Air condition question

MonsterPower

Air condition question

Postby MonsterPower » August 23rd, 2011, 5:17 pm

so air condition men .. how do i measure and calculate what size air condition do i need/

what basis do you guys use?

i am in the market for 2 units for 2 rooms a 23 x 19 room as well as a 16 x 17 ft room

any help?

Rallyfignis

Re: Air condition question

Postby Rallyfignis » August 23rd, 2011, 5:26 pm

Well first off I could tellyou that square footage isn't going to help you, try cubic feet.

Postby S_2NR » August 23rd, 2011, 5:49 pm

volume of the room..not an A/C man but thats what they did when they did our house.
Volume of the room multiplied by some heat loss constant if i remember correctly.

sleepertercel

Postby sleepertercel » August 23rd, 2011, 7:41 pm

MonsterPower wrote:so air condition men .. how do i measure and calculate what size air condition do i need/

i am in the market for 2 units for 2 rooms a 23 x 19 room as well as a 16 x 17 ft room

any help?

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=air+conditioner+calculation

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » August 23rd, 2011, 9:22 pm

MonsterPower wrote:so air condition men .. how do i measure and calculate what size air condition do i need/

any help?

I use 12000BTU units to cool rooms up to 14x14... anything larger wud require a 18000BTU unit... also you have to take into consideration the heat load of each room... Weather u wud be using the units for night or day cooling... and so on.... i wud say in your case... if there is a considerable amt of heat load.. a 24000 btu for the 23x19 room and a 18000 btu for the 16x17...

Postby kurpal_v2 » August 23rd, 2011, 9:35 pm

You coulda just ask that I send the technitions to do an estimate yuhno....

IIRC your ceilings are a bit high (average 10ft?) When I come Thursday I give you average

Postby skylinechild » August 23rd, 2011, 10:38 pm

when buying dont watch which brand better....ask about compressor warranty.....some "brands" carry 1 yr on parts and labour - including the compressor.- essentially youre screwed right here

other ppl give 5 yrs warranty on compressor 1 yr on other parts and labour

Postby Ignorant Ignis » August 24th, 2011, 1:40 am

skylinechild wrote:when buying dont watch which brand better....ask about compressor warranty.....some "brands" carry 1 yr on parts and labour - including the compressor.- essentially youre screwed right here

correct .......

cause is there are only about three a/c companies in the world

all the rest are generic ...and it comes down to service and warranty

dont waste your time with fly by night a/c companies .. be sure the company u buy from will still be there in 5 years time

homeboy

Postby homeboy » August 24th, 2011, 3:04 am

Ignorant Ignis wrote:
skylinechild wrote:when buying dont watch which brand better....ask about compressor warranty.....some "brands" carry 1 yr on parts and labour - including the compressor.- essentially youre screwed right here

correct .......

cause is there are only about three a/c companies in the world

all the rest are generic ...and it comes down to service and warranty

dont waste your time with fly by night a/c companies .. be sure the company u buy from will still be there in 5 years time

Exactly........I would recommend buying from someone who is in the biz and does the work themselves...

Reason is if anything were to happen (something broke down) it would be very easy to get the person to fix it rather than going to a "big" company and putting your name on a wait list, this can take weeks to get your ac fix.........

Postby ronsin1 » August 24th, 2011, 5:53 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:You coulda just ask that I send the technitions to do an estimate yuhno....

IIRC your ceilings are a bit high (average 10ft?) When I come Thursday I give you average

seems as the man doh trust yuh :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby skylinechild » August 24th, 2011, 5:36 pm

when i bought my AC unit for my room...i shopped around..lots of men selling 12000BTU units for like $2500 installed...!!! i was like WTF so cheap....when i ask about parts and warranty....1 yr on compressor 90 days on leaks or something so....etc.....:lol: :lol:

went with abel - they came measured my room -TWICE - to be sure :lol: ( i wanted a 12000 but they guy said my room size is too small for that - i would have frozen my nuts off :lol:)

the ac had all the features i wanted - swinging vents easy to clean filter - 5 yrs warranty on compressor 1 yr on other parts and labour....i took a 9000BTU unit.....works perfectly....set it to 25 deg - keeps my room cool.....

also to note when youre buying the A/c unit it comes with a standard length of copper - if it's not long enough you will need copper piping - which is expensive.....then ducting....etc etc

all in all i think i paid like $4500 for my unit- fully installed

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » August 24th, 2011, 5:52 pm

i am swinging towards the katashi brand from abel as i have a shareholder discount with them
the carrier brand my wife had 3 units at her parents home and they had a whole host of problems with them .. all range from condenser to motor to thermostat..

as well as they are a bit noisy ....

my sis has coldlwave(sp) in her room and it is much much quieter than my old room which is a peakes unit ....

an kurpal ... when i blasted ask yuh de night ... yuh shake yuh head an mumble sumtin up till now i doh knwo what u say ... whats the service options i get with coldwave?

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » August 24th, 2011, 7:38 pm

the coldwave unit are sold by servair in marabella and they offer the 12000 btu's installed for around $3500 to $4000... dunno was the latest price... and ussual come with the copper pipe and brackets.. and a lenght of 3x3 trunking... 1 year on parts 3 years on the compressor...

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » August 24th, 2011, 7:52 pm

check abc distributors , their ad on certain days is in d daily papers , prices good but varies with which warranty period u want to pay for

recently bought 2 18,000 btu continental electric split units from them to be installed saturday or sunday & i can give u a review then ...

Banzai1

Postby Banzai1 » August 24th, 2011, 10:57 pm

speedaholic wrote:

any help?

I use 12000BTU units to cool rooms up to 14x14... anything larger wud require a 18000BTU unit... also you have to take into consideration the heat load of each room... Weather u wud be using the units for night or day cooling... and so on.... i wud say in your case... if there is a considerable amt of heat load.. a 24000 btu for the 23x19 room and a 18000 btu for the 16x17...

What he said...IMO the 24000btu for the bigger room is just cutting it close,would work if it's in the basement with no windows. I would go 36000btu. (my opinion)

12000 =1ton
18000= 1.5ton
24000 = 2 ton
36000 = 3 ton
and so on

200sq ft= 12000btu unit will work
300sq ft = 18000btu
400sq ft = 24000btu
500 sq st = 36000btu

SJR Imports

Postby SJR Imports » August 25th, 2011, 8:41 am

We have the Coldwave, LG and Gree units.
Coldwave is very good unit compared to the other brands on the market. They come from the same factory as the LG units and carry a Toshiba Compressor. They are extremely quiet and very cooling efficient and has all the features a person wants. You can check us when your ready for a unit. 1 year warranty on labour and parts and 5 years on compressor.

blackout_29

Postby blackout_29 » August 25th, 2011, 12:57 pm

My living rm n kitchen is in one big area can you tell me what size unit will cold that area which is 40 x 20?

Would you recommend one big unit or two units?

Postby skylinechild » August 25th, 2011, 2:18 pm

SJR Imports wrote:We have the Coldwave, LG and Gree units.
Coldwave is very good unit compared to the other brands on the market. They come from the same factory as the LG units and carry a Toshiba Compressor. They are extremely quiet and very cooling efficient and has all the features a person wants. You can check us when your ready for a unit. 1 year warranty on labour and parts and 5 years on compressor.

important part in red there......all u need to know....

Kukka

Postby Kukka » August 25th, 2011, 3:30 pm

What's your charge for servicing units ever 3-4months I believe?

Team EVO

Postby Team EVO » August 25th, 2011, 4:50 pm

Anyone ever heard of a brand called GALANZ, there is a company in south who sells them, i'm considering getting one mainly because it's BLACK...looking for some local reviews on it, the reviews online seem to generally be good. here is the link

http://www.galanz.com/ProductShow.aspx? ... 211&id=607

Postby S_2NR » August 25th, 2011, 4:54 pm

a black A/C..would not look good on a wall... :|

Team EVO

Postby Team EVO » August 25th, 2011, 5:29 pm

It would on mine...i have black tiles! also i have accent walls which would go good with black...

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » August 25th, 2011, 5:34 pm

Ignorant Ignis wrote:dont waste your time with fly by night a/c companies .. be sure the company u buy from will still be there in 5 years time

X2!!

Postby S_2NR » August 25th, 2011, 5:35 pm

Team EVO wrote:It would on mine...i have black tiles! also i have accent walls which would go good with black...

black tiles yu say dey eno..

to each his own yes :lol: