The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby M_2NR » November 11th, 2011, 6:19 pm

SRASC wrote:iOS Auto Correct (hidden one), annoying. Got rid of < 10 mins after putting on.

saw a pkg for it on cydia...

The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 11th, 2011, 6:33 pm

rookie wrote:Factory unlocked 4s 649 / 749 / 849 don't forget taxes :fist: sticking to my unlocked for till the 5 reaches next year :angel: :angel:

that's a long wait - the 5 most likely will be out around September or October 2012

Parvin

Postby Parvin » November 11th, 2011, 6:57 pm

So you think it will be possible for someone to walk into a store in about 2 weeks and purchase the F/U unit without any hassle? And possible bring it to TT when they coming?

Postby M_2NR » November 11th, 2011, 7:14 pm

rookie wrote:Factory unlocked 4s 649 / 749 / 849 don't forget taxes :fist: sticking to my unlocked for till the 5 reaches next year :angel: :angel:

that's a long wait - the 5 most likely will be out around September or October 2012

worth it. if you have a 4... one year is nothing. But I honestly don't see the point of all these "super" fast smartphones with such horrible battery life.
Reminds me of a post i read this week... we end up making our ultra smart phones be dumb by taking off all these things like GPS, Wifi, 3G... etc.
I hope this nanotube tech crap comes out fast. Imagine if they release a teardrop i5 and it has even worst battery life than right now.

Parvin wrote:So you think it will be possible for someone to walk into a store in about 2 weeks and purchase the F/U unit without any hassle? And possible bring it to TT when they coming?

I think there is a way to reserve it in store but AFAIK it was always available in store FU... only today is launched online.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 11th, 2011, 9:34 pm

Facebook's new Timeline feature is coming to the iPhone and it looks 'incredible', according to Ellis Hamburger from Business Insider who had a chance to see the interface at press function in New York yesterday.

Just wait until you see Timeline in action on a touch screen device. It's so good it will make you want to skip the desktop experience and just use Facebook on your iPhone. Timeline is built to be manipulated on a touch screen.

Swiping through the years of your life is effortless, and Flynn even showed me a slick new feature that lets you take pictures "in line" inside your Timeline. In this way, you can see exactly how the pictures will look once they're posted.

Joe Flynn, lead designer for Facebook's mobile Timeline interface, told Hamburger that timeline is launching "soon," but not until it's completely finished.

------

The redesigned iPhone 5 was real, according to a SAI source who claims to have played with a prototype.

Well, it turns out the "iPhone 5" – or at least, a fully redesigned iPhone – was real and it was scrapped only months before the iPhone 4S was announced. We've been told this by an industry source who has been right about future Apple products in the past.

The source told SAI that the prototype:
    ● had a 4-inch display
    ● was made from in house prototyping materials, not production materials
    ● was supposed to have an aluminum back
    ● would eventually have used liquid metal technology for colored devices
    ● had a messed up color profile
    ● was to have a better quality display
    ● did not have a physical press home button "You could touch it and hold it and physically reboot the device."
    ● was "squished" and "flatter"
    ● was much faster (limiter removed) but battery life sucked
    ● had a 10MP camera
    ● had Siri but was called 'Assistant'

It's unclear why Apple scrapped the device; however, the source claims that the rumor amongst employees is that Steve Jobs was unhappy with the bigger screen because it "fragmented" iPhones.

------

Giesecke & Devrient (G&D) has announced the world's smallest SIM card, dubbed the 'nano-SIM'.

Measuring approximately 12mm x 9mm, the nano-SIM is about 30 percent smaller than the micro-SIM. The thickness of the cards has been reduced by about 15 percent – a tremendous technical challenge. Compared to the SIM cards most widely used today, the nano-SIM is almost 60 percent smaller. It offers device manufacturers the crucial advantage of freeing up extra space for other mobile phone components, such as additional memory or larger batteries. And because nano-SIM cards are significantly smaller and thinner, they will also make it easier to create thinner devices.

Initial samples were made available by G&D to various mobile network operators for testing. The standardization of the nano-SIM is expected to be implemented through the ETSI (European Telecommunications Standards Institute) by the end of the year.

Backward compatibility with older device models is ensured by an adapter solution that allows the nano-SIM to be integrated into all established mobile devices for universal use.

"The invention of the SIM card remains a milestone in the history of G&D. With the nano-SIM, we have shown how this development can move closer to perfection," claims Axel Deininger, Head of G&D's Secure Devices division.

G&D will be showcasing the nano-SIM at the CARTES & IDentification 2011 trade show from November 15 to 17 at stand 4 J 001.

------

rookie

Postby rookie » November 12th, 2011, 11:50 am

Yea true maybe a long wait but I got a factory unlocked 4 and iPad2 to hold me over it's jus about waiting I think they really missed the target with the 4s all i wanna get is that Siri download any info on that tuners???? :mrgreen:

Postby M_2NR » November 12th, 2011, 12:52 pm

^ they need files off the 4S to complete it which isnt pwned yet. any "ports" thus far should be left alone. once chpwn and the other guy does it, any other ports, will need a complete restore to remove it.
and they are the only two to actually get it to communicate with apple servers.

Postby S_2NR » November 12th, 2011, 2:11 pm

I personally find for the next Gen iPod touches and iPhones..they should get rid of the mechanical home button and put a capacitive instead.

Postby pete » November 12th, 2011, 2:32 pm

^^ Samsung did that with their ipod touch competitor.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 12th, 2011, 2:52 pm

S_2NR wrote:I personally find for the next Gen iPod touches and iPhones..they should get rid of the mechanical home button and put a capacitive instead.
more than likely apple wont do that

here’s the reason why:

A button with no physical hardware [...] makes no distinction between “I pressed that button because I meant to” and “my finger brushed against the face of the phone, sending me to another screen against my will, sometimes even losing data in the process.”

Imagine Apple decides on a capacitive home button for the iPod touch. You’re playing the super new Sega kart-racing game, and you’re about to win. But, STUPID YOU, you brush against the invisible button! And you’re back at your home screen. Great. And not to mention the simple fact that physical buttons are an accessibility aid in themselves, both to disabled users and everyone else, since you can feel the device and instinctively know which way up it is.

Apple is ALL about design and user experience

Parvin

Postby Parvin » November 12th, 2011, 5:24 pm

Dat fella in dat video rel crack me up yes ... :D

Postby M_2NR » November 12th, 2011, 9:24 pm

i hope they NEVER do that. You know how silly it will be to put such a device in DFU? yea they might do like the touchpad and place it as a volume button but... meh.

I wouldnt doubt thought that something fancy with gestures will be coming soon to a new iphone. There are so much already via activator but on say a home button or black areas will be cool.

What i love on the touchpad is the "home" button has two leds under it for notifications. its pretty wicked and customizable i think as well.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 13th, 2011, 12:31 am

Sure, you can now purchase an unlocked iPhone 4S within the US officially, but folks in the outlying territory of Puerto Rico have some tempting options if they'll go the long-term contractual route. The region's division of carrier, Claro, is now selling the Siri-packed device starting at the low, low price of $99 for the 16GB model on-contract -- those scared of commitment can also snag it unlocked, albeit for a slightly pricey $670 (which as 9to5Mac points out, is up $20 from Apple). The carrier also lists the 32 and 64GB variants as "expected soon," marked to sell at $199 / $299 with a two-year commitment and $770 / $870 unlocked

Strauss

Postby Strauss » November 13th, 2011, 2:25 am

Sooner

shesh

Postby shesh » November 13th, 2011, 2:27 am

make ur bookings peeps.... got a few more available from shipment.... Apple iPhone 4S.

rookie

Postby rookie » November 13th, 2011, 8:29 am

:o it's gonna be an apple Christmas !!!!!

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 13th, 2011, 9:27 am

Strauss wrote:

Sooner

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 13th, 2011, 1:07 pm

SRASC wrote:
Strauss wrote:

Sooner

when do you predict?

Postby M_2NR » November 13th, 2011, 1:10 pm

it is possible that it will be back to the old schedule. but too early to say.

There is lots of doubt about even an iPad 3 with a "retina" display too.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 13th, 2011, 2:00 pm

^ June July then?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 13th, 2011, 3:06 pm

I'd say so. At least I'd like to hope so. Some reports about the 4S/5 stated that things would return to a normal schedule and that the 4S came out as late as it did simply due to component availability issues.

Postby M_2NR » November 13th, 2011, 4:43 pm

No one knows for sure what happens. Thanks to Jobs' security, it could may have well be deciding what iPhone to launch as well!
Or even the Samsung vs Apple crap.

Smartphone Accessories

Postby Smartphone Accessories » November 13th, 2011, 5:31 pm

IMO...the Apple vs Samsung is the real reason the iPhone 5 was not released and from following some of the tech blogging sites that seems to be the general consensus...here is a quote from one of those tech blog sites..

"The issue could probably point to Samsung, which provides the chips, the RAM and other parts for Apple's mobile devices, pursuant to a long-term contract. But this year Apple has sued Samsung in dozens of countries in three continents on accusations that the Samsung devices are imitating the iPhone and iPad. And Apple, according to some reports, is looking to replace Samsung in its supply-chain. Samsung responded to the suits, accusing Apple of infringing its wireless patents, and seeking an injunction of the iPhone units in the market and the iPhone 5"

Postby M_2NR » November 13th, 2011, 5:42 pm

i think you should consider getting a powerseller status. or read our rules at least?
http://www.trinituner.com/v3/rules/
thanks

Strauss

Postby Strauss » November 13th, 2011, 6:00 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ June July then?

Sooner? :)

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 13th, 2011, 6:58 pm

^ I doubt they will do it when the announce the iPad 3 between the 1st and 2nd qtr 2010
they'd want the 4S to sell for a bit longer

next week ent :lol:

Smartphone Accessories

Postby Smartphone Accessories » November 13th, 2011, 8:32 pm

M_2NR wrote:i think you should consider getting a powerseller status. or read our rules at least?
http://www.trinituner.com/v3/rules/
thanks

Thanks for the advice I already spoke to Duane about it.

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » November 13th, 2011, 9:31 pm

i know my post mite not be related to the topic but my iphone 2g got damaged screen cracked anywhere i can get parts for it? cannot upgrade atm so i need to repair

Parvin

Postby Parvin » November 14th, 2011, 3:51 am

jeevdude199 wrote:i know my post mite not be related to the topic but my iphone 2g got damaged screen cracked anywhere i can get parts for it? cannot upgrade atm so i need to repair

Check the Classifieds section

Hance Rampersad

Postby Hance Rampersad » November 14th, 2011, 7:40 am

Recently obtained an iphone4 unlocked, with a Gevey Turbo SIM . I have two questions :-

1.Can anyone tell me if the standard TSTT GSM SIM will work on the iphone without problems after cutting the standard SIM to size.
2. Will the roaming feature work with iphone when travelling out of Trinidad.

Thanks in advance.