Choice in paint brands

Nighttroll

Choice in paint brands

Postby Nighttroll » July 12th, 2011, 3:38 pm

Give your thoughts on the different water based available paint brands-berger,sissons,penta,trinity, keildoscope and others like sherwin williams and benjamin moore.
Which ones would not fade after a few years so that you can do touch up. This is for painting external walls of a house. and price.

minipresident

Re: Choice in paint brands

Postby minipresident » July 12th, 2011, 4:15 pm

Benjamin Moore has been great for us. Used it on or exterior walls and its been going strong for the last 7/8 years. it was very expensive as compared to the locals but it definitely stretched further.

We moved away from the local brands because of the lack of colour choices and the need to repaint too often.

A friend of mine who is a painting contractor says its like the local paint companies realise that the majority of trinis paint over each year for Christmas anyway, so why bother to make quality paints to last for years...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 12th, 2011, 5:26 pm

had really good experience so far with Glidden from Penta

Postby S_2NR » July 12th, 2011, 5:38 pm

benjamin moore

Postby X_Factor » July 12th, 2011, 5:39 pm

not only the brand, but the type of paint
matte
egg shell
satin/silk sheen

if ur walls have ANY imperfections stick with the matte
the others will show up the slightest crap on ur wall

rossi

Postby rossi » July 12th, 2011, 6:22 pm

Berger and Penta.
Got some nice colours mixed last year from Berger and it came out great.

Postby brams112 » July 12th, 2011, 6:48 pm

people buy cheap paint and want to get value,this topic got beatout like a ole hoe in villa, plenty times,as i said before buy paint according to application not price,these days people changing colours every so often as they can afford it,i know of people buying benjamin and regret it,people buy trinity interior for outside and cuss when the paint dont last,we painted our house eigtheen years and re painted last year so no more painting for us for another 18,with penta

cornfused

Postby cornfused » July 12th, 2011, 11:01 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:had really good experience so far with Glidden from Penta

i recommend latex for outside and glidden is a latex based paint , sherwin is good as well

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 12th, 2011, 11:43 pm

brams112 wrote:people buy cheap paint and want to get value,this topic got beatout like a ole hoe in villa, plenty times,as i said before buy paint according to application not price,these days people changing colours every so often as they can afford it,i know of people buying benjamin and regret it,people buy trinity interior for outside and cuss when the paint dont last,we painted our house eigtheen years and re painted last year so no more painting for us for another 18,with penta
18 years yuh say yuh know dan! 18 years!
yuh paint the house with chinese lacquer orrr?

Postby De Dragon » July 12th, 2011, 11:45 pm

Benjamin Moore, excellent results with their eggshell and matte finishes.

Postby Bizzare » July 12th, 2011, 11:46 pm

He didn't mention the state after 8 yrs or so..... :|

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 12th, 2011, 11:54 pm

this last set of berger I bought where they mix the colour, went on very well and left the wall with a very smooth finish and seemed to have a kinda coating thingy (kinda like the latex thingy described above)...

homeboy

Postby homeboy » July 13th, 2011, 12:02 am

Bought Berger last week, 18 gallons mixed at Gopaul lands outlet Marabella........I did ask a lot of painters what brand to use and it came down to Berger.

Nighttroll

Postby Nighttroll » July 13th, 2011, 7:50 am

thelem wrote:cant beat a foreign paint. U could literally wipe sheit off the walls with a sheet of bounty paper and it wont smudge or smear.

Butttt.......

Local paints have stepped up and are now mixing their own paints to foreign standards. And they all cost around the same price. (recently experienced this)

What brand you talking about there?

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » July 13th, 2011, 4:59 pm

Benjamin Moore and Sherwin Williams are the best.

Racegod

Postby Racegod » July 13th, 2011, 5:08 pm

brams112 wrote:people buy cheap paint and want to get value,this topic got beatout like a ole hoe in villa, plenty times,as i said before buy paint according to application not price,these days people changing colours every so often as they can afford it,i know of people buying benjamin and regret it,people buy trinity interior for outside and cuss when the paint dont last,we painted our house eigtheen years and re painted last year so no more painting for us for another 18,with penta
18 years yuh say yuh know dan! 18 years!
yuh paint the house with chinese lacquer orrr?

mediahouse

Postby mediahouse » July 13th, 2011, 5:59 pm

no kaleido scope fans here?

rossi

Postby rossi » July 13th, 2011, 8:14 pm

mediahouse wrote:no kaleido scope fans here?

We talking about painting house...not doghouse. :lol:

SiR8081

Postby SiR8081 » July 13th, 2011, 8:43 pm

kaleidoscope is the best. custom mixed colours, best quality locally available and good price making it an all round great choice to paint your home. I use nothing else on my home.

why you crying down the paint so for rossi?

Yorkshirelass
CARS Member

Postby Yorkshirelass » July 13th, 2011, 8:48 pm

As a decorator, I recommend Sherwin Williams. Of course the more matte you go, the harder to clean. I always like to use an eggshell finish for inside. They have a great outdoor range, which in my experience, doesn't fade. As a comparison to Benjamin Moore, you get much better coverage with Sherwin Williams. Benjamin Moore is thick like mud!
If you want to use a local paint to support the local market, then I would choose Berger.
Wouldn't touch Kaledescope with a barge pole - just like water.

Postby S_2NR » July 13th, 2011, 8:49 pm

SiR8081 wrote:kaleidoscope is the best. custom mixed colours, best quality locally available and good price making it an all round great choice to paint your home. I use nothing else on my home.

rossi

Postby rossi » July 13th, 2011, 8:51 pm

SiR8081 wrote:kaleidoscope is the best. custom mixed colours, best quality locally available and good price making it an all round great choice to paint your home. I use nothing else on my home.

I'm not crying it down....I was kicksin.
I use Berger and Penta. I have used Kaleidoscope in the past and it started to peel and some places were raised up like bubbles.
The finish isn't anything to talk about either....

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 13th, 2011, 9:18 pm

that economy kaliedescope like fkn water.......

Postby brams112 » July 13th, 2011, 9:25 pm

yeah bio duane weathersheild,not interior,penta,sounds strange eh rain have to fall like storm to wet our wall on the exterior,long eaves,,,,is the trick

Postby X_Factor » July 23rd, 2011, 1:22 pm

Sherwin Williams has a 40% sale till tmr for those who needs paint

SiR8081

Postby SiR8081 » July 23rd, 2011, 1:57 pm

Yorkshirelass wrote:As a decorator, I recommend Sherwin Williams. Of course the more matte you go, the harder to clean. I always like to use an eggshell finish for inside. They have a great outdoor range, which in my experience, doesn't fade. As a comparison to Benjamin Moore, you get much better coverage with Sherwin Williams. Benjamin Moore is thick like mud!
If you want to use a local paint to support the local market, then I would choose Berger.
Wouldn't touch Kaledescope with a barge pole - just like water.

~Vēġó~ wrote:that economy kaliedescope like fkn water.......

Apparently this was a complaint many people had, but has long since been remedied. I am sure if you purchase a gallon or two, you will see the difference. :)

S_2NR wrote:

I do not understand what this is supposed to mean

rossi wrote:

I'm not crying it down....I was kicksin.
I use Berger and Penta. I have used Kaleidoscope in the past and it started to peel and some places were raised up like bubbles.
The finish isn't anything to talk about either....

No problem man, but maybe there is some other reason for the peeling and bubbling than the paint. It usually has to do with the preparation work not being done properly. Did you do the painting yourself or did you hire someone? If you do indeed run into problems, you should call the company and let them have someone come view the problem(s) and make a diagnosis as to what is at fault.

Postby supercharged turbo » April 23rd, 2013, 9:13 pm

Anyone know the average price for a gallon of Sherwin Williams mixed paint?

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 23rd, 2013, 9:24 pm

Like the glidden as well

sweeks

Postby sweeks » April 24th, 2013, 4:24 am

Glidden and Penta .... Have used both .... No regrets.

However recently Ramlaghan increased their Glidden prices from $250 to $385 per gallon .... I don't understand why such a big jump.

Postby ronsin1 » April 24th, 2013, 5:13 am

We use Gliddens and Sherwin Williams and have been satisfied with the application and wear and tear of both paints.

Have used many Locally paint Brands over the years and have not been able to stand up to the quality above