netsket

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby netsket » October 18th, 2011, 7:23 pm

netsket wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ netsket, read from here
viewtopic.php?p=5699190#p5699190

also please post the model of TV and the model of the home theater system so we can figure out what is the best setup for your equipment for your needs

HTIB Samsung Model is HT-C555
HDTV Samsung Model is 6050 Series
ok so when you play a DVD on the HT-C555 the audio plays through the C555 speakers and everything is fine.

however you have your cable connected to your TV and when you are watching cable the audio only comes from the TV? is that your problem?

yes

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 18th, 2011, 7:46 pm

netsket wrote:

also please post the model of TV and the model of the home theater system so we can figure out what is the best setup for your equipment for your needs

ok so when you play a DVD on the HT-C555 the audio plays through the C555 speakers and everything is fine.

however you have your cable connected to your TV and when you are watching cable the audio only comes from the TV? is that your problem?

yes
ok you have the exact same issue as the user agent007 in teh link i posted

the HT-C555 has HDMI OUT only and it seems to be HDMI 1.3, which means there is no audio return channel which is only available in HDMI 1.4

you have a few options:
1. Do just like agent007 and purchase an optical cable that will go from the optical OUT on your TV and into the optical IN on the HT-C555. optical sound quality os not as good as HDMI but you will only notice it with bluray content which is not what you are using it for since this setup is to get digital cable audio.

2. Use regular stereo RCA cables to get audio from the TV to the HT-C555

3. Invest in a good home theater receiver to get the best quality and proper setup. But this is pricey compared to the other options

I think the optical is your best best at this point. but if you enjoy home theater then my suggestion will always be to buy a good receiver.

netsket

Postby netsket » October 18th, 2011, 8:48 pm

netsket wrote:

yes

the HT-C555 has HDMI OUT only and it seems to be HDMI 1.3, which means there is no audio return channel which is only available in HDMI 1.4

you have a few options:
1. Do just like agent007 and purchase an optical cable that will go from the optical OUT on your TV and into the optical IN on the HT-C555. optical sound quality os not as good as HDMI but you will only notice it with bluray content which is not what you are using it for since this setup is to get digital cable audio.

3. Invest in a good home theater receiver to get the best quality and proper setup. But this is pricey compared to the other options

I think the optical is your best best at this point. but if you enjoy home theater then my suggestion will always be to buy a good receiver.

thanks for the assistance. where can i get an optical cable to purchase (other than radio shack)?

HCCA

Postby HCCA » October 18th, 2011, 8:51 pm

^^Trader's Club in gulf view had some Monster cable 6 ft for $35. Circuit Zone have as well but more like $200 for it.

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » October 18th, 2011, 8:55 pm

HCCA wrote:^^Trader's Club in gulf view had some Monster cable 6 ft for $35. Circuit Zone have as well but more like $200 for it.

I had for $50

Might still have 1 or 2 left

Postby pioneer » October 23rd, 2011, 10:51 pm

My TV is a Toshiba 46SL412U, the receiver is a Sony STR-DH510, they both support audio return channel.

What i am trying to do is input the cable box into the Rx, and use one single HDMI output from the rx to the TV.

I used the RCA outputs on the motorola cable box into the rx, however i am only getting audio but no video.

I tried almost every setting on the rx and the tv, yet still no luck. I even changed the setting to use analog audio and still no luck.

Any suggestions?

netsket

Postby netsket » October 24th, 2011, 5:17 am

netsket wrote:

yes

you have a few options:

thank you. problem solved. 8-)

Postby pioneer » October 24th, 2011, 5:36 pm

wha bout my problem?

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » October 24th, 2011, 5:44 pm

pioneer wrote:wha bout my problem?

only u cud solve that 1

Postby pioneer » October 25th, 2011, 6:02 pm

pioneer wrote:My TV is a Toshiba 46SL412U, the receiver is a Sony STR-DH510, they both support audio return channel.

What i am trying to do is input the cable box into the Rx, and use one single HDMI output from the rx to the TV.

I used the RCA outputs on the motorola cable box into the rx, however i am only getting audio but no video.

I tried almost every setting on the rx and the tv, yet still no luck. I even changed the setting to use analog audio and still no luck.

Any suggestions?

Anyone besides raptor?

overnite_celebritee

Postby overnite_celebritee » October 27th, 2011, 10:38 am

Looking to build or buy a projector screen for church...

Right now the projected image on the back wall is approximately 12' wide by 9' long.

I looked at the material that is used to make banners as an option however the widest that's available is 6'

any suggestions?

Postby crazybalhead » October 27th, 2011, 10:47 am

pioneer wrote:My TV is a Toshiba 46SL412U, the receiver is a Sony STR-DH510, they both support audio return channel.

Any suggestions?

Anyone besides raptor?

Yuh need a better receiver, like an Onkyo. Heheheh.

Seriously though, mine is set up like that. Everything into receiver, only one HDMI to TV. It must be something in the receiver set up man. Harass Duane nah. He is a pioneer champ.

Postby pioneer » October 27th, 2011, 6:10 pm

Yeah buh is nuh de pioneer i talkin bout...is ah sony :|

Allyuh think is de cable?...it says high speed :|

whyteliver

Postby whyteliver » October 27th, 2011, 6:33 pm

quick question.....klispch,polk audio,paradigm..which offers the best quality sound to run from a pioneer vsx-51-k receiver.

Postby pioneer » October 27th, 2011, 6:44 pm

all are pretty top notch...you won't regret em

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 27th, 2011, 7:19 pm

crazybalhead wrote:

Any suggestions?

Anyone besides raptor?

Seriously though, mine is set up like that. Everything into receiver, only one HDMI to TV. It must be something in the receiver set up man. Harass Duane nah. He is a pioneer champ.

his receiver is a Sony

but I told him via PM already that there should be a setting for analog audio in the rx. I had to do that when using the RCA jacks for my Wii. RTFM.

Postby pioneer » October 27th, 2011, 8:15 pm

dai some devious house music dey bai

whyteliver

Postby whyteliver » October 27th, 2011, 8:22 pm

have it for a month now....ridiculously full of features for the price,mind u i hav it running some 6yr old sharp htib speakers :( ...
So i quess the ans to my question is either one of the speakers i mentioned aboved should work in terms of quality?

Postby pioneer » October 27th, 2011, 8:29 pm

crazybalhead wrote:

Any suggestions?

Anyone besides raptor?

his receiver is a Sony

but I told him via PM already that there should be a setting for analog audio in the rx. I had to do that when using the RCA jacks for my Wii. RTFM.

Ya i replied above, i set the input to analog...nuttin doin brah

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 28th, 2011, 12:03 am

^ I think Raptor answered you - you need a better receiver
Sony makes decent TVs, not receivers.

*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 28th, 2011, 12:35 am

whyteliver wrote:quick question.....klispch,polk audio,paradigm..which offers the best quality sound to run from a pioneer vsx-51-k receiver.

As far as I know there is no VSX 51-K.
There is a VSX 51 Elite and a cheaper VSX 521-K

In any case the speakers will depend on the power needed and your budget. I couldn't afford Paradigm or Def Tech, so I bought Klipsch to run off of a VSX 23-TXH Elite

Sounds good IMO, but to Paradigm lovers the Klipsch are too bright and not flat enough.

whyteliver

Postby whyteliver » October 28th, 2011, 1:08 am

its the vsx 521-k.....ive really heard klipsch are bright an high...

Postby crazybalhead » October 28th, 2011, 8:16 am

whyteliver wrote:quick question.....klispch,polk audio,paradigm..which offers the best quality sound to run from a pioneer vsx-51-k receiver.

They all make verry good speakers.

I'm biased to Paradigm.

Postby SR » October 28th, 2011, 9:26 am

somthing to note with almost all "all in one" recievers

they all lack power

one power supply to run processing as well as amplified output and in most cases the power ratings are done 1 channel at a time and not while driving all at the same time

so in essence the rating may be the peak power output and not a true rms

be wary of marketing hype and how specs are worded

Postby SR » October 28th, 2011, 9:30 am

this is one of the better low end to mid price all in one units
http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/PUSA/ ... /VSX-521-K

Postby crazybalhead » October 28th, 2011, 9:32 am

SR the higher quality receivers come close to their true RMS value with all channels driven. The spec "100Wx7" Is usually "90Wx2" with only two channels driven and some sag with all channels driven due to the common supply.

Ten Biggest Mistakes of Speaker and Home Theater Shopping

Postby SR » October 28th, 2011, 9:42 am

so as not to clutter the home theatre thread take a read

1. You went for an all-inclusive surround sound speaker package from a big brand name manufacturer noted for electronics and TV sets.
On the surface, it's not that irrational. If ________ (fill in Sony, Kenwood, any major electronics brand) knows how to build CD players, audio/video receivers or TV monitors, they must know how to design and build excellent loudspeakers, right? Not always. Good speaker design is so specialized, and requires such extensive acoustical research, measurement, and listening tests that the best speakers continue to come from companies with a long history of acoustical research and speaker design.

2. You bought speakers in a rush, without listening to them with your favourite recordings, and now you're disappointed because they sound boomy or harsh.
Experienced listeners and professionals will tell you that making careful judgments on different speakers takes many hours of listening so don't be rushed. Visit several stores, taking the same group of recordings of music you know and like, for each test. If you have the option of auditioning the speakers in your own house, so much the better. That's the room where the speakers you buy will be placed, and there's no better place to listen to speakers than in the room you'll use them in. In any case, you'll likely keep them for years, so take your time and don't let sales staff pressure you.

3. You were knocked out by the deep bass from the subwoofer and didn't concentrate on the center channel and main left and right speakers.
Sure, deep bass from a subwoofer is desirable, and it's impressive, but whether you watch movies or listen to lots of music, most of those midrange and high-frequency sounds--and all of the movie dialog--will come from the center channel and main left and right speakers. Listen critically to actors' voices. Do they sound "boxy" or unnatural and hollow? Are "ssss" sounds at the beginning of words exaggerated (sibilance) or sharp sounding? Do male actors sound nasal or if they had a head cold? Or are their voices "chesty" and too full? These are all speaker "colorations" -- unnatural changes in the tonality of speaking voices introduced by the loudspeaker, and they'll become tiresome and annoying after a short time. Voices should sound natural and dialogue should be easily understood.
4. You went for those attractive little cube speakers because they're so tiny and unobtrusive, but when things get loud with home theatre, the sound gets strained and off-putting.
They may look cute and almost disappear into your room's decor, but those tiny satellite speakers can move only so much air. They're okay at quiet background levels but the little 2-inch cones inside get rattled when things start to rock and roll. Nor will a subwoofer fill in all the important upper bass and lower midrange sounds that the 2-inch cubes can't handle.

Any speaker with any claim to authentic high fidelity, even a fairly compact model, must divide the sound spectrum into at least two segments, the bass/midrange for the woofer, and the treble for the tweeter. A single cone just can't do it well in normal rooms. As the price spectrum climbs, the best speakers divide the spectrum into three parts--bass, midrange, and treble--and use multiple drivers to achieve very clean high-level high-quality sound.

5. You saved money by getting two compact speakers you thought would be just fine to fill your 25- x 20-foot cathedral-ceiling living room with high-level sound. But they sound strained and edgy when you turn up the volume.
A speaker is a kind of electromagnetic air pump, and a modest single woofer and tweeter can't be expected to fill a big volume of space with wide-range sound at high listening levels. Too many shoppers expect a "bookshelf" speaker to produce deep, resonant bass. Unfortunately, the laws of physics dictate otherwise. Sure you can get listenable pleasant bass to about 50 or 40 Hz from a shoebox-size enclosure, but if you want the resonant, deep and satisfying sounds a big pop band or orchestra makes or the deep rumbling of movie soundtracks, you must get a subwoofer or floorstanding speakers--or both!

6. You set up your subwoofer at the side of the room and you're disappointed at the lack of deep, low bass.
Room placement of any speaker is critical, and with subwoofers it becomes crucial. Even shifting the subwoofer (or where you sit) by a few feet can have a profound effect on the quantity and quality of low bass you'll hear. If the subwoofer is placed in the middle of a "standing wave," the deep bass may almost disappear. Moving the sub a few feet along the wall or towards a corner may entirely correct the problem.

Experiment with subwoofer locations! Every room produces "standing waves"--areas in the room where bass may seem too boomy or may almost be absent. Yes, subs are awkward, but you'll only have to position them once. And you can try moving the couch or chair as well, if that's easier.

7. You bought a receiver or amplifier advertised as having "200 watts total power output" and now it seems to be underpowered.
Watts are comparatively inexpensive nowadays, but lots of amps and receivers are still advertised using the misleading "total power output" ruse, which sums the individual power for all five channels. That "200-watt" receiver may have only 40 watts per channel (40 x 5 = 200) which would be okay in a den or a dorm room (barely) but inadequate for good home theater in a living room.

Look for the receiver's power output per channel into 8 ohms at a specified distortion level over a rated frequency range, preferably with at least two channels driven. The power at a single frequency, usually 1,000 Hz (1 kHz) is often quoted in ads, but it can be misleading. A receiver or amplifier with rated power output of 80 to 100 watts per channel, from 20 Hz to 20 kHz, at 0.3% distortion (THD), with at least two channels driven, should be more than ample for all but the very largest rooms.

And don't forget dynamic headroom . . . don't even get me started on that one!

8. Two really nice guys sold you two impressively large speakers at an amazing price from the back of their truck in a supermarket parking lot. Somehow, the sound seems to be lacking something. . .
Don't laugh. This scam has been going on for years and even normally intelligent otherwise sane folks fall for it. The speakers will often have a brand name that's sort of familiar, like "Sonic Research", something close to that of a familiar brand. But such speakers are terrible. Often, they have tweeters or woofers that aren't even connected. They're just for show.

The best speakers come from dedicated speaker designers who most often have been in business for 20 years or more. It takes that long to refine and develop really great loudspeakers.

9. You bought good speakers with excellent reputations and let your spousal unit or companion persuade you to put them out of sight inside an antique armoire or entertainment unit.
Why buy really good speakers if you're going to place them inside shelving units or armoires? It's the old law of boundary effects. The more surfaces nearby or surrounding a speaker, the greater the likelihood of unpleasant colourations (see above). A speaker needs to operate more or less in free space. Smaller speakers sound their best on stands. If you must put them on a shelf, move the edge of the speaker so it protrudes from the shelf a bit to minimize boundary effects. Leave the armoire for electronics and storing CDs!

10. You went for the package speaker system from the famous-name manufacturer that runs the slick advertisements everywhere you look, and spends millions on promotion and little on research and design. The sound is a disappointment.
Sad to say, certain companies use the cheapest possible cone drivers, and spend millions on slick advertising, diverting most of their profits not to research and development of better sounding speakers, but to getting manufacturing costs even lower. The systems ultimately disappoint; indeed, in some cases the basic design hasn't changed in 30 or 40 years. But the ads are very compelling.

Before you buy, check out detailed test reports in reputable audio/video magazines and on the internet. Read message boards for owner's comments on particular brands and models of speakers. Ask questions about the quality and type of the individual component parts. And don't be seduced by fancy-sounding hype in slick ads.

http://www.ecoustics.com/electronics/pr ... 09262.html

5onDfloor

Re: Ten Biggest Mistakes of Speaker and Home Theater Shoppin

Postby 5onDfloor » October 28th, 2011, 9:46 am

Excellent Thread!!!!!

Soundwave

Re: Ten Biggest Mistakes of Speaker and Home Theater Shoppin

Postby Soundwave » October 28th, 2011, 9:57 am

great info...