Sacketteers: Hike to Paria

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Sacketteers: Hike to Paria

Postby Big Z » June 14th, 2011, 7:20 pm

Update: Hike postponed due to the weather conditions.

Follow us on Facebook

Sacketteers will be going to Paria
Date: Thursday 23 June 2011
Meeting Point: By the Pillars, Santa Cruz (Junction of North Coast Road and Saddle Road)
Meeting Time: 7:00 am
(Im sure they will be leaving later than this. I will get there for maybe 7:20 am. Save them phone numbers below)
Rating: Moderate (Its the duration that makes this hike hard)
Duration: Long.......
Last edited by Big Z on June 22nd, 2011, 10:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Big Z

Re: Sacketteers: Hike to Paria

Postby Big Z » June 17th, 2011, 6:21 pm

Reminder to all those interested.. get your gear in order!

deens-von

Postby deens-von » June 18th, 2011, 9:52 am

can you list what gear you would need for this?

Big Z

Postby Big Z » June 18th, 2011, 3:18 pm

CHA has a great run down of dos and donts.. which I shall copy and paste below.

I recommend walking with a first aid kit and diclofenac (cataflam, voltaren, etc)
Dont forget lunch, snacks, water and gatorade/slut prunes.

SAFETY GUIDELINES

What to Bring and Wear

Avoid wearing jewelry whilst hiking. Earrings, bracelets and necklaces may become entangled in bushes or branches and this could prove painful.

Avoid wearing perfumes and colognes as these may attract the attention of unwanted insects e.g. wasps.

Wear comfortable loose fitting clothing; t- shirts & long track pants (nylon material) are preferred. The wearing of jeans is discouraged as they may restrict mobility particularly when wet.

If you must wear short pants please ensure that your socks extend beyond your ankles and cover as much of your leg under the knee. This is for protection from scrapes by bushes or insect bites. Ankle socks offer very limited protection.

Please bring along a comfortable change of clothing and shoes. (Leave in vehicle) Leave jewelry and other valuables behind. Secure cameras, cell phones, car remotes in a water tight bag.

Use footwear with good grips on sole, no open shoes, slippers nor sandals. The Merrell brand is recommended. Please do not pick up a shoe that you have not worn in a long time to come on a hike. It is liable to lose its sole because unknown to you it has become dry rot.

Persons who suffer with asthma are encouraged to walk with their medication and to inform a hike leader before the hike commences.

Pack only what you need for the duration of the hike (drinking water, sandwiches, medication, etc.). Use a back pack to keep hands free.

On the Trail

Please follow all instructions given by hike leaders.

If you are in doubt about your ability to complete the hike without problems, heed the advice of your hike leader. It is better to miss the hike than to encounter problems which may result in an unpleasant experience for you or your fellow hikers. The leader may exclude any person from a hike or request them to return to the start at his or her discretion.

Please avoid consuming alcohol before and of course during a hike since this will impair your motor skills and lead to unnecessary slips and falls and possibly injury. We also ask that you refrain from smoking since your joy may be someone else's sorrow and of course bush fire.

No illegal substances or weapons allowed. It is illegal to remove spent shells from the forest.

Whilst walking try to keep both hands free of items e.g. water bottles, cameras, etc. Especially when negotiating slippery, uneven trails, crossing streams or walking in rivers.

Please stay on the trail. Wandering off on your own could mean getting lost. Inform us if you need to stop.

The first and last person in the group/section is always a hike leader. Please do not walk ahead of the first hike leader. If at any time while on the trail you are uncertain about which direction you should take, stand your ground, wait for a hike leader. The last person will always be a hike leader.

Do not hike alone, walk a short distance behind the hiker in front.

Avoid shaking bushes and making excessive noises.

On approaching an intersection/junction on the trail, one direction/s will be blocked by cut leaves/branches. Please use the unobstructed trail.

Pass over fallen logs, if you must go under, survey the area then proceed with caution.

Do not touch or eat any fruit or plant that is unknown to you.

Hike leaders have first-aid kits. Please ask if you need assistance.

Do not go into water until you are advised by a hike leader that it is safe to do so. Then enter feet first.

Preserve the ecosystem. Please do not litter. Take back garbage with you.

Happy Hiking. A positive mental attitude will take you a long way.

rmlmv

Postby rmlmv » June 18th, 2011, 4:30 pm

Dont forget lunch, snacks, water and gatorade/slut prunes.

Mmmm! mmmmm! I love me them SLUT prunes!

Big Z

Postby Big Z » June 19th, 2011, 8:23 pm

Slut prunes are the bomb! But they go around and you never get them back.
Sometimes that may be a good thing...
Inferesting picture there...

Postby MG Man » June 20th, 2011, 12:00 am

dammit...I hadda work :(
reeeeally wanted to hit Paria

Postby bushwakka » June 20th, 2011, 11:49 am

who is de hike leader? las time i went on a paria hike wit a man name garth from uwi and the timing was the worst thing ever, we end up leavin uwi 10 am, startin de hike around 12.......reach de falls close to half 2, dem men wanted to stay by the falls till after half 4 altho the rest of the ppl wanted to gtfo before darkness take us.....and the darkness did fall while the group was in the forest

was the most unprofessional ting ever

turbohead

Postby turbohead » June 20th, 2011, 12:23 pm

yuh gotta start paria by atleast 8-9am to get a good nice bathe on the beach and the falls

Big Z

Postby Big Z » June 20th, 2011, 12:55 pm

bushwakka wrote:who is de hike leader?

Garth Assing.
Not asscoiated with UWI or UWI Hiking Club as far as I know.

Postby bushwakka » June 20th, 2011, 1:14 pm

^^ok yea, i dont tink de man las name was assing....cuz i swear id never go on a hike again wit dem idiots

Big Z

Postby Big Z » June 21st, 2011, 10:44 pm

Last chance to get your stuff in order!

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » June 22nd, 2011, 10:56 am

Big Z wrote:Last chance to get your stuff in order!

Was there Monday prepare for real MUD!

JoeBama

Postby JoeBama » June 22nd, 2011, 10:59 am

Always wanted to go on a hike..hmmmwhy not monthend?? :(

Postby bushwakka » June 22nd, 2011, 11:13 am

alyuh sure alyuh goin in all dis rain?

Big Z

Postby Big Z » June 22nd, 2011, 10:08 pm

Hike to Paria has been postponed due to the weather :(

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » June 22nd, 2011, 11:29 pm

The first time i did Paria, it was through a thunderstorm...from the spring bridge...
Makes it more fun imho...the trail isnt hard enough for the mud to keep back anyone significantly...

Big Z

Postby Big Z » June 23rd, 2011, 9:20 am

I was of the opinion that this was the perfect weather to go Paria.
Its not a trail where mud will be an issue...

Pretty sunny down in Princes Town right now.

Postby MG Man » June 23rd, 2011, 1:31 pm

the trail may be passable but there have been times when the river valley has been flooded and impassible.............not to mention risk of flash flooding downstream of the falls

Postby janfar » June 23rd, 2011, 1:39 pm

yup... mg is right.... last time i hiked to Paria we camped for 2 nights (best way to enjoy Paria IMO) rain fell one night and that waterfall/ river was a monster though it calmed by afternoon and was clean the next day.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » June 23rd, 2011, 2:19 pm

have waded up the river when it was neck height, and it still wasn't that bad...the mouth of the river and bay also met and covered most of the sand on the extreme end...this was back when there was the huge rock collection spanning a couple dozen metres of the bay...
and the weather was pretty much as bad as it gets in trinidad...

its actuly an experience i'd recommend to anyone looking for a fun hike..because it isn't that dangerous at all...

Postby MG Man » June 23rd, 2011, 7:32 pm

as much as I have a spirit of adventure, and as much as I have been told fat is buoyant, I still not risking getting caught in a flash flood..........I've waded neck deep under 'normal' flow, but I won;t chance it in a raging river..........heck I doubt I'd be able to

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » June 24th, 2011, 10:30 am

I knew a guy whowas driving thru th e country during a thunderstord who died when a tree fell on the car he was in! Also during my last hike a big branch fell just behind us. The threat is not only from fast rising waters!