Anybody here know how to program in Android and/or iOS?

Scoobert Bauce

Anybody here know how to program in Android and/or iOS?

Postby Scoobert Bauce » October 6th, 2011, 7:12 am

As an IT student ah starting to get a lil interested in it, but ah kinda having some problems on where to start... Anybody doin it?

Re: Anybody here know how to program in Android and/or iOS?

Postby Bizzare » October 6th, 2011, 7:21 am

Re..... wait....
Why would you wanna write programs for iOS. Steve Jobs' ghost is saddened by your hypocrisy :lol:

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » October 6th, 2011, 7:24 am

lol. a normal person would aspire to learn as much as possible in their field of study/work

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » October 6th, 2011, 7:58 am

it have book online on amazone bout dat

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » October 6th, 2011, 7:59 am

tried those. still slightly confused. and the compiler not installing on my laptop for some reason

Postby Sky » October 6th, 2011, 8:24 am

Scoobert Bauce wrote:tried those. still slightly confused. and the compiler not installing on my laptop for some reason

You should ask an IT person to install the compiler for you.

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » October 6th, 2011, 8:46 am

Sky wrote:
Scoobert Bauce wrote:tried those. still slightly confused. and the compiler not installing on my laptop for some reason

not sure if srs...

benko

Postby benko » October 6th, 2011, 9:20 am

all the info and steps are on those links.. just verify you have met all the prerequisites and stop trying to take shortcuts, eg if you were trying to install eclipse for android ..do you have JDK installed :? not getting involved further ..just saying all the info you need is there

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » October 6th, 2011, 9:24 am

benko wrote:all the info and steps are on those links.. just verify you have met all the prerequisites and stop trying to take shortcuts, eg if you were trying to install eclipse for android ..do you have JDK installed :? not getting involved further ..just saying all the info you need is there

I programming in Java so yeah I have the latest JDK installed. is really the eclipse thing that giving trouble to install (i download it straight off the android website, wasnt even an install file smh) thanks anyway

benko

Postby benko » October 6th, 2011, 10:17 am

lol link to eclipse site has info about installation bugs etc it may be a bit of reading and steps to get it running properly for your environment and specific needs but once you get past all that you can get to the actual programming, dunno why they seem to think programmers like reading documentation, however extensive it may be.

Kish

Postby Kish » October 6th, 2011, 1:04 pm

i've done a couple android apps. but eclipse is just to extract and run, no installation (prob the windows version needs to install). i've used either:
Eclipse IDE for Java Developers or Eclipse Classic 3.7.1 from here:
http://www.eclipse.org/downloads/

once you have eclipse running you install the latest JDK, ADK and ADT plugin for eclipse.

perhaps if you specify the exact issue i can help more.

and unless you have a mac don't bother with iOS, cause i tried installing xcode on vmware and it took hours to install, and then ended up not running

Postby Sky » October 6th, 2011, 3:37 pm

Scoobert Bauce wrote:
Sky wrote:

not sure if srs...

Very srs. A lot of code monkeys still need help from network admins and tech support to do the simplest things sometimes.

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » October 6th, 2011, 9:06 pm

Geek-e-Zone wrote:i've done a couple android apps. but eclipse is just to extract and run, no installation (prob the windows version needs to install). i've used either:
Eclipse IDE for Java Developers or Eclipse Classic 3.7.1 from here:
http://www.eclipse.org/downloads/

once you have eclipse running you install the latest JDK, ADK and ADT plugin for eclipse.

perhaps if you specify the exact issue i can help more.

and unless you have a mac don't bother with iOS, cause i tried installing xcode on vmware and it took hours to install, and then ended up not running

I see that it is just a download and run application but this is the problem that I'm getting

its not locating the JDK

Postby Bizzare » October 6th, 2011, 9:08 pm

You didn't set the path to the JVM.

Kish

Postby Kish » October 6th, 2011, 9:12 pm

seems it may be a jdk issue:
http://www.eclipse.org/forums/index.php/t/171274/

do you have the latest jdk installed? may need to install the one for 32 or 64 bit. you need the jdk at least to get eclipse running

Postby Bizzare » October 6th, 2011, 9:16 pm

^^ yea that seems like the problem, but as a beginner I wont recommend Eclipse. Try Jcreator. Its like coding in notepad lol.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » October 6th, 2011, 10:20 pm

Scoobert Bauce wrote:As an IT student ah starting to get a lil interested in it, but ah kinda having some problems on where to start... Anybody doin it?

Start by not insulting the people that, ya know, could actually help you with iOS. And secondly, by showing some respect for a recently deceased great man, whose philosophy you can't possibly begin understand.

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » October 6th, 2011, 10:29 pm

Strauss wrote:
Scoobert Bauce wrote:As an IT student ah starting to get a lil interested in it, but ah kinda having some problems on where to start... Anybody doin it?

Start by not insulting the people that, ya know, could actually help you with iOS. And secondly, by showing some respect for a recently deceased great man, whose philosophy you can't possibly begin understand.

detatch nuts from mouth my friend. Its called an opinion. If you doh wanna help thats cool I'm sure youre not the only one

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » October 6th, 2011, 10:32 pm

Bizzare wrote:^^ yea that seems like the problem, but as a beginner I wont recommend Eclipse. Try Jcreator. Its like coding in notepad lol.

lol I loooove JCreator... interface is simple as hell... didnt know you could use it for Android packages though. Thanks

Strauss

Postby Strauss » October 6th, 2011, 11:31 pm

Scoobert Bauce wrote:detatch nuts from mouth my friend. Its called an opinion. If you doh wanna help thats cool I'm sure youre not the only one

You're probably right. I'm not the only one.

But I am THE ONE in this small part of Latin America.

Good luck, my friend.

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » October 6th, 2011, 11:44 pm

Strauss wrote:
Scoobert Bauce wrote:detatch nuts from mouth my friend. Its called an opinion. If you doh wanna help thats cool I'm sure youre not the only one

You're probably right. I'm not the only one.

But I am THE ONE in this small part of Latin America.

Good luck, my friend.

yeah Im sure you are

so much emotion and bitterness in your post though...

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » October 7th, 2011, 7:02 am

figured out what I was doing wrong with the eclipse... I didnt know you had to extract it your root of C Drive it works fine. Thanks everybody