*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Re: Ten Biggest Mistakes of Speaker and Home Theater Shoppin

Postby RBphoto » October 28th, 2011, 10:15 am

No. 10 sounding like BOSE... just saying.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 28th, 2011, 10:18 am

good info
deserves its own thread

will add it to the Home Theater thread in a week or two
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=281327

innovative audio

Postby innovative audio » October 28th, 2011, 10:20 am

sticky??

Cid

Postby Cid » October 28th, 2011, 10:25 am

Great info!!!

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 28th, 2011, 10:26 am

SR wrote:this is one of the better low end to mid price all in one units
http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/PUSA/ ... /VSX-521-K
that is the same receiver whyteliver has

The Elite line has better amplifier components

IMO a good video upscaling processor is essential when selecting a receiver for use here in T&T because our standard cable TV is not HD and most programming is not in HD but our TV sets are 720p and 1080p.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 28th, 2011, 11:06 am

very true info....nice

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 28th, 2011, 7:13 pm

sweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeet

bonzo.specb

Postby bonzo.specb » October 28th, 2011, 7:31 pm

Great Info SR.

Postby brams112 » October 28th, 2011, 8:28 pm

so who got the best surround sound system???????????????????

Postby Monk BANzai » October 28th, 2011, 9:38 pm

good stuff here boy Shaz....hadda bring the LEgas by youto re-chune yes...

Postby rollingstock » October 28th, 2011, 10:06 pm

Read this a while ago when originally posted on Axiom, great info.

http://www.axiomaudio.com/hometheatermistakes.html

Ten Biggest Mistakes of Speaker and Home Theater Shopping

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 28th, 2011, 11:03 pm

brams112 wrote:so who got the best surround sound system???????????????????
you get the best by buying the best components

Get a good receiver, amplifier if needed, good LCR (left, center and right) speakers. The most important speaker in a home theater setup is the center channel. Most times the best setup is a mixup of brands that perform well, so you may end up with a Sunfire sub, Paradigm center channel and Definitive Tech left and right towers and Polk Audio surrounds.

Depends on your budget and personal preferences.

to add to the first post since they didnt call brand names:
Samsung makes some of the best HDTV's today, but their speakers and receivers are crap. Same can be said for Panasonic, LG and Sony.

whyteliver

Postby whyteliver » October 28th, 2011, 11:58 pm

answer to questions.................well done man....

Postby gt4tified » October 29th, 2011, 1:08 am

Mistake #11...carrying the Mrs./girlfriend/chile modder with you when you going to choose a HT syst....hold orn a sec.. *re-reads mistakes nos. 2, 5, 8 & 9*

yup, author pretty much got it right the first time.

Postby bushwakka » October 29th, 2011, 10:55 am

wbt onkyo?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 29th, 2011, 12:46 pm

something to keep in mind is that a great sounding home theatre system is not necessarily a great sounding music listening system

one handles dialogue and low frequency effects very well but may not handle music with a very high dynamic range or be up to your expectations.

most good receivers though, play only the front left and right speakers when in stereo mode. So a home theatre setup with a pair of good full range towers will be a good recipe.

innovative audio

Postby innovative audio » October 29th, 2011, 4:33 pm

pioneer wrote:My TV is a Toshiba 46SL412U, the receiver is a Sony STR-DH510, they both support audio return channel.

What i am trying to do is input the cable box into the Rx, and use one single HDMI output from the rx to the TV.

I used the RCA outputs on the motorola cable box into the rx, however i am only getting audio but no video.

I tried almost every setting on the rx and the tv, yet still no luck. I even changed the setting to use analog audio and still no luck.

Any suggestions?

pios.......how does this tv wuk? what u tink bout it?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 29th, 2011, 5:38 pm

^ it is edge lit, so it wont win any awards for picture quality

innovative audio

Postby innovative audio » October 29th, 2011, 6:14 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ it is edge lit, so it wont win any awards for picture quality

can u elaborate and which is the best type? plasma, lcd?

cuz i was looking at the samsung led 7000 series

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 29th, 2011, 6:38 pm

^ go through this thread using the search - it's been discussed in more detail before.

in a nutshell, for picture quality plasma is still better than LCD.
LED is LCD but with LED lighting instead of CFFL fluorescent lighting.

Edge lit means the lights are built into the edge of the panel. This is about the worst type of lighting as it doesnt make for very deep blacks and you have light bleeding, blooming etc.

Backlit is far better and backlit with local dimming is even better. However there are various grades of local dimming.

Plasma does not have these issues since each pixel of the plasma panel is it's own light.

The Pioneer Kuro ELITE plasma panels are considered the best of the best picture quality HDTVs ever made. They stopped making them around 2009. Needless to say they were very expensive and still sought after today.

Just recently Sharp was licensed by Pioneer to start back producing ELITE TVs but not plasma, instead the new sets are LED HDTVs. These LED models may be the first set of LED panels that can rival the picture quality and deep blacks of a plasma panel.

http://elitelcdtv.com/

the price not any better, a 60" Elite LED is US$5500
I think the 60" plasma used to sell for US$7000

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » October 29th, 2011, 6:52 pm

I'll be going the plasma route for my big screen when I ready, I will keep my 24" monitor for the ps3...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 29th, 2011, 7:04 pm

^ Samsung, Panasonic and LG plasma panels are rated as some of the best picture quality panels available today

will have to see the reviews on the new Elite too.

innovative audio

Postby innovative audio » October 29th, 2011, 7:38 pm

thanks

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » October 29th, 2011, 11:46 pm

IMO a good video upscaling processor is essential when selecting a receiver for use here in T&T because our standard cable TV is not HD and most programming is not in HD but our TV sets are 720p and 1080p.

Didn't realize how bad local programming was until I got this TV.
BTW Denon receivers, you thoughts?

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » October 30th, 2011, 9:11 am

AGENT RORO wrote:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 30th, 2011, 12:38 pm

AGENT RORO wrote:

this is assuming you don't have the HD box for your FLOW cable.

if you plug your non-HD digital FLOW cable box directly into your HDTV it will more than likely look like crap. You will be trying to take a 480i signal and have the TV stretch it to 720p or 1080p. If you stretch small crap, you will get bigger crap! FLOW has improved vastly on their picture quality and their SD feeds of Nat Geo, CNN and BBC are pretty good and look good when upscaled!

Some high end TV's have good video upscalers but most HDTV don't, most mid range to high end receivers have very good video upscalers that take the 480i TV signal and they enlarge it using advanced video processors. These processors can quickly calculate what to enlarge and add filters such as smoothing and ant-aliasing to the picture so they send a real HD 1080p signal to the TV, therefore it shows better.

Take a read here
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Video_scaler

If you are in T&T I think it is VERY important to get a receiver with a good upscaler if you plan to watch digital cable on their HDTV.

I've noticed that buying a good RCA cable to connect your cable box to your upscaling receiver makes a big difference. I noticed a big difference in picture quality when I got a good quality RCA cable. I got an Auvio stereo/video (red, white and yellow) with gold leads and I saw a big improvement.

-------------------------

Denon is a very good brand for receivers. As with any receiver look at the features for the price.
Good brands for receivers are Pioneer, Denon, Yamaha, Marantz, Anthem, Onkyo and maybe Sony (maybe not lol)

Postby pioneer » October 30th, 2011, 5:59 pm

I think people need to step back and realize you don't need to spend a fortune to have an excellent setup which you can enjoy.

Just thought i'd plug that in.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » October 30th, 2011, 7:38 pm

pioneer wrote:I think people need to step back and realize you don't need to spend a fortune to have an excellent setup which you can enjoy.

Just thought i'd plug that in.

Well duh. :lol:

Btw how the HK sub sounding? Considering that setup instead of just purchasing a separate sub for my system.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » October 30th, 2011, 7:49 pm

So this is where im at so far. Should get my new media cabinet this month. That'll hide whatever wires showing right now.

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » October 30th, 2011, 7:52 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:Image

So this is where im at so far. Should get my new media cabinet this month. That'll hide whatever wires showing right now.

Looks descent, what sub you got there?