The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby r3iXmann » August 31st, 2011, 7:09 am

mitch wrote:Image

WP7 Metro theme for Android?! the blasphemy!

(lookin sweet though lol)

lifehacker

ilike :|

Postby S_2NR » August 31st, 2011, 11:37 am

mitch wrote:Image

WP7 Metro theme for Android?! the blasphemy!

(lookin sweet though lol)

lifehacker

it does look sweet tho..but i good with mattedblues theme right now :mrgreen:

Postby r3iXmann » August 31st, 2011, 3:49 pm

installed cm7 earlier..was using phoenix ultimate before..found phoenix to be 'prettier' but cm7 is way more functional

also i just realised that you dont need to enter all the settings for the internet apn..i punched in 'internet' with the intention to input the rest of the fields later and then i realised that it worked regardless :|

Postby S_2NR » August 31st, 2011, 4:19 pm

^^u can install themes on cm7 to make it 'pretty' :lol:
http://forum.cyanogenmod.com/topic/17567-list-cm7-theme-chooser-themes/

trinitachi

Postby trinitachi » September 1st, 2011, 3:22 am

im in a dilemma.. i had a sony xperia x10 and we all can agree that sony made some mistakes with that android device, however, i love the design of the phone nonetheless and the timescape feature is pretty good imho. The phones functionality and usefulness grew exponentially wth sony release of dual touch and android updates and i was eventually pleased with phone. Now, i sold my X10 and am now looking at 2 phones, xperia arc which still has a beautiful design and sony has added new features to the phone..(HDMI and so on..)and of course a SGS2 which has all the processing power and features that a top notch android phone (especially with the gorilla glass) has but still looks like a iphone. Price of xperia arc is 3200 and sgs2 is 4400. Price isn't the issue, jusy a hard decision because i have experience with the xperia but none with SGS2. Lemme hear your thoughts..

Postby r3iXmann » September 1st, 2011, 6:08 am

get the samsung..at least you're sure you'll get updates etc

sony is the WORST when it comes to updates..for all platforms..fire for them :fist:

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 1st, 2011, 11:47 am

Sony also announced a slight update to the to Xperia Arc yesterday called the Xperia Arc S with a 1.4GHz processor

trinitachi

Postby trinitachi » September 1st, 2011, 12:17 pm

Reix..tbh i dont depend on sony for updates at all..and u are right..i use custom xda firmware.

achillies

Postby achillies » September 1st, 2011, 12:41 pm

Buy the galaxy S 2 and if you like it, keep it, if you don't, just sell it for a couple hundred less and you would still have enough cash to get your ARC, and this way you would have used both phones so you won't be feeling as if you lose out on something

Experience is the best teacher....

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 1st, 2011, 12:57 pm

Samsung Galaxy Tab 7.7 official: dual-core 1.4GHz CPU, Android 3.2, HSPA+

Here it is, official as official gets: Samsung just announced the Galaxy Tab 7.7. As the name suggests, it has a 7.7-inch (1280 x 800) display -- specifically, a Super AMOLED Plus panel. Like so many other 7-inchers hitting the market, it runs Android 3.2 and yes, that's a skinned flavor of Honeycomb, with Samsung's tablet-optimized TouchWiz UX layered on top. Inside, it runs the same Samsung-made dual-core 1.4GHz processor found in the new Galaxy Note, along with an HSPA+ radio promising theoretical download speeds as high as 21Mbps. Other specs for the 0.74-pound (335-gram) tablet include 16GB to 64GB of internal storage, a microSD card slot, a 5,100mAh battery rated for 10 hours, 802.11n WiFi, GPS, Bluetooth 3.0 and dual 3MP and 2MP cameras. In a nutshell, it's the in-between-sized do-over a lot of folks have been awaiting since the original Galaxy Tab grew stale -- a slate that promises faster speeds and some seriously improved viewing angles.

Engadget

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 1st, 2011, 1:02 pm

Samsung Galaxy Note announced: 5.3-inch display, built-in-stylus, custom 'S Pen' apps

Until a few days ago we'd heard surprisingly little about the Galaxy Note, a handset rumored to be launching alongside the Galaxy Tab 7.7 and Wave 3 at IFA. It's ironic, really, because of all the phones to have kept a low profile, this is a memorable one. Behold, a 5.3-inch handset with a stowaway pen for note-taking, drawing and grabbing screen captures. In other words, a Dell Streak-esque hunk of a device that blurs the lines between phone and tablet. You're looking at a Gingerbread-running HSPA+ handset with a 1280 x 800 Super AMOLED display, dual 8MP and 2MP cameras, a removable 2,500mAh battery and the same Samsung-made dual-core 1.4GHz processor you'll find in the just-announced Galaxy Tab 7.7. For a phone this gargantuan, it's actually quite thin at light, at 9.65mm (0.38 inches) thick and a reasonable 178 grams (6.3 ounces). We had a few minutes to handle the phone in advance of today's press conference, and found it surprisingly easy to grip, even in our small hands. As with the Infuse 4G --whose own 4.5-inch screen once seemed impossibly sprawling -- the thin shape makes it tenable, as does the lightweight, textured plastic lining the back.

Engadget

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 1st, 2011, 1:05 pm

Toshiba announces AT200 tablet, 10.1-inch display and only 7.7mm thick

Looks like the Galaxy Tab 10.1 might finally have some real competition on its hands, with Toshiba announcing the AT200 tablet -- which we've been hearing rumors about for the past few days. It's a 10.1-inch Android tablet that measures in at just 7.7mm thick -- that's nearly a full mm thinner than the Samsung. The 10.1-inch LCD is 1,280 x 800 and is powered by a TI OMAP 4430 processor at 1.2GHz that can be paired by up to 64GB of memory -- augmented by microSD. There's a five megapixel webcam around back, a two megapixel shooter facing forward, and up to eight hours of battery life is promised. What hasn't been promised is a price or a release date, but we're told it'll ship sometime before the end of the year.

Engadget

bess almera

Postby bess almera » September 1st, 2011, 5:51 pm

samsung galaxy note ftw

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 1st, 2011, 8:46 pm

Nielsen confirms Android on top, buyers split on next smartphone

In a recent report from Nielsen, Google snagged 40 percent of the smartphone market, while Apple captured approximately 28 percent -- up just barely .01 percentage point from last year. This report coincides with findings filed earlier this week by ComScore, citing Google with 41.8 percent market share and Apple with 27 percent, up one whole percentage point from last year. Diving a bit deeper, Nielsen found that around 33 percent of people planning to buy a smartphone in the next year want an iPhone, while another 33 percent would prefer an Android. The tie between those who want an Android v. an iOS phone fluctuated when Nielsen asked the "early adopters" within the group what kind of phone they are hoping to cop. 40 percent of "innovators" said they would like a phone on Google's OS, while 32 percent want a bite of the Apple -- leaving a mere 28 percent of self-proclaimed tech junkies desiring something else, like a BlackBerry or Windows Phone. Perhaps these figures are an indication that Google will remain on top for 2012, or will there be an upset? Only time will tell.

Engadget

achillies

Postby achillies » September 2nd, 2011, 11:57 am

Ever since Google announced they’d be purchasing Motorola to protect the future of Android, they’d downplayed Motorola’s hardware business and focused on defending themselves against patent trolls. For this reason, many thought Google would eventually sell off Motorola after integrating their patents into their own portfolio in order to keep relationships with other OEMs healthy.
Well, according to Google’s Eric Schmidt, that’s not true. In fact, they said Motorola’s position as an OEM was a big factor in their decision, citing “amazing hardware” as reasons why they snapped Motorola up. This leads us to believe that they have plans – big or small – in the future regarding a device. But let’s not get ahead of ourselves. Here’s the full quote:
"We did it for more than just patents," Schmidt said in a conversation with Salesforce.com Inc. Chief Executive Officer Marc Benioff. "The Motorola team has some amazing products.”

And now we all start profusely salivating again at the thought of another high-end Motorola Android without MOTOBLUR. Napkins are on the counter

[EMIN∃M]

Postby [EMIN∃M] » September 2nd, 2011, 12:26 pm

Anyone use mobilism market
http://forum.mobilism.org/viewtopic.php ... 77&start=0
dont have an android but this looks useful for the users
and the forum is cool
alot of apps tv shows movies

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 3rd, 2011, 1:09 pm

anybody try Samsung's Pure Breeze launcher yet?

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » September 3rd, 2011, 5:14 pm

Why samsung put out such a jokey looking video though?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 3rd, 2011, 7:10 pm

lol i was thinking d same thing. wasnt sure if the vid was for real or some kinda joke :lol:

Irfy

Postby Irfy » September 6th, 2011, 7:46 am

All the Galaxy S II users, allyuh ever get a echo when allyuh make a call or receive one? People does call and talk but after about 5 minutes they does complain bout a echo. That happening with all or is jus mine?

achillies

Postby achillies » September 6th, 2011, 8:31 am

Irfy wrote:All the Galaxy S II users, allyuh ever get a echo when allyuh make a call or receive one? People does call and talk but after about 5 minutes they does complain bout a echo. That happening with all or is jus mine?

That is a known issue when you are using a case for the phone that covers the secondary mic which is responsible for noise cancelation, some even say it could be a hardware issue.

Check HERE and HERE, a couple threads at XDA discussing the issue

If you are using a case, check the opening for the secondary mic above the phone next to the 3.5mm headphone jack 8-)

Irfy

Postby Irfy » September 6th, 2011, 10:06 am

The case actually doesn't cover the mic but I guess I go take off the case and try it later. If anything I'll try an update. This case I get with d phone so I thought it wouldn't be d case. Oh well, I go see.

Thanks eh, I go try a something and see.

FMA340

Postby FMA340 » September 11th, 2011, 12:32 am

sony is the WORST when it comes to updates..for all platforms..

Nah nah, SE rell improve compared to last year. All they phones comin wit gingerbread now + updates comin along quick.

Bmobile only talking about android this & android that, but they only have a few android handsets. Still waiting to see some HTC and SE 2011 Xperia lineup....

Postby Stephon. » September 11th, 2011, 3:13 pm

I'm putting my money to say, that toshiba tablet may be the best in the market when it's released. Then again I'm a toshiba fanboy, they never let me down as far as laptops are concerned.

Postby S_2NR » September 11th, 2011, 8:04 pm

Stephon. wrote:I'm putting my money to say, that toshiba tablet may be the best in the market when it's released. Then again I'm a toshiba fanboy, they never let me down as far as laptops are concerned.

cool story bro :|

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 12th, 2011, 9:56 am

Android Tablet for US$99

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications ... =A685-0202

specs not all that, but for the price...

Postby crazybalhead » September 12th, 2011, 10:02 am

In your opinions, what are the benefits of a tablet over a laptop and a phone? Which most people have anyway? Especially in the work environment.

Postby cinco » September 12th, 2011, 10:20 am

crazybalhead wrote:In your opinions, what are the benefits of a tablet over a laptop and a phone? Which most people have anyway? Especially in the work environment.

none except look at me i have a tablet

Postby r3iXmann » September 12th, 2011, 10:25 am

crazybalhead wrote:In your opinions, what are the benefits of a tablet over a laptop and a phone? Which most people have anyway? Especially in the work environment.

usually none but i want one for my mom who spends most of her online time reading,emailing,chatting etc

she's also quite active and is always moving around the laptop so im gonna cop her a tablet

hmm@link duane just posted :mrgreen:

Postby Stephon. » September 12th, 2011, 10:51 am

Depends on what you were using your laptop for, then you can replace it with a tablet.