Nevermind's 20th Anniversary

Postby shogun » September 27th, 2011, 10:53 pm

When Nevermind exploded into earshot in the autumn of 1991, it was startling: a grenade detonating in your car radio. It sounded like the end of something (the 1980s? hair metal?), or maybe the beginning of something ("alternative rock"? "Generation X"?). Today, the album has become so encrusted with myth, that it's hard to wrap your ears around it, to really hear it. In 2005, the Library of Congress added Nevermind to its roll call of the world's most significant recordings. It's a museum piece, a record that merits a display in the Smithsonian. And, of course, a doorstopper 20th-anniversary box set.

How you choose to mark the occasion will depend on the state of your stock portfolio, and the degree of your wonkiness. The Deluxe Edition augments the remastered LP with fantastic B sides (check "Curmudgeon," featuring the howlingest metal- dude vocal Kurt Cobain ever recorded) and stupefying live performances; plus demos, previously unreleased BBC sessions and eight cruddy-vérité "boombox rehearsals" of Nevermind tracks. Fork out an extra $100-plus for the Super Deluxe Edition and you get all that, plus a version of Nevermind mixed by Butch Vig, before Andy Wallace was brought in for the final mix, a CD and DVD of a mind-blowing 1991concert at Seattle's Paramount Theatre, and a 90-page book.

The extras offer history lessons – and help you hear Nevermind with fresh ears. The live versions of "Breed" and "Drain You" show why Nirvana may be the greatest power trio ever: The heave and thrust of Krist Novoselic's bass, the Bonhamworthy attack of Dave Grohl's drums, the tumult of Cobain's singing, which proved screaming yourself hoarse could be as powerful, and as beautiful, as any vocal style. Compare the boombox demos with the finished LP – where Cobain's songs were burnished to a fiery glow – and you realize it was pop, not punk, that turned Nirvana into the biggest band on Earth. As works of melodic craftsmanship, "Smells Like Teen Spirit," "Lithium" and "Lounge Act" are up there with the best of Buddy Holly, Smokey Robinson and other genius hook masters.

Twenty years on, Nevermind is everywhere: Its loud-quiet-loud dynamics even power hits by Kelly Clarkson, Taylor Swift and Katy Perry. The lasting impact on mainstream bubblegum is ironic, considering its big theme: the ambivalence of an independent band going for the brass ring. Just listen to the dripping disdain of Cobain's most famous refrain: "Here we are now, entertain us."

Cobain claimed to be embarrassed by Nevermind's glossy production: "It's closer to a Mötley Crüe record than it is a punk-rock record," he said. Of course, that's what you expect him to say. His punk purism was a religion, but it was also a shtick, his version of showbiz. Listening to Nevermind now, you marvel at what a good show the band puts on. For a record so full of angst, it's quite a party – an adrenaline rush that sweeps you up. That's not a feeling you can pin to any genre or ideology. That's not punk or grunge or even pop. That's entertainment.

http://www.rollingstone.com/music/album ... y-20110927

Re: Nevermind's 20th Anniversary

Postby pioneer » September 27th, 2011, 10:54 pm

water must of been cold?

Postby Bizzare » September 27th, 2011, 10:57 pm

not sure if 1inch

Postby rollingstock » September 27th, 2011, 11:01 pm

*subscribes*

Postby DFC » September 27th, 2011, 11:01 pm

who is kurt cobain?

Postby S_2NR » September 27th, 2011, 11:27 pm

who??

Postby Trini Hookah » September 27th, 2011, 11:51 pm

Postby BrotherHood » September 28th, 2011, 12:13 am

Eh? :shock:

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 28th, 2011, 8:17 am

smells_like_teen_spirit.mp3 was the first mp3 i ever downloaded..

Postby crazybalhead » September 28th, 2011, 8:20 am

Feeling old. Remember when they first showed the vid on noise bazaar late a saturday night. Yeah beyotches, when we only had two chee tv station.

Postby cinco » September 28th, 2011, 8:21 am

wanna see it now?

Postby wagonrunner » September 28th, 2011, 8:27 am

crazybalhead wrote:Feeling old. Remember when they first showed the vid on noise bazaar late a saturday night. Yeah beyotches, when we only had two chee tv station.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 28th, 2011, 8:55 am

Big big album..big big band.

Postby rfari » September 28th, 2011, 10:21 am

*subscribes*

very very very big chune. reminds me of the good ole days in hillview 0X 0X 0X 0X 0X 0X 0X 0X 0X 0X

Postby AllTrac » September 28th, 2011, 10:23 am

rfari wrote:

*subscribes*

very very very big chune. reminds me of the good ole days in hillview 0X 0X 0X 0X 0X

wah kindda simi dimi rasta you is dred? :lol:

Postby rfari » September 28th, 2011, 10:26 am

:P :P nah much i could do jed. when in rome....

Postby dougla_boy » September 28th, 2011, 10:27 am

rfari wrote:

*subscribes*

very very very big chune. reminds me of the good ole days in hillview 0X 0X 0X 0X 0X 0X 0X 0X 0X

wtf???? u ah rasta in chu bai? ah swear trac was rite....yuh izza chemical dan...... :?

Postby rfari » September 28th, 2011, 10:29 am

doh study alltrac unno. since he cyar get me ban again, he trying to get me arrested :|

Postby dougla_boy » September 28th, 2011, 10:39 am

rfari wrote:doh study alltrac unno. since he cyar get me ban again, he trying to get me arrested :|

ah tink yuh deserve dat rub down and feel balls wit a gun yes.... lolol.....yuh need to change yuh name and put chemical in front it... LOL :lol: :lol:

Postby AllTrac » September 28th, 2011, 10:49 am

boy i tell allyuh rfari is a chemical long time, i done talk to ASP Mohan about rfari being suspect, he is being investigated.

Postby dougla_boy » September 28th, 2011, 10:55 am

AllTrac wrote:boy i tell allyuh rfari is a chemical long time, i done talk to ASP Mohan about rfari being suspect, he is being investigated.

:rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

but rfari one is one, strength and powers.........

Postby Hook » September 28th, 2011, 10:56 am

crazybalhead wrote:Feeling old. Remember when they first showed the vid on noise bazaar late a saturday night. Yeah beyotches, when we only had two chee tv station.

yeah, I remember hearing them and thinking "WAAAAAAAAY!!! DAT REEAAAL CORK BREDSSSS!!!!"...and then I figured they'd play it on the radio a lot anyway, so I bought the "Cowboys From Hell" album from Pantera instead...have never actually purchased a Nirvana CD :|

Postby AllTrac » September 28th, 2011, 11:07 am

i napstered that sheit.

Postby crazybalhead » September 28th, 2011, 11:09 am

Hook wrote:

yeah, I remember hearing them and thinking "WAAAAAAAAY!!! DAT REEAAAL CORK BREDSSSS!!!!"...and then I figured they'd play it on the radio a lot anyway, so I bought the "Cowboys From Hell" album from Pantera instead...have never actually purchased a Nirvana CD :|

I didn't think they would EVER play that on the radio. That and other undeard of artists, like Sarah McLachlan, Enya, and others. That show used to have 90% sheit and a few gems thrown in.

Postby Hook » September 28th, 2011, 11:11 am

AllTrac wrote:i napstered that sheit.

I audiogalaxied that sheit :lol: Lars Ulrich ain't got nuthin' on me

Postby AllTrac » September 28th, 2011, 11:15 am

Hook wrote:

I audiogalaxied that sheit :lol:

woah.... epic flash back, waiting for porn.jpg to load, by the time the jpg reach tits, dialup modem disconnected.

ibanez

Postby ibanez » September 28th, 2011, 11:41 am

[quote="crazybalhead"]Feeling old. Remember when they first showed the vid on noise bazaar late a saturday night. Yeah beyotches, when we only had two chee tv station.[/quote]

used to look at Noise Bazaar and Left of the Dial,

saw bands like Helmet, Ministry, Sheep on Drugs (remember their track Tom takes the toilet to Tinseltown)

there was another program in the day, think it was part of Mor Music, saw bands like At the Drive In, Rem etc.

ibanez

Postby ibanez » September 28th, 2011, 11:42 am

Soundgarden and Alice in Chains were way better than Nirvana.

Postby RBphoto » September 28th, 2011, 11:49 am

Nirvana, RHCP, Smashing pumpkins, Bob Marley..... First four Artiste Casettes I ever bought (Original).... CD was premium back then.

cincuanta

Postby cincuanta » September 28th, 2011, 11:57 am

Hook wrote:

I audiogalaxied that sheit :lol: Lars Ulrich ain't got nuthin' on me

ROFL real men showing they age here boy. I audiogalaxied it also...that and Lars dem sheit..And justice for all.