Towing a car -- i want to ensure i dont get charge

dman

Towing a car -- i want to ensure i dont get charge

Postby dman » September 21st, 2011, 10:33 am

what is the proper way to tow a a car so that i may not get pulled over by the police and charged

also if is an auto matic u just put it in neutral and tow ?

Re: Towing a car -- i want to ensure i dont get charge

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 21st, 2011, 10:42 am

I think the rope being used should be 3 meters or so,I think eh,ensure that your hazard lights on and you have the "ON TOW" sign visible to others,I may be missing other details,others allyuh could add to it.......

Postby toyolink » September 21st, 2011, 11:06 am

I remember reading the rules once and found them so exacting that it was clear that towing legally is near to impoossible.
Mental my brain dumped the infor. and replace it with always get a wrecker.

dman

Postby dman » September 21st, 2011, 11:10 am

any help would be appreciated

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 21st, 2011, 11:11 am

flatbed :|

Postby bluefete » September 21st, 2011, 11:14 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:flatbed :|

Absolutely right.

The laws were changed.

The fine is TT$3,000.00 if the police catch you towing a car with a rope. Of anysize, anywhere, anytime!!!

Flatbed is the way to go though some of those operators will kill you with price.

Postby pete » September 21st, 2011, 11:21 am

When was that law changed?

Postby wagonrunner » September 21st, 2011, 11:35 am

pete wrote:When was that law changed?

i curious mehself.

No motor vehicle shall tow any other vehicle unless the tow rope, chain or draw bar be so adjusted that the distance separating the nearest two points of the two vehicles shall not, except in the case of a pole trailer, exceed five metres, and the tow rope, chain or draw bar is easily distinguishable by other users of the road
He shall not, without the written permission of the Licensing Authority, tow anything except another motor vehicle in case of necessity, or a single registered trailer,