hustla_ambition101 wrote:Figures were really lacking, how much did d former guild swindler get?
Daren 3NE 2NR wrote:Incentives for CNG
Daren 3NE 2NR wrote:Tax Incentives for alternative energy sources - solar / wind
racy lady wrote:If this can be looked as a step back, then why are they continuing to push this...
Go with the rest of the world... ELECTRIC!![]()
SR wrote:right so incentives to go electric/hybrid
if they really serious about going cng i want to see govenrment/ministry vehicles converted
also restriction on engine size for non diesel vehicles in government
does a minsitry really need a prado to be driven around pos for personal business??
Habit7 wrote:racy lady wrote:If this can be looked as a step back, then why are they continuing to push this...
Go with the rest of the world... ELECTRIC!![]()
young lady, whatever ELECTRICity we will get in this country to run in cars, comes from the NG in CNG
Habit7 wrote:Rather than I make a thread about it, what allyuh think about the Bus Rapid Transit?
Habit7 wrote:^^^we have hybrid vehicles already in T&T, there are the Toyota Prius and Honda Civic. Gov't doesnt really need to incentivise those things, dealers need to meet the market need and buyers should want their advantages. Ppl just want to continue using cheap gas
rfari wrote:Habit7 wrote:Rather than I make a thread about it, what allyuh think about the Bus Rapid Transit?
it would be better than the rapid rail. more more people for less money and infrastructure
Habit7 wrote:rfari wrote:Habit7 wrote:Rather than I make a thread about it, what allyuh think about the Bus Rapid Transit?
it would be better than the rapid rail. more more people for less money and infrastructure
I was doing some reading up on it this morning, you can basically get how much money you throw at it. Dedicated elevated lines with double articulating bus is high cost and infrastructure, moves more ppl but just as effective as light rail. While semi-dedicated lines and groups of buses, low cost and infrastructure with little drawbacks.
Rowley: Budget filled with deceit
By Anna Ramdass anna.ramdass@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Oct 10, 2011 at 11:44 PM ECT
Story Updated: Oct 10, 2011 at 11:44 PM ECT
The People's Partnership national budget is one that is filled with deceit and creates more questions than answers, says Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley.
"I have never seen a Minister of Finance struggle through a budget speech like this one....the budget was deceitful and is short on information," said Rowley.
Rowley said Government needs to explain to the people the process by which $3,000 pension payments will be made to National Insurance Board pensioners who collected $2,000 before.
"The Government attempted to provide some so called goodies that raises more questions than answers," said Rowley.
"Is it that there will be an increase in the NIS contributions to allow those benefits to be paid?" asked Rowley.
He also pointed out that according to Dookeran, persons who are not subscribed to NIS will now be able to access it.
"The NIS is in fact a contributory pension system and here it is Government will pass its responsibility for old age pension on to the NIS and the Minister of Finance is very careful not to point that out," said Rowley.
Rowley described these developments as deceptive as he criticised the lack of transparency in the entire budget.
Rowley said there were also questions with respect to the allocation given to National Security noting that on the statements given a total of $4 billion plus was allocated, however, when Dookeran was wrapping up his debate he said the allocation for National Security was $5.1 billion.
"What is that extra $800 million for? I suspect that in the figures which the Minister of Finance glossed over...is the real cost of the state of emergency because some serious costs are being run over the state of emergency," said Rowley.
Rowley also knocked the Government on its move to set up a special purpose bank to fund infrastructure.
He said there this is in effect a special purpose State enterprise, which the People's Partnership made a career of criticising the People's National Movement over.
Pointing out that this Government made no moves to prune any of the State enterprises in existence, Rowley said they need to explain why they are moving to create a new one especially in the banking sector.
Dookeran, he added, steered clear of the addressing issues with respect to this nation's revenue.
He noted that last year Dookeran said the fiscal measures were aimed at turning the economy around but the reality is that there has been a decline in the economy.
"He (Dookeran) very quickly mentioned that the economy declined by 1.7 per cent...that means you promised a certain percentage growth, that didn't happen," said Rowley.
"We have had a lot of untruths, a lot of hidden statements and a lot of unattended reports and finally the general feeling of the Opposition is that the Government steered clear of reporting on the performance of last year's budget and in fact nothing was changed because it is business as usual," said Rowley.
Dizzy28 wrote:Would be interesting to get a real critical examination of the budget by the opposition. Not ah "we do, he say, they lie" but some facts and figures and less opinions.
Stephon. wrote:EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ how much it is only 2 years? thats kinda sad.
The age restriction should be like 1997 cars and up.
girl, honey, sis, boo.
Your dream of importing a b14 isn't going to happen.
Deal with it.
Stephon. wrote:EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ how much it is only 2 years? thats kinda sad.
The age restriction should be like 1997 cars and up.
girl, honey, sis, boo.
Your dream of importing a b14 isn't going to happen.
Deal with it.
ray_S.T.R.A_man wrote:Well done Dooks. MP for my area.
who vex loss.
Energy economist Gregory Mc Guire believes T&T is heading for a downward economic spiral because of Government's unwillingness to wean the public from its dependence on gas subsidies. Speaking at a post-budget forum at the Oilfields Workers’ Trade Union's (OWTU) Paramount Building headquarters, San Fernando, yesterday, Mc Guire contended that exorbitant subsidies on gas and electricity could not be sustained over time, even though the economy was relatively stable. Noting that the subsidies had increased ten-fold from 2001 to 2011, Mc Guire said the path on which T&T was being steered was similar to what existed during the economic bust of the 1980s.
He added: “Sooner or later, we sense that some Government will find themselves in a situation where they will have no choice but to reduce the level on transfers and subsidies, which over the last ten years have increased ten-fold. “In 2001, 25 per cent of Government expenditure went in transfers and subsidies, while in 2011, 56 per cent of Government’s expenditure went to transfers. “In other words, the money we earn from oil and gas, we are simply using to subsidise, rather than to create new capacity for growth of the economy.
“Therefore, in the face of a stagnant economy, a budget that increases subsidies, is a cause for concern. Citizens remain concerned about the future because of the absence of a clear sense of direction and new initiatives in the transformation process.” Mc Guire said the notion that promoting CNG as an alternative fuel would reduce the subsidy over time was not feasible. He said: “In my judgement, they need to do much more than that. This subsidy cannot be sustained over time. We need to wean the population out of it. “We need to track the subsidy at the budget price of oil, so if the budgeted price of oil is $75 a barrel, anything above $75 should be passed on to the public. “They also need to improve the alternative means of transportation so public transportation will be more efficient. “If this happens, everyone will not see the need to purchase a car and if they do, they will not use it everyday,” Mc Guire contended.
Asked by students whether T&T could be headed to the IMF after a third year of deficit spending, Mc Guire said that was uncertain. “The answer to that question is we don’t know. It depends on the extent to which we are continuing on the path that we are on. “The path that we are on could lead to destruction if we do not pause for a moment and take a different direction,” Mc Guire warned. He explained that in the boom days of the 70s calls were made to slow down the transfers on subsidies and expenditure, but it was not done and in the 1980s all subsidies had to be cut and State enterprises had to be divested. Meanwhile, former senior economist of the RBTT Group, Hayden Blades, described the budget as visionless. Labeling it Economic Recovery Plan, Part 2, Blades said he had yet to see constitutional reform and reform with regards to party financing. He called for collaboration with Government and warned that antagonism from the labour movement would not do T&T well.
tiger balm wrote:We'll see just how serious they are when gas stations start installing natural gas pumps. I don't think many if at all any of the refurbished gas stations have a natural gas pump. When that day comes City Motors will be happy as they can bring down the cng version of the civic cheaper. Until then I can only see ptsc and possibly wasa really going to natural gas as they have their own refilling stations.