The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

src1983

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby src1983 » June 16th, 2011, 11:34 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I just want them to fix the T&T caller ID and give us back the personal hotspot!!!!!!

Would this fix work on phones purchased outside T&T???

9z4dma

Postby 9z4dma » June 16th, 2011, 11:36 am

Bez, you need to be fair, you are comparing a monthly $500 plan with a $250 plan

"quote: My average monthly payment = $250 ($150 for data and the rest in TXT and Voice)

24 x $250 = $6000

so my phone cost only, $4450 and I choose to use bmobile service and spend $6000 with them"

16GB model total cost after 2 years

plan 1 - handset $3599 + Advanced charge $3000 + 2yrs airtime $6000 ($250x24) = $12599
plan 2 - handset $1999 + Advanced charge $4200 + 2yrs airtime $8400 ($350x24) = $14599
plan 3 - handset $ - + Advanced charge $6000 + 2yrs airtime $12000 ($500x24) = $18000

vs. your basic voice & data @ 250 x 24 = $6000 + cost of factory unlocked handset $4450 =$10450
you are only saving $2150 (not factoring vat/duty & $8376 in free wimax for 2yrs)

it all depends on what works best for the user.

on the TSTT invoice the 16GB iPhone 4 handset is $3129.57 + Vat $469.44

Parvin

Postby Parvin » June 16th, 2011, 12:00 pm

The hotspot really would not be 'FREE'

It's like this;

* they charging you for the device itself
* they charging you for the monthly package (minutes and text)
* the upfront 'deposit' which is rebated is used to cover the cost of the 4G HotSpot ... it don't have sh*t to do with covering part of the monthly package as they still charging you for it.

My third assumption there is due to the fact that on the plans 1 & 2 the GPRS/EDGE is limited as compared to the plan 3 which is unlimited. And you can pay a total of roughly $300 as it is now on a post paid plan to get 100 minutes, 25 sms and unlimited data.

So the 4G is not really free as they claim, come on, it's bmobile we dealing with.

Anyhow you look at it, you will be paying $7000+ upfront and then the monthly recurring fees. It cheaper to purchase a handset alone anywhere else and then just apply for post paid (18 months) or pre-paid account. You will have to be dependent on WiFi for some features, but most of you admitted that you not going to walk around with the 4G item anyway.

bmobile does not have the services to use the full capabilities of the device anyway.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 16th, 2011, 12:02 pm

src1983 wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I just want them to fix the T&T caller ID and give us back the personal hotspot!!!!!!

Would this fix work on phones purchased outside T&T???
iTunes detected that bmobile was now an iPhone carrier with updated carrier settings and so it offered me an update when I plugged in my phone - I expected that since bmobile is now legit it would fix the caller ID, did not realise it would remove the personal hotspot. And on top of that it didnt fix the caller ID. The only positive thing that it did was to add in the correct MMS settings - but who uses MMS when there's email and whatsapp?

napster

Postby napster » June 16th, 2011, 12:05 pm

http://store.apple.com/us/product/MC603 ... 4NTM2NTM... this is how they are gething it unlock so cheap and makin a dime on it

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 16th, 2011, 12:09 pm

napster wrote:http://store.apple.com/us/product/MC603LL/A?mco=MjI4NTM2NTM... this is how they are gething it unlock so cheap and makin a dime on it

did you read the posts on the previous page?

TSTT is an authorised iPhone carrier, they don't send someone to an apple store or online to buy up a bunch of phones to resell here - they are not a suitcase trader!

9z4dma

Postby 9z4dma » June 16th, 2011, 12:10 pm

in your iTunes folder there is a iPhone Carrier Support folder with a file "CW_tt_iPhone.ipcc"

don't know if there is a way to modify this to re-enable the Personal hotspot feature

Postby tr1ad » June 16th, 2011, 12:11 pm

you could count on napster to live up to his name

napster

Postby napster » June 16th, 2011, 12:20 pm

i feel will bmobile will make u believe any thing but as to 9z4dma give me a actual location of this file... and if they are dealer of apple why it has not registered on thier web site as a carrier ...

mediahouse

wtk. who unlocking iphone in chaguanas 4.1

Postby mediahouse » June 16th, 2011, 12:21 pm

Have ah iphone 4 4.1 it need the gevey sim to unlock i also want it jailbreak .

any one knows where in chaguanas does that?

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 16th, 2011, 12:26 pm

they are listed:

http://www.apple.com/lae/iphone/buy/#tb

hence they should/can NOT be selling the device for more than Apples MSRP - check all the other resellers of iPhone's and unlcoked iPhones, check their prices... do the math and come back and tell me bmobile being "fair" and that you saving money buying from bmobile rather than from apple unlocked...

Postby tr1ad » June 16th, 2011, 12:28 pm

so bez... yuh call d popo on them yet?

have yet to play with the iphone 4, if it could only work with ms exchange.... office doesnt want to open the port on the server to allow iphone access.....i wouldn't mind giving it a try
but for now blackberry does what i want it to

Parvin

Re: wtk. who unlocking iphone in chaguanas 4.1

Postby Parvin » June 16th, 2011, 12:41 pm

Send M_2nr a pm on the jailbreak instructions, he has the download link for the ipsw.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 16th, 2011, 12:46 pm

i emailed apple and steve jobs :lol:.. if i still ran MyTriniPhone.com I would have made allot more noise about would have probably tried to talk to manager there on record to clear it all up., but alas, i couldn't really be bothered. just talking about it all day today makes me feel to pelt my iphone in the sink

silver

Postby silver » June 16th, 2011, 12:49 pm

*clears throat*

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 16th, 2011, 1:01 pm

^ I use my iPhone with MS Exchange and google exchange servers

9z4dma wrote:in your iTunes folder there is a iPhone Carrier Support folder with a file "CW_tt_iPhone.ipcc"

don't know if there is a way to modify this to re-enable the Personal hotspot feature

will try that,

anyone else trying you have to copy the ipcc file to another folder, rename the copy to .zip, extract it and edit the plist files using a plist editor

http://download.cnet.com/Plist-Editor/3000-18551_4-10909598.html

on another note 9z4dma, do you know if bmobile will have visual voicemail for their iPhone 4 users??

phreak

Postby phreak » June 16th, 2011, 1:01 pm

funny story,

was talking to bmobile rep about the sim.. he said that they are not bringing the micro sim, they have the "official" sim cutter for them.. since when apple making sim cutters? lol..

Postby tr1ad » June 16th, 2011, 1:02 pm

nah danboidawgboi

it never worked with us... because IT changed port settings on the server

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » June 16th, 2011, 1:08 pm

Parvin wrote:The hotspot really would not be 'FREE'

It's like this;

* they charging you for the device itself
* they charging you for the monthly package (minutes and text)
* the upfront 'deposit' which is rebated is used to cover the cost of the 4G HotSpot ... it don't have sh*t to do with covering part of the monthly package as they still charging you for it.

My third assumption there is due to the fact that on the plans 1 & 2 the GPRS/EDGE is limited as compared to the plan 3 which is unlimited. And you can pay a total of roughly $300 as it is now on a post paid plan to get 100 minutes, 25 sms and unlimited data.

So the 4G is not really free as they claim, come on, it's bmobile we dealing with.

Anyhow you look at it, you will be paying $7000+ upfront and then the monthly recurring fees. It cheaper to purchase a handset alone anywhere else and then just apply for post paid (18 months) or pre-paid account. You will have to be dependent on WiFi for some features, but most of you admitted that you not going to walk around with the 4G item anyway.

bmobile does not have the services to use the full capabilities of the device anyway.

u think we can play white people and sure them for false advertising?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 16th, 2011, 1:31 pm

shaq090, you are really not contributing anything here other than sensationalism - it is not beneficial to anyone.

9z4dma

Postby 9z4dma » June 16th, 2011, 1:33 pm

i doubt bmobile will offer visual voicemail.

IMO the iPhone 4 is a crippled device on EDGE and the Wimax compensation is not making it any better because it is WiFi usability (same as using WiFi anywhere else). If TSTT had gone with HSPA+ on 850/1900MHz instead of Wimax on 2.5GHz, they would've had a solid 3G network capable of supporting all these device. But with 1.3Million people and a daily customer usage base of average 500K, it's probably not worth it for them. At the end of the day the iPhone 4 and Android devices are just mobile computing device capable of making phone calls which are already 1yr old and will be replaced soon. It is up to the user to utilize the services we have available to their financial benefit.
Sadly we can't enjoy the same 5MB+ speeds as T-Mobile USA 3G on 1700MHz & AT&T 3G on 850/1900MHz. Wimax is a waste of time capped @ 2MB and LTE does not make economic sense for T&T.

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » June 16th, 2011, 1:40 pm

but isnt 4g very spotty as it is??? and to make it worst the tower handovers when in a moving vehecles?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 16th, 2011, 1:46 pm

9z4dma wrote:i doubt bmobile will offer visual voicemail.

IMO the iPhone 4 is a crippled device on EDGE and the Wimax compensation is not making it any better because it is WiFi usability (same as using WiFi anywhere else). If TSTT had gone with HSPA+ on 850/1900MHz instead of Wimax on 2.5GHz, they would've had a solid 3G network capable of supporting all these device. But with 1.3Million people and a daily customer usage base of average 500K, it's probably not worth it for them. At the end of the day the iPhone 4 and Android devices are just mobile computing device capable of making phone calls which are already 1yr old and will be replaced soon. It is up to the user to utilize the services we have available to their financial benefit.
Sadly we can't enjoy the same 5MB+ speeds as T-Mobile USA 3G on 1700MHz & AT&T 3G on 850/1900MHz. Wimax is a waste of time capped @ 2MB and LTE does not make economic sense for T&T.
understood

I wonder if the 3G bmobile plan to launch in September/October 2011 will be HSPA+ on 850/1900Mhz??

src1983

Postby src1983 » June 16th, 2011, 1:58 pm

I hoping and crossing fingers that Digicel have 3G plans yes

Postby M_2NR » June 16th, 2011, 2:02 pm

9z4dma wrote:in your iTunes folder there is a iPhone Carrier Support folder with a file "CW_tt_iPhone.ipcc"

see around page 198... i made a post wrt to this. You /must/ mod your carrier plist. That involves jailbreaking.

Bezman wrote:they are listed:

http://www.apple.com/lae/iphone/buy/#tb

hence they should/can NOT be selling the device for more than Apples MSRP - check all the other resellers of iPhone's and unlcoked iPhones, check their prices... do the math and come back and tell me bmobile being "fair" and that you saving money buying from bmobile rather than from apple unlocked...

___
i emailed apple and steve jobs :lol:.. if i still ran MyTriniPhone.com I would have made allot more noise about would have probably tried to talk to manager there on record to clear it all up., but alas, i couldn't really be bothered. just talking about it all day today makes me feel to pelt my iphone in the sink

they eh get listed here yet though. Until then, we wouldnt know if Personal Hotspot, etc. will be supported but if they giving you this mifi sheit to hog around, i doubt they will turn it on. Anyway... im on Digicel i really couldnt be bother frankly :P

Up to last night bro im thinking about mytriniphone... you backed up the wordpress? lewwe open her back and start to rant na :lol:
Not that it would do anything because bmobile eh care at all.

P.S. I emailed him as well... no response :cry:
WRT to the MSRP, like nobody wanna answer me?

Can i walk into bmobile and buy an iPhone sim free....? I gone call them naow! :lol:

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 16th, 2011, 2:11 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ I use my iPhone with MS Exchange and google exchange servers

will try that,

anyone else trying you have to copy the ipcc file to another folder, rename the copy to .zip, extract it and edit the plist files using a plist editor

http://download.cnet.com/Plist-Editor/3000-18551_4-10909598.html

on another note 9z4dma, do you know if bmobile will have visual voicemail for their iPhone 4 users??

http://planet-iphones.com/2009/04/01/en ... ith-os-30/

I don't know if that'll help.

Probably means nothing but I thought I'd show it anyway

I'd guess if I replace those 2 files with Image (for an iPhone 4) that the carrier logo would appear.

Postby M_2NR » June 16th, 2011, 2:18 pm

HOSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

that was beyond HILARIOUS!

I recorded the conversation. Gonna review all the info i got. Spoke with a supervisor. I think there is A LOT of confusion.

Quick things:
- She is saying there is no EDGE service (WTF? i know right, i thought there was a bundled 250MB)
- The phones are locked!? to bmobile (WTF?! i asked her about 3 times... and she said they are locked!)
- They are using a micro sim.... (WTF!? i thought they cutting it?!)
- Ohh and NO fall back to EDGE if your 4G has no service... :|

aite gonna review those recordings and make notes.

silver

Postby silver » June 16th, 2011, 2:59 pm

ok .. someone explain for me.. the carrier support file... will it allow the iphone to recognize the bmobile network? or does it enable certain features on the phone that might have been previously unavailable?

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » June 16th, 2011, 4:42 pm

I gonna be in west mall tomorrow
gonna get the proper info on tstt's deal with the devil

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 16th, 2011, 4:50 pm

the reps and ppl in bmobile etc, have no frigging clue whats going on... when i went to get edge they thought i wanted bluetooth to get ringtones and share school chirren porno's :? they didnt even know what EDGE was..

@M_2NR - mytriniphone.com :lol: Nope, i trashed everything, no emails, no databased backups, to server dumps, nothing, i wiped my hands clean on that, I gave everyone a chance to pickup the pieces..

got my last 300 USD from google ads the other day, I will certainly miss the pocket change more than the site :P
Last edited by Bezman on June 16th, 2011, 4:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.