Posting anonymous crime tips

Would you post anonymous crime tips to a web page?

Poll ended at August 28th, 2011, 9:29 am

Nope
13%
Maybe
33%
Yup
53%

Total votes: 15

Crix

Posting anonymous crime tips

Postby Crix » August 26th, 2011, 9:29 am

Had a thought this morning -

As much as think that the current state of emergengy in T&T is being executed a bit adhoc, it could be much more effective if we trinbagonians all kick in and assist the police with the information that we have.

We can "Crowd Source" the crime fighting effort to help the respective authorities be more effective during this rare opportunity to round up and catch the nation's criminals.

We can leverage technology in this effort, but using social online services such as YouTube, Twitter, Facebook, Google Maps etc. - These sites lack one key feature that may be very important to contributors - anonymity!

If there were a website built to simply collect anonymous tips about potential thing crime happening etc, whoud you Tuners use it?
Last edited by Crix on August 26th, 2011, 10:07 am, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Posting anonymout crime tips

Postby Bizzare » August 26th, 2011, 9:33 am

There could never be full anonymity on the web. Info can be traced to the IP it was sent from etc. So when you snitch on the white boy next door, better :stalk: (closest gif to hiding)

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 26th, 2011, 9:38 am

if there is indeed a webiste to do this,the men in charge of this have to be real trustworthy,ensure that they are reliable,and actually doing the job for the better of the country......other than that...is what bizzare said.

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » August 26th, 2011, 9:42 am

The AG is putting a hotline in effect from Today, numbers will be made public later.
I think this is a a good idea.
Also, our good 'friend' Ian said Crime Watch TT is working closely with the SOE in passing information to them, he urged his viewers to pass info on last nights programme.

qwerty

Postby qwerty » August 26th, 2011, 9:49 am

Crix wrote:Had a thought this morning -

As much as think that the current state of emergengy in T&T is being executed a bit adhoc, it could be much more effective if we trinbagonians all kick in and assist the police with the information that we have.

If there were a website built to simply collect anonymous tips about potential thing crime happening etc, whoud you Tuners use it?

the intentions are good..,but what makes you think the respective services are unaware or the locations and perpetrators of crime?

Crix

Postby Crix » August 26th, 2011, 10:00 am

qwerty wrote:

the intentions are good..,but what makes you think the respective services are unaware or the locations and perpetrators of crime?

I don't think that they are completely unaware, but I do think that collectively, the people of trinidad and tobago i.e. "the crowd" has more information they do. In that respect we'll be adding to the information that they already have to necessarily providing them with new information on ever issues/area etc.

Cheers.

Postby TRAE » August 26th, 2011, 10:05 am

everything can be traced... question is if trinis would spend time to know

Crix

Postby Crix » August 26th, 2011, 10:06 am

Bizzare wrote:There could never be full anonymity on the web. Info can be traced to the IP it was sent from etc. So when you snitch on the white boy next door, better :stalk: (closest gif to hiding)

While this is true (in the strictist sence), there are ways to make it sufficiently difficult to track down that information ... easily essentially rendering the tracking info useless by the time that you actually figure it out --- but your response does continue to highlight the concern and importance of anonymity in one's contributions regarding sensitive issues such as crime.

Cheers.

Postby Bizzare » August 26th, 2011, 10:14 am

Umm, everything you do on the internet is logged by your ISP eh.

Now Trinidad is corrupt. VERY CORRUPT. You don't know who has access to this info. Might as well be one of the big boys padna. And if you're exposing them, they won't hesitate to take you out.
Even secure data such as your password to Tuner can be intercepted and logged by your ISP. Remember the internet is man-made eh. Of course there's someone out there who has access to EVERYTHING on here. Probably darpa

qwerty

Postby qwerty » August 26th, 2011, 10:20 am

Crix wrote:
qwerty wrote:

I don't think that they are completely unaware, but I do think that collectively, the people of trinidad and tobago i.e. "the crowd" has more information they do. In that respect we'll be adding to the information that they already have to necessarily providing them with new information on ever issues/area etc.

Cheers.

again...great intentions...but how can you prevent a leak with a patch that has a hole?
if you were to arrest crime, then you will be arresting the respective powers that apprehends and contains "criminals".

Crix

Postby Crix » August 26th, 2011, 10:23 am

Bizzare wrote:Umm, everything you do on the internet is logged by your ISP eh.

Now Trinidad is corrupt. VERY CORRUPT. You don't know who has access to this info. Might as well be one of the big boys padna. And if you're exposing them, they won't hesitate to take you out.
Even secure data such as your password to Tuner can be intercepted and logged by your ISP. Remember the internet is man-made eh. Of course there's someone out there who has access to EVERYTHING on here. Probably darpa

@Bizzare, I have been a software engineer for a very long time, I understand the limits of web security technologies (what I don't know for sure is "are users comfortable with the idea", hence this post) ...

There are ways that it can be made sufficiently difficult that are beyond the scope of this post - if it was as simple as you say, why aren't all of the hacker groups in "LulzSec" and "Anonymous" behind bars?

But again this takes away from the point of this post which seem to continue to tend towards a "nope" answer ... which is itself ... interesting.

Cheers.

Crix

Postby Crix » August 26th, 2011, 10:28 am

qwerty wrote:
Crix wrote:
qwerty wrote:

Cheers.

again...great intentions...but how can you prevent a leak with a patch that has a hole?
if you were to arrest crime, then you will be arresting the respective powers that apprehends and contains "criminals".

@qwerty (cool handle btw)

You seem to be suggesting that there IS NO solution to the problem of crime in Trinidad? Care to clarify?

And building on your own analogy - a patch with a smaller hole = smaller/slower leak => Progress!

Cheers.

qwerty

Postby qwerty » August 26th, 2011, 10:44 am

Crix wrote:
qwerty wrote:
Crix wrote:
qwerty wrote:

Cheers.

@qwerty (cool handle btw)

You seem to be suggesting that there IS NO solution to the problem of crime in Trinidad? Care to clarify?

And building on your own analogy - a patch with a smaller hole = smaller/slower leak => Progress!

Cheers.

a smaller hole=smaller leak=progress....good stuff
but wont wanna give the "criminals" torchlight to do their work.
trust me amigo...your guess is as good as mine.

Re: Posting anonymous crime tips

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 26th, 2011, 10:55 am

proxy the request through something like anonymouse.org

Their IP will be listed instead.

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » August 26th, 2011, 1:36 pm

Hotline Numbers were released since yesterday

STATE OF EMERGENCY TOLL FREE HOTLINE NUMBERS (to provide information/intelligence on criminal activity)
800-0699
800-0700

Postby Bizzare » August 26th, 2011, 1:47 pm

Sumana, what have you done?!?!?

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » August 26th, 2011, 1:56 pm

I knew someone who gave the CIA info and they rerouted the info to ttps.

Postby Bizzare » August 26th, 2011, 1:58 pm

Is there any reward for reporting :?
I know at least two Tuners who are involved in drug related activity. I know this without a doubt.
But I'll only snitch for a reward 8-)

Goolie

Postby Goolie » August 26th, 2011, 2:43 pm

Bizzare wrote:Is there any reward for reporting :?
I know at least two Tuners who are involved in drug related activity. I know this without a doubt.
But I'll only snitch for a reward 8-)

:rofl: HAHAHAHAHAHA

Postby Bizzare » August 26th, 2011, 2:49 pm

Anything to quit washing windscreens at westmall's traffic lights.

Goolie

Postby Goolie » August 26th, 2011, 3:17 pm

:lol: i hear ya

Postby S_2NR » August 26th, 2011, 5:55 pm

Bizzare wrote:Anything to quit washing windscreens at westmall's traffic lights.

so is tru thenn... :lol:

ibstephon

Goolie

Postby Goolie » August 26th, 2011, 5:57 pm

Postby AllTrac » August 27th, 2011, 6:27 am

Bizzare enough with the chest burn, dont bring it in every thread.