The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

iDynamic

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby iDynamic » October 19th, 2011, 9:45 pm

M_2NR wrote:So what are the proper settings to get 3G speeds idynamic?

A guy from tuner has it , when I fully repaired his îphone he said he would of texted me the settings but I guess he left the country that afternoon ... From what I remembered it used a port , username and password in the iPhone settings ...maybe someone else on the forum has it but u may have to pay for it....

In other news the guy released the jailbreak to two other popular iOS hackers To prove its real and working , they managed to tweet they got it up , running and connected to apple server.... And what he first stated has been pulled and he re stated that a jailbreak is actually needed.

He is hesitating to release it due to lawsuits from apple but apparently once the jailbreak is released he may release it without any worries but at the moment the only release he is planning is to send a direct link via twitter of the files needed to port it to other ios5 jail broken devices

Postby S_2NR » October 19th, 2011, 10:00 pm

wait..3g speeds?
im confused..

whats this about?

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » October 19th, 2011, 10:11 pm

S_2NR wrote:

wait..3g speeds?
im confused..

whats this about?

Nutshell summary:

Just as me and shana enterprises sell people freeunlimited data at best prices

There is one that's free but has speeds closest to 3G , it's fast enough to stream videos etc online ....so basically we can expect 3G to hit Trinidad from bmobile by carnival for the max seeing as though the settings has been leaked because I repaired the iPhone about 2 months ago ..I assume it's just a debug settings for the 3G which the technicians use etc

When I return to trini I'll try to see if I could locate the guy number and if he is still in trini I'll contact him and pay him for it ......I think he is an international rally racer that found me here on tuner so I'll update you all by December

GTcruzer

Postby GTcruzer » October 19th, 2011, 10:19 pm

Here's a question you guys might think is dumb...... Can apps be installed from a computer (.ipa files) without using iTunes, while not being a jailbroken phone (a factory unlocked iPhone)? Can iFunbox be of assistance in something like this?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 19th, 2011, 10:40 pm

S_2NR wrote:they give good protection but otterbox is just overkill on the whole :lol:
when i buy a phone i want to enjoy it not seal it up.
ent

ppl cringe when they see all I use is a clear screen protector. But I want to enjoy the design of the device!

Postby M_2NR » October 19th, 2011, 11:09 pm

i see... so backdoor bullsh1t basically? hmm. nice. i wouldnt even want to question the legalities involved in that paid solution.

GTcruzer wrote:Here's a question you guys might think is dumb...... Can apps be installed from a computer (.ipa files) without using iTunes, while not being a jailbroken phone (a factory unlocked iPhone)? Can iFunbox be of assistance in something like this?

is this cracked apps you mean? if so... it might be possible. (dont ask to explain it either, but if others want to, that's their portfolio, but we have rules here)

ipa's are tied to your apple id... well legit ones.
btw its not a dumb question... at one point, i as well wanted to know as well.

I'm not saying you are like this, but most ppl accustomed to the Installous freeness and when they hear yuh hadda pay for apps yuh get a hard watch :lol:

GTcruzer

Postby GTcruzer » October 19th, 2011, 11:37 pm

M_2NR wrote:i see... so backdoor bullsh1t basically? hmm. nice. i wouldnt even want to question the legalities involved in that paid solution.

GTcruzer wrote:Here's a question you guys might think is dumb...... Can apps be installed from a computer (.ipa files) without using iTunes, while not being a jailbroken phone (a factory unlocked iPhone)? Can iFunbox be of assistance in something like this?

is this cracked apps you mean? if so... it might be possible. (dont ask to explain it either, but if others want to, that's their portfolio, but we have rules here)

I'm not saying you are like this, but most ppl accustomed to the Installous freeness and when they hear yuh hadda pay for apps yuh get a hard watch :lol:

I know how to do it via iFunbox on a jailbroken device, just wanted to know if it's possible on a factory unlocked device.

i guess it would be a cracked app.... not sure (read: actually never really checked) if i can download an app from an external source (meaning not iTunes/App Store)

the question really stems from me having the .ipa files on my computer for apps i have on my 3G but should i get a 4S, can i install them without any problems (apart from compatibility issues that may arise between old app versions on a newer iOS)

I like the freeness of Installous and the other tweaks available with Cydia but from following this thread, i'm guessing factory unlocked is the best option nowadays.

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » October 19th, 2011, 11:48 pm

GTcruzer wrote:
M_2NR wrote:i see... so backdoor bullsh1t basically? hmm. nice. i wouldnt even want to question the legalities involved in that paid solution.

I know how to do it via iFunbox on a jailbroken device, just wanted to know if it's possible on a factory unlocked device.

i guess it would be a cracked app.... not sure (read: actually never really checked) if i can download an app from an external source (meaning not iTunes/App Store)

the question really stems from me having the .ipa files on my computer for apps i have on my 3G but should i get a 4S, can i install them without any problems (apart from compatibility issues that may arise between old app versions on a newer iOS)

I like the freeness of Installous and the other tweaks available with Cydia but from following this thread, i'm guessing factory unlocked is the best option nowadays.

Ok you can download apps like nothing from google ...rite , you can sync them fine once they are legit , if they are not legit you will need to install app sync or app cake

........in iTunes go to preferences ...then select "App Store" and "ringtones" in one of the sections and let it save it .

The simply drag your apps from wherever you downloaded them into the apps section in iTunes which is located above or below the music section ....

From there simply press sync all apps and when you are ready press apply .

If you have a factory unlocked iPad or iPhone , you cannot sync any pirated apps unless you have jail broken your device so I recommend buying an app store gift card to done all that stress . If you need to jailbreak for the enhanced and additional features then do so.

Feel free to contact me in a couple weeks if you need your device repaired , jail broken , unlocked etc...

Parvin

Postby Parvin » October 19th, 2011, 11:50 pm

Installous is nice eh ... but i would rather purchase apps and games just to support developrs but i find it ridiculous that you have to re-purchase the same app or game when they update it to fix minor bugs and what not.

So for now, Installous works yes ... lol

GTcruzer

Postby GTcruzer » October 20th, 2011, 12:05 am

iDynamic wrote:Ok you can download apps like nothing from google ...rite , you can sync them fine once they are legit , if they are not legit you will need to install app sync or app cake

........in iTunes go to preferences ...then select "App Store" and "ringtones" in one of the sections and let it save it .

The simply drag your apps from wherever you downloaded them into the apps section in iTunes which is located above or below the music section ....

From there simply press sync all apps and when you are ready press apply .

If you have a factory unlocked iPad or iPhone , you cannot sync any pirated apps unless you have jail broken your device so I recommend buying an app store gift card to done all that stress . If you need to jailbreak for the enhanced and additional features then do so.

Feel free to contact me in a couple weeks if you need your device repaired , jail broken , unlocked etc...

thanks for the info

mojosodope

The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby mojosodope » October 20th, 2011, 7:45 am

Parvin wrote:Installous is nice eh ... but i would rather purchase apps and games just to support developrs but i find it ridiculous that you have to re-purchase the same app or game when they update it to fix minor bugs and what not.

What do you mean repurchase when they've updated the app? The only time when you pay is when they release a whole other app e.g (real racing 1 v real racing 2). I don't think I've ever had to pay for an update to an existing purchased app..

Parvin

Postby Parvin » October 20th, 2011, 8:30 am

Serious ? I read reviews of Street Fighter IV where people complained they were charged again for the updated version which just had 2 additional characters.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 20th, 2011, 9:01 am

From Apple's Steve Jobs event yesterday

& with that...

Life goes on.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 20th, 2011, 11:30 am

mojosodope wrote:
Parvin wrote:Installous is nice eh ... but i would rather purchase apps and games just to support developrs but i find it ridiculous that you have to re-purchase the same app or game when they update it to fix minor bugs and what not.

What do you mean repurchase when they've updated the app? The only time when you pay is when they release a whole other app e.g (real racing 1 v real racing 2). I don't think I've ever had to pay for an update to an existing purchased app..
same here - you do not have to pay for updates unless it's an entirely different app

infact every day AppStore alerts you of available updates for apps that you purchased - they are free

casper

Postby casper » October 20th, 2011, 12:06 pm

anyone tried out Vlingo yet???

sped to be an imi-Siri for non 4S users...is it any good?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 20th, 2011, 12:14 pm

^ yup I tried it - doesnt work too well and definitely doesnt have the heuristics that Siri does

it's like saying a TS with a bodykit is a STi

casper

Postby casper » October 20th, 2011, 12:22 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ yup I tried it - doesnt work too well and definitely doesnt have the heuristics that Siri does

ite kewl...i know i cud trust ur reviews on stuff...

it on a list to download here on my phone...as it dun already there i guess i'll let it download and try it out one time as its free...

duane u gonna go 4S??? i ws thinking to pipe out my 4 and get a 4S from raptor but i now checked his threads and realised he sells big samsung TVs :shock: ...so now i stuck inna dilemma...big TV or upgrade from a 4 - a 4S??? decisions decisions... :cry:

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » October 20th, 2011, 12:24 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ yup I tried it - doesnt work too well and definitely doesnt have the heuristics that Siri does

now i understand

rawCpoppa

Postby rawCpoppa » October 20th, 2011, 12:29 pm

Would Siri work ok on EDGE? I know it would be ok on WIFI but say you ask it something away from that would it work but just take a bit longer?

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » October 20th, 2011, 12:47 pm

It should jus take a lil longer

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 20th, 2011, 12:52 pm

^ Siri needs data to search the internet for stuff you ask it, so Siri will still work but if the data is slow then when Siri shows you a webpage with the answer, the page will just take long to load

example: you ask Siri to "What is the population of Taiwan", Siri will just give you google search result or wikipedia page with the population of Taiwan. You will get a reply from Siri immediately with the search result but the page may take a while to load if you connection is slow.

infact if the data connection drops Siri may show you the page with the answer but the page may say "page not found" - Siri may not know the page didnt load.

casper

Postby casper » October 20th, 2011, 2:21 pm

Duane how did u get the Vlingo to work??? everytime i press to talk it saying "oops...cannot connect to server check signal strength" or somn like that...cant remember exact message but i getting full bars with b-mobile and 2 out of 3 bars of wifi where i'm at right now

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 20th, 2011, 2:29 pm

^ I didnt have that problem - it just worked
but it was terrible at understanding what I was saying and I just uninstalled it. I found the iOS 5 voice control was better at alot of things than vlingo, though vlingo was better at some things too.

rawCpoppa

The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby rawCpoppa » October 20th, 2011, 2:45 pm

The reason I asked was I read that apart from the need for data to be used for web page loading siri itself sent data to and received data from Apple servers even for things like setting alarms or reminders.

Not sure how true that is though

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 20th, 2011, 3:04 pm

Walter Isaacson, the author of the upcoming official Steve Jobs biography, told 60 minutes that Steve Jobs refused what could have potentially been a life-saving surgery. Remember, though Jobs had the deadly pancreatic cancer, he also had a very rare form that was curable through surgery. Jobs didn't want that surgery.

Jobs' reasoning was that he "didn't want [his] body to be opened" and that "he didn't want to be violated in that way". That does falls in line with who Jobs was spiritually but seems like a mistake that could have been avoided. 60 Minutes asks the obvious question, how could such a smart man make such a stupid decision? Isaacson, who has had numerous conversations with Jobs, says:

"I think that he kind of felt that if you ignore something, if you don't want something to exist, you can have magical thinking…we talked about this a lot. He wanted to talk about it, how he regretted it….I think he felt he should have been operated on sooner."

He eventually had the surgery, some 9 months later, due to pressure from his family and friends, but that point, the cancer had spread to the tissue around him. Isaacson said that Jobs downplayed the severity of his illness, even receiving cancer treatment in secret but eventually came to regret his decision to delay the surgery. There's bound to be more golden nuggets about Steve Jobs that come from the 60 Minutes interview with Walter Isaacson. Watch it this Sunday.

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » October 20th, 2011, 3:22 pm

rawCpoppa wrote:The reason I asked was I read that apart from the need for data to be used for web page loading siri itself sent data to and received data from Apple servers even for things like setting alarms or reminders.

Huh ??

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 20th, 2011, 4:49 pm

iDynamic wrote:
rawCpoppa wrote:The reason I asked was I read that apart from the need for data to be used for web page loading siri itself sent data to and received data from Apple servers even for things like setting alarms or reminders.

Huh ??
well more than likely Siri would make extensive use of the cloud, which would require internet access.

remember with iCloud if I set a calendar date on my iPhone it also updates on my iPad automatically

but seriously, saying that Siri needs constant data is like complaining that Firefox wont work without internet.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » October 20th, 2011, 6:30 pm

Siri is in constant communication with Apple servers, it may not work so smoothly on Edge connections.

ole whore

Postby ole whore » October 20th, 2011, 7:39 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:it's like saying a TS with a bodykit is a STi

alyuh good yes, as a mod on TSOC , i find that is ah bad example, but carry on..... :D

Postby pete » October 20th, 2011, 9:19 pm

Anyone ever used Qik video from an iPhone to another device? How does it compare with facetime?