commonsense01 wrote:So they using the SOE to take from the poor to give to Ispat. Some of those ppl who have the scrap iron business on the beetham are honest as some might not, but to take the ppl containers of iron and then threaten them if they dont have permission to be there or if they have a license they will not be compensated. But some months ago farmers who was squatting and also given notice to leave but after being evicted were compensated. So why were they not give notice(I dont know if they were i am justing asking) What do see thou is just as the farmers were compensated for doing something illegal so should they without all this strong talk, but then again they from beetham . I just hope ppl realise what is going on, the govt sending a very frightening message
Search on for patrol vessels
Ministry of National Security places ad...
By Joel Julien joel.julien@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Aug 28, 2011 at 9:47 PM ECT
Story Updated: Aug 28, 2011 at 9:47 PM ECT
ALMOST one year after the People's Partnership Government cancelled a contract to purchase three Offshore Patrol Vessels (OPVs) from a British ship-building firm, the search is now on for "patrol vessels of proven design for the Trinidad and Tobago Defence Force (Coast Guard)".
The Committee for the Acquisition of Naval Vessels, chaired by retired commodore Anthony Franklin, has been established to secure the purchase of the patrol vessels sought by the Government.
"The Government of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago is interested in acquiring patrol vessels of proven design for the Trinidad and Tobago Defence Force (Coast Guard)," an advertisement placed in the Sunday Express stated yesterday.
"The patrol vessels are intended for operations in the territorial waters and Exclusive Economic Zone around Trinidad and Tobago and for the regional operations in the Southern Caribbean," the advertisement stated.
"These operations would include search and rescue, law enforcement and humanitarian operations based on Government's directives, agreements and treaties with neighbouring islands."
In April 2007, as part of a government-to-government arrangement, the then People's National Movement (PNM) administration signed a £150 million contract with VT Shipbuilding to build and commission three OPVs.
In October 2009, BAE Systems acquired full control of VT.
The vessels were part of a $5.1 billion expenditure approved by the former PNM government to acquire naval assets which would provide surveillance, protection capabilities, including drug interdiction, anti-smuggling operations and disaster relief functions within the region.
On September 17 last year, Minister of National Security John Sandy said Government served BAE Systems notice that the contract was being cancelled.
Government scrapped the contract for the three OPVs from BAE Systems because of a breach of contract, which included delays and defects in the construction of the vessels, Sandy told the House of Representatives last year.
"The desired vessels should be cost-effective, multi-mission platforms for use in the tropics, with long-range command and control capability and built to a recognised Classification Society standard," the National Security Ministry advertisement stated.
The "Request for Information" is also placed on the National Security Ministry's website.
Those interested are asked to submit their information no later than 4 p.m. on September 16.
stev wrote:wow...was watching the traffic cam at aranguez a few mins ago...saw a car heading west...all of ah sudden a police van jus pop out from d side of d road and drove off behind the car. (soon went out of view) 2 vehicles coming from east after dat...i sure dey get stop 2.
bluespeed wrote:homeboy wrote:Would the OPV's made a difference when we are dealing with the same people who are in control?
As someone posted earlier, the CG boat was down and the person who was repairing it was told to make sure and don't fix that boat? why?
It all comes down to the people who have the power to make a change.
in a nut shell this must be done.....
1....revamp the TTPS
2....Revamp the TTCG
3.....revamp the TTA
4.....dismiss everyone in customs and the port and get new ppl
5.....build 10 sub naval bases with air support around the country
6.....fix the 360 radar system and make it functional(that's why it was purchased)
7.....buy 5 more helicopters 10 fast patrol vessels and 30 more interceptors
and your borders will be fortified.....3 opv's cannot accomplish that!!!! TALK DONE!!!
crossdrilled wrote:But ent the OPV's were defective?
Can one policeman on foot make a difference in sanfernando? Same with securing our borders, the whole program has to be coherent and complementary, else it will be a waste of funds.
dougla_boy wrote:this government's aim was simple....to get rid of everything the previous administration did, and do it for themselves. the gov't is being sued by the company that started making the OPVs of us, but did it make a headline? no it didn't. the simple pushed it to page 6 or 7 and wrote a paragraph on it.
British defense company sues TT over cancelled OPVs
Posted by TrakkerNews on June 29, 2011 in News, Trinidad | Comments Off
Port-of-Spain: Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar has confirmed that UK defence machinery-builders BAE Systems, is legally challenging the state over the cancellation of a billion dollar contract to construct three drug-busting offshore patrol ships. Persad-Bissessar spoke to reporters at the Trinidad Hilton this morning.
In 2007 BAE Systems had been contracted to provide three Offshore Patrol Vessels and ancillary support in a deal worth approximately TT$2 billion.
However shortly after the People’s Partnership Government assumed office, the deal was cancelled, with Minister of National Security Brigadier John Sandy citing that the vessels were defective.
He gave Parliament the assurance that the Government was well within its contractual rights to cancel the deal.
However the Opposition warned that this country would face legal action.
http://www.caribbeantrakker.com/2011/06/british-defense-company-sues-tt-over-cancelled-opvs/
cacasplat3 wrote:dougla_boy wrote:this government's aim was simple....to get rid of everything the previous administration did, and do it for themselves. the gov't is being sued by the company that started making the OPVs of us, but did it make a headline? no it didn't. the simple pushed it to page 6 or 7 and wrote a paragraph on it.
British defense company sues TT over cancelled OPVs
Posted by TrakkerNews on June 29, 2011 in News, Trinidad | Comments Off
Port-of-Spain: Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar has confirmed that UK defence machinery-builders BAE Systems, is legally challenging the state over the cancellation of a billion dollar contract to construct three drug-busting offshore patrol ships. Persad-Bissessar spoke to reporters at the Trinidad Hilton this morning.
In 2007 BAE Systems had been contracted to provide three Offshore Patrol Vessels and ancillary support in a deal worth approximately TT$2 billion.
However shortly after the People’s Partnership Government assumed office, the deal was cancelled, with Minister of National Security Brigadier John Sandy citing that the vessels were defective.
He gave Parliament the assurance that the Government was well within its contractual rights to cancel the deal.
However the Opposition warned that this country would face legal action.
http://www.caribbeantrakker.com/2011/06/british-defense-company-sues-tt-over-cancelled-opvs/
if you look at BAE's history, you would see that they were having problems with their builds: delays, problems, over budget etc.
IMO if you want a well built ship you go to the Australians, Germans or Belgian....i've heard good things about the Norwegians, but can't say for sure.
the decision to go with english built was not thoroughly thought out........
the Minister of Security said something about the Classification Society for the vessels, their safety, and they also had problems........it appears that BAE may have built the ships to a lower Class to lower costs........while it is legal to do this (the owner has to make this decision, in this case the previous adminstration), it may raise the maintenance cost in the long run and safety could be compromised. I do not know what Class BAE built the vessels for, but the big names are American Bureau of Shipping, Bureau Veritas, Det Norske Veritas and Lloyd's Register.....if it was not built to one of these four, i'd personally be concerned.
then again, it could all be political........but his reasons have some merit.
rfari wrote:bluespeed wrote:homeboy wrote:Would the OPV's made a difference when we are dealing with the same people who are in control?
As someone posted earlier, the CG boat was down and the person who was repairing it was told to make sure and don't fix that boat? why?
1....revamp the TTPS
2....Revamp the TTCG
3.....revamp the TTA
6.....fix the 360 radar system and make it functional(that's why it was purchased)
and your borders will be fortified.....3 opv's cannot accomplish that!!!! TALK DONE!!!
3 OPVs better than none. would you agree?
bluespeed wrote:rfari wrote:bluespeed wrote:homeboy wrote:Would the OPV's made a difference when we are dealing with the same people who are in control?
1....revamp the TTPS
2....Revamp the TTCG
3.....revamp the TTA
3 OPVs better than none. would you agree?
no!....
1. those vessels cannot maneuver on our coast line...you need smaller craft for drug interdiction pursuits ....
2. those vessels cannot be fired from the bridge...
3. I don't expect you to understand what i speak of because you are a civilian!!!
bluespeed wrote:1. those vessels cannot maneuver on our coast line...you need smaller craft for drug interdiction pursuits ....
2. those vessels cannot be fired from the bridge...
3. I don't expect you to understand what i speak of because you are a civilian!!!
TRAE wrote:heard it was extended to nov 7