Dealing with regular power surges and dips...

Humes

Dealing with regular power surges and dips...

Postby Humes » June 25th, 2011, 9:57 am

We recently started to experience power issues in this building. Neighbor washing machine started giving trouble, then my fridge and microwave started humming more loudly during operation. A fan is dying too...loud humming sometimes.

Someone told me that it might have to do with the AC units that my neighbor and I (one unit each, same building) put up over the last year, and another building that recently went up nearby. It's possible that the transformer might be overloaded or something of that nature.

T&TEC will eventually get involved, but for the time being, I'm wondering what precautions I should take. I use a voltage regulator for my PC and it's normal, gaming and everything. Should I buy larger/more powerful voltage regulators for my larger appliances? And how effective will those be?

Re: Dealing with regular power surges and dips...

Postby ronsin1 » June 25th, 2011, 10:01 am

have a qualified and competent electrician check your incoming supply and the main panel. The electrician can advise on what is your real problem

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » June 25th, 2011, 10:05 am

^u know one such person to come check me? im experiencing same as OP...

Postby ronsin1 » June 25th, 2011, 10:06 am

^^^ Buh what the hell eh you know one call the man and ask him yuh have he number

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » June 25th, 2011, 10:13 am

i do? :|

who dat??

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » June 25th, 2011, 10:14 am

It sounds like you're experiencing a low voltage problem.
Once T&TEC is notified, it is an RIC requirement that they resolve it in a few days.

Send me a pm with your contact info. I'll help.

Postby goalpost » June 25th, 2011, 10:22 am

where is this located?

Humes

Postby Humes » June 25th, 2011, 10:24 am

PM sent.

Another thing: How much current so does a Lasko 18" pull? I want to hook one up to a voltage regulator.

Humes

Postby Humes » June 25th, 2011, 10:27 am

goalpost wrote:where is this located?

Tacarigua.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » June 25th, 2011, 10:37 am

Humes wrote:PM sent.

Another thing: How much current so does a Lasko 18" pull? I want to hook one up to a voltage regulator.

low- 50watts
med- 70 watts
high- 90 watts

Postby S_2NR » June 25th, 2011, 8:31 pm

most likely its a T&TEC problem.

Carnage117

Postby Carnage117 » June 26th, 2011, 10:11 am

Please note however if it is an internal wiring problem or fault, with the building, T&TEC is not liable, if it's an external problem e.g. transformer that supplies the building then you need to report it to them. Hope you get through and your problem fixed.

Postby ronsin1 » June 26th, 2011, 10:32 am

the thing is what proof you have to state it is a TTEC problem if reported to TTEC they will ask that you provided proof that you system is in good working condition before conduct any corrections to their supply.
you need to ensure that your building is up to code and have all the relevant test to show

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » June 26th, 2011, 10:46 am

soooo.. when u makin a pass?

Humes

Postby Humes » June 26th, 2011, 11:38 am

Nah...very unlikely that it's a wiring problem.

I spoke to Corollaman and he gave me some good advice. I will tell yall how it develops.

Postby ronsin1 » June 26th, 2011, 1:17 pm

original_lollybob wrote:^^
soooo.. when u makin a pass?

Call meh during the course of the week I will make some arrangements

Postby sliderz1 » June 26th, 2011, 1:39 pm

t&tec needs to raise the output tap on the transformer, also check your nuetral in the meter base.

for general precaution, i use these on my electronics, saved me a couple times

Postby ronsin1 » June 26th, 2011, 1:42 pm

sliderz1 wrote:also check your neutral in the meter base.

or the neutral in the Main panel or sub panels

One slack connection on the neutral can cause a lot of headache

One reason I stated above have a qualified and competent electrician look at your installation first

thesnake11

Postby thesnake11 » June 26th, 2011, 11:49 pm

As of yesterday i started experiencing the same issues here in Chaguanas. I decided it was a jumbee and left it so....

But seriously if it's T&TEC fault i still bringin my electrician to come chk it.

My advice, Invest in some power surge protectors for all appliances and electronics for the while

Postby S_2NR » June 27th, 2011, 2:02 am

thesnake11 wrote:As of yesterday i started experiencing the same issues here in Chaguanas. I decided it was a jumbee and left it so....

But seriously if it's T&TEC fault i still bringin my electrician to come chk it.

My advice, Invest in some power surge protectors for all appliances and electronics for the while

seriously hoss.... :shock:

thesnake11

Postby thesnake11 » June 27th, 2011, 2:13 am

S_2NR wrote:
thesnake11 wrote:As of yesterday i started experiencing the same issues here in Chaguanas. I decided it was a jumbee and left it so....

seriously hoss.... :shock:

:? :? :?

W2J

Postby W2J » June 27th, 2011, 8:13 am

Corollaman wrote:It sounds like you're experiencing a low voltage problem.
Once T&TEC is notified, it is an RIC requirement that they resolve it in a few days.

Send me a pm with your contact info. I'll help.

I'm having some issues here at work (Teknet) we have notified T&Tec over 6 months and even though they are aware of a need for a Transformer upgrade nothing has been done to solve the problem. I believe the other another tenant "Snikla" has written to RIC, is there any thing that you could advise?

Gerrard