Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby ryan99tt » September 20th, 2011, 10:34 pm

meccalli, which area dat is?

Postby meccalli » September 20th, 2011, 11:06 pm

That's at the floating dock in chaguaramas, saw the water there once (deeep). Over the years, he's brought home almost all our commercial species, the huge floodlights brings in bait for crazy action at nights.

Smeed

Postby Smeed » September 21st, 2011, 1:43 am

meccalli wrote:That's at the floating dock in chaguaramas, saw the water there once (deeep). Over the years, he's brought home almost all our commercial species, the huge floodlights brings in bait for crazy action at nights.

tuner fishing lime?? saw somethings chasing bait off the wall close to Alcoa last week before i left for work....not sure what it was had a few of them...just saw their fins and sides as they we running down the bait...tarpon maybe??

D.S.S

Postby D.S.S » September 21st, 2011, 7:04 am

Smeed wrote:
meccalli wrote:That's at the floating dock in chaguaramas, saw the water there once (deeep). Over the years, he's brought home almost all our commercial species, the huge floodlights brings in bait for crazy action at nights.

tuner fishing lime?? saw somethings chasing bait off the wall close to Alcoa last week before i left for work....not sure what it was had a few of them...just saw their fins and sides as they we running down the bait...tarpon maybe??

but i dont think its open to the public.

Postby meccalli » September 21st, 2011, 8:35 am

The docks not open to the public but no reason the fish shouldn't be running bait around other structure on that side.

D.S.S

Postby D.S.S » September 21st, 2011, 9:03 am

todd61 wrote:
D.S.S wrote:
ryan99tt wrote:dunno bout livebait des days bro...where u heading out from?

from power boats going to lance power.

I heard bait still hard to get.

All you big game fisher men cah link me with some live bait man.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » September 21st, 2011, 10:45 am

get ah bait net an wen yuh heading out look for some...alll u need is one gd throw an yuh gd fuh d day...

D.S.S

Postby D.S.S » September 21st, 2011, 10:57 am

ryan99tt wrote:get ah bait net an wen yuh heading out look for some...alll u need is one gd throw an yuh gd fuh d day...

dont know how hard it will me but its worth a try.

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » September 21st, 2011, 11:56 am

D.S.S wrote:
ryan99tt wrote:get ah bait net an wen yuh heading out look for some...alll u need is one gd throw an yuh gd fuh d day...

thats what i usually do but recently the bait i've come across have been so small they go right thru the mesh altho they look a decent size when they beatin on the surface

try along the cliffs on the mainland opposite carrera EARLY in d morn like 530-6 theres always action there...

D.S.S

Postby D.S.S » September 21st, 2011, 12:35 pm

reeLpACE wrote:
D.S.S wrote:

thats what i usually do but recently the bait i've come across have been so small they go right thru the mesh altho they look a decent size when they beatin on the surface

try along the cliffs on the mainland opposite carrera EARLY in d morn like 530-6 theres always action there...

will do thanks for the heads up, guess i would have to learn to cast ah net by force.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » September 21st, 2011, 12:48 pm

u shud learn b4 u head out bcuz one bad throw and all d bait gone...

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » September 21st, 2011, 1:08 pm

very true....practice on ur lawn
look at vids as well it takes a while before you are confident enuff to cast, esp from a boat

jramsarran

Postby jramsarran » September 21st, 2011, 4:20 pm

^^...carry meh na... i will throw it fuh yuh!!...

D.S.S

Postby D.S.S » September 21st, 2011, 4:25 pm

jramsarran wrote:^^...carry meh na... i will throw it fuh yuh!!...

no scene orgainse yuh gears

Postby gt4tified » September 23rd, 2011, 1:18 am

anybody know if fishing is allowed off the wall close to by the Hyatt, around where the water taxi docks? A work colleague told me they once saw some guys fishing there, but every time I pass there’s nobody around.

Postby Razkal » September 23rd, 2011, 7:53 am

^there's way better spots to actually fish in peace and probably even take your catch home to eaat without worrying about pollution.

if you happen to be there, just take in the tarpon feeding, cool stuff.

besides, sometimes watching makes future catching easier

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » September 23rd, 2011, 9:37 am

Razkal, never really looked for tarpon there but someone told me there are sum monsters there...

drop ho

Postby drop ho » September 23rd, 2011, 1:53 pm

So who going fishing this weekend?
Met office now issue a Sea bulleting buh we had planned to go ddi tomorrow.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » September 23rd, 2011, 2:16 pm

^^^^^^^^^^^

i goin but ah lil shore fishing trip for some snook and tarpon...PS doh forget d camera, pics are very nice...

Postby meccalli » September 23rd, 2011, 5:59 pm

lol gt i come on just this evening to ask that, but i thought it was prohibited..was thinkign about setting a line and tying it off on one of them steel pipes in the night LOL..but yeah I saw a HUUUGGGEE ray there on the surface and a school of cavali a next time.

Postby gt4tified » September 23rd, 2011, 6:17 pm

Well the thing is, our office recently moved to that area, so I will be spending a lot of time over there.....its not so much about carrying home fish to eat, even catch and release is fine with me, as long as I getting some action.

I would like to do some surf fishing this weekend myself...where are you guys heading and anyone up for the company? I only have women in my immediate family and they not into fishing, and then there's the safety element.

I have a nice new 8ft Abu Garcia saltwater combo (Bruiser - Cardinal series) to christen.

drop ho

Postby drop ho » September 26th, 2011, 10:28 am

Went out saturday for a 4hrs banking.
Forgot phone in the van only took two pics when we came back.
Caught some reds and ancho but mostly grunt....
IMG-20110924-00027.jpg

IMG-20110924-00026.jpg

venomz

Postby venomz » September 26th, 2011, 9:41 pm

nice ...ancho in the water...dats a nice fish to bake...

Saleem786

Postby Saleem786 » September 26th, 2011, 11:54 pm

Hey it's been a looong time since i posted in here.. Any spearfishing guys willing to link up to make a dive and share some spots is no probs at all.. got some pics from Saturday and yesterday..

292027_252260964811067_100000814970996_636099_1921654027_n.jpg

Pic_0001.jpg

IMG00015-20110605-1823.jpg

318600_252260331477797_100000814970996_636096_2017909112_n.jpg

Postby Razkal » September 27th, 2011, 6:48 am

^nice paag there buddy!

what was it? Mutton snapper? or southern red?

moonshine have a kinda "wtf" expression there boy

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » September 27th, 2011, 7:50 am

want to do some fishing in tobago , between 27th december and 2nd january. if anyone else will be up there around that time , pm me we will organise a boat trip.

jramsarran

Postby jramsarran » September 27th, 2011, 10:27 am

@saleem786 nice fish bro...
wah kinda gun u hav?...u hav a reel on it also?
i shot a granticai / tarpon abt 80-100lbs <solid shot> but it jus dive n hooked the spear on a rock and pulled itself off....i was like wdh!! :S
did u shoot the shark also??....an old spear-fisherman said u havta shoot them in d gill!?

Saleem786

Postby Saleem786 » September 27th, 2011, 5:55 pm

Razkal, Its actually a red fish not paag.. will upload a better pic of d fish

jramsarran, i have a modified carbine i use under rocks when things bad and i have a sawed off woody (JBL) that i use normally. Doesnt make sense to me using reels because most of the time visibility is around 2meters or less..
If your going after fish that size hitting it anywhere but in the head will get you into trouble..
Sand sharks you have to hit in the middle of the head (the hard spot) anything else you need 3 or 4 shots and it will still fight you till d end.. The only way sharks really die is when u get them out of the water.. btw yea me and a dive buddy shot it..

jramsarran

Postby jramsarran » September 27th, 2011, 7:32 pm

^^^ ok..kool...
dats d short woody with 3 rubbers??...dat gun look real wicked!
not sure wat i want yet but i'm considering an upgrade from my jbl explorer 24 <modified> in d not too distant future...
<<which works very well btw...just looking for a lil more range>>
thanks for the tip on d Shark..even tho i've never seen any while spearfishing....yet :D

Saleem786

Postby Saleem786 » September 27th, 2011, 7:57 pm

the explorer 24 is a great gun.. ive used it before and was going to buy one but the woody has its advantages (greater distance being the most important factor for me).. all in all the woodies are nice powerful guns and you can always use thicker bands since the triggers can take rel pressure..
check out aphzal mohammed h'ware in el socorro daz where i buy all my stuff rel good prices and d fella there know he stuff..