Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby sharkman121 » August 30th, 2011, 5:35 pm

Ok... not really sold on the Two lil fishies pellets though. Been reading there are much better pellets out there.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 30th, 2011, 8:00 pm

raj has the NP....................... depends on how the money running i will buy that one. still need the reactor and pump. B-Ionic using up fast by me. like i need to start to buy by the gallon containers now

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 31st, 2011, 8:48 am

ey sharkman, did you ever scrape the coraline encrusted rock you got from Raj? did you start to see any growing yet?

Postby sharkman121 » August 31st, 2011, 8:29 pm

actually i did, in conjunction with using the b-ionic everyday, but in the past 2 weeks i kinda slow down on using it cuz it almost finish. And with the amount of algae in d tink i still nuh really seein d coralline nah :|

Postby sharkman121 » August 31st, 2011, 8:46 pm

i had some hangups about using the 2 lil fishies reactor to run the bio pellets so i looked it up, didnt look too good.

http://reefcentral.com/forums/showthrea ... pellet+use

link

Postby link » August 31st, 2011, 8:48 pm

http://www.practicalfishkeeping.co.uk/c ... omment2234

it even have a 'robocop' here too ?!?!?!

Postby sharkman121 » August 31st, 2011, 8:51 pm

As far as reviews for bio pellets go, ive realised that they arent all the same at all. The best seem to be these

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00407 ... 2A8QGCF405

If i runnin the pellets i might opt for a reactor like this... it a lil more expensive but

Postby sharkman121 » August 31st, 2011, 9:37 pm

still doing some reading an come across a next flurry of post of reef central users who swear never to use bio pellets again. Seems it does a fair enough jop reducing nitrates but is very poor on controlling phosphates.

http://reefcentral.com/forums/showthrea ... pellet+use

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 31st, 2011, 9:56 pm

sharkman121 wrote:As far as reviews for bio pellets go, ive realised that they arent all the same at all. The best seem to be these

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00407 ... 2A8QGCF405

If i runnin the pellets i might opt for a reactor like this... it a lil more expensive but

GOOD LUCK PAL..................... YUH ON YUH OWN WITH THAT ONE

Postby sharkman121 » August 31st, 2011, 10:15 pm

u read the reef central link with the posts on bio pellet use?

right now i in two minds if to still use it

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 31st, 2011, 10:45 pm

is d reactor i talking bout................. all of them are the same and built on the same principle with no moving parts. how can they say the two lil fisheis brnd not working.
it come like telling someone to go buy a 6" Black & Decker flathead screwdriver to tighten a hoseclip, and they come back with a 6" Craftsman flathead screwdriver.............then you tell them that screwdriver wont work cause it wont tighten it properly and its also the wrong color.
Resun, two lil fishies, pen plax, coralia................. all are the same. or all you know, the same Tiawan co making them

Postby sharkman121 » September 1st, 2011, 12:00 am

i not on the reactor itself so much as if using the pellets make that much difference at all. Alot of ppl system got worse when they started using the pellets.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 1st, 2011, 1:01 pm

sharkman121 wrote:actually i did, in conjunction with using the b-ionic everyday, but in the past 2 weeks i kinda slow down on using it cuz it almost finish. And with the amount of algae in d tink i still nuh really seein d coralline nah :|

cant figure dat one out nah. I dont know what to tell you again. had these same rock outside and purple-up worked wonders. i using B-Ionic every day and seeing it growing. not much on the glass but mainly on the existing pieces of rock. if you watch the pieces that have the coraline on it, the edges of it gets white and grows

Postby sharkman121 » September 1st, 2011, 8:06 pm

think maybe my algae hindering it, or it jus below the algae an i cant see it

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 1st, 2011, 8:21 pm

sharkman121 wrote:think maybe my algae hindering it, or it jus below the algae an i cant see it

dont know what to tell you.
how long do you have your main lights on for

ARES0610

Postby ARES0610 » September 1st, 2011, 8:44 pm

I don't use bio pellets, but i run an ATS. That thing is awesome. I made a quick DIY one.

http://www.3reef.com/forums/refugium/ea ... ost1134953

It will definitely clear up your algae sharkman.
That's my post check it out.

Postby sharkman121 » September 1st, 2011, 8:55 pm

woww nice DIY action there, thanks think ill give it a try.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 1st, 2011, 9:10 pm

nice read

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 1st, 2011, 10:23 pm

sharkman,whats your PH, nitrates, nitrites, DKH etc

Postby sharkman121 » September 1st, 2011, 10:52 pm

everything in check cept nitrates which is way to high...hence my algae issues :|

So wondering...expensive bio pellets or simple yet effective algae turf scrubber.

ARES0610

Postby ARES0610 » September 1st, 2011, 11:05 pm

You can do both I guess. I get the added benefits of cooling and a crazy amount of pods from the scrubber though.

Postby sharkman121 » September 1st, 2011, 11:24 pm

cooling? how does this keep down the temp?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 2nd, 2011, 5:35 am

sharkman121 wrote:everything in check cept nitrates which is way to high...hence my algae issues

how much

ARES0610

Postby ARES0610 » September 2nd, 2011, 6:37 am

This scrubber increases evaporation and so cooling.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 2nd, 2011, 6:00 pm

ey sharkman, you think the phosban and the chemi-pure you still have in the bottles working for you? :roll: :roll:

Postby sharkman121 » September 2nd, 2011, 10:25 pm

HondaB20B wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:everything in check cept nitrates which is way to high...hence my algae issues

how much

10ppm. tested it last night i actuallly thought it woulda be higher than that.

HondaB20B wrote:ey sharkman, you think the phosban and the chemi-pure you still have in the bottles working for you? :roll: :roll:

i looking to hook it up this weekend, i was jus taking care of a annoying leak i have from the overflow.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 3rd, 2011, 12:25 am

10?........................... dat real good for a FOWLR system.
i thought you getting like 40-80ppm..............

Postby sharkman121 » September 3rd, 2011, 12:32 am

trigger an dem does eat alot..

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 3rd, 2011, 7:47 am

sharkman121 wrote:i looking to hook it up this weekend, i was jus taking care of a annoying leak i have from the overflow.

what leak on the overflow....................