slick

Re: Flugtag trinidad review

Postby slick » July 4th, 2011, 3:13 pm

foss wrote:
pioneer wrote:It eh affect dem so it wasn't ah problem, general trini backward mentality.

how did the event affect you?
please share your experience with us.

I knew not to bother leaving my house yesterday. Sadly I didn't suffer

Didn't bother me either, i knew to stay away from that crap.

However it affected my countrymen.

Imagine how the entire world is laughing at us now.
exactly how are they laughing at us. Pios sometimes I think your hand has a spasm when it touches the keyboard and nonsense just spews out.

the event was great and something worth experiencing - especially being the first one in the Caribbean held here in T&T

It was a big deal and a huge event - not everyone could have attended, if you wanted to be there then get there early - no one said it would be extra convenient to be part of the experience.

Basically Red Bull had a competition and said hey if you wanna come down and check it out you are free to do so, how ever which way you want to get there. People on their boats had no problem either.

IMO it was great to witness the event and see the huge turnout.

Flugtag Jamaica should be really good too!

:pwned:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 4th, 2011, 3:15 pm

honda hoe wrote:
pioneer wrote:Blame the event organizers

Here's what should have been done

1. Shuttles from city gate to the venue. People pay for the trip.
2. Make use of the ferry's from sando to pos and pos to pier2 and/or hire some private vessels. Let people pay for the trip. Easy revenue for the state.

redbull/bryden or whoever was fully aware of the potential traffic situation but they did nothing about it to make their event accessible, but you all want to blame the police :roll:

But hey, next time let's all leave home at 5am.

maybe ppl who have grouses should apply for a refund

oh wait thats right... it was FREE

so everybody knew what that meant

epic traffic, no parking, squeeze up on d beach, bun up in d sun/soak dong in d rain... unless of course u in VIP

this was all common knowledge an everyone had TWO choices. don't go or leave home early

no one was FORCED to attend

but guess what? exercising common sense = u hadda be on redbull/bryden payroll rite :arrow:
EXACTLY!

aye honda hoe, ah man tell me you ride out from VIP cause it was strictly 18yrs and over and you say that nuh profitable - dais true? :lol:

Postby tr1ad » July 4th, 2011, 3:15 pm

honda hoe wrote:

2. Make use of the ferry's from sando to pos and pos to pier2 and/or hire some private vessels. Let people pay for the trip. Easy revenue for the state.

redbull/bryden or whoever was fully aware of the potential traffic situation but they did nothing about it to make their event accessible, but you all want to blame the police :roll:

epic traffic, no parking, squeeze up on d beach, bun up in d sun/soak dong in d rain... unless of course u in VIP

this was all common knowledge an everyone had TWO choices. don't go or leave home early

but guess what? exercising common sense = u hadda be on redbull/bryden payroll rite :arrow:

yuh real stink yunno

Postby nervewrecker » July 4th, 2011, 3:20 pm

tr1ad wrote:
honda hoe wrote:

yuh real stink yunno

I now cetch what take place dey. :lol:

tarzan

Postby tarzan » July 4th, 2011, 3:34 pm

rossi wrote:tarzan, what was the ratio of VVIP and Brydens Staff to the "locals" ???

Sleeper, the "wrong on many levels", explain nah.

umm well i got on a boat around 12 ish and that was the last red bull sponsored ferry serivice and i was there when the boat previous to the one that had carried me left and basically that one was filled with foreigners speaking either spanish/portuguese in total probably had about 200 people in vvip 50/60 being foreigners.....even had some jamaican red bull models but it was boring food was a waste....the party was downstairs as always

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » July 4th, 2011, 3:38 pm

No amount of planning and implementation couldve helped this event?
You really believe that? If so i have nothing really to explain.

No amt of police and army could hold back citizens?
You really believe that? So what you're saying is that the citizens have more power that the protective services and can therefore hold the country to ransom at any time they ready to?
My point is here like in many other instances in this land of paradise, is that they wont need to do any "holding back" if proper systems were in place from the beginning.

The carparkS have many LEVELS.

tell me what youre not understanding here and if further clarification is needed.

HondaHo de 1st

Postby HondaHo de 1st » July 4th, 2011, 3:42 pm

ORANGE JOCKEY SHORTS FUH DE WIN!!!!

Postby wagon r » July 4th, 2011, 3:54 pm

metalgear2095 wrote:
wagon r wrote:anyone who complain for traffic, blame yuhself. Yuh tink you was the only person that was going...!?!?

I left Chaguanas @ 5:25am and got there by 6:05am...with a small line because of the parties in Carenage. Parked in Peir 2, with no problems...infact, it didn't even have traffic to Pier 1 at that hour.

I left Peir 2 at 7:20pm and was infront Alcoa by 8:15pm.....home by 9pm.

whenever you have to go to any event in the Chaguramas, always park before the venue, you will always have less traffic to get out.

i got there at the same time. pier 2 was not open to everyone and the parking provided was not sufficient. saw many cars get stuck in the mud. also parking at the side of the road was not allowed but not indicated clearly resulting in many cars getting towed. luckily i knew someone in fairy extractors that was able to get me in peir 2. you parked after the venue as well.

..and Pier 2 wasn't...it was VIP parking ONLY. And for parking on the side of the road and getting towed, they said NO PARKING on the road side...they even had signs saying so from Glencoe to Pier 1...!! ..so anyone that get towed...next time pay attention..!

Friends of mine parked in the area close to the big bend, designated areas and had no issues.If you parked past Pier 2 and even worse, after the road to Tucker Valley, well you were even more screwed.

Talkin to friends today who left same time as me, and they didn't get out of Pier 2 till 9pm....by which time, I was home. Reading the situation and a little luck go a long way.

HondaHo de 1st

Postby HondaHo de 1st » July 4th, 2011, 4:01 pm

ok enough ah dat , leh we see de beach pics nah

Postby wagon r » July 4th, 2011, 4:12 pm

^ wild life and hood rats... :)

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » July 4th, 2011, 4:18 pm

Jeremy Mohd wrote:Event was good overall.

If you wanted to be there early, you need to leave home before 6 am.

I left home at 7 am and got there at 2 pm.

One of the MAJOR reasons is people breaking the law and riding pavements, using the shoulder, going up one ways, passing on people lawn, etc etc

When you have those a$$holes doing that and just bypasssing everyone waiting, that causes the problem.

But to hell with that.. Our team WON, and them boys going on a Vacation while most haters/naysayers aint have anything to show for it.

im glad yall beat the jamaicans

xr8id1968

Postby xr8id1968 » July 4th, 2011, 4:21 pm

If rain falls too hard in T&T.....gridlock,
If an NP tank turns over....gridlock,
If the timing of the lights at the Hyatt goes out of whack....gridlock
If there's a storm warning....gridlock
If there's a fete down Mayaro after Carnival....gridlock
If we all head to Maracas on Ash Wednesday....gridlock
If you have a fete down Chaguaramas....gridlock

We do not have the means a where with all to handle something like.....Flugtag.

xr8id1968

Postby xr8id1968 » July 4th, 2011, 4:23 pm

Clearly...RED BULL does not give you wings, no one was able to fly to the event.

tarzan

Postby tarzan » July 4th, 2011, 4:24 pm

my padner parked at bowen marine and left at 4pm and exited glencoe around half 11...apparently the traffic was nastyyy....sad part is while going up a maxi hit him from behind and pushed him onto a frontier back bumper freaking up the two bumpers on his e class

Postby rollingstock » July 4th, 2011, 4:43 pm

^ You still fighting down that talk with them?
It doh make sense.
[sarcasm]the flugtag was a raving success[/sarcasm]

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 4th, 2011, 4:52 pm

^ I agree that traffic backed up far enough to cause stress to people not attending - but who are you going to blame? the promoter? or the road for being too narrow?

foss wrote:
pioneer wrote:It eh affect dem so it wasn't ah problem, general trini backward mentality.

how did the event affect you?
please share your experience with us.

I knew not to bother leaving my house yesterday. Sadly I didn't suffer

Didn't bother me either, i knew to stay away from that crap.

However it affected my countrymen.

Imagine how the entire world is laughing at us now.
exactly how are they laughing at us. Pios sometimes I think your hand has a spasm when it touches the keyboard and nonsense just spews out.

the event was great and something worth experiencing - especially being the first one in the Caribbean held here in T&T

It was a big deal and a huge event - not everyone could have attended, if you wanted to be there then get there early - no one said it would be extra convenient to be part of the experience.

Basically Red Bull had a competition and said hey if you wanna come down and check it out you are free to do so, how ever which way you want to get there. People on their boats had no problem either.

IMO it was great to witness the event and see the huge turnout.

Flugtag Jamaica should be really good too!

They are laughing at this thread for one

They are laughing at the news reports of thousands of people being gridlocked into traffic. They are laughing at people not being able to leave their homes, trinis defacing people property, littering and the list can go on.

Show me anywhere in the developed world where this nonsense woulda take place.

Again most of you jus thinking about YOUR personal experience and not what was going on outside and the potential carnage that coulda take place.

But hey if ya'll were stuck in chag i wonder who allyuh woulda blame? :roll:
and YOUR personal experience was what? staying home with your xbox? Yuh didnt go, so doh talk.

If you leave home late, didnt plan properly and got stuck in traffic you have no one else to blame but yourself. How is that the promoter's problem?

people living south face 3hrs of traffic on any given morning driving to work in POS, normel normel - you have to plan in advance and be early so that you wont end up late and stuck in traffic. :idea:

Postby teems1 » July 4th, 2011, 4:55 pm

the argument of going early is moot because if everyone left home early you would have gotten that traffic.

the point is the planning and organization of the event wrt to traffic/congestion and parking was piss poor

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » July 4th, 2011, 5:19 pm

teems1 wrote:^^

the argument of going early is moot because if everyone left home early you would have gotten that traffic.

Then you leave earlier than that.

Every year in Diego Martin the traffic coming out gets just a little worse and every year I was there I left just a little earlier to avoid it.

GoS

Postby GoS » July 4th, 2011, 5:22 pm

xr8id1968 wrote:If rain falls too hard in T&T.....gridlock,
If an NP tank turns over....gridlock,
If the timing of the lights at the Hyatt goes out of whack....gridlock
If there's a storm warning....gridlock
If there's a fete down Mayaro after Carnival....gridlock
If we all head to Maracas on Ash Wednesday....gridlock
If you have a fete down Chaguaramas....gridlock

We do not have the means a where with all to handle something like.....Flugtag.

i find we could have ah grid lock party...... this could make ah road march next year onhe count ah 4!!! ah wah everybody do the gridlock ping pan pong !!!!!

Postby Stephon. » July 4th, 2011, 6:45 pm

Hard luck for doctors working westshore on Sunday that got caught in that :?
Then again, they shoulda know it had flug tag and camp outside the emergency room.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » July 4th, 2011, 6:50 pm

I left home at 4am from tpuna reach down 430am, parked in the carpark opp. CDA office. Left at 2pm smooth sailing, no traffic, stopped at wendy's cus i was hungry, reach home 3pm
The event was a good idea but it was sheit in execution. I personally did not enjoy the event, it was not worth the effort i put out to be there. Maybe cus i was expecting more.

Trinis too backwards to understand how to conduct themselves. Pioneer is right about the people who didnt attend the event but were living in the environs and couldnt go home. If it was possible i would like to know how many people died yesterday because of the traffic this event caused.

Kudos to the police force for their hard work in trying to control the traffic situation, but because of the tiny roads to get to chag, their efforts were futile. Also good work from them and their wrecking team, quick and efficient work from them also.

Duane can say what he saying cus he reached early and was in VIP section (i saw u) so he had no worries. But if the folks at brydens or whoever held the event really cared about the people, they would have made provisions to alleviate the traffic that they KNEW this event would have caused.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » July 4th, 2011, 7:00 pm

Heyyyyy I have a brilliant idea...........lets boycott Red Bull *makes FB fan Page* :lol:

BTW as a resident of one of the areas in the west that was affected, after personally experiencing that traffic, the huge inconveniences and security compromises it caused to me and the hundred of thousands of persons living in the west I am sure I speak for all when I say that events like this should never be held to torture us like this again.

As a matter fact reports has already been sent to Mr. Lee Singh, the Minister of Transport, The Minister of National Security and The Prime Minister by residents with the expectation that this is avoided in the future.

Postby pugboy » July 4th, 2011, 7:32 pm

i hear people in the gym today complaining how they couldn't get inside the "free" party and had to stay outside on the beach with the "have nots", lol

Postby rollingstock » July 4th, 2011, 7:44 pm

I had to attend a family gathering in Sanora Park and then at Morne Coco Road, had to cancel both after spending 2 1/2 hours in traffic and didn't even reach Peakes.

Worst yet i had to eat KFC and bread as a Sunday lunch :(

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » July 4th, 2011, 7:47 pm

pioneer wrote:The people that drowned, should have planned their route better.

This one I have to agree with 100%

Postby toyolink » July 4th, 2011, 7:53 pm

The risks associated with hosting an event such as the one being reviewed in this thread are extremely significant and unless there is installed appropriate infrastructure and support systems,should not be entertained.
Issues involved here are much larger than fulfilling the recreational interest of some people and a brand.The authorities who must have had to provide approvals etc. failed badly (probably throwing good sense out the window because they were star struck).
It is also extremely disappointing to observe the positions of individuals who should know better.
......IF THE BLOODY THING WAS A MISTAKE,ADMIT SAME AND STOP JUSTIFING STUPIDITY.....

Postby Stephon. » July 4th, 2011, 7:54 pm

Samantha John on news said she got stuck in traffic trying to go home in the west. I wish I was stuck in that car with her :oops:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 4th, 2011, 7:59 pm

toyolink wrote:The risks associated with hosting an event such as the one being reviewed in this thread are extremely significant and unless there is installed appropriate infrastructure and support systems,should not be entertained.
Issues involved here are much larger than fulfilling the recreational interest of some people and a brand.The authorities who must have had to provide approvals etc. failed badly (probably throwing good sense out the window because they were star struck).
It is also extremely disappointing to observe the positions of individuals who should know better.
......IF THE BLOODY THING WAS A MISTAKE,ADMIT SAME AND STOP JUSTIFING STUPIDITY.....
hang on, the only thing that went wrong was the epic traffic that was caused - anything else was not the promoter's fault at all.

was there some other risk inside the event itself that you are referring to?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 4th, 2011, 8:04 pm

trini mk5 wrote:Duane can say what he saying cus he reached early and was in VIP section (i saw u) so he had no worries.
dan yuh see me and eh hail mih out self

I'm sure well over 1000 of those "Friends of Red Bull" (VIP) passes were given out before the event.

Postby nervewrecker » July 4th, 2011, 8:04 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:hang on, the only thing that went wrong was the epic traffic that was caused - anything else was not the promoter's fault at all.

was there some other risk inside the event itself that you are referring to?

who vex loss, they should have known it would have had traffic. seems I went to another event cuz I didnt get stuck in epic traffic, I have been in worst traffic jams on the highway due to a mere accident.

My only complaint was the jammed cell network. I was going to walk with my 2 way radios but forgot that & the umbrella at home :oops: