jsm1985 wrote:Does anyone know why mobile providers in Trinidad don't subsidise handset prices?
Their post-paid (2 year contract!!) prices are ridiculous, for e.g. Samsung Galaxy SII is $4599 pre-paid and $4299 post-paid @ bmobile right now. This doesn't really apply to Digicel (the Piper network), as all they seem to sell is me toos and me too BlackBerries...
Now tell me, what is the point of entering into a 2 year contract when all you're being subsidised is $300???
Anywhere else in the world, these high end phones are literally given away for free once you sign a contract, or for a minimal up front cost.
It just doesn't make sense, anyone know who comes up with their pricing strategies? They need a lesson in marketing!
didn't I say $375?
BrotherHood wrote:You saying Digicel is the piper network. If it was not for Digicel, we would still be charged ridiculously on calls like $4 a minute and would have had TDMA still.
jsm1985 wrote:Does anyone know why mobile providers in Trinidad don't subsidise handset prices?
Their post-paid (2 year contract!!) prices are ridiculous, for e.g. Samsung Galaxy SII is $4599 pre-paid and $4299 post-paid @ bmobile right now. This doesn't really apply to Digicel (the Piper network), as all they seem to sell is me toos and me too BlackBerries...
Strauss wrote:jsm1985 wrote:Does anyone know why mobile providers in Trinidad don't subsidise handset prices?
You realize the SGS2 is still a relatively new phone and still expensive even in other countries?
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:bmobile iPhone 4 is $2500 and $375/month with a free 4G wifi personal hotspot device with unlimited data
that's pretty well subsidized
vrampersad14 wrote:Do you ever get back that deposit after a certain period has passed?
Devourment wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:bmobile iPhone 4 is $2500 and $375/month with a free 4G wifi personal hotspot device with unlimited data
Duane, that's after you pay a $3,000 security deposit on the phone, so it's really $5,500....not $2,500.
Devourment wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:bmobile iPhone 4 is $2500 and $375/month with a free 4G wifi personal hotspot device with unlimited data
Duane, that's after you pay a $3,000 security deposit on the phone, so it's really $5,500....not $2,500.
innovativeaudio wrote:Devourment wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:bmobile iPhone 4 is $2500 and $375/month with a free 4G wifi personal hotspot device with unlimited data
nah recently they stop that security deposit thing. all u haddA do is come with yuh 2500 plus yuh $375 and yuh required documents and thats it.
Devourment wrote:innovativeaudio wrote:Devourment wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:bmobile iPhone 4 is $2500 and $375/month with a free 4G wifi personal hotspot device with unlimited data
nah recently they stop that security deposit thing. all u haddA do is come with yuh 2500 plus yuh $375 and yuh required documents and thats it.
Not true, only if you're a longtime existing Corporate customer or have a good line of credit with Bmobile....and it's not going to be $375 in that case, but $500/mo.
r3iXmann wrote:if you dont like it..don't buy locally...simple
Devourment wrote:innovativeaudio wrote:Devourment wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:bmobile iPhone 4 is $2500 and $375/month with a free 4G wifi personal hotspot device with unlimited data
Not true, only if you're a longtime existing Corporate customer or have a good line of credit with Bmobile....and it's not going to be $375 in that case, but $500/mo.
you can't compare the subsidy when the size of the market is so different (they are going to sell infinitely more units in the US than in T&T) - plus TSTT still has to pay shipping, duty and VAT on the phones they import to sell herepete wrote:I believe that the iphone contracts are just 1 year. Aren't ALL the contracts 1 year now?
Anyway, people saying that the iPhone 4 is well subsidised at 2500 but in the US it's 199 for the phone, same price for the Samsung Galaxy S2.
Bmobile prices are very difficult to understand. I was looking at the price of a normal post paid galaxy s and it's a good few hundred more than if you but the galaxy S with an android plan (369/month with 4G hotspot). You can buy the iphone 4 with a basic plan with no hotspot for 3750 and 200/month but there's no plan like that for the android phones. I guess they're trying to appeal to different people but I'd definitely prefer to buy an SGS2 for the price of the iphone 4 if I could get it with a basic plan.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:no security deposit is required
it is $2547 for the phone and $375 a month of the Plan1 packageyou can't compare the subsidy when the size of the market is so different (they are going to sell infinitely more units in the US than in T&T) - plus TSTT still has to pay shipping, duty and VAT on the phones they import to sell herepete wrote:I believe that the iphone contracts are just 1 year. Aren't ALL the contracts 1 year now?
Anyway, people saying that the iPhone 4 is well subsidised at 2500 but in the US it's 199 for the phone, same price for the Samsung Galaxy S2.
Bmobile prices are very difficult to understand. I was looking at the price of a normal post paid galaxy s and it's a good few hundred more than if you but the galaxy S with an android plan (369/month with 4G hotspot). You can buy the iphone 4 with a basic plan with no hotspot for 3750 and 200/month but there's no plan like that for the android phones. I guess they're trying to appeal to different people but I'd definitely prefer to buy an SGS2 for the price of the iphone 4 if I could get it with a basic plan.