PM diagnosed with dengue

Re: PM diagnosed with dengue

Postby Bizzare » August 17th, 2011, 11:18 pm

It worked well enough for him to touch ah button though. :lol:
Doh take offense dan. Iz d mods dem job to clean up sh!t once inna while.

Postby Stephon. » August 17th, 2011, 11:20 pm

You beating up over it more than I am though, I didn't even notice the thread was gone until you got excited over it, and still it not affecting me :lol:
You even take the risk to go off topic in this thread. :lol:

Postby Bizzare » August 17th, 2011, 11:26 pm

You know it hurts. After you defend Gaga so much, d man jus swipe d ched clean oui :lol: :lol: :lol:
I can tell you're upset and hidin it. :lol:
Doh beat up dan. Is okay, another Gaga thread shall emerge, unfortunately. :(
Now back on topic plz. I don't intend on hurting your feelings any further

Postby Stephon. » August 17th, 2011, 11:37 pm

Implying that you were hurting my feelings? I'm still waiting on an answer though,
Stephon. wrote:I wonder if the PM know Bizzare exist :lol:

Bizzare wrote:Doesn't matter. I'm not the most patriotic citizen in here am I? :o

Bizzare wrote:Its sad that you'd take a bullet for someone who doesn't even know you :(

Postby rfari » August 17th, 2011, 11:48 pm

Allyuh fairies go ahead. Hope allyuh could handle allyuh stories in the bay without a 2cry and 1beg.

Is it true one of the ministers said that the fight against dengue would be stepped up as the PM is now affected?

Postby Bizzare » August 17th, 2011, 11:49 pm

I'm very concerned about the state of our PM. Any updates....

:wiggle:

Postby Stephon. » August 17th, 2011, 11:50 pm

I just heard something on the TV about the outbreak again, the guy speaking said it's not an outbreak, but we can call it an outbreak if we want to :? :lol:

smart decision there bizzare, u dont want me to drag u :smoke:

Postby Bizzare » August 17th, 2011, 11:53 pm

Hmm, the media always masks the truth. There's been 15,000+ reported cases o dengue, not so?

Hehe, left you looking immature.

Postby Stephon. » August 17th, 2011, 11:57 pm

I highly doubt it's that much, I doubt it's even 1000+ you talking about the reports added up over the past 20 years? Another note On the news they were showing people spraying Central, and people calling for their areas to be sprayed in the west.

not gonna lie i laughed

Postby Stephon. » August 18th, 2011, 12:01 am

Expert: T&T in midst of dengue outbreak
By Joel Julien joel.julien@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Aug 17, 2011 at 11:43 PM ECT

Story Updated: Aug 17, 2011 at 11:43 PM ECT

THIS COUNTRY is in the middle of a dengue outbreak, Dr Rai Ragbir, the chairman of a special purpose State-board involved in the Government's fight against dengue, has said.

Ragbir, chairman of the Community Improvement Services Limited, made the statement yesterday before meeting with Local Government Minister Chandresh Sharma to discuss plans to combat dengue across the country.

"The number of people infected with the dengue virus is enough to constitute an outbreak," he said.

"An endemic means we have it always, and an outbreak by definition means we have more cases. So if you want to use the terminology outbreak then yes we do have an outbreak," Ragbir said.

"And it (dengue) will affect each one of our lives and especially for our children. So we have to clean up our environment first," he said.

Close to 2,000 people have been diagnosed with dengue in the country for the year, Sharma said.

Sharma however shied away from describing the situation as an outbreak.

"There are less than 2,000 infections this year, when we look at the statistics of last year and the year before it seems that we are going to have a lot less than 4,000 (infections). Last year was 4,000, but of course we have a lot more work to do," he said.

Speaking at a press conference on Tuesday, Foreign Affairs and Communications Minister Dr Surujrattan Rambachan also shied away from the "outbreak" classification.

"We have always had dengue in the country, whether you call it an outbreak or it is dengue. The fact is that dengue is something every government should pay particular attention to and we are taking a very proactive approach in terms of dealing with the situation especially with children," Rambachan said.

A press release from the Office of the Prime Minister on Tuesday announcing that Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar had contracted dengue stated that several government agencies had embarked on a programme "to combat the dengue outbreak on several fronts".

Minister Rambachan, in a telephone interview yesterday, said that Persad-Bissessar was "making good progress" at her private residence at Phillipine, San Fernando.

Sharma said all efforts are being made to prevent any other death as a result of dengue.

Two Thursdays ago eight-year-old schoolgirl Asia Archibald died as a result of a fatal strain of dengue fever.

"We are still doing a lot of work and we are concerned about every case that surfaces and the dengue having attacked our Prime Minister has created a higher level of awareness. We are working very, very sharp in terms of minimising any further dengue cases," Sharma said.

"And we are very committed to make sure there are no deaths arising out of the dengue and we feel we will be able to achieve that," he said.

Sharma added, "health facilities are working around the clock to run tests on persons who believe they have contracted dengue".

Sharma called on all citizens to do their part to fight dengue.

"We will be starting minor contracts to give to small business people to clean up the additional waterways as we seek to have an aggressive clean up across the country," he noted.

"We are asking all truck owners, all contractors to make available their trucks for two days and we will clean up the entire country".

I'm glad I got my business fixed before this article was printed, you know after the country reads this tomorrow, everyone will rush to the hospitals, but then again, the country being in Mt hope or POS General won't affect me, but still, from tomorrow I sorry for anyone that now deciding to go get checked for dengue.

Postby Bizzare » August 18th, 2011, 12:05 am

rfari wrote:Is it true one of the ministers said that the fight against dengue would be stepped up as the PM is now affected?

I heard something like that, but not exactly that.
Hehe, lol. That's the best you coulda do though. Couldn't beat up no more

Postby rfari » August 18th, 2011, 12:07 am

I doubt its 15000. Hear 1500. I think. Paracetamol (sp) seems to the silver bullet. Still won't chance it trying to ride it out like I did some years aback.

Postby Bizzare » August 18th, 2011, 12:08 am

Ok, 15,000 is really an outrageous figure. Stupid me, where I get that from. :lol:

Postby pugboy » August 18th, 2011, 7:28 am

they need to keep spraying
they sprayed woodbrook twice early last week and it made a big difference for the week
this week mosquitos come back

Postby turbosingh » August 18th, 2011, 7:31 am

Bizzare wrote:I'm very concerned about the state of our PM. Any updates....

In the papers say she still Dizzy!

:wiggle:

A33_BZ

Postby A33_BZ » August 18th, 2011, 9:38 pm

hope aunty kamla get well.....

on the other note..i got it as well and friggin hate it...on and off back pains and cold sweats..etc...

Postby S_2NR » August 18th, 2011, 9:42 pm

hope she recovers..dengue sounds horrible..
never got dengue though *knock on wood*

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 18th, 2011, 9:53 pm

^^ doh pray to get it nah.you will literally beg to die.

Cid

Postby Cid » August 23rd, 2011, 11:27 am

Postby K74T » September 25th, 2011, 6:36 pm

heard that the PM's grandson has contracted the virus now

Postby S_2NR » September 25th, 2011, 6:42 pm

curfew extending now for sure

Postby K74T » September 25th, 2011, 11:35 pm

DENGUE SCARE HITS PM'S GRANDSON
...warded at Sando General for tests

By Camille Bethel camille.bethel@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Sep 25, 2011 at 9:50 PM ECT
Story Updated: Sep 25, 2011 at 9:50 PM ECT

Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar's grandson is now warded at the Paediatric Ward of the San Fernando General Hospital with dengue-like symptoms.

Acting chief executive officer of the South West Regional Health Authority Dr Anil Gosine yesterday said the hospital was following all protocols associated with dengue fever in the treatment of five-year-old Kristiano Bissessar, who was brought to the hospital around noon yesterday.

"It is suspected dengue at this point in time we can't say it is dengue. so he is warded, he is comfortable and he is being taken care of. We have the paediatrician and the nurses taking care of him and he seems to be in good spirits," he said.

Gosine said the infant will be hydrated with intravenous fluids and they will continue to monitor his progress.

"But as I said at this point in time it is just suspected dengue."

In a texted response from Washington DC, Health Minister Dr Fuad Khan said the need for the citizens to assess their surroundings, keeping it clear of water stagnation is amplified and once again called on the national community to play their part in the fight against dengue.

"Dengue is present in our country and sometimes innocent people may suffer from the poor vigilance of others. I pray that the Prime Minister's grandson recovers as all our children with dengue, and hope that our population realises that dengue spares no one, " he said.

So far two children have died from dengue within the past two months. Eight-year-old Asia Archibald died on August 4, at the Arima Hospital and seven-year-old Sarah Ohid died at the San Fernando General Hospital on September 17 after she contracted dengue haemorrhagic fever.

In a released statement Persad-Bissessar expressed gratitude for the expressions of concern for her grandson and she took the opportunity to remind the nation to continue to be alert to the risk factors associated with dengue, as well as the continued roles of the Ministries of Health and Local Government in their respective National Dengue Mitigation Campaigns. In the week before the SoE was announced Persad-Bissessar was also diagonsed with dengue.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/DENGUE_SCARE_HITS_PM_S_GRANDSON-130539718.html

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 26th, 2011, 12:39 am

oh geez,...not another kid....hope he pulls thru....