zoom rader wrote:phreakazoid wrote:English is a very hard language to understand I see.... I blame it on the education system that has failed some of us. The "axe the tax" fight was to leave exisiting tax laws as is, and not have "no tax at all"..... How ridiculous is that!....steup.
The education system failed ever since they replaced Post primary to UTT and now CAPE. Any Tom,Dick and Harrilal can go UWI now .
vrampersad14 wrote:zoom rader wrote:phreakazoid wrote:English is a very hard language to understand I see.... I blame it on the education system that has failed some of us. The "axe the tax" fight was to leave exisiting tax laws as is, and not have "no tax at all"..... How ridiculous is that!....steup.
The education system failed ever since they replaced Post primary to UTT and now CAPE. Any Tom,Dick and Harrilal can go UWI now .
Allyuh sure zr isn't a bot? Is EVERY ched he posting de same ting. OHGOAR
zoom rader wrote:vrampersad14 wrote:zoom rader wrote:phreakazoid wrote:English is a very hard language to understand I see.... I blame it on the education system that has failed some of us. The "axe the tax" fight was to leave exisiting tax laws as is, and not have "no tax at all"..... How ridiculous is that!....steup.
Allyuh sure zr isn't a bot? Is EVERY ched he posting de same ting. OHGOAR
wat u wanna get me banned again?
BANzai Rastafarai wrote:Wait nah?....is COME BACK d Land Tax come back dey?....h.ahahahahahhahahahahahahahaaaaa
allyuh good we!!....
*dials Manning....yeah.....how yuh mean WHO de hell is this?....yuh bulling?......wah? YUH STILL BULLING SHE?...anyhoo...remember last year whe nwas talking about the Piano yuh did mention that this Govt wud re-introduce you initiatives and rebrand it as thiers?....wait....is rush yuh rushing me off d phone dey?....yuh like yuh Beti's eh?...dey does cut good eh?....ahh boy.....well ye....hello? Hello?.....d forque....
(allyuh buggers thoguht we wudnt recognize it eh?.....WE SAW WHAT YALL DID THERE!!!)....
TRAE wrote:awww mannnnn...
but we all knew this would come back eh...
Aaron 2NR wrote:From my understanding and I'm sure everyone remembered the AXE THE TAX campaign, was to leave the land and building tax and is and STOP the new PROPERTY TAX 2009.
Strauss wrote:Aaron 2NR wrote:From my understanding and I'm sure everyone remembered the AXE THE TAX campaign, was to leave the land and building tax and is and STOP the new PROPERTY TAX 2009.
BANzai Rastafarai wrote:Aaron 2NR wrote:The Government has not sought to enforce the current legislation and has instead indicated that it plans to bring legislation repealing the Act passed in December 2009 and to re-establish the property tax at the old pre-2009 rates.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/THE ... 23748.html
guess some people don't read an entire article before making a conclusion.....
if i remember correctly, your COP and UNC did say in their election FIASCO that they wwould NOT seek to reintroduce the tax in anyform... if meh old Porn watching eyes recalls correctly ...yup....thats what they said..
Strauss wrote:BANzai Rastafarai wrote:Wait nah?....is COME BACK d Land Tax come back dey?....h.ahahahahahhahahahahahahahaaaaa
allyuh good we!!....
*dials Manning....yeah.....how yuh mean WHO de hell is this?....yuh bulling?......wah? YUH STILL BULLING SHE?...anyhoo...remember last year whe nwas talking about the Piano yuh did mention that this Govt wud re-introduce you initiatives and rebrand it as thiers?....wait....is rush yuh rushing me off d phone dey?....yuh like yuh Beti's eh?...dey does cut good eh?....ahh boy.....well ye....hello? Hello?.....d forque....
(allyuh buggers thoguht we wudnt recognize it eh?.....WE SAW WHAT YALL DID THERE!!!)....
SmokeyGTi wrote:BANzai Rastafarai wrote:Aaron 2NR wrote:The Government has not sought to enforce the current legislation and has instead indicated that it plans to bring legislation repealing the Act passed in December 2009 and to re-establish the property tax at the old pre-2009 rates.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/THE ... 23748.html
guess some people don't read an entire article before making a conclusion.....
if i remember correctly, your COP and UNC did say in their election FIASCO that they wwould NOT seek to reintroduce the tax in anyform... if meh old Porn watching eyes recalls correctly ...yup....thats what they said..
nay boi yuh remember wrong...
OUR TAX PLEDGE STAYS
Govt: Old land and building fees to be reinstated
Government is reverting to the old land and building taxes which existed before December 2009.
"There is absolutely no intention, and there never was, of implementing any PNM (People's National Movement) property tax," Leader of Government Business Dr Roodal Moonilal, stressed yesterday.
"That was the campaign pledge (to axe the tax), and that is the pledge we have faithfully kept," he said. "And we guard that pledge with our life," he assured.
Moonilal's assurance came in the wake of the headline in yesterday's Express—"The tax is back".
The "tax" referred to in the headline was the old pre-2009 land and building tax which this Government was committed to reinstating. The headline was widely misinterpreted by the population to mean that this People's Partnership Government was putting back in place the feared and hated property tax which was brought by the PNM administration and passed in December 2009, and which had intended to raise property taxes based on high property values all over the country.
This, in fact, was not what the headline meant or what the minister had stated in his interview with this newspaper.
And yesterday, Moonilal reiterated his statement that Government would rescind this measure. "The legislation which is due to come to Parliament is designed to revert to the old land and building taxes regime which existed prior to December 2009," Moonilal stated, adding: "Government would be repealing the current body of legislation."
He said the parliamentary agenda in this session would include land reform bills, a credit union bill to regulate credit unions and major legislation on beverage containers and recycling. He said there was also outstanding legislation to deal with socially displaced persons.
Moonilal said Government was also looking at legislation for the creation of a roads authority, and forest authority to manage forests and the environment.
Also yesterday, the Ministry of Finance issued a media release stating: "The Minister of Finance wishes to advise that the Government is committed to repealing the Property Tax Act, 2009. As indicated in the last Budget, read on September 8, 2010, a waiver of land and building tax has been instituted. Systems are being put in place to facilitate assessment of buildings for the purposes of granting new mortgages".
It is expected that all this legislation would be debated and passed in Parliament's proposed new location, Tower D , at the Waterfront Complex. Asked about the relocation of Parliament, Moonilal said Government was "on the move" with this task. He said he planned to tour the building with the Speaker of the House and UDeCOTT (Urban Development Corporation of Trinidad and Tobago) officials next Tuesday to energise the process and "add impetus" to the relocation. UDeCOTT is in charge of this job.
While the target date for the relocation of Parliament is September, sources have expressed doubts that Tower D is likely to be ready before November. Sources said the moving of a Parliament was not a simple exercise of moving furniture and people as it involves the outfitting of dining rooms, lounges for diplomats, the relocation of sophisticated engineering and the technical infrastructure associated with the Parliament Channel, and the moving of all the necessary information technology.
Sources said the relocation project was still at the design stage and "not one nail has been pounded as yet".
"The important thing to note is that you are converting an office complex into a Parliament/legislature meeting facility. So the modifications are much more than if you were moving a ministry into the building because the physical requirements between an office and a Parliament are so very different. There are considerable challenges. For example, you are losing all the ceiling height in Tower D that you normally have in the Red House. So there would be no mezzanine in Tower D," the source said. There is a mezzanine in the Red House Chamber, which is used to seat members of the press and Government public relations officials.
No property tax
By SEAN DOUGLAS Thursday, August 11 2011
FINANCE Minister Winston Dookeran yesterday hinted at a fourth year of a deficit Budget, due next month, but also assured Government would not implement the property tax regime of the previous administration.
“We will be going to Parliament to increase our debt ceiling, shortly,” he told host Hans Hanomansingh in a “live” interview on Heritage Radio.
Dookeran also later assured a caller that the Property Tax Act 2009 would be repealed in the new parliamentary session.
Minutes earlier he alluded to deficit-financing of the Budget — that is spending more than Trinidad and Tobago (TT) earns — by saying that he does not want to risk the country’s growth trajectory and so would direct some of TT’s expenditure towards generating growth.
He effused that TT’s economic outlook has turned the corner.
“I will have to ensure that we could put in motion the processes to eliminate the deficit Budget over time, but sometimes you need a Budget deficit to stimulate the economy,” he said. “We went into deficit to create incomes, but what is bad is if you persist with it for many years.”
Dookeran was vigilant about TT’s place in the uncertain world economy. He told listeners he was comforted by the United States (US) Federal Reserve vowing to steady interest rates for the next two years — despite the threat of higher rates due to Standard and Poor’s downgrade of the US — although saying this is an onerous commitment.
Noting the debt woes of Caribbean nations, who are vital to TT’s economy, he promised to help restore stability in the region, through the Caribbean Development Bank. Noting the sudden change in the fortunes of the US from three years of recovery (albeit jobless), he vowed to try to predict developments so as to try to keep TT ahead of the curve.
Noting TT’s “good fiscal situation” against the backdrop of an uncertain world economy, he said, “We are somewhat insulated but not entirely safe.”
Replying to a caller’s query about CEPEP, Dookeran vowed to make it into a productive machine, but added that its role in social protection must remain intact.
“The transformation process is underway to be a productive engine but it will not be overnight.”
Saying 90 cents on the dollar would be paid by private banks to Clico investors to redeem the first five years of sovereign bonds to be issued for investments valued over $75,000, he could not say what sum would be paid for the remaining 15 years.
In reply to a caller, Dookeran vowed to repeal the property tax created by the former PNM administration. Even though it is on the books, he would not enforce it.
Hours earlier Dookeran issued a statement saying the Government is committed to repealing the Property Tax Act 2009.
The statement was a flat denial of a media house’s claim of a comeback for the former PNM regime’s property tax that was vehemently opposed by the People’s Partnership during the 2010 general elections.
“As indicated in the last Budget read September 8, 2010, a waiver of lands and buildings tax has been instituted,” said Dookeran’s statement. “Systems are being put in place to facilitate assessment of buildings for the purposes of granting new mortgages.” However, the statement gave no insight as to whether the new valuations on individual properties would be higher than the current rates.
About $300 million in 2010 revenues has reportedly been foregone by the waiver.
The Government’s Land and Building Tax Act 2011, that repeals the property tax and set out a new way to assess land taxes, was laid in the Lower House on February 18, but lapsed at the June 17 prorogation of Parliament.
Later yesterday, Housing Minister and Government Chief Whip in the House of Representatives Dr Roodal Moonilal, issued a statement entitled, “No Property Tax”.
He said that under no circumstances would the Government renege on its campaign promise to “Axe the Tax”.
“The Minister states that he spoke specifically to the issue of ensuring a legal framework for guaranteeing that the matter of the property tax would no longer be borne by the People of Trinidad and Tobago,” according to the statement. “He further went on to state that the Government will revert to the land and building tax regime pre-December 2009 as promised.” Moonilal said that, as was stated in the Budget 2011, the Government continues with a waiver of land and buildings taxes, and would carry on its work to repeal the Property Tax Act of 2009.
Stephon. wrote:
pioneer wrote:beetham people and ppl livin in HDC free house hadda pay de tax an all?
VexXx Dogg wrote:PP SHEEP wrote:
Mudboy wrote:Nice article there....didn't say anything about the PNM tax. What's all the fuss about?