, 8:18 am

latapy = piss poor coach

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » November 14th, 2011, 8:58 am

The Main problem imo is that Trinidad likes to attach a name to everything et al Soca Warriors, Soca Princesses etc. Too much cheer-leading and gimmick but no substance.

We don't play or behave anything near a warrior. Guyana were the warriors that day :|

Remember when we went to I think it was Costa Rica and they nearly push over the bus we were on and for the home-game we behave like good little children in the stadium :drinking:

We as supporters don't support unless the team winning, we silent until a man score a goal.
The team too also doesn't play hard until the 81st minute :evil:

We too welcoming here to other teams, trust me it is not reciprocated anywhere else!

Also T&T team clearly has no Chemistry and since the break up of the 2006 team we have just been fooling ourselves.

Trinidad has too many football stadiums, football savannah's, football clubs, football clinics and summer schools AND Inter-Collegiate competition to produce results like this.

If I had my way everyone would train on the beach and in back roads until they show they are worthy to at least beat the rest of Small Islands properly.....steups

kevcam

Postby kevcam » November 14th, 2011, 9:19 am

toyolink wrote:I agree with the need to get our disappointment and anger off our chest,however,is there also a responsibility on all of us to be willingly to face the fact that our team is a product of our environment inclusive of acceptance of unsatisfactory performance stds.
Hell!..just look around at how everything around us seem to be governed and controlled by a level of "ADHOCISM" and talk (no one is immune to this malady).
----LET US GET DOWN TO SERIOUS WORK---and change our fortunes or else suffer the results of our failures.
Everything begins with me and when I am OK ---the collective OK I's can become an OK US.

As you talk about that I remember reading what Chris Birchall said recently.

But later, T&T's England-born midfielder Chris Birchall also spoke his mind, while head coach Otto Pfister looked bewildered.

"It's a most disappointing feeling. One, to be knocked out of a World Cup and, two, knowing that desire is our major problem," Corneal said. "We had some chances we didn't convert, but desire brought out a lot of things. Second balls, we just didn't have that passion to win a second ball. We always thought we would be in it because of the players we have. You've got to play. You have to play. You can't just hope things happen, you have to make things happen."

Known for his battling qualities, Birchall was taken off in the first half and admitted he was having difficulty controlling the ball in centre-field, where a cricket turf wicket is placed. Friday's loss was his lowest moment in Trinidad and Tobago colours Birchall said.

"The manner in which we lost was unacceptable. No fight...no heart," Birchall declared. "They won every second ball. We didn't compete and they deserve the win.

"The group doesn't lie, we have gone downhill. We have got to try and get back up there again," Birchall added. "This has nothing to do with coach Pfister, it's the players. The coach can't go on the pitch for you and win tackles and give you desire and take your chances. The coach has done a great job. As players we have got to look at ourselves. It's our fault."

How the F**K you going into a game as important as this and you not fighting to win back second balls? Even as great as Barcelona side is, with all that skill and talent, when they lose the ball the players does fight to win it back. That is basic, that is important factor to winning games as well.

Postby hydroep » November 14th, 2011, 11:10 am

Crackpot wrote:...Remember when we went to I think it was Costa Rica and they nearly push over the bus we were on and for the home-game we behave like good little children in the stadium...

...We too welcoming here to other teams, trust me it is not reciprocated anywhere else!...

There's a lot to be said for sportsmanship, but unfortunately you're correct. Playing nice sometimes puts you at a disadvantage.

I was in the stadium for the Nov. 19th match remember distinctly that we were denied a penalty when one of our guys was brought down in the area as a result of some creative shirt tugging. Mr. Referee turned a blind eye and there wasn't any vociferous complaint from our players. (That among other things still leads me to believe that game was a set up...but that's a story for another thread).

Say what, we got the FIFA Fair Play Award as consolation for our sportsmanlike conduct during that game. Hurray...:|

Ragoo

Postby Ragoo » November 14th, 2011, 11:22 am

T&T needs to get rid of all the players we currently have every single one of them and start training some youths around 14yrs old. Get a good coach and and start over from scratch.

Postby hydroep » November 14th, 2011, 11:46 am

kevcam wrote:How the F**K you going into a game as important as this and you not fighting to win back second balls? Even as great as Barcelona side is, with all that skill and talent, when they lose the ball the players does fight to win it back. That is basic, that is important factor to winning games as well.

Shabazz alluded to the reasons for his teams success on one of today's dailies.

Those Guyanese fellas were hungry. They're not paid any where near what some of the Soca Warriors are...even those who are the local professionals. They see tournaments such as this as a ticket to better careers.

IMO a lot of our professionals don't give their all because they're afraid that injury will affect/end their careers. At least with the Barca players, if they get damaged they're doing it in the course of their duty. However, there's little profit for a club whose players get injured while on National Duty.

In fact, this was the complaint many a fan made against Dwight Yorke at the height of his career. It's only when his career slide started that he came back re-energized for the '06 campaign. Having done nearly everything else, the only feather missing from his cap was a run in the WC.

I'm not complaining about a man seeking his interest, but you cannot want to have your cake and eat it too. If your allegiance is to your club stop being selfish and DO NOT make yourself available for selection. Local administrators also need to get with the program and weed out the opportunists. For example, it should be policy that we have no more than 3 foreign based professionals on the team and make all who are interested fight for those spots, and even that isn't cast in stone. So, if your performance drops OUT you go.

As someone said earlier, give the U23s a shot at the remaining match tomorrow. At the very least give some of the unknowns a run and let's see what's there for us to build on.

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » November 14th, 2011, 1:44 pm

Lets not forget that these are the same "Warriors" who are guaranteed payment for their games.

Everybody from footballers to cricketers in this country want money first with no guarantee of success either.

We need to stop rewarding mediocrity in terms of our sportsmen and come up with some form of contract for sponsorship of these guys.

I don't see the drive to win every ball, or fire shots at goalies or even intimidate other teams defense with dazzling footwork. All I see is a bunch of guys hoping it falls in their lap to just win and the rest of the world is not going to let that happen. Period

Uncle Jack was not there this time to bail us out and look what happen......damn I am hearing Warner's voice in my head :shock:
If you told me four yrs ago we could not beat Guyana I would have laughed it off but the worst is upon us my friends...Warner's voice is in my head again, let me stop posting :|

Re: T&T vs Guyana 11/11/11 ...2-1 in we Pweffen...

Postby bushwakka » November 14th, 2011, 11:12 pm

most waste ah time sport to be wasting out money on as a small country......have u ever seen a country as small as ours do good in football? no......so stop trying and focus on what at least we know we cud be good at.....like cricket

Postby BrotherHood » November 15th, 2011, 12:32 am

IMO, we should just stop having a national football because we is level shyt.

Postby rfari » November 15th, 2011, 7:21 am

I hear entrance into stadium free and u getting veggie patraj roti and a fresh juice by the gates. Dais true?

Postby rfari » November 15th, 2011, 7:24 am

I hear entrance into stadium free and u getting veggie patraj roti and a fresh juice by the gates. Dais true?

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » November 15th, 2011, 7:25 am

forget bout world cup and footballer aspirations and dreams, trini youths only dreamin of becoming big Gangsters and coke dealers or to be the best thief in trinidad........................

it would ceetainyl explain why we are where we are

Postby Greypatch » November 15th, 2011, 8:41 am

rfari wrote:I hear entrance into stadium free and u getting veggie patraj roti and a fresh juice by the gates. Dais true?

Re: T&T vs Guyana 15/11/11 ...The return leg...more licks ??

Postby tr1ad » November 15th, 2011, 8:56 am

Guyana heading world cup!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

now self ah making the trip to wc

Postby Greypatch » November 15th, 2011, 9:00 am

lmao muddies will be in full force today at the game...

gwann GT

Postby hydroep » November 15th, 2011, 12:20 pm

Predictions?...T&T will win this one 4 - 0...:|

Postby tr1ad » November 15th, 2011, 12:25 pm

1-1

if allyuh eh like it.. doh buy d brown sugar

Postby rfari » November 15th, 2011, 1:21 pm

tr1ad i think allyuh go look bess in a rossi sponsored jurzee if allyuh go to the finals in 2014 unno