BREAKING NEWS: TTASA gets Camden for racing

Re: BREAKING NEWS: TTASA gets Camden for racing

Postby wagonrunner » July 14th, 2011, 8:46 am

sparky wrote:Last night I attended TTASA meeting at ato boldon stadium and Mr ali ,TTASA president said they have in fact acquired camp den on a least through the commissioner of state land for six months and there were strict rules to follow where the least of the property is concern. Also all racers are encourage to participate,provided that they are either an affiliate of TTASA through their personal clubs or directly a member of TTASA.It was also said that they[TTASA] would prefer racers stay in their respective clubs or disciplines and them affiliated to TTASA. I would take this opportunity to encourage all racers who are not yet members of TTUNDRA, to so do so that our next meeting. The date will be posted on facebook.

well exactly, if persons do that, they can have no direct / individual inputs into the running / votings of TTASA.
ex. 200 persons voting against something vs 20-30 who for it, instead of TTUNDRA voting against something and TTASA for it.

zaxxon1

Postby zaxxon1 » July 14th, 2011, 8:49 am

just asking here, is TTUNDRA an affiliate of TTASA at this time or are they being allowed a compensation for this meet?

Postby SR » July 14th, 2011, 8:52 am

ttundra wont have a say in ttasa

they will be just affiliated

allyuh not seeing that

all ttasa needs is to go back to government and say look
all the other "bodies" affiliated with us
give us full control and land and monies

but in reality
all affiliations will not have a say into how ttasa is run or how motorpsorts is governed and finances managed

zaxxon1

Postby zaxxon1 » July 14th, 2011, 8:53 am

sparky wrote:Last night I attended TTASA meeting at ato boldon stadium and Mr ali ,TTASA president said they have in fact acquired camp den on a least through the commissioner of state land for six months and there were strict rules to follow where the least of the property is concern. Also all racers are encourage to participate,provided that they are either an affiliate of TTASA through their personal clubs or directly a member of TTASA.It was also said that they[TTASA] would prefer racers stay in their respective clubs or disciplines and them affiliated to TTASA. I would take this opportunity to encourage all racers who are not yet members of TTUNDRA, to so do so that our next meeting. The date will be posted on facebook.

well exactly, if persons do that, they can have no direct / individual inputs into the running / votings of TTASA.
ex. 200 persons voting against something vs 20-30 who for it, instead of TTUNDRA voting against something and TTASA for it.

so true, Also, as a paid member you will have a vote but as an affiliate group you only have one or maybe two votes so the odds are in their favor as wagon said.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » July 14th, 2011, 9:22 am

*for sale - every race project & all fass cars*

Biggest BS i ever hear in my life, you have to BE affiliated or with some club affiliated with TTASA.

Just like many others in this country, they really don't see any motorsports in the future of this country.

As you can see, bcuz they went thru all that "hard work" to get 6 months you have to be member to be participating in racing. Go Figure.

moti

Postby moti » July 14th, 2011, 10:09 am

A-1 Superior Tech wrote:*for sale - every DRAG race project & all fass cars*
you need not sell your drift or solodex, circuit or rally cars as these all have somewhere to do their stuff (drift just needs sponsors to help pay for a venue but there are venues)
so it's really only drag men that are in dire need for a home

Biggest BS i ever hear in my life, you have to BE affiliated or with some club affiliated with TTASA.
SR is correct they only want that to show they have the support of everyone

Just like many others in this country, they really don't see any motorsports in the future of this country.
TTASA is the only one that i know of.
everyone else has something doing (heck even ASPL now)

As you can see, bcuz they went thru all that "hard work" to get 6 months you have to be member to be participating in racing. Go Figure.
all this hype for six months?
so thats what about 5 actual events?
so men must join with TTASA to race for 5 events?
whats gonna happen after the 6 months are up?

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 14th, 2011, 11:47 am

fail

forget going straight yes, build you cars to compete in solodex, time attack, drift and rally.. TTASA can't be serious.. i will never support this mentality and greedy arrogance

i now know why when i spoke to Ryan (SKF lancer etc) he just laughed and said absolutely NOTHING will come of it, he aint wasting his time and TTASA just out to shaft people again.. he was right.. i done... i usually don't support boycotts etc, but i feel we need to just abandon TTASA and be over with it.. at least by time our kids grow up, the TTASA board will be long gone and maybe, just maybe our kids will be able to appreciate and do what we we able to growing up in the 80's and early 90's..

Lucian-2nr

Postby Lucian-2nr » July 14th, 2011, 11:53 am

SR wrote:ttundra wont have a say in ttasa

allyuh not seeing that

but in reality
all affiliations will not have a say into how ttasa is run or how motorpsorts is governed and finances managed

I thought I was the only one who saw this..... :idea:

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 14th, 2011, 11:55 am

Lucian-2nr wrote:

allyuh not seeing that

but in reality

[/drag-racing-4-ever]

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » July 14th, 2011, 12:25 pm

The Honorable Prime Minister just announced that Camden will be turned into a domestic airport and in the future a possible International Airport.

The Logic as said by her is that countries smaller than us have more airports than us

Whatcha ya gonna do now racers.......forever neglected.

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=374847

gt-foure

Postby gt-foure » July 14th, 2011, 12:41 pm

Bezman wrote:
Lucian-2nr wrote:

allyuh not seeing that

but in reality

[/drag-racing-4-ever]

this is how we end up here in the first place and if ppl stupid enough to buy this BSagain then...R.I.P RACING AND RACERS IN T&T!!

dragaholic

Postby dragaholic » July 14th, 2011, 12:45 pm

SR wrote:

roflmao

allyuh go ahead

ttasa is the pied piper of motor sports
and allyuh gonna jump into it like blind mice

basically you are saying if you are NOT a member of TTASA then you CANNOT take part in motorsports in this country

Boy SR it feeling like camden all over again. Lease for 6 months rush to have drags probably every month and drain the few affilated racers that will fall into their scheme. Then at the end of it ride out with the moolah they will make from the drag hungry spectators.

Then when lease up we in the same khaki pants as before.

I not falling for that crap again.

Postby cinco » July 14th, 2011, 12:59 pm

boycott TTASA?

dragaholic

Postby dragaholic » July 14th, 2011, 1:07 pm

Dem get boycotted long time. Is only a bunch of noobs gonna run to dem like flies to tah tah.

And then they will realize the sheit they getting involved with.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 14th, 2011, 1:09 pm

hopefully a private facility in the next 3-5 years, and till then, solodex/autocross/time-attack/drift/rally in ya rukka-ka-tunk-tunks :lol:

southside crew

Postby southside crew » July 14th, 2011, 1:29 pm

Someone who looked like he knew what is going on Said TTASA is heading in the direction of FEDERATION status.. ( I dont know what it means) but he said they will no longer have single membership...

So for whoever wanna join they asking you to go elsewhere, ( maybe cuz if you get in and you get all your friends to join you can over throw them???)

or they just honestly don't want you to waste your membership fees ..

rcadiz

Postby rcadiz » July 14th, 2011, 4:01 pm

I would usually stay far from these posts out of respect for ongoing negotiations but i feel it prudent and i also feel it is my responsibility to make all motorsport stakeholders aware of some scenarios. Take the time to read, respond if you like, ask questions if you like, but kindly refrain from 'nit picking' and trying to put words in my mouth.

1. Discussions toward a motorsport federation are currently ongoing between TTASA, and MATT (which is the umbrella body that comprises TTRC, TTKA, ASA, CARS, TORMATT, TTMF).

2. Negotiations are heavily weighted to discussing the Federation setup - At this time we are really trying to reach to an amicable agreement which will result in a Federation type body with representatives of all 'competitive motorsport associations' be in charge. This arrangement will be equal and fair and be in line with the Ministry's mandate to have a single NSO at the end of the day. My personal opinion is that there can only be true progress when all stakeholders have a vote in a democratic manner. That is to say, the competitors and members vote their executives in the various organizations, then the various organizations are represented at top level who then vote in the head of the NSO for motorsport. It will then lead to true representation at top level for all stakeholders.

3. Competitive Organizations vs Non-competitive Organizations MOTORSPORT vs MOBILITY - There needs to be clear understanding that not all groups who currently exist under the auspices of a motorsport organization can honestly call themselves a 'competitive' motorsport organization. It is common knowledge that Rallying and Karting are bonafide competitive disciplines with a host of FIA rules and guidelines (TTRC / TTKA). Then you have other competitive organizations such as CARS (dexterity) Auto-Sport (Circuit, Drags, and most recently Time Attack of sorts), TORMATT (Motorcross - slightly out of context for 'auto-racing' but in a small country they can be included for representation purposes). My opinion again for consideration is that you need to look at all the DISCIPLINES first and foremost - to elaborate:
- Drags
- Circuit
- Rally
- Karting
- Dexterity (Time Attack can be included here)
- Drifting (fast becoming an internationally renowned discipline)
- Motorcross
Notice i have not called TTASA - this was not to purposely omit them, however as i have stated before the name TTASA needs to be reserved for the NSO/ASN. It needs to ultimately become the federation as in point 2 above. Because TTASA used to host events in the past does not it make it the right way going forward - no body is blaming anybody for past in-efficiencies, but progress involves change and change is sometimes warranted. TTASA has been instructed by FIA (Hilton 2009 meeting and again in Barbados 2011) to not be an organizer/promoter of events. A governing body needs to govern - NOT organize. TTASA no matter who is in charge needs to be an administrator looking on. If you have the governing body organizing then they who is governing them? The racing NEEDS TO BE SEPARATE from the administration. It is as simple as when you have competitors who have to fill the roll of organizers or on the protest committee on race day - it just does not work and will ultimately lead to a lot of disagreement and fighting.
There are however a number of 'non-competitive' organizations who need to understand that regardless of your affiliation status (MATT / TTASA / OTHER), you are not a competitive body and your purpose is different (not regarded as anything less or inferior). You play a valuable roll in promotion of motorsport, however your core focus is simply NOT as a competitive administrator. And as such please do not feel offended when your names are not included as part of a core motorsport body discussion. It is no sense putting organizations with different objectives on the same governing body. Additionally the non-competitive side of motorsport is called the 'mobility' side which is a completely separate division of the FIA. They include car clubs, RV clubs, road side safety, border patrols etc. For more info please see http://www.fia.com/en-GB/the-fia/govern ... ure_1.aspx

There seems to be a mad rush for who is affiliated to who etc. Folks this sounds like the old schoolyard lingo 'my crew bigger dan your crew and is lix for allyuh' or 'like yuh eh know how big my squad is awah'. This is just silly. Ask yourself a few questions:
- Are your activities competitive or social in nature (shiny rims and best ICE is competition but NOT 'motorsport competition')
- Do you have a championship series?
- Do you have to administer safety rules, scrutineering checks on your competitors etc?
- Do you host racing or are your members simply a group of racers who have come together for a louder voice (similar to a player's association)?
- Does anything that your organization does require an FIA Competition License? (not what your members may do while participating in events hosted by other clubs)

If the answers to these questions is 'NO', then its not a problem, you simply fit into a different classification of motorsport - its called 'Mobility'. Actually the FIA recognized group for 'Mobility' in Trinidad and Tobago is called TTAA (Trinidad and Tobago Automobile Association) see http://www.fia.com/fr-FR/the-fia/member ... obago.aspx

4. Promotional Companies vs Motorsport Organizations - Guys very simply, motorsport requires money and funding. Many people can stand to profit from motorsport, but instead of asking how much are they making, worry about how much they are investing and delivering on the charge. If you are happy with your car, do you call the car company a thief? if you just ate the most mouth watering meal, do you call the restaurant a thief? Have these people pocketed from you unfairly? Then if a promotional company can do a better job at hosting the event while the motorsport organization remains in charge of rules, regulations, and sporting code, then so be it. How much do we all want to see motorsport done on a huge scale with nice pits, driver's names in lights, big stands, good parking, limited traffic, etc...if you want these things then get your head out from under a rock and understand that these things take money and to generate money it requires a business type approach and sometimes the experience of others who do this for a living. I would love to see what a professional promotions company can do with a drag, circuit, karting, or rally event. Don't be foolish and think you are being robbed when in fact you saw racing at its finest in clean and professional surroundings. And the law of business will dictate that the 'crappy and suspect' promoters who are just taking your money will not last long. The companies who deliver a fantastic event will ultimately take over.

Folks i have made personal commitments to stay away from the banter talk as i am very much an official and part of ongoing negotiations, however those of you who do engage in heavy 'ole talk' take the time and get to know the facts before you encourage the mob-like mentality and assist in halting progress.

At the end of the day the Ministry of Sport plays a big roll in government funding and land allocation, and all of us as motorsport stakeholders cannot continue to act like immature school children when we have the largest sporting industry in the world waiting on our participation.

If you need more info or clarification on the REAL ISSUES, and not who plelted who with a chair, and who is in this for money blah blah blah then call me, email me, pm me. Stop talking out of turn and get the facts.

Robert Cadiz
VP - TTRC

Postby K74T » July 14th, 2011, 4:15 pm

MATT ftw

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 14th, 2011, 4:19 pm

^ well said Robby.....

Postby wagonrunner » July 14th, 2011, 4:32 pm

That is to say, the competitors and members vote their executives in the various organizations, then the various organizations are represented at top level who then vote in the head of the NSO for motorsport.
There are however a number of 'non-competitive' organizations who need to understand that regardless of your affiliation status (MATT / TTASA / OTHER), you are not a competitive body and your purpose is different (not regarded as anything less or inferior). You play a valuable roll in promotion of motorsport, however your core focus is simply NOT as a competitive administrator. And as such please do not feel offended when your names are not included as part of a core motorsport body discussion.

how do these bodies fit in with your 1st quote?
There seems to be a mad rush for who is affiliated to who etc. Folks this sounds like the old schoolyard lingo 'my crew bigger dan your crew and is lix for allyuh' or 'like yuh eh know how big my squad is awah'. This is just silly. Ask yourself a few questions:
- Are your activities competitive or social in nature (shiny rims and best ICE is competition but NOT 'motorsport competition')
- Do you have a championship series?
- Do you have to administer safety rules, scrutineering checks on your competitors etc?
- Do you host racing or are your members simply a group of racers who have come together for a louder voice (similar to a player's association)?
- Does anything that your organization does require an FIA Competition License? (not what your members may do while participating in events hosted by other clubs)

and as you mention CARS being one such body, and then list these points.............. the only thing thing CARS has not undertaken is the last one. so with three out of far, where would the be as far as your quotes?

now all i did was copy and paste, and ask questions

rcadiz

Postby rcadiz » July 14th, 2011, 4:47 pm

Wagonrunner,

I hope i understand you correctly in my answers.
Firstly there is room for all organizations both competitive and 'recreational / social'. Competitive clubs are pretty easy to define. In the sake of CARS which you referred to - although non-traditional (i.e. not karting, rally, circuit, etc), 'Dex' as its more commonly referred to meets a lot of the criteria for a competitive organization. They Club puts on a seasonal points championship, has competitive safety in place, etc, and can operate largely independently, i.e. members race in CARS events. There is however a whole other side of potential participation that CARS can play in regards to driving schools, providing safe testing grounds for street cars on closed tracks around cones etc, which by the book should fall under the mobility side according to FIA.

So CARS actually does more than just compete - i assume it would be up to CARS execs to decide how much more motoring platforms they would like to explore for their members.

Very loosely - having an FIA license is not required for standard club events, only when there is international meets with competitors coming from other FIA countries. So for the most part, not all racing requires an FIA license. However all Clubs that have competitive racing should have racing licenses for their members as part of safety and other standards..

Hopefully i have answered your questions

Postby SR » July 14th, 2011, 5:24 pm

thanks for painting the bigger picture for all to see

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 14th, 2011, 5:39 pm

thanks for clearing up allot of stuff Robbie, quite simple our problem lies here:

TTASA has been instructed by FIA (Hilton 2009 meeting and again in Barbados 2011) to not be an organizer/promoter of events. A governing body needs to govern - NOT organize. TTASA no matter who is in charge needs to be an administrator looking on. If you have the governing body organizing then they who is governing them? The racing NEEDS TO BE SEPARATE from the administration. It is as simple as when you have competitors who have to fill the roll of organizers or on the protest committee on race day - it just does not work and will ultimately lead to a lot of disagreement and fighting.

from page one, from a quote from sixthspeed magazine (tt)

M_2NR wrote:
Shango_13 wrote:Anil have elections coming up. so doh get foot agail. Vote Prakash

dont know how accurate either is but... according to this
sixthspeed wrote:It’s orn like Kong again people, OFFICIAL word is that documents have been signed sealed and delivered giving TTASA sole permission to use the Camden airstrip for racing again. Nine months in the making; hard behind the scenes work has lead to the ministries signing paper; with no help of the current minister of sport of course, clearing the way for drags and circuit to resume in Camden down Couva.

With an indefinite time frame until a facility is built – meaning they could have 7 day a week/ 24 a day drag racing until whenever; the current management led by Muhammed Ali is on the ball right now preparing the event calender for the rest of the year so as not to clash with other disciplines who may have championships going on. As it stands all of the upcoming events; day and night, will be hosted and put on by TTASA ONLY rather than individual promoters since permission is given to TTASA exclusively.

So kids this one looks like THE ONE and by all accounts it is REAL and legit. Plus after passing by the den jes now it seems like you can REALLY pull orf the covers from dem projects cause in a few it will be tyre smoke and C16 again.

Yay!

BTW this is from the Horses mouths (as in plural confirmation) eh!

EDIT: link made it most clear.

Honestly whoever gets the permission doesn't bother me. I'm most happy that there was work done for a new (Temporary?) home of drags again. KUDOS!

rcadiz

Postby rcadiz » July 14th, 2011, 5:58 pm

Interestingly enough anyone can draw reference to Sheldon's most recent run at Indy, which is an NHRA (FIA) certified track. Indy is actually home to the NHRA US Nationals. All the talk earlier this year concerning FCB etc was to do with Sheldon not racing under FIA. Here we see him not only competing but outright winning on a NHRA track.

The irony comes where the ASN for the US which is ACCUS doesn't adopt the same view as the Camden issue. We are all are aware that Camden is simply a stretch of pitch and possibly wouldn't even be considered to be used as an FIA carpark, much less a track. My point is it should not be for anyone to decide who uses Camden based on affiliations or memberships, it should be who can put events on according to a proven track record of safety, professionalism etc. I am sure IHRA is not a member of NHRA, yet IHRA is allowed to use NHRA's most prestigious facility among other locations around the country.

A lot of the racers need to NOT jump on bandwagons without asking 'is this the right thing to do?'. Yes everyone wants to race but to what end? Let's get things right before we just start accepting everything that is handed down. Saying that you have to join the affiliates to race is simply adding to our problem with the NSO situation. Drag racers have gotten a small pittance (relative to what this country is capable of) and i see almost 10,000 hits on this post, yet when we are trying to get the administration correct a fraction of those 10k actually want to take the time to read and understand what is really going on and what is truly at stake.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » July 14th, 2011, 8:44 pm

for real yes, forget straight, time for rally, drift and dex, at least they does have fun events!

gt-foure

Postby gt-foure » July 14th, 2011, 10:48 pm

rcadiz wrote:Interestingly enough anyone can draw reference to Sheldon's most recent run at Indy, which is an NHRA (FIA) certified track. Indy is actually home to the NHRA US Nationals. All the talk earlier this year concerning FCB etc was to do with Sheldon not racing under FIA. Here we see him not only competing but outright winning on a NHRA track.

The irony comes where the ASN for the US which is ACCUS doesn't adopt the same view as the Camden issue. We are all are aware that [color=#000080][size=200]Camden is simply a stretch of pitch and possibly wouldn't even be considered to be used as an FIA carpark, much less a track.[/color][/size] My point is it should not be for anyone to decide who uses Camden based on affiliations or memberships, it should be who can put events on according to a proven track record of safety, professionalism etc. I am sure IHRA is not a member of NHRA, yet IHRA is allowed to use NHRA's most prestigious facility among other locations around the country.

A lot of the racers need to NOT jump on bandwagons without asking 'is this the right thing to do?'. Yes everyone wants to race but to what end? Let's get things right before we just start accepting everything that is handed down. Saying that you have to join the affiliates to race is simply adding to our problem with the NSO situation. Drag racers have gotten a small pittance (relative to what this country is capable of) and i see almost 10,000 hits on this post, yet when we are trying to get the administration correct a fraction of those 10k actually want to take the time to read and understand what is really going on and what is truly at stake.

i think this has to be the best post in this thread...these are some very valid points that us racers need to consider, ttasa only has camden for a 6mth lease and from past experience they going to ride us to the finish line like seabiscuit and bleed us dry of our hard earned money,in the end us racers/fans will be left licking our wounds wondering WHO GO BUILD AH TRACK.. AN WHERE GO RACE NOW...this time is mansions them ttasa boys will building and then they will say they ent make any money d treasury empty.. :evilbat:

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » July 15th, 2011, 1:46 am

Summary please, I have ADHD... I can't focus to read all that stuff :-(

Mit_Dynasty

Postby Mit_Dynasty » July 15th, 2011, 7:18 am

Are we ever going to get a new track, cause this thing i swear going on for like forever?

gt-foure

Postby gt-foure » July 15th, 2011, 7:55 am

[quote="Mit_Dynasty"]Are we ever going to get a new track, cause this thing i swear going on for like forever?[/quote]

x2....ttasa is like a corrupt government who oppress d ppl and yet they dis win every elections and continue to stay in power,ttasa had 40yrs to do somthing for racers in this country and they failed miserably. however there are private tracks being built slowly but surely we[racers/fans] need to support them in anyways possible if we want to secure a better future in motorsports for t&t...if we continue to accept sub-standard,unsafe,unorganised,6mth quik fix and blatent theifing then who's to blame...we done wait so long we might as well wait a lil more and be better off than supporting these crooks[or should i say d local NSO]

Mit_Dynasty

Postby Mit_Dynasty » July 15th, 2011, 8:33 am

gt-foure wrote:
Mit_Dynasty wrote:Are we ever going to get a new track, cause this thing i swear going on for like forever?

however there are private tracks being built slowly but surely we[racers/fans] need to support them in anyways possible if we want to secure a better future in motorsports for t&t...

One question I am left to ask is will these private tracks have proper facililites or will they just be a private piece of land with a strip?