Re: "State of Emergency" Thread

Postby TRAE » October 7th, 2011, 3:16 pm

edited it right after dude check again

Postby eliteauto » October 7th, 2011, 6:06 pm

TRAE no one is denying that we have a crime issue but this SOE is a placebo effect, we have had more curfew offences prosecution than we have had for any major offence, limiting the movements of citizens and criminals alike only presents a false sense of security, there was no intelligence driven policing in the aftermath with decisive arrests.

Diesel bunkering was known to the SAUTT for over a year, yet none of the senior officials involved have not been arrested, in fact in the Sea Lots location no one was arrested, so much for your don't tip off the criminals theory
Why was the container of marijuana not placed under surveillance? why was the consignee not detained even though this was the second of his containers to be found to contain narcotics? Is it because he's a friend of the Gov't and a member of a State Board?

Why did the Min of Nat security and the PM offer 3 different reasons in 2 weeks for the SOE, why has the MIn of Nat sec not signed a single detention order during the SOE?

Why is a detention center/holding facility/transitional center (all terms used by the Gov't) been built in Santa Rosa allegedly to house SOE detainees (numbering over 4000) when it's a fact that almost daily detainees are being freed by the court and by the police thus the grand total arrested is not the amt actually in custody, who is the Gov't renting this facility from, did the owner not say it's a 6 month lease because he's planning to convert the warehouse into a vendors mall, exactly who would go in a commercial zone notorious for the sickening stench coming from the nearby chicken processing plant to patronise vendors, if it was in fact to be rented for 6 months would it not be a total waste of tax payer's dollars which could have been injected into the actual Prison system?
Why was the under utilised and already built Immigrant Detainee Center not used instead?

Postby rollingstock » October 7th, 2011, 10:41 pm

^ Cause people hadda eat ah food dawdi.

Postby TRAE » October 8th, 2011, 8:26 am

my idea is that we know the police getting tips, get police that can go undercover and scope out the scene, get the evidence and hang dey mc

commonsense01

Postby commonsense01 » October 10th, 2011, 7:07 am

Murder on Green Hill, Third curfew rape in Longdenville, Missing Wallerfield man believed kidnapped, Three armed robberies onboard three maxi taxis days apart last week but we are in SOE. This SOE will never easy crime. It the damn police who needs to start working until this happens we will gradually drift back in to high crime figures because it looks like the police have run out of steam

Postby TRAE » October 10th, 2011, 11:43 am

allyuh know saturday gone people outside in the bar 2 AM and no police--- stueps

Postby eliteauto » October 11th, 2011, 7:14 am

the AG stated yesterday, that the detention center is for transition/rehabilitation so we can assume it is now a permanent facility (that he proudly boasted was done in a short time) so again the citizens are lied to during the SOE

Postby Habit7 » October 11th, 2011, 8:22 am

doh worry, it seems like ppl cant hear the lies over their gulps as they drink the kool-aid

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » October 11th, 2011, 8:56 am

SoE = fail

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » October 11th, 2011, 10:18 am

Two weeks ago a memo was sent to head of divisions to cease all raids. Strangely enough our last week our honorable PM said the Police has asked for the SOE to be extended. :drinking: :drinking:

talk bout deceit.

Postby rollingstock » October 11th, 2011, 10:24 am

5onDfloor wrote:Two weeks ago a memo was sent to head of divisions to cease all raids. Strangely enough our last week our honorable PM said the Police has asked for the SOE to be extended. :drinking: :drinking:

talk bout deceit.

What? De hell you get that from?

Postby TRAE » October 11th, 2011, 12:07 pm

i lost as well g

Pusangani

Postby Pusangani » October 12th, 2011, 8:54 am

Habit7 wrote:
TRAE wrote:the country was going through a path that would cause more much more than we were seeing, the SoE serves it purpose and the curfew should be kept whether or not the SoE is still in progress.

When I hear ppl like yourself make comments like that it makes me feel sorry for how ppl have lost some of their sanity because of the perceived danger of crime. Ppl are now willing to give up their freedom of movement and privacy for the virtual safety of a police state.

The country was gripped with a murder rate that was considered high in comparison to its past but consistent with the rate of the region. Last year the murder rate had decreased by 7% and this year was seeing a 15% decrease. The PM announced that due to some near and present crisis we have to instate a SoE (Sandy later said it would have made 1990 look like a garden party). The first action as one might perceived to be would be to squash this threat…we saw a raid on Nelson St. to nab alleged gang members. We saw other arrests and drugs and arms seizures (mostly lead by tip offs). We are now hearing that the reason for the SoE is the deal with the criminal element in the country and the curfew is to assist in this.

Now some of you could be comfortable with this but I am not. We don’t have the official monetary figure for how much this SoE is impacting our economy but we all hope that it would be worth it. Whether or not you are a limer, doubles man, Gyro man, bar/club/casino owner, night shift worker or whatever nocturnal proprietor this SoE will affect you. Just as water finds it own level, one sector of the economy suffering flows into other sectors. And in these recessionary times can we further afford to stagnate the economy that is crying out for action?

If we can’t walk and whistle, that is, deal with crime and build our economy we won’t have either. If we can’t deal with crime without killing the economy then how about we enslave Barbados, free labour without the hassle. But seriously wake up, we are the only country to ever use an SoE to deal with crime, and so far the most successful convictions are curfew breakers. Whatever gains we might get it is at a terrible loss in my view.

Those who would give up Essential Liberty to purchase a little Temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety and will lose both - Benjamin Franklin

Here's my personal opinion:

I'm with you 100% on this post, some people are so blinded by their gov't and its fearmongering and propaganda

Look at all the old rusty non-functioning guns and ammo they paraded in the press so try and flaunt their success in the earlies lol

They don't have the answers to the crime problem, they're desperate to look like they're doing something.

The problem is poverty and corruption, those are both constants in our society, and once we have them, crime will be a constant.

If crime is a constant, then what will they do when the SOE ultimately ends? the only way to justify that logic is by living in a constant SOE/Curfew if they want to have the kind of crime stats that we currently have.

They flip flopped on the reason for it, making it up as they go along, and their sheeple believe it all.

Those that speak out against it are labelled PNM supporters or criminals or sympathizers with criminals. As if one is unable to be FOR liberty and AGAINST crime at the same time.

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » October 12th, 2011, 10:55 am

dont talk common sense you will be branded a bandit and part of the PNM Cult!

Postby rollingstock » October 12th, 2011, 12:14 pm

5onDfloor wrote:Two weeks ago a memo was sent to head of divisions to cease all raids. Strangely enough our last week our honorable PM said the Police has asked for the SOE to be extended. :drinking: :drinking:

talk bout deceit.

5onDfloor wrote:dont talk common sense you will be branded a bandit and part of the PNM Cult!

Still waiting on an answer to my question.
Can you back up your statement about the memo or did you pull that piece of info out your ass?

Postby Habit7 » October 12th, 2011, 12:28 pm

talk bout deceit.

*Not defending his point but sharing my interpretation*

At the last meeting of the National Security Council the PM expressed her willingness to abate the SoE and curfew, but said she was advised not to by the security officials. As such, what appeared to be a shortened SoE was extend by not cancelling it.

Postby rollingstock » October 12th, 2011, 12:41 pm

I Understand that ^ but what 5onDfloor wrote is a whole different thing.

I don't care for the political spin, my issue is that what he said is a very serious accusation (depending who issued the alleged memo), one i am not aware of but if it can be proven i would be very interested in.

But from his obvious skirting of the question i asked it can only guide my to assume that it's not true.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 13th, 2011, 1:37 pm

Police raid a neighbour house this morning. 1st live police action i've seen since this SOE start.

Postby shogun » October 15th, 2011, 6:11 pm

Pusangani wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
TRAE wrote:the country was going through a path that would cause more much more than we were seeing, the SoE serves it purpose and the curfew should be kept whether or not the SoE is still in progress.

When I hear ppl like yourself make comments like that it makes me feel sorry for how ppl have lost some of their sanity because of the perceived danger of crime. Ppl are now willing to give up their freedom of movement and privacy for the virtual safety of a police state.

The country was gripped with a murder rate that was considered high in comparison to its past but consistent with the rate of the region. Last year the murder rate had decreased by 7% and this year was seeing a 15% decrease. The PM announced that due to some near and present crisis we have to instate a SoE (Sandy later said it would have made 1990 look like a garden party). The first action as one might perceived to be would be to squash this threat…we saw a raid on Nelson St. to nab alleged gang members. We saw other arrests and drugs and arms seizures (mostly lead by tip offs). We are now hearing that the reason for the SoE is the deal with the criminal element in the country and the curfew is to assist in this.

Now some of you could be comfortable with this but I am not. We don’t have the official monetary figure for how much this SoE is impacting our economy but we all hope that it would be worth it. Whether or not you are a limer, doubles man, Gyro man, bar/club/casino owner, night shift worker or whatever nocturnal proprietor this SoE will affect you. Just as water finds it own level, one sector of the economy suffering flows into other sectors. And in these recessionary times can we further afford to stagnate the economy that is crying out for action?

If we can’t walk and whistle, that is, deal with crime and build our economy we won’t have either. If we can’t deal with crime without killing the economy then how about we enslave Barbados, free labour without the hassle. But seriously wake up, we are the only country to ever use an SoE to deal with crime, and so far the most successful convictions are curfew breakers. Whatever gains we might get it is at a terrible loss in my view.

Those who would give up Essential Liberty to purchase a little Temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety and will lose both - Benjamin Franklin

I'm with you 100% on this post, some people are so blinded by their gov't and its fearmongering and propaganda

Look at all the old rusty non-functioning guns and ammo they paraded in the press so try and flaunt their success in the earlies lol

They don't have the answers to the crime problem, they're desperate to look like they're doing something.

The problem is poverty and corruption, those are both constants in our society, and once we have them, crime will be a constant.

If crime is a constant, then what will they do when the SOE ultimately ends? the only way to justify that logic is by living in a constant SOE/Curfew if they want to have the kind of crime stats that we currently have.

They flip flopped on the reason for it, making it up as they go along, and their sheeple believe it all.

Those that speak out against it are labelled PNM supporters or criminals or sympathizers with criminals. As if one is unable to be FOR liberty and AGAINST crime at the same time.

nice!

Postby redmanjp » October 15th, 2011, 6:58 pm

i think d old man who get hold for cocaine in El Socorro is d same man who my mom buy manure from 2 months ago oui

Postby Kenjo » October 15th, 2011, 8:50 pm

redmanjp wrote:i think d old man who get hold for cocaine in El Socorro is d same man who my mom buy manure from 2 months ago oui

oh sheit.....make sure no coke hidden in there then!

homeboy

Postby homeboy » October 16th, 2011, 6:45 am

Pusangani wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

When both your turn reach i hope you can handle it! Giving up freedom from 11pm to 4am? Those hours are given up my the minority of law abiding people, who do you all know that likes to be out after these hours?

Poverty will always be an issue, my neighbor got a good car to work and pay 100 dollars a day until the car becomes his, this was not good enough to work PH and make the money to fit in with the 4 and 5 movies he likes to buy and watch on a daily basis.

Now he lost the car because he couldn't pay for it due to working taxi was to much pressure, he has 5 kids all smaller than age 12 and he say he need help he is to "poor" to maintain his family........Yes the government needs to help out people like this and give them all they want to get out off poverty... :?

Postby TRAE » October 16th, 2011, 8:24 pm

homeboy wrote:
Pusangani wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

When both your turn reach i hope you can handle it! Giving up freedom from 11pm to 4am? Those hours are given up my the minority of law abiding people, who do you all know that likes to be out after these hours?

Poverty will always be an issue, my neighbor got a good car to work and pay 100 dollars a day until the car becomes his, this was not good enough to work PH and make the money to fit in with the 4 and 5 movies he likes to buy and watch on a daily basis.

Now he lost the car because he couldn't pay for it due to working taxi was to much pressure, he has 5 kids all smaller than age 12 and he say he need help he is to "poor" to maintain his family........Yes the government needs to help out people like this and give them all they want to get out off poverty... :?

cyah pay 100 a day... shouldnt have a car in the first place... matter of a fact should up he hustle instead of crying over the PH wuk cause plenty man in here condeming PH on the whole

Postby K74T » October 16th, 2011, 8:55 pm

why did he decide to have all these kids if he knew he couldn't provide for them? :roll:

Postby hustla_ambition101 » October 16th, 2011, 10:12 pm

Now he lost the car because he couldn't pay for it due to working taxi was to much pressure, he has 5 kids all smaller than age 12 and he say he need help he is to "poor" to maintain his family........Yes the government needs to help out people like this and give them all they want to get out off poverty...

If only they could have neutered him. Why do people make children they cant afford to mind and then want to be angry with the State. Let him go learn a trade instead of looking for d easy way out. If you so concerned you should take a couple of his kids and and mind them

Postby wagonrunner » October 16th, 2011, 10:23 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
Now he lost the car because he couldn't pay for it due to working taxi was to much pressure, he has 5 kids all smaller than age 12 and he say he need help he is to "poor" to maintain his family........Yes the government needs to help out people like this and give them all they want to get out off poverty...

If only they could have neutered him. Why do people make children they cant afford to mind and then want to be angry with the State. Let him go learn a trade instead of looking for d easy way out. If you so concerned you should take a couple of his kids and and mind them

was he not "making ends meet" before the S.O.E, and is now being affected by it?

Postby K74T » October 16th, 2011, 11:22 pm

Stern John charged with breaking curfew

Veteran Trinidad and Tobago national footballer Stern John and an attorney were among five people arrested by police in Woodbrook for an alleged breach of curfew.
John, 34, attorney Denisha Mayers, 35, Emmanuel Hyacinth, 27, Atersa Humphrey, 25, and his sister Terry Ann Humphrey, 31, were arrested by police at the corner of French Street and Ariapita Avenue, Woodbrook around 11.30 p.m. on Saturday.
But there has been confusion among senior and junior police officers over the decision to charge John and the other four accused with the offence since they were reportedly in the yard of Motor One Insurance which is at the corner of French Street and Ariapita Avenue, Woodbrook.
The Express was reliably informed that junior officers had contacted several First Division officers seeking advice on the matter after they were instructed by an Inspector to detain and charge the suspects.
A police source said the First Division officers advised that no charges should be pursued against those detained since, at the time of their arrest, they were in a compound which is secured by a wall and gate, but charges were still laid against the accused.
They were subsequently granted their own bail while in custody at the Woodbrook and Belmont police stations and told to appear in the Port of Spain Magistrates' Court at 9 a.m. today to answer the charge.
One of the accused was slapped with an additional charge of using obscene language.
The charges against John and the others were laid by a police officer assigned to the E-999 Patrol and Response Unit.
And ten other people, among them six women, are also expected to appear before a Port of Spain Magistrate today charged with breach of the curfew.
The suspects were arrested by police in front of Four Roads Police Station late on Saturday night during a roadblock.
Officers said they realised there were several vehicles on the road after curfew hours and decided to conduct a roadblock when they held the suspects.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Stern_John_charged__with__breaking_curfew-131958503.html

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » October 17th, 2011, 7:15 pm

hey guys,

did they say bussing bamboo is illegal for divali? i know someone mentioned something but it was not confirmed

homeboy

Postby homeboy » October 17th, 2011, 11:46 pm

K74T wrote:why did he decide to have all these kids if he knew he couldn't provide for them? :roll:

Well this is something that i can't understand not only with him but with others.......This man had so many chances in life it's too much to say.

This i didn't base on the SOE but on the fact that many people say they are poor and cannot afford to live a good life but when in fact they could of and let laziness get the better of them.