My lappy facking up....Help....

Bacon

My lappy facking up....Help....

Postby Bacon » August 27th, 2011, 1:54 am

Good day tuners...

Since yesterday my laptop playing the arse....

I go be typing and just so I would type a letter and '2./' or something similar to that would come up, but mostly that...Sometimes the screens would minimize, you would hear an alarm beep...then nothing would happen when U type.....This would happen for a minute or two....Then it would start back working for a short while...

No.2n/ e /n.2n/ s2.n/ (therebb.2n/) (there it goes again, prime example right there:? screen just minimized bout 5 times as well)

None of the keys appear to be jammed etc...

WTF causing this sh!t and how D arse do I get it to stop... :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:

It is a 3 year old Dell 1720 BTW...

Thanks....

uncle sam

Re: My lappy facking up....Help....

Postby uncle sam » August 27th, 2011, 1:59 am

if no keys jam.... then try updating/installing/run antivirus .... this happened to me a week ago and no problem now

Postby rollingstock » August 27th, 2011, 2:00 am

Had that same problem with an older dell too, never figured it out, it started getting worst until the beep became a long high pitched tone and then it started shutting down constantly.
I broke the screen in anger, it was an old dell latitude c510 or c610.
You want it for parts or to prop a table with a short leg or something?

Postby 3stagevtec » August 27th, 2011, 2:07 am

Start with a virus scan from a reliable anti virus program.. It is a program specific issue or does it happen no matter what you're doing?

That's an odd one but a keyboard hardware malfunction would be my guess if the software is good..

Bacon

Postby Bacon » August 27th, 2011, 2:17 am

Running a scan with Norton 360 right now Uncle....will see if that picks up anything

And RS That is exactly what I feel like doing now...:?

3stage...Well i mainly just surf, so that is where it starts....But once things start closing off it still happens....was trying to copy some pics from a folder and when I pressed shift to select nothing....So I guess it is affecting everything...:l

Yeah Pios...I just hoping it could make it to boxing day....Or worse case until they release the I5

Bacon

Postby Bacon » August 27th, 2011, 2:38 am

I doubt that is the situation in my case....But I have nothing to lose leaving it in a warm spot when I go to sleep...

Scan still runnin :l

A33_BZ

Postby A33_BZ » August 27th, 2011, 3:38 am

run virus scan..most likely its a software issue..worst case scenario..can be keypad due to it malfunctioning...did some repairs before with similiar issues.....

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » August 27th, 2011, 4:12 am

my 5 yr old dell inspiron was doing that.. "C" wud press spontaneously... or was it "S".. nehow, i always thought was the keyboard starting to give a lil trouble.

and on my new xps twice when chattin on msn and hitting enter to send my msg, dell power meter wud pop up.

now my first prob wit the old lappy, i really believe was the keyboard effin up. cos some of the keys wud press wit some sort of resistance.. prob hit key too hard over time or water damage or sumting..

the prob on my xps i tink was prob some corrupting combinations of diff progs i was using. cos my antivirus up todate. and i running mc afee and micro essentials..
and wen i closed off all progs, and started back doin my ting.. probs disappeared... im not a IT guru.. jus givin my experiences

Postby 3stagevtec » August 27th, 2011, 9:15 am

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XjLF4-XUH_A

Is this it??

Could be you got hacked by someone..

Bacon

Postby Bacon » August 27th, 2011, 12:22 pm

Thanks for the additional suggestions...

Scan picked up nothing...

Forgot to mention this b4....When it is happening and lets say i click 'View my posts' on tuner....It would show that I am downloading a file from tuner (or whatever site I am on) in the current downloads.... I had a page full of those this morning that I was going to post but I could not even get to save the screen shot as it was not easing up...

3stage...Somethinfg like that could be a possibility, but my own is very random....sometimes it would last a min....sometimes 10.

The other thing is that I don't even have to do anything for it to start....I left the PC on while I was doing a full scan last night. It was right next to me on the bed and it woke me up 5 or 6 times beep beep beep beep and sounding as if I am pressing a bad combination of keys :?

Bacon

Postby Bacon » August 27th, 2011, 12:25 pm

Right now the plan is to back up everything tonite in preparation for the worse :/ Might even pick up an external HD if I get one at a good price when I cross the border in a couple hours.

Already break off my F2 in frustration...:?

xaira

Postby xaira » August 27th, 2011, 3:25 pm

sounds like the kbd need to change

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » August 27th, 2011, 3:30 pm

it could be jess the keyboard faarking up...bring down a next one and slap een normel...

http://www.amazon.com/Dell-XPS-M1720-Ke ... 429&sr=8-1

those 1520/1720 was good laptops, they have the same specs as a mac book pro at that point in time.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 27th, 2011, 3:43 pm

prob found!!!.....>>>> is ah DELL....!!!!! lol....

solution....>>>>> get something other than a DELL...

kidding hoss....how about doing a restore back to the a date before it started to happen...if its a software prob.....

rmlmv

Postby rmlmv » August 27th, 2011, 3:52 pm

See if you can detach the keyboard. Do some research on how you will do this.

Then use a USB keyboard, and see if it's happening. Then you'll know if it's the laptop's keyboard.

Bacon

Postby Bacon » August 28th, 2011, 7:03 pm

itisjustgettiworseadworse:(

zcarz

Postby zcarz » August 28th, 2011, 7:12 pm

dell has very good customer service in trinidad.. have you called them?

Postby cinco » August 28th, 2011, 7:13 pm

pee on it

most prob its the mobo goin tho

zcarz

Postby zcarz » August 28th, 2011, 7:14 pm

oh wait.. you're in canada, definitely call dell.. they'll know what's up

Bacon

Postby Bacon » August 28th, 2011, 8:35 pm

warranty.expired.so.no.more.support.for.me.I.tried.......:

now.my.'space'.'n'.'2'.'B'.are.not.wukkin.level.copy.paste.to.type.this.:l...........

they.were.wukkin.after.this.started.But.i.am.getting.to.type.again.last.night.I.could.not......

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » August 28th, 2011, 8:45 pm

Bacon wrote:warranty.expired.so.no.more.support.for.me.I.tried.......:

now.my.'space'.'n'.'2'.'B'.are.not.wukkin.level.copy.paste.to.type.this.:l...........

they.were.wukkin.after.this.started.But.i.am.getting.to.type.again.last.night.I.could.not......

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahahahahahhahahahahahahaha...

Postby K74T » August 28th, 2011, 8:48 pm

Postby Team Loco » August 28th, 2011, 9:00 pm

sounds like a part keyboard issue and part virus. i've changed many keyboards on these lines of dell. majority of them go bad. you can remove the keyboard and spray the internal of the keyboard with electrical contact cleaner spray. its a trick of the trade......

Postby cinco » August 29th, 2011, 10:35 am

Team Loco wrote:sounds like a part keyboard issue and part virus. i've changed many keyboards on these lines of dell. majority of them go bad. you can remove the keyboard and spray the internal of the keyboard with electrical contact cleaner spray. its a trick of the trade......

sticky keys?

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » August 29th, 2011, 11:02 am

RELLOOOAADD

Postby Kenjo » August 29th, 2011, 11:09 am

if the system restore doesnt help it most likely is the keyboard,order one of of amazon and swap it out.this is like a ten minute job once you have the right screwdrivers and that should solve your problem.tonnes of videos on youtube how to remove dell laptop keyboards

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 29th, 2011, 11:42 am

Boot from a linux live CD, see if the random typing still happens.
If yes, then it may be hardware related.
If no, then you may have a virus/malware.

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » August 29th, 2011, 1:48 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Boot from a linux live CD, see if the random typing still happens.
If yes, then it may be hardware related.
If no, then you may have a virus/malware.

I say he shouldn't fix it, he should type like that all the time, he can be 2nr's version of Jodie Foster's "Nell", it's hi-larious yo...

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » August 29th, 2011, 3:22 pm

Try other free malware removal programs such as malwarebytes. AVs won't necessarily pick up everything.
Also boot to the command prompt and see if it reoccurs, or do what VexxDogg said and see if it still happens outside of the OS.

Postby Bizzare » August 29th, 2011, 3:31 pm

The Laptop is probably possessed by demons. PM bluefete.

Else, its most likely a program running in the background. I had this probably too and I guess it was malware, cuz I did a system restore and that solved the problem. Hope you enabled system restore.