The Religion Discussion

Re: Your Best Encounter with God - Hawking's a Madman - Pg.

Postby bluefete » July 31st, 2011, 8:34 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ can you bring better evidence than that other than a dailymail.co.uk tabloid story?

dailymail reported today that "Caribbean Airlines" crashed in St Barthelemy - Caribean Airlines does not even fly to St. Barts
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article ... crash.html

you should not blindly believe everything you read
you should also not think something must be true just because you want to believe it is :idea:
Why do you think I was laughing?

Maybe you should forget its the Daily Mail and look at the esteemed professors they are quoting. Or better yet, wait until you read the same thing in the Wall Street Journal (now owned by Rupert Murdoch!) or some such "respectable" newspaper.

"professor of neurobiology at Cambridge University, Simon Laughlin, told the Observer."

"Dutch professor of psychiatry at Utrecht medical centre, Martijn van den Heuvel has said."

Postby MG Man » July 31st, 2011, 8:39 pm

he blindly believes in the bible........u expect better?

Re: Your Best Encounter with God - God was Right!

Postby bluefete » July 31st, 2011, 8:45 pm

It took over 2,000 years for scientists to confirm what God told us 2,000 years ago about water in outer space.

Genesis 1:

6 And God said, Let there be a firmament in the midst of the waters, and let it divide the waters from the waters.

7 And God made the firmament, and divided the waters which were under the firmament from the waters which were above the firmament: and it was so.

8 And God called the firmament Heaven. And the evening and the morning were the second day.

Moist black hole home to largest and farthest water reservoir ever detected in the universe

Mass of water vapour is 140trillion times the size of all the water in the world's oceans combined
The reservoir is 30billion trillion miles away
It takes light 12billion years to reach Earth from there

By Daily Mail Reporter

Last updated at 5:22 PM on 25th July 2011

An artist's impression of a quasar, or feeding black hole, similar to APM 08279+5255, where scientists have found the largest and farthest reservoir of water ever detected in the universe

The largest and farthest reservoir of water ever detected in the universe has been discovered 30billion trillion miles away.

Looking into a quasar - one of the brightest and most violent objects in the cosmos - researchers have found a mass of water vapour that's at least 140trillion times that of all the water in the world's oceans combined, and 100,000 times bigger than the sun.

Because the quasar is so far away, its light has taken 12billion years to reach Earth.

The observations therefore reveal a time when the universe was just 1.6billion years old.

Matt Bradford, a scientist at Nasa's Jet Propulsion Laboratory, said: 'The environment around this quasar is unique in that it's producing this huge mass of water.

'It's another demonstration that water is pervasive throughout the universe, even at the very earliest times.'

A quasar is powered by an enormous black hole that is steadily consuming a surrounding disk of gas and dust; as it eats, the quasar spews out huge amounts of energy.

Two teams of astronomers, each led by scientists at the California Institute of Technology, studied a particular quasar called APM 08279+5255, which harbours a black hole 20billion times more massive than the sun and produces as much energy as a thousand trillion suns.

Since astronomers expected water vapour to be present even in the early universe, the discovery of water is not itself a surprise, according to Mr Bradford.

There's water vapour in the Milky Way, although the total amount is 4,000 times less than in the quasar, as most of our galaxy's water is frozen.

Nevertheless, water vapour is an important trace gas that reveals the nature of the quasar.

In this particular quasar, the water vapour is distributed around the black hole in a gaseous region spanning hundreds of light-years - a light-year is about six trillion miles - and its presence indicates that the gas is unusually warm and dense by astronomical standards.

Although the gas is a chilly -53C (-63F) and is 300trillion times less dense than Earth's atmosphere, it's still five times hotter and ten to 100 times denser than what is typical in galaxies like the Milky Way.

The water vapour is just one of many kinds of gas that surround the quasar, and its presence indicates that the quasar is bathing the gas in both X-rays and infra-red radiation.
'It's another demonstration that water is pervasive throughout the universe, even at the very earliest times'

The interaction between the radiation and water vapour reveals properties of the gas and how the quasar influences it.

For example, analysing the water vapour shows how the radiation heats the rest of the gas.

Furthermore, measurements of the water vapour and of other molecules, such as carbon monoxide, suggest that there is enough gas to feed the black hole until it grows to about six times its size.

Whether this will happen is not clear as some of the gas may end up condensing into stars or may be ejected from the quasar.

Mr Bradford's team started making their observations in 2008, using an instrument called Z-Spec at the Caltech Submillimetre Observatory (CSO), a ten-metre telescope near the summit of Mauna Kea, Hawaii.

Z-Spec is an extremely sensitive spectrograph, requiring temperatures cooled to within 0.06C above absolute zero.

The instrument measures light in a region of the electromagnetic spectrum called the millimetre band, which lies between infra-red and microwave wavelengths.

The researchers' discovery of water was possible only because Z-Spec's spectral coverage is ten times larger than that of previous spectrometers operating at these wavelengths.

The astronomers made follow-up observations with the Combined Array for Research in Millimetre-Wave Astronomy, an array of radio dishes in the Inyo Mountains in southern California.

The research will be published in Astrophysical Journal Letters.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/ ... z1TjXslFkj

Postby bluefete » July 31st, 2011, 8:46 pm

MG Man wrote:he blindly believes in the bible........u expect better?

Little by little ...

Re: Your Best Encounter with God - God was Right! Pg. 238

Postby MG Man » July 31st, 2011, 8:53 pm

what's the firmament

Postby bluefete » July 31st, 2011, 8:58 pm

MG Man wrote:what's the firmament

Genesis 1:

8 And God called the firmament Heaven. And the evening and the morning were the second day.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 31st, 2011, 9:47 pm

bluefete wrote:It took over 2,000 years for scientists to confirm what God told us 2,000 years ago about water in outer space.
God told us about water in the universe 12 billion light years away that doesnt affect us one bit but didnt tell us about radio, TV, cars, internet and phones?

or are you just finding things that kinda sound like something and claiming it's actually the same thing they are talking about? I realise alot of people do this with religious texts from their own religion and also with Nostradamus' predictions.

Postby RBphoto » July 31st, 2011, 10:00 pm

This ched gonna be longer than the bible just now. Anyway, Ramadan Mubarak.

brainchild

Postby brainchild » July 31st, 2011, 10:01 pm

What puzzles me with this story of Creation is that people were out and about walking the earth, recording stuff, having adventures, different religions, tragedies etc. for about 5000 plus years before Christ and then Christianity pops up a few thousand years ago and decides to stake full claim saying they're the real reason everything is as it is. Sounds pretty bold to me!

Postby Chimera » July 31st, 2011, 10:05 pm

brainchild wrote:What puzzles me with this story of Creation is that people were out and about walking the earth, recording stuff, having adventures, different religions, tragedies etc. for about 5000 plus years before Christ and then Christianity pops up a few thousand years ago and decides to stake full claim saying they're the real reason everything is as it is. Sounds pretty bold to me!

If you get 100 idiots to believe a cow is a duck, it's a duck.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 31st, 2011, 10:36 pm

brainchild wrote:What puzzles me with this story of Creation is that people were out and about walking the earth, recording stuff, having adventures, different religions, tragedies etc. for about 5000 plus years before Christ and then Christianity pops up a few thousand years ago and decides to stake full claim saying they're the real reason everything is as it is. Sounds pretty bold to me!
ALL religions did that

it's kinda pointless having a religion where your God wasn't the creator of the universe and everything in it :|

Postby sMASH » August 1st, 2011, 12:12 am

i made a comment on someone's facebook post and got 2393 likes... i was like, yay!!!

and the duck jomp over de mooooonnn.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 1st, 2011, 12:40 am

what was the comment?

Postby Sky » August 1st, 2011, 12:58 am

it's what you get when you see a bess thing on the beach.

bluefete, its land, thats all. There water from the deepest trench to the thinnest atmosphere we have. Christ dude, stop grasping at straws. I've seen some real criminals and delinquents and their faith is stronger than yours.

Postby redmanjp » August 1st, 2011, 1:35 am

wake me when they find the aliens

Postby sMASH » August 1st, 2011, 5:46 am

sMASH wrote:i made a comment on someone's facebook post and got 2393 likes... i was like, yay!!!

and the duck jomp over de mooooonnn.

ahhh i check back and there was 1 like, fb make a mistake, probably checked the views and placed it as the likes. i was feeling bite-up, now discarded :(

Postby sMASH » August 1st, 2011, 5:52 am

is ah hardah one dan a powermint.

Postby sMASH » August 1st, 2011, 5:57 am

bluefete wrote: Combined Array for Research in Millimetre-Wave Astronomy, an array of radio dishes in the Inyo Mountains in southern California.

wait, wait, they used dishes in the mountains to find water..... he he he he

bai, lemme find sumting less idle to do dis month oui,,,

Postby bluefete » August 1st, 2011, 6:04 am

bluefete wrote:It took over 2,000 years for scientists to confirm what God told us 2,000 years ago about water in outer space.
God told us about water in the universe 12 billion light years away that doesnt affect us one bit but didnt tell us about radio, TV, cars, internet and phones [b]"...many shall run to & fro & knowledge shall be increased"! (Daniel 12:4)[/b]?

or are you just finding things that kinda sound like something and claiming it's actually the same thing they are talking about? I realise alot of people do this with religious texts from their own religion and also with Nostradamus' predictions. Image Anything to do with Nostradamus

Postby bluefete » August 1st, 2011, 6:05 am

crossdrilled wrote:This ched gonna be longer than the bible just now. Anyway, Ramadan Mubarak.

Same to you my borther . And to sMASH and all others.

Postby bluefete » August 1st, 2011, 6:08 am

ALL religions did that

it's kinda pointless having a religion where your God wasn't the creator of the universe and everything in it :|

Maybe we should have Comparative Religion as a course in our schools.

Postby bluefete » August 1st, 2011, 6:12 am

Sky wrote:

it's what you get when you see a bess thing on the beach.

bluefete, its land, thats all. There water from the deepest trench to the thinnest atmosphere we have. Christ dude, stop grasping at straws. I've seen some real criminals and delinquents and their faith is stronger than yours.

Thou shalt not take the name of the Lord in vain!!!

The firmament is NOT land. Read on.

Genesis 1:

9 And God said, Let the waters under the heaven be gathered together unto one place, and let the dry land appear: and it was so.

10 And God called the dry land Earth; and the gathering together of the waters called he Seas: and God saw that it was good.

There is no need for me to grasp at straws. Something either fits or it does not.

Postby bluefete » August 1st, 2011, 6:16 am

sMASH wrote:
bluefete wrote: Combined Array for Research in Millimetre-Wave Astronomy, an array of radio dishes in the Inyo Mountains in southern California.

Why is this so implausible?

Don't they use telescopes (like the Chandra) and infrared spectrometry to see "invisible" light?

Postby S_2NR » August 1st, 2011, 6:49 am

*peeks in ched*

*runs away*

Postby DFC » August 1st, 2011, 7:00 am

His Noodleness, The Flying Spaghetti Monster has bigger balls than your God.

d spike

Postby d spike » August 1st, 2011, 8:32 am

Postby sMASH » August 1st, 2011, 9:03 am

bluefete wrote:
sMASH wrote:

Why is this so implausible?

Don't they use telescopes (like the Chandra) and infrared spectrometry to see "invisible" light?

no no no, is not a condemnation, is just a lil pun like joke, like irony or sumting. :lol:
ok, maybe i find it more funny than it is. *deh use dish to find water* fleck, i still laughin. probably is the hunger.
allyuh does take me too serious, i is like the lil breddah u doh take on. like pioneer, but less anti-social.

but i think its really cool to have so much h2o floating around in space. i know there are some places where there is methane. one moon on sum planet, saturn or neptune or uranus, has a frozen methane. this is useful as a fuel source, or building blocks for extraterrestrial life.

in the water cloud, if there is free oxygen, there could be organisms floating in it or on some rock floating in it.

d spike

Postby d spike » August 1st, 2011, 9:04 am

DFC wrote:
bluefete wrote:
DFC wrote:Those people were definately saved by the Flying Spaghetti Monster.
All praise be unto Him.

Created to mock God.

May the FSM touch you with his noodly appendage.
R'amen.

...but seriously, I prefer to deal with this here.
First of all, this
bluefete wrote:Created to mock God.

is nonsense - and, by the way, the perfect fundamentalist response.
The Flying Spaghetti Monster were clearly created to mock the extreme (in other words, fundamentalist's) way of thinking. It makes fun of the way certain groups think... not the object of their thinking...
...but I doubt you would understand - or more to the point, claim publicly to understand. Let me break it down in order for you not to deviate by twisting my words:
Many sit-coms poke fun at situations involving parents. They are not mocking parents generally. They are making fun of PARENTS WHO RESPOND IN A PARTICULAR FASHION. This is done to highlight that behaviour - either for its entertainment value, or to encourage a different way of thinking - but it is the response/behaviour that is the focus.
To further this analogy, and to explain what was meant by being the "perfect fundamentalist response", the fundamentalist's approach to this issue would be: they are making fun of parents. A complete avoidance of the focal point... and thus, any discussion on this topic is also neatly sidelined.

In the same way, the FSM owes its existence to the ire people feel when faced with the illogical and ridiculous responses of pseudo-Christian fanaticism - not out of a need to mock God.

So, to this:
bluefete wrote:Created to mock God.

I say: No... that's your job.

Cheers

Postby Stephon. » August 1st, 2011, 9:05 am

Created by Lady Gaga.

Postby sMASH » August 1st, 2011, 9:42 am

people who get upset over FSM,,, too emo.

plain and simple, it was satire about religion and religious folks that got bigger than expected. so, while they do their thing tongue in cheek we gotta take them with a pinch of salt, and if u don't get what they show u, then ur kinda closed minded.

i would be quite eager to give audience to one of their preachers if they were to mount a soap box in library corner. i have heard the rest already.