Which cars they stealing now?

scotty_buttons

Which cars they stealing now?

Postby scotty_buttons » July 18th, 2011, 11:52 pm

Tuners,

Not sure if there's a post somewhere stating which cars high risk and perhaps other related info like..how long does it take for certain vehicles to be stolen, experiences, advice..etc.

Thought it would be a good idea, so that when other fellow tuners see this, they can take extra precaution.

Personally, I'm wondering about the stock 'anti-theft security' that comes with the 2007 Rav4. Is it safe? in that, I know anyone can break into it, but in terms of stealing it..is it difficult to do? been trying to google info about it and what it really does (immobilizer? cuts gas, etc) , nothing so far..

Thanks.
Last edited by scotty_buttons on July 18th, 2011, 11:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Which cars they stealing now?

Postby Stephon. » July 18th, 2011, 11:56 pm

Anything that's "Made In Japan"
Nothing that's European.

eViLwOn

Postby eViLwOn » July 18th, 2011, 11:56 pm

There's no vehicle with stock security features that dem fellas can't disable.. any vehicle is fair game for those low life...

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » July 18th, 2011, 11:56 pm

pioneer wrote:One's that don't belong to politicians.

besides the obvious

(l)bass

Postby (l)bass » July 18th, 2011, 11:57 pm

or de bandits themselves or certain tv personalities

(l)bass

Postby (l)bass » July 18th, 2011, 11:58 pm

wigamer wrote:

Wey sa... daz like saying politicians, or politicians or maybe politicians... lmao

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » July 18th, 2011, 11:59 pm

eViLwOn wrote:There's no vehicle with stock security features that dem fellas can't disable.. any vehicle is fair game for those low life...

serious? yuh have me worried now :?

cuz i know the key itself have a chip in it..specific for each vehicle..hence why, u can't really carry the keys to cut per se. wouldnt work.

eViLwOn

Postby eViLwOn » July 19th, 2011, 12:00 am

wigamer wrote:

By chance, dat eh include Ian Alleyne or wah?

eViLwOn

Postby eViLwOn » July 19th, 2011, 12:03 am

scotty_buttons wrote:
eViLwOn wrote:There's no vehicle with stock security features that dem fellas can't disable.. any vehicle is fair game for those low life...

cuz i know the key itself have a chip in it..specific for each vehicle..hence why, u can't really carry the keys to cut per se. wouldnt work.

Besides my alarm system which I know some guys could easily disable, I have a gear shifter lock. My padna who is a straightener showed me how dat too could be disengaged. Now I have to look at other forms of security for my vehicle...

(l)bass

Postby (l)bass » July 19th, 2011, 12:04 am

eViLwOn wrote:
wigamer wrote:

By chance, dat eh include Ian Alleyne or wah?

d only category we cud put he in is 'other' yes...

(l)bass

Postby (l)bass » July 19th, 2011, 12:05 am

eViLwOn wrote:
scotty_buttons wrote:

Besides my alarm system which I know some guys could easily disable, I have a gear shifter lock. My padna who is a straightener showed me how dat too could be disengaged. Now I have to look at other forms of security for my vehicle...

put it in a Euro shell and yuh sure it safe :)

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » July 19th, 2011, 12:08 am

eViLwOn wrote:
scotty_buttons wrote:

daz rel sh!t hoss..
seems like some form of GPS is pretty much the safest way

zcarz

Postby zcarz » July 19th, 2011, 12:23 am

^they could get around that too

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 19th, 2011, 12:41 am

car search is the thing now,they're probably your best hope of getting back your vehicle if stolen.

Postby shogun » July 19th, 2011, 12:46 am

What about the remote kill-switches...are they worth it?

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » July 19th, 2011, 12:58 am

zcarz wrote:^they could get around that too

yea, was going to ask that..if they could get around those too :roll:

ah yes..so, what specifically is it about a euro that bandits cant get around anyway? or is it jus because.. 'it's a euro' so they just wouldnt bother stealing it.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 19th, 2011, 1:24 am

the last part be the reason...

jusme

Postby jusme » July 19th, 2011, 2:53 am

Your safest bet is public transportation. When last yuh hear ah bus get teef?

ps: di bus cyan swim :oops:

lostallos101

Postby lostallos101 » July 19th, 2011, 2:54 am

hmmmm maybe how hard it is to steal well some of them due to the whole keyless open without the key thing...unless you have the fob, cah get into my car

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 19th, 2011, 6:06 am

lostallos101 wrote:hmmmm maybe how hard it is to steal well some of them due to the whole keyless open without the key thing...unless you have the fob, cah get into my car

Yeah but cars they can't get into they usually lie in wait and is gunbutt to head when driver jumps in

m6

Postby m6 » July 19th, 2011, 6:08 am

If they can't steal it by itself, they will take it with the driver in it!!!

Postby turbosingh » July 19th, 2011, 6:34 am

Anything that rolls on four wheels with an engine its not safe!

Postby AllTrac » July 19th, 2011, 7:03 am

this GPS tracking and remote shut down seems to be the answer.

eViLwOn

Postby eViLwOn » July 19th, 2011, 7:26 am

m6 wrote:If they can't steal it by itself, they will take it with the driver in it!!!

That's where this security system will be effective.
Saw this system years ago being used by wealthy home owners in South Africa against the scourge of carjackings.
Have a look...

nes123

Postby nes123 » July 19th, 2011, 7:29 am

scotty_buttons wrote:

ah yes..so, what specifically is it about a euro that bandits cant get around anyway? or is it jus because.. 'it's a euro' so they just wouldnt bother stealing it.

If you compare the wiring schematics in a Euro vs a Jap...u would understand how complicated the euros are.... there are wirings for everything and the ignition wiring is tied into almost every component which enables the car to be mobilized...gear shifter,fuel pump, electronic throttle etc..not to mention if the ECU doesn't get a reading for the key code it eh gonna start...

bandits here only know how to hotwire Jap cars because once ya familair with the wiring schematics of a common Jap...more of less all are the same..just that with chipped keys can't be bypassed unless ya have a copy or actually open up an ECU and tweak it...but realistically this will take too long..and most of dem bandits need to have more than 5 cxc passes to know what they doing in there :lol:

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » July 19th, 2011, 7:29 am

beetham, laventille, morvant- go take a look around there, whatever is the most popular car there- thats your answer.

abc02

Postby abc02 » July 19th, 2011, 7:40 am

eViLwOn wrote:
m6 wrote:If they can't steal it by itself, they will take it with the driver in it!!!

That's where this security system will be effective.
Saw this system years ago being used by wealthy home owners in South Africa against the scourge of carjackings.
Have a look...

FYAAAAAZ!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby SUPAstarr » July 19th, 2011, 7:48 am

AllTrac wrote:this GPS tracking and remote shut down seems to be the answer.

To be it seems to be the best idea, not cuz i work in the field but all of us are having success at the moment, last month we put 2 in jail.
However they are startin to look for the devices, if they find it, they simply unjack the power supply or cut an antenna, or walk with the cigarette lighter jammer. So soon auto security will have to evolve again.

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » July 19th, 2011, 7:53 am

watch how these men bmws get sprang

Last edited by iDynamic on July 19th, 2011, 8:02 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby ismithx » July 19th, 2011, 7:54 am

nes123 wrote:
scotty_buttons wrote:

If you compare the wiring schematics in a Euro vs a Jap...u would understand how complicated the euros are.... there are wirings for everything and the ignition wiring is tied into almost every component which enables the car to be mobilized...gear shifter,fuel pump, electronic throttle etc..not to mention if the ECU doesn't get a reading for the key code it eh gonna start...

bandits here only know how to hotwire Jap cars because once ya familair with the wiring schematics of a common Jap...more of less all are the same..just that with chipped keys can't be bypassed unless ya have a copy or actually open up an ECU and tweak it...but realistically this will take too long..and most of dem bandits need to have more than 5 cxc passes to know what they doing in there :lol:

yay! thanks for making my day! good to know that euro cars are safe