The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 15th, 2011, 11:48 pm

^ yes that's it exactly

the cost is really $750 per month but they take $250 out of your $6000 deposit each month for 24 months - so you just pay $500 per month.

It's more of an upfront payment than a deposit.

oh and that $750 or $500 per month is based on your not using up your minutes - scne that would incur an additional charge

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » June 15th, 2011, 11:55 pm

will be buying a data sim next week...cant handle that madness right now...i always have wifi 2MB/s+ in the places i am so im good to go...will await bmobile's 3g service...hoping its unlimited

9z4dma

Postby 9z4dma » June 16th, 2011, 12:07 am

Don't forget that the 4G Wimax hotspot is included for free with UNLIMITED internet for 24 months as well. (This is normally $349/mth on a 2 yr contract = $8376)

eg if you take Plan 1, you get

125 minutes to bmobile/tstt/digicel/flow
125 sms to bmobile/digicel
75 bonus minutes to bmobile
75 bonus sms to bmobile
250MB EDGE data
Unlimited Wimax via hotspot for up to 5 devices

for $250/mth

the plans are basically the same as the Android 4G plans except you pay an upfront amount which is applies as a monthly rebate

the phone is loaded with iOS 4.3.3 and the bmobile carrier 10.1 update and also work with prepaid bmobile sim

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 16th, 2011, 12:24 am

^ true - value must be given to that 4G hotspot

however that 10.1 carrier update removed the personal hotspot from my 4.3.3 iPhone 4 - why???

9z4dma

Postby 9z4dma » June 16th, 2011, 12:37 am

the option to add settings for Personal Hotspot was available before the carrier update, both on the canada factory unlocked MC605C & CW Jamaica MC603ZQ model.
it automatically configures the APN as "internet" & the MMS settings while removing the Internet Hotspot option

if you use a prepaid sim, you will need to manually change the APN to "bconnected" and save it as the prepaid SIM also incorrectly configure it as "internet"

I assume as Bmobile included the Wimax hotspot in the package they decided not to support it on the phone. AT&T & Verizon charge an additional $20USD for this feature with a data cap limit.

On the factory unlocked model, if you use a digicel sim, the Personal Hotspot feature is available again, since Digicel is not a supported carrier by Apple, and the carrier is shown as 10.0

so it's a Bmobile thing.
Last edited by 9z4dma on June 16th, 2011, 1:06 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 16th, 2011, 12:39 am

^ thanks for that - but it sucks that they removed it - it was very useful to me

they need to include a caller ID fix for T&T!

scientist

Postby scientist » June 16th, 2011, 12:58 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ true - value must be given to that 4G hotspot

however that 10.1 carrier update removed the personal hotspot from my 4.3.3 iPhone 4 - why???

I have 4.3.3 on digicel dominica and my hotspot didnt appear till i put the right settings in under network for Data.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » June 16th, 2011, 6:19 am

Nice.... well i guess i have to wait on Digicel...

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 16th, 2011, 9:40 am

ok spoke to my partner again, his phone model number is: MC604ZQ so it is unlocked iPhones bmobile selling...

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » June 16th, 2011, 9:48 am

Bezman wrote:ok spoke to my partner again, his phone model number is: MC604ZQ so it is unlocked iPhones bmobile selling...

lol so they really conning us then??? WOW

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 16th, 2011, 10:17 am

shaq090 wrote:
Bezman wrote:ok spoke to my partner again, his phone model number is: MC604ZQ so it is unlocked iPhones bmobile selling...

lol so they really conning us then??? WOW
how? Unlocked phones are MORE expensive from Apple

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 16th, 2011, 10:20 am

please explain Duane.... my unlocked phones was much cheaper... even if i add my monthly payment (now) x24.. it still ALLOT cheaper..

if bmobile gave you a choice NOT to get the hotspot sheit and use your existing package, then i may agree (a little - but not much), but the cost upfront for an unlocked phone is ridiculous

I have been thinking, what if you cancel the contract from bmobile, and want to go to digicel or use your old sim/package, do you have to buy out of the contract??

sorry Duane i have to disagree with you there

Lucian-2nr

Postby Lucian-2nr » June 16th, 2011, 10:25 am

bez then you got a good hook up...

Most factory unlocked iphones are more expensive than locked iphones by $150USD+.

On ebay and the forums.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 16th, 2011, 10:29 am

NO my unlocked phone was from Apple.com

I got no "Deal"

$702 USD = $4450
My average monthly payment = $250 ($150 for data and the rest in TXT and Voice)

24 x $250 = $6000

so my phone cost only, $4450 and I choose to use bmobile service and spend $6000 with them, i can go to digicel ona different package and pay allot less... hell i could drop data and use my wifi only and go pre paid..

in no way or form, is my Apple unlocked iPhone from Apple.com more expensive... no way...

the main difference is BOTH are unlocked devices BUT one is tied to a contract.. think about it, i can buy mine and leave it in the box for 2 years. the bmobile one, you buy and must pay the monthly contract for 2 years OR buy out of the contract... :P
you are buying a internationally unlocked device and are still paying bmobile to subsidize the hugely-marked-up-price with a contract..
Last edited by Bezman on June 16th, 2011, 10:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 16th, 2011, 10:31 am

Bez the carrier carries locked phones cheaper to make back the money on the plan

what you are calculating as "locked phones are more expensive" is because you are adding in the cost of the AT&T contract etc.

Bmobile as an authorised carrier wont have to pay this

factory unlocked phones, regardless of the type of phone are usually more expensive because there is no subsidy from any carrier.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 16th, 2011, 10:33 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Bez the carrier carries locked phones cheaper to make back the money on the plan

what you are calculating as "locked phones are more expensive" is because you are adding in the cost of the AT&T contract etc.

Bmobile as an authorised carrier wont have to pay this

factory unlocked phones, regardless of the type of phone are usually more expensive because there is no subsidy from any carrier.

HUH bro, bmobile phones are NOT locked to the carier, you are buying an unlocked device..

please post your maths on working this out, cause i am NOT seeing it AT ALL!!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 16th, 2011, 10:35 am

yes and unlocked devices SHOULD sell for MORE because you are not bound to use the carrier you bought it from.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 16th, 2011, 10:41 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:yes and unlocked devices SHOULD sell for MORE because you are not bound to use the carrier you bought it from.

SO why is bmobile making you sign a contract for 2 years and forcing you to use the package they choose and telling you that the cost of your device is being subsidized over the 2 years.. if it is unlocked, it should be like all other countries... buy the unlocked phone and do what the hell you want with it.. if bmobile let you buy the iPhone for $6000 and you can do what you want with it, maybe. but they are forcing you to take a 2 year contract

here is my maths on this:

Factory unlocked iPhone 4 16GB from Apple.com

$702 USD = $4450 TTD = Unlocked, no contracts…

OPTIONAL monthly SERVICE payments for 2 years

~$250x24 = $6000

$10,450 cost and usage for 2 years

Unlocked iPhone 4 from bMobile 16GB

$6000 = unlocked phone from bmobile

MANDATORY Monthly SERVICE for 2 years

$500x24 = $12,000

$18,000 cost of device and service for 2 years..

so i would save $7550 over 2 years buying my own factory unlocked iPhone 4 from Apple.com..

as a comparrison here is BELL in canada who selling unlocked iPhones like bmobile, they sell them for Apple's MSRP and with NO contract... $659 canadian :P
Screen shot 2011-06-16 at 10.43.22 AM.png
Last edited by Bezman on June 16th, 2011, 10:44 am, edited 1 time in total.

src1983

Postby src1983 » June 16th, 2011, 10:43 am

Bezman did u pay VAT and duty on ur device??

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 16th, 2011, 10:46 am

lol NOT YET (didnt get it and i wouldnt the way it is coming in - and thats why i keep saying if it was ~$6000 flat for the phone, contract free, unlocked, then maybe i can justify the cost) and even if i factor in VAT and DUTY it still about $6000 cheaper over the 2 years using my model i posted above...

and i can almost guarantee you bmobile didnt either :lol:

roadhog

Postby roadhog » June 16th, 2011, 10:50 am

Bezman wrote:NO my unlocked phone was from Apple.com

I got no "Deal"

$702 USD = $4450

24 x $250 = $6000

so my phone cost only, $4450 and I choose to use bmobile service and spend $6000 with them, i can go to digicel ona different package and pay allot less... hell i could drop data and use my wifi only and go pre paid..

in no way or form, is my Apple unlocked iPhone from Apple.com more expensive... no way...

the main difference is BOTH are unlocked devices BUT one is tied to a contract.. think about it, i can buy mine and leave it in the box for 2 years. the bmobile one, you buy and must pay the monthly contract for 2 years OR buy out of the contract... :P
you are buying a internationally unlocked device and are still paying bmobile to subsidize the hugely-marked-up-price with a contract..

While this is somewhat true . Bmobile is a legitimate company and not a suitcase seller

Your price is missing duty and vat.

Avg it at 45% combined

You end up with a figure 6000+

9z4dma

Postby 9z4dma » June 16th, 2011, 10:53 am

Bez, did you put a Digicel sim in the Bmobile M603ZQ 16GB or any other Bmobile iPhone 4 model (M604ZQ ??) and it adjusted the carrier from bmobile 10.1 to carrier 10.0 with Digicel service? I did and it does not work.

Also the cost of the 16GB handset is $3599 w/Plan 1, $1999 w/Plan 2, Free w/Plan 3

the 32 GB is $4799, 3399, 1399 with the various plan

the $3000, 4200, 6000 is advanced airtime package payment which results in a reduced monthly bill from the actual cost for service from TSTT.

with the factory unlocked model (average cost of $4500) you can use any SIM with any package from any carrier, and is only practical if you travel alot and swap sims.

TSTT is subsidizing the phone and making it back in airtime/plan

roadhog

Postby roadhog » June 16th, 2011, 10:54 am

Your failing to realize the capability of the 4g hotspot. It's faster than your edge and includes unlimited data. Not limited to one device, so you can have your iPhone/iPad/laptop and other deceives use this. No need for any other Internet connection. There is an additional value to this.

src1983

Postby src1983 » June 16th, 2011, 10:54 am

Lol!!!

Thought so.......

Got mine the same way from canada.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 16th, 2011, 10:55 am

roadhog wrote:
Bezman wrote:NO my unlocked phone was from Apple.com

I got no "Deal"

$702 USD = $4450

24 x $250 = $6000

While this is somewhat true . Bmobile is a legitimate company and not a suitcase seller

Your price is missing duty and vat.

Avg it at 45% combined

You end up with a figure 6000+

the phone would need to cost about $12000 unlocked from apple with duty and vat to cost the same as the phone from bmobile.. and still then you have no contract for 2 years..

with duty and vat an unlocked iPhone 4 from apple.com cost about $6400 TTD.. i would still be saving about 6000+ and have no contracts and can do anything i want with the phone..

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 16th, 2011, 10:56 am

LOL - ya'll dont understan.. i dont want no freaking hot spot.. why should you be forced to pay for this for "free"

9z4dma wrote:Bez, did you put a Digicel sim in the Bmobile M603ZQ 16GB or any other Bmobile iPhone 4 model (M604ZQ ??) and it adjusted the carrier from bmobile 10.1 to carrier 10.0 with Digicel service? I did and it does not work.

Also the cost of the 16GB handset is $3599 w/Plan 1, $1999 w/Plan 2, Free w/Plan 3

the 32 GB is $4799, 3399, 1399 with the various plan

the $3000, 4200, 6000 is advanced airtime package payment which results in a reduced monthly bill from the actual cost for service from TSTT.

with the factory unlocked model (average cost of $4500) you can use any SIM with any package from any carrier, and is only practical if you travel alot and swap sims.

TSTT is subsidizing the phone and making it back in airtime/plan

there is NO free

you paying $6000.. and then $500 a month for 2 years (opposed to $750 for 2 years) then more after..

I done, ya'll do the maths, and post it.. until then I have posted my view on this..

src1983

Postby src1983 » June 16th, 2011, 11:00 am

This is true.....

But will u be getting the most out of ur phone on edge????

The 4g hot spot as the other guys said must be bundled with the phone as per apple's guidelines.

Seeing all these changes I waiting to see if there would be a trinituner app soon.....

Postby M_2NR » June 16th, 2011, 11:27 am

I adding moreeee fuel to this fire....

BEZ! or any one a ulyuh... Could i walk into TSTT and say eh fadda can i get an iphone simfree... waiz d price deh dan?

/fin

I bet yuh cant do that.

And fyi you can do that in the US Apple Store now ae.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 16th, 2011, 11:31 am

I just want them to fix the T&T caller ID and give us back the personal hotspot!!!!!!

src1983

Postby src1983 » June 16th, 2011, 11:33 am

M_2NR wrote:I adding moreeee fuel to this fire....

BEZ! or any one a ulyuh... Could i walk into TSTT and say eh fadda can i get an iphone simfree... waiz d price deh dan?

/fin

I bet yuh cant do that.

And fyi you can do that in the US Apple Store now ae.

Now checked it, man right......