BREAKING NEWS: TTASA gets Camden for racing

Re: BREAKING NEWS: TTASA gets Camden for racing

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 5th, 2011, 4:29 pm

^ said reason as stated in this thread.....trini's like freeness and ppl are too cheap to pay to use a facility....i remember in wallerfield and camden, people use to complain to pay $50 to watch an event...people were cheap to pay $100 to race....the "real" racers would pay the money without complaining but the avg joe on the streets would say they not paying to race and would use to streets for free...noone is willing to put out money knowing it would take a long time to break even or make a profit.....the attitude of people need to change

nitromethane

Postby nitromethane » July 5th, 2011, 4:33 pm

isnt their a private company building a track in chickland somewhere?

GA15DE-T

Postby GA15DE-T » July 5th, 2011, 4:48 pm

Past the Torch onwards to the younger generation n lets stop the misunderstanding

Gentlemen Start Your Engines!!!!!!!!!!!!

LEts get ready for Camden

Idle_Torque

Postby Idle_Torque » July 5th, 2011, 5:02 pm

SR wrote:given history in the past
before you guys go all skittles on this news

please review the history of ttasa and drag racing on this forum

highly recomend taking this news with a pinch of salt

also

how many of you are willing to PAY to run on a track as well as PAY to spectate..................

I really hope all those that complaining about race track issue come out and show there full support.... :fist:

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » July 5th, 2011, 5:51 pm

Join Inshans Racing Facility Project Group here http://www.facebook.com/#!/home.php?sk= ... p_activity

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » July 5th, 2011, 6:16 pm

link wrote:you, Rawle Mahabir, & Ramesh Bhola, sat in a lawyer's office years ago & told TTASA
QTE " CIRCUIT RACING CYAR MAKE MONEY...WE (autosport) GO TAKE DRAGS..ALLYUH TAKE CIRCUIT" UQTE[/b]

Years ago, I described Link in many non-complimentary ways that I will not repeat here, and he has not changed for the better to date. The burden of repeating a lie rests on him, and no mater how many times he repeats it, it is still a lie, and still rests solely on his conscience, if he can ever find one.

I maintain that if he takes any of the facts I have stated and try to respond, those who are in the know will not recognize any of his responses.

Right on, fool the people, fool the people, fool the people!

nitromethane

Postby nitromethane » July 5th, 2011, 6:32 pm

circuit cant make money??? hmmmmm?? thats a real uneducated comment, lol!!

trinidad is full of some selfish, self minded leaders......losers i mean !!

Postby tr1ad » July 5th, 2011, 8:06 pm

at the time the comment was made... what was the state of circuit racing?

Garrett Inside

Postby Garrett Inside » July 5th, 2011, 8:19 pm

waiting patiently.....on any organizer.

will just have to settle for other smaller varied events for now

Garrett Inside

Postby Garrett Inside » July 5th, 2011, 8:36 pm

professor wrote:"Professor, you are respected, make the sacrifice, get involved". Quote from AutoSport.

Rawle, I have been there, done that, I used to take my holidays to work in building up Waller Field, the trench for the wall was dug by the company I was with at the time, you know how much post hole I dig in Waller Field, I even told my wife to sprinkle my ashes in Waller Field, I get plenty curse from the same racers in Camden, everybody wabt to come in free, when they had the Grenadians here, the whole of Point showing a Grenadian Passport, men ask me if I feel I white, because I told them they have to pay, all kind of crap, you want more sacrifice than that !! My wife still telling people she was horned for over 12yrs by a woman called Motor Racing, and the woman keep coming back, 'old firestick does still ketch'.
I want to be like the modern racers, belong to nothing, have loyalty to no one, just tell me if I could race, when, and how much. The only thing I can't do is boast how much money my car cost and post a timeslip on TriniTuner.
I never made money in Motor Sport, only hard work and tears, but enjoyed it to the MAX. Never had so much haters in the sport then though, just some big bore 1300 Escorts. You know how I hate to hear some little ass, using Daddy's money, ask, 'you know who I is, I could buy and sell you'
At 65, I can't handle that crap, you and Ali could take that.

Sincerely, Yours in Motor Sport

Clive Sugden (Professor).

note red writing,
this is a new generation.

oh and prof, u is really 65. and you does handle the car so well. kudos

cmohammed

DRAGS- CAMDEN

Postby cmohammed » July 6th, 2011, 12:14 am

hats off to ttasa president Mr. Ali for getting use of Camden his new name is
" THE SILVER FOX"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I WONDER WHAT IS HIS NEXT MOVE? lets wait and see, the new management is warming up the racing scene, i guess the old board oil run out

cmohammed

SHUT UP OR SHOW UP

Postby cmohammed » July 6th, 2011, 12:27 am

WITH "THE SLIVER FOX" TTASA PRESIDENT MR.ALI GETTING CAMDEN FOR DRAGS ALL YOU OUT THERE SHUT UP OR SHOW UP, I COMING TO WIN OUT EVERYTHING GET READY !!!!!!

Gx7

Re: SHUT UP OR SHOW UP

Postby Gx7 » July 6th, 2011, 12:30 am

hmmmmmmmmmmmm.............. skool's out ...........

devrat

Postby devrat » July 6th, 2011, 12:30 am

Ok.....

cmohammed

CAMDEN

Postby cmohammed » July 6th, 2011, 12:33 am

THE SILVER FOX, TTASA PRESIDENT MR. ALI MAKE AH SERIOUS MOVE ON GETTING CAMDEN TO USE AH WONDER WHAT HE UP TO NEXT, HE LOOKING LIKE HE SHOW WE AH COUPLE TRICKS

devrat

Re: CAMDEN

Postby devrat » July 6th, 2011, 12:35 am

Ok.......

zer0xp

Postby zer0xp » July 6th, 2011, 12:35 am

cmohammed wrote:WITH "THE SLIVER FOX" TTASA PRESIDENT MR.ALI GETTING CAMDEN FOR DRAGS ALL YOU OUT THERE SHUT UP OR SHOW UP, I COMING TO WIN OUT EVERYTHING GET READY !!!!!!

the SR20 is strong with this one

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » July 6th, 2011, 12:45 am

I guess one ah dem TTASA board members, BORED!

cmohammed

Postby zoom rader » July 6th, 2011, 3:40 am

nitromethane wrote:circuit cant make money??? hmmmmm?? thats a real uneducated comment, lol!!

trinidad is full of some selfish, self minded leaders......losers i mean !!

why should motorsport in T&T be about making money? I would not like to see my tax dollars spent on a group of ppl to make money. Goverment has to stop funding the greedy bussinesmen of TTASA. What is there to show for the goverment funds spent on TTASA?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 6th, 2011, 10:09 am

^ motorsport is multibillion dollar industry all over the world - NASCAR, F1
all privately run but endorsed and supported by governments who invest in it through sport tourisrm etc.

legoRB

Postby legoRB » July 6th, 2011, 11:54 am

zer0xp wrote:
cmohammed wrote:WITH "THE SLIVER FOX" TTASA PRESIDENT MR.ALI GETTING CAMDEN FOR DRAGS ALL YOU OUT THERE SHUT UP OR SHOW UP, I COMING TO WIN OUT EVERYTHING GET READY !!!!!!

the SR20 is strong with this one

Postby zoom rader » July 6th, 2011, 2:43 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ motorsport is multibillion dollar industry all over the world - NASCAR, F1
all privately run but endorsed and supported by governments who invest in it through sport tourisrm etc.

Agreed, but can we trust the local people that run TTASA. After nearly 35 plus years of TTASA with public funding and some private what have they to show for it? TTASA should not be allowed to stage events.

Tile Expression Ltd.

Postby Tile Expression Ltd. » July 6th, 2011, 8:18 pm

wayyss dred..this topic started off as GREAT news..now it seems like its pointless..

because so far we havn't heard anything official from TTASA or the gov't concerning this matter...
How soon will the track be ready for events?
what needs to be done before starting events?
what is required by racers?

none of these questions has been answered officially..come on TTASA..hold a meeting and say something..TTUNDRA also needs to comment on the situation and get into contact with TTASA so we can know whats going on..i honestly think TTUNDRA will be more for the racers since its mainly made up of racers..

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 6th, 2011, 10:18 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ motorsport is multibillion dollar industry all over the world - NASCAR, F1

Agreed, but can we trust the local people that run TTASA. After nearly 35 plus years of TTASA with public funding and some private what have they to show for it? TTASA should not be allowed to stage events.
In other countries the ASN does not have events. Race tracks are privately owned (few are gov't owned) and they are commissioned/rented/leased to the promoters (NASCAR, F1, NHRA, IHRA, DTM, JGTC, BTCC etc) to have their events.

The promoters make their money, the race track makes its money and the ASN sanctions the event, drivers, cars and provides the regulations and accreditation for competition, marshalling, safety etc.

FIA is a non-profit organisation, I am not too sure though if it is a requirement of the ASN to also be non-profit - I do know that ASN's have annual fees and bills to pay to FIA.

you can read more here
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fédération_Internationale_de_l'Automobile
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_FI ... anisations

with regards to TTASA having events: I believe the terms of the lease for Camden is that ONLY TTASA can organise events there, which would put them in a bit of a quandary since the ASN should not be having events, only sanctioning promoter's events, however if TTASA were to allow promoters to use Camden and something were to go wrong during a promoter's event at Camden, while it may be out of the control of TTASA, they would be held ultimately responsible by the Commissioner of State Lands who may revoke the lease.

On another note, if TTASA were to allow other promoters to stage events at Camden, where would the profits go? To TTASA? To the Gov't? to the Promoter?
Or should TTASA be paid a sanctioning fee, the gov't paid a lease fee for use of the property and the promoter gets the balance as his profit?

Tile Expression Ltd.

Postby Tile Expression Ltd. » July 6th, 2011, 10:28 pm

although its on gov't lands..if TTASA were to lease the property from the gov't and they can sub let it to promotors such as TTUNDRA who will obviously pay TTASA for rental of the lands for the event and they the promotors will keep the profits from their event.

i think this is the easiest way and avoids any sort of conflict..in this way gov't gets funds, TTASA get funds, TTUNDRA get funds and the racing public is happy with the events..

If TTASA were to hold thei own event they will get the profits also..but they must be open to the option of letting other known promoters use the facility...once all guidelines in terms of use of the facility is followed everything can be ok..

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 6th, 2011, 10:50 pm

I don't think they are allowed to sub-let Camden according to the lease agreement.
I also do not think TTASA is paying a lease fee for Camden, I believe it may be leased to them as the NSO of motorsport at no charge. These are just my thoughts though.
We will have to wait on an official release from TTASA on this and many other points that are being speculated on.

link

Postby link » July 6th, 2011, 11:59 pm

since the ASN should not be having events, only sanctioning promoter's events,

nothing prevents the ASN from having it's own events....it's as simple as assigning an organiser to do the job.
The perceived 'conflict of interest' that FIA cautions about is when promoters attempt to become the authority as well. What obviously happens is that decisions are made which consider the bottom line (money) and the interest of motor sports is left in the cold.

Our classic local example of this 'conflict of interest' has been pointed out by myself with Autosport Promotions Ltd & TTASA. ASPL was the promoter of motor sports at the time, but in that prevailing climate, circuit racing was a struggling sport and, consequently, a money-loser. At an official meeting in San Fernando with a lawyer as mediator, Rawle mahabir & Ramesh Bhola stated categorically that "circuit racing cyar make money..". They then attempted to 'offload' a money-losing sporting discipline, but hold on to the cash cow (Drag racing). ....instead of instituting a sensible program to rebuild & improve matters. They sought to fill their own pockets.
Of course, TTASA, being a responsible ASN/NSO, took charge of circuit racing then....& nobody screamed 'the ASN should not be having events..' then.

however if TTASA were to allow promoters to use Camden and something were to go wrong during a promoter's event at Camden, while it may be out of the control of TTASA, [b]they would be held ultimately responsible by the Commissioner of State Lands who may revoke the lease.[/b]

History & the last debacle of the last Camden access AND YOU TUNERS OWN STATEMENTS ON THIS FORUM are testimony to this.
rgds

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 7th, 2011, 12:13 am

link wrote:Our classic local example of this 'conflict of interest' has been pointed out by myself with Autosport Promotions Ltd & TTASA. ASPL was the promoter of motor sports at the time, but in that prevailing climate, circuit racing was a struggling sport and, consequently, a money-loser. At an official meeting in San Fernando with a lawyer as mediator, Rawle mahabir & Ramesh Bhola stated categorically that "circuit racing cyar make money..". They then attempted to 'offload' a money-losing sporting discipline, but hold on to the cash cow (Drag racing). ....instead of instituting a sensible program to rebuild & improve matters. They sought to fill their own pockets.
Of course, TTASA, being a responsible ASN/NSO, took charge of circuit racing then....& nobody screamed 'the ASN should not be having events..' then.
I think the "asn should not be having events" point arose locally only after the FIA convention at the Hilton where this was stated by the FIA/NACAM delegates.

in all fairness though Link, TTASA is an association, AutoSport Promotions Ltd is company. It should always be the goal of a company to be as profitable as possible!

Link, didn't TTASA also put more effort in recent years into staging drag racing events at Camden and Wallerfield because of the fact that drag racing made more money at the gates than circuit in T&T did?

From my very limited knowledge on that matter with the lawyer, ASPL decided to have drags alone from a profit standpoint. TTASA was the NSO and ASN then too and I am sure there were other promotions companies who would want to stage circuit events that TTASA could sanction. Or am I missing something?

any word on when we can expect a release from TTASA or the Ministry regarding Camden? Also what would be the deal with regards to gate proceeds if an "organiser" wanted to have an event at Camden?

link

Postby link » July 7th, 2011, 8:02 am

ASPL was the promoter of motor sports at the time

but only wanted the profit-making part of motor sport promotion....hence the haste to 'offload' circuit racing. There was no consideration for 'promotion & development' of motor sport....ONLY THE BOTTOM LINE - MAKING MONEY.

what yr 'missing' was that nobody wanted to invest in 'development' of motor sport...only come in & take advantage of a 'going concern'.
ASPL even complained about paying $1500 to TTASA per event as sanction fees, even boldly saying we were wasting the money trying to put it into circuit.
Even when the Northside track became unavailable & ASPL was forced to use the southern area...guess what ??? instead of assisting in repairing the 'dip' in the original drag straight and develop common spectator facilities for EVERYONE'S BENEFIT, ASPL insisted on removing to the 'chicken farm' end & attempting to claim monopoly 'rights' over the area.
RIDICULOUS
This is a sorry history lesson, but, as far as I am concerned, in TTASA's 'new school' ...ALL NEW TEACHERS WILL SECURE JOBS.
Remember...this Management has the lessons of the past...all documented, etc,etc.

rgds

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » July 7th, 2011, 8:12 am

*sighs* so nobody really never gave a shiet about future motorsports back then and future motorsports from present day today?

New teachers will secure jobs, hmmmm, sounds interesting, jobs yuh say....only money, no care about motorsports then.

Basically what the ones who could have done something was ALL ABOUT MAKING MONEY and the ones NOW who want to develop motorsports for permanent keep getting problems to continue with the track and people going against it and stuff?

wow it amazes me how some older people have/had brains of the devil.

THIS is the reason why drag racers will go to ANY drag event it has possible. Bcuz the future of it, does not exist here in T&T. Just crime and money hungry eaters.