fighting dengue

Re: fighting dengue

Postby mitsu_chick941 » August 20th, 2011, 8:04 pm

^^^^ :| :| :|

meccalli wrote:Leg hair ftw..many mosquitoes have lost their lives trekking through the mangled forests in search of a ruby red , life giving matter. I find em dead in there all the time lol.

i dunno if that is just genius or gross :? :?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 20th, 2011, 11:32 pm

Bizzare wrote:Steups. Odomos, Off, etc none ah dem thing doz wuk fuh me.......

try spraying some bop or baygon on your body....it works...

Postby redmanjp » August 21st, 2011, 3:38 am

tried the 2nd & 3rd one- isn't the first one some kind ah dinner mint?

real mosquito dis be eatin me alive in Aranguez

today i saw maggots in a bag of food scraps my mom left in the kitchen :shock: :sick:

Postby S_2NR » August 21st, 2011, 4:15 am

meccalli wrote:Leg hair ftw..many mosquitoes have lost their lives trekking through the mangled forests in search of a ruby red , life giving matter. I find em dead in there all the time lol.

de phoq :shock:

eViLwOn

Postby eViLwOn » August 21st, 2011, 8:03 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:

That may be dangerous if you have any open wounds or cracked skin where the spray may enter. Wouldn't advise doing so but try it at your own risk!

Postby mitsu_chick941 » August 21st, 2011, 5:23 pm

redmanjp wrote:

real mosquito dis be eatin me alive in Aranguez

today i saw maggots in a bag of food scraps my mom left in the kitchen :shock: :sick:

wtf, ewwwwwwww

btw which worked for you?

Postby Bizzare » August 21st, 2011, 7:30 pm

redmanjp wrote:

psykomorf

Postby psykomorf » August 24th, 2011, 8:58 pm

some new developments involving biological control:

Malaria might be the most widely recognized mosquito-borne disease, but it's hardly the only one. Dengue fever, transmitted by the Aedes aegypti mosquito, strikes 50 million people annually, and is endemic to over 100 countries. It's not often fatal but it does require medical intervention and, with that many infected individuals, even a low rate of mortality can add up. As with malaria, Dengue control generally focuses on its mosquito vectors, which can be challenging. Now, researchers have developed a way to keep the Dengue virus out of the mosquitoes: infect them with a bacterial parasite that protects its host from competing infections. The bacteria were even shown to be effective in a field test near Cairns, Australia.

Most approaches directed toward controlling the mosquitoes that carry viruses tend to run into problems because they simply kill the mosquitoes. Unless spraying is done continuously, however, mosquitoes will return from nearby areas, and the process creates a strong selective pressure that has driven the evolution of resistance to insecticides. There have been a few ideas about how mosquito control might be done through biological agents, but most of these would kill the mosquitoes too, and are likely to run into the same problems.

A better solution would be something that blocked the replication of the parasites but did nothing to harm the fitness of the mosquitos. And that's precisely what the new research has created.

arstechnica article
Nature Journal article

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 25th, 2011, 4:37 am

which spray y'all find works best...bop...baygon...goldfish?

Postby S_2NR » August 25th, 2011, 7:30 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:

this is the probably the dumbest thing i ever saw on tuner and online for that matter.. :lol:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 25th, 2011, 8:18 am

K74t wrote:Mosquito doh bite brahmin oaaar!

damn right !!!!!

Postby Bizzare » August 25th, 2011, 8:43 am

Kamla izza outcast then?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 25th, 2011, 11:25 am

S_2NR wrote:
*$kїđž!™ wrote:

this is the probably the dumbest thing i ever saw on tuner and online for that matter.. :lol:

try it first and then talk nah dan

Postby S_2NR » August 25th, 2011, 11:33 am

sorry, i prefer to do the stupid thing and my keep my house and yard clean to prevent the breeding of mosquitoes in the first place.. :|

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 25th, 2011, 11:34 am

Bizzare wrote:Kamla izza outcast then?

correct.....

Postby Bizzare » August 25th, 2011, 4:05 pm

How dare you. Mrs. Persad-Bissesar's office commands respect :roll:

Cooper

Postby Cooper » October 2nd, 2011, 10:18 am

Anyone know where I can purchase "mosquito dunks" in the central area?